If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Yes indeed

A controversial start yesterday saw the party attack the Housing Minister and what they call his failing policies with the announcement they will table a motion of no confidence in Eoghan Murphy.

The move puts pressure on Fianna Fáil who say they will support the Government against the motion under the confidence and supply agreement, an agreement Sinn Féin's Housing spokesperson Eoin Ó'Broin says no one cares about.

"If you're Margaret Cash and her seven children, if you're one of the 10,000 adults and children in emergency accommodation, if you're one of the thousands of students looking at paying possibly €900 a month or working people struggling with high mortgages or high rents, you don't give a damn about this confidence and supply agreement because it's not working for you," he said.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/economy-and-shared-prosperity-to-dominate-second-day-of-sinn-fein-think-in-866578.html

Margaret is certainly getting good mileage from her publicity stunt

I imagine Sinn Fein will want her to get her home forever shortly

Did she actually get a house or is she still in a B & B?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭FrToddUnctious

Putinbot wrote: »
    Any hint of racism will be dealt with.

How is giving out about pikies racist?

Mod-Perma banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Did she actually get a house or is she still in a B & B?

Last I heard was she is living in a B&B with the whole family but imo it's only a matter of time before she gets their home forever

Speaking to the Sun she said: “I’m devastated, it is more bad news. We have been moved from a three-bed apartment to a one room in a B&B. That’s all there is for all eight of us, one extended room, there’s bunk-beds. I thought we were getting another apartment but no. I’m absolutely sickened.

“We are being moved around like cattle.

“It’s disgusting the way we are being treated. They can’t even tell us how long we’ll be in Drumcondra.

She went on to say she has no idea whether to put her kids up in school in Drumcondra or Tallaght as she's been given no clue as to where she will be.

According to the Mail on Sunday, Margaret's husband John McCarthy is now living with the family after being released from Cloverhill Prison on bail last Friday.

Speaking the paper, Margaret confirmed the news saying she is happy to have him home to help out.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/margaret-cash-homeless-tallaght-mum-15074658

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

KrustyUCC wrote: »

I am sure that there is still some Noraid money 'resting' somewhere.
    Why don't they use that money to buy her a forever home, instead of forcing Irish workers to pay for it?

Sinn Fein: The Anti-Worker Party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,128 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

SFs defence of this woman has made sure I ain't voting for them any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,702 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Yes indeed

A controversial start yesterday saw the party attack the Housing Minister and what they call his failing policies with the announcement they will table a motion of no confidence in Eoghan Murphy.

The move puts pressure on Fianna Fáil who say they will support the Government against the motion under the confidence and supply agreement, an agreement Sinn Féin's Housing spokesperson Eoin Ó'Broin says no one cares about.

"If you're Margaret Cash and her seven children, if you're one of the 10,000 adults and children in emergency accommodation, if you're one of the thousands of students looking at paying possibly €900 a month or working people struggling with high mortgages or high rents, you don't give a damn about this confidence and supply agreement because it's not working for you," he said.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/economy-and-shared-prosperity-to-dominate-second-day-of-sinn-fein-think-in-866578.html

Margaret is certainly getting good mileage from her publicity stunt

SF spokesperson holding up a convicted criminal as some kind of hero??

I, for one, am shocked :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,509 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

NIMAN wrote: »
    SFs defence of this woman has made sure I ain't voting for them any time soon.

Its the only way they'd get votes by targeting the welfare class and low paid.
    SF know that the middle class will never vote for them. What family earning say €50k gross + would ever vote for SF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,912 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Blazer wrote: »
    Its the only way they'd get votes by targeting the welfare class and low paid.
    SF know that the middle class will never vote for them. What family earning say €50k gross + would ever vote for SF?

Mrs Cash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

john4321 wrote: »
    Mrs Cash?

He said earning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

He said earning.
    Whats the difference?

Oh Yea...

A lot less work! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I still haven't seen anything from sf or others on how exactly they are going to fix the housing supply issues ,

For some reason I expect them to come out and say people with holiday homes should have their properties siezed and redistributed to share the wealth and give anyone a house

Gatling wrote: »
    I still haven't seen anything from sf or others on how exactly they are going to fix the housing supply issues ,

For some reason I expect them to come out and say people with holiday homes should have their properties siezed and redistributed to share the wealth and give anyone a house

MaryