Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Far more inclined to believe this version of how walkout occurred.

Well done to the ladies who stayed loyal to the management.

The animosity towards Carnacon based on the initial vote for the club's expulsion from this year's championship must be poisonous in the extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,651 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

muddle84 wrote: »
    On the kerry U21 point. I think that is largely down to Kerry not caring about U21 success (IMO). They showed that this year by keeping O'Shea( I believe he was eligible this year) and Clifford from the U20. Do you think that Mayo or Kildare team had anything capable of dealing with David Clifford? I don't!

I don't think Mayo or Kerry for that matter have the depth to create the environment that is producing players like Howard and Murchan sadly. But we do have things to look forward to this year once we get a manager sorted.
    Hanley and James Durcan showed potential last year and hopefully they get a run in the league. (Both forwards, Durcan has showed he can score)
    I really thought Caolan Crowe put in a good shift against McBrearty in the league when Donegal had everything to lose. ( fullback maybe?)
    Diarmuid O'Connor showed in the kildare game that he belongs in Midfield. Not sure who to put in there along with him though.
    The U20 panel have some very good footballers, albeit, not that big, but there is potential there that I also hope gets a run in either the FBD league and the Allianz league

With O Shea and Clifford moving to the seniors rather than the U20`s I think it was a case of needs must as much as anything else. Kerry have serious problems at the back and their mid field is creaking a bit. Both areas that need physicality that I`m not sure Kerry can fill in the immediate future from their recent underage teams.

You may be correct in the Mayo lads you mentioned, but they will need all the game time they can get in the league imho but that still leaves a need for another mid fielder as you said. An area with that with their press on kick-outs Dublin can seriously do damage in. That hasn`t been lessened this year with the introduction of Howard out around the middle.
    As well as getting as much game time as possible for the lads you mentioned there is also the need to strengthen the bench. Not easy to do both in a relatively short number of competitive games between now and the start of the 2019 championship.

I'd say most of those will be 'found' by reshuffling the current pack, even if this means in the case of the midfielder patching SOS and/or Parsons together with string and selllotape. If Mayo are to win an All-Ireland in the next year or two, IMO it'll have to be with essentially the same team as they've had since James Horan took over, quite possibly with Horan himself back in charge...

I don`t know on James Horan, but looking at the power, pace and physicality of Dublin, to beat them in the championship I would have great doubts if reshuffling and patching up will do it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Hanley and James Durcan showed potential last year and hopefully they get a run in the league. (Both forwards, Durcan has showed he can score)

From what I saw of Durcan, he has the potential to be a right good player. He is a little bit raw but the speed of him and the runs were really good. He can only get better.

seligehgit wrote: »

The animosity towards Carnacon based on the initial vote for the club's expulsion from this year's championship must be poisonous in the extreme.

The club have only themselves to blame for getting involved in this mess when there was no welfare issue/issue. They look foolish now with the statement from the team and the Mayo public will have no sympathy for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

charlie14 wrote: »
    I don`t know on James Horan, but looking at the power, pace and physicality of Dublin, to beat them in the championship I would have great doubts if reshuffling and patching up will do it tbh.

Based on my limited knowledge of the club and underage scenes, I'd say whatever chance the 'current crop' have of coming back and winning an All-Ireland over the next two years is much greater than that of a 'new' team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭ureds

seligehgit wrote: »

The club have only themselves to blame for getting involved in this mess when there was no welfare issue/issue. They look foolish now with the statement from the team and the Mayo public will have no sympathy for them.
    The Delegates voted 75% in favour of Mayo lgfa appealing last week's decision in favour of Carnacon tonight.
    The saga continues!

ureds wrote: »
    The Delegates voted 75% in favour of Mayo lgfa appealing last week's decision in favour of Carnacon tonight.
    The saga continues!

Not one bit surprised. This will get very nasty now. Both sides will dig their heels in but those players that left the panel are probably finished with the County set up. It's a harsh lesson for them but they should have seen the season out and then leave. This would be a respectable way to handle this.

Doing it in the middle of the season was designed to cause as much hassle as possible with very little respect for their teammates and the prospects for the season. They have done a lot of damage to Mayo ladies football imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

jr86 wrote: »
    Can't agree I'm afraid, I think it'll be another procession to the title for Dublin, and the year after that, and the year after that...

They are so far ahead it's insane and with such a conveyor belt of talent coming through, there's no hope of them going away anytime soon

Nah, you're missing the point.

All Ireland Final is one day in the year. One day on which anything can happen.
    I'm not saying they don't have a conveyor belt or a fantastic squad.

But....hype and pressure can have a strange affect on players.

They were "unbeatable" in 2014 as well remember......

Of course its inevitable the Dubs will be in the final next year.
    But if you're Mayo, Tyrone, Kerry, Galway or whoever....are you going into that final with a huge fear?
    I'd say not.

The pressure would be completely off.
    It's all about the Dubs' 5 in a row!

For all the accolades Dublin took on Sunday, its clear there are a few weaknesses.

Tyrone created a lot of chances.
    They kicked 16 wides, and an awful lot of those were very scoreable.
    A more experienced and composed side would have punished the opposition much more.

The Dubs struggle with a target man in the square.

Tyrone surrendered more kickouts than many teams would have done in the first half. The Dubs got off light there.

Guys like Brogan, McMenamon, Paul Flynn are not the force they once were.
    The squad depth may not be as good next year.

They had a fairly clear run on injuries this year, other than Brogan - who wasn't first choice anyway.

Don't write off the 2019 championship before a ball is even kicked :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

PressRun wrote: »
    Paddy Power just suspended betting. Not sure if that's an indication that something's afoot.

Well, I rarely bet but I went looking for a price on Horan earlier so something may indeed be afoot.

Zeek12 wrote: »

I'd say Jim Gavin will be focusing laser-like on the 'Donaghy problem' over the coming months and may well come up with some innovative solution like dual full-backs. Once the Dubs go five or six points up it's virtually impossible to reel them in with points alone, and one of the few tactics likely to produce a goal against them is the venerable high ball into the square....

A trick we've missed in recent seasons is the danger posed by AOS around the square.

He was hugely effective there for Holmes/Connelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭BandMember

A trick we've missed in recent seasons is the danger posed by AOS around the square.

He was hugely effective there for Holmes/Connelly.

Not against Dublin he wasn't. Under various managers.

Mind you, it could be argued that a lot of the problem was down to the ball going into him....

Based on my limited knowledge of the club and underage scenes, I'd say whatever chance the 'current crop' have of coming back and winning an All-Ireland over the next two years is much greater than that of a 'new' team.

I wasn`t suggesting a whole new team but there are areas where Mayo needs new blood at the very least at full back midfield and preferably another defender and a scoring forward. I cannot see a patching up job working or switching Peter to Paul`s position if you have no replacement for Peter.
    I do get your point about others being good enough for the squad. One of the things that I feel has cost Mayo in recent, and not too recent times, is the strength of their bench.

BandMember wrote: »

Mind you, it could be argued that a lot of the problem was down to the ball going into him....

I would say Dublin full back line was a lot stronger in 2015. Last time Aidan was seriously used in that position.
    Rory O'Carroll no longer there.

Philly a few years older now.

It's a potential weakness.

The kind of thing other counties should definitely be looking at.

Nah, you're missing the point.

All Ireland Final is one day in the year. One day on which anything can happen.
    I'm not saying they don't have a conveyor belt or a fantastic squad.

But....hype and pressure can have a strange affect on players.

They were "unbeatable" in 2014 as well remember......

Of course its inevitable the Dubs will be in the final next year.
    But if you're Mayo, Tyrone, Kerry, Galway or whoever....are you going into that final with a huge fear?
    I'd say not.

The pressure would be completely off.
    It's all about the Dubs' 5 in a row!

For all the accolades Dublin took on Sunday, its clear there are a few weaknesses.

Tyrone created a lot of chances.
    They kicked 16 wides, and an awful lot of those were very scoreable.
    A more experienced and composed side would have punished the opposition much more.

Tyrone surrendered more kickouts than many teams would have done in the first half. The Dubs got off light there.

Guys like Brogan, McMenamon, Paul Flynn are not the force they once were.
    The squad depth may not be as good next year.

They had a fairly clear run on injuries this year, other than Brogan - who wasn't first choice anyway.

Don't write off the 2019 championship before a ball is even kicked :)

I would not look at any team as unbeatable and it has been the case that Dublin have problems with a high ball in but while everyone knows it, nobody has been able to exploit it enough to beat them. That said, it is something I can see Gavin putting some serious work into before 2019.

To target Dublin`s kick out, you need to be well organised it when you do it. Try and do it consistently and your energy levels will drop seriously long before the final whistle. Even doing it, with the consistency of Cluxton`s kick-outs, you could end up seriously exposed at the back.

Brogan, McManamon and Flynn may not be the footballers they were, but they do not need to be the way Dublin use them coming in fresh with 15 - 20 mins to go. Costello another of the cavalry would walk on to any team in the country and from an interview with Declan Darcy the former Leitrim player and Gavin`s right hand man in today`s paper there look to be sounding to get Connolly back afoot. If it works, it certainly will not leave them any weaker next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

BandMember wrote: »

Not just the ball in - lack of support too. From memory (not always reliable) most of the time the ball went in he had one man on him, one covering and often Cluxton over the top too. There often wasnt a Mayo player within 30 metres of him, so the Dublin defense didnt even need to win the ball clean - there was no Mayo man there feeding off the scraps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭eastmayo

Home 2 Ross Cavan monaghan and Galway in league next year....not bad...first game against Ross on a sat eve....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

eastmayo wrote: »
    Home 2 Ross Cavan monaghan and Galway in league next year....not bad...first game against Ross on a sat eve....

You'd like to think we'd get enough points from them games to stay up. Who knows, could be no better time to try and have a proper go winning the thing.

I see David Brady is promoting a supporters trip to the NY game next May. Has anyone seen official confirmation of the dates,or is the first game always the May b/h?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

I see David Brady is promoting a supporters trip to the NY game next May. Has anyone seen official confirmation of the dates,or is the first game always the May b/h?

There's going to be some crowd making the trip at this rate. I know plenty going - a lot are already booked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭boosabum

There's going to be some crowd making the trip at this rate. I know plenty going - a lot are already booked up.

Sure the boom is back, lot's of empty suitcases on the way out :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭muddle84

I don't think dates have been finalised. Was the leitrim game on the bank holiday weekend this year? Alot of people seem to be making the trip. Will be great craic! All we need is a manager

It was.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I see the ladies who didn't *leave/walk/pushed* from the Mayo team have made a statement.
    Can we go a week without some level of controversy!!!

Reflects very badly on the carnacon crew based on that statement and other reports.

Did I see some twitter account mention betting suspended on Mayo manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭muddle84

It was.
    Should be the same weekend again so! Happy days!

yop wrote: »
    I see the ladies who didn't *leave/walk/pushed* from the Mayo team have made a statement.
    Can we go a week without some level of controversy!!!

Reflects very badly on the carnacon crew based on that statement and other reports.

Did I see some twitter account mention betting suspended on Mayo manager?

PP not currently offering odds anyway...

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

PP not currently offering odds anyway...

Who was favorite before it was closed? Sloan or Horan?

yop wrote: »
    Who was favorite before it was closed? Sloan or Horan?

Horan round 1/2 AFAIK...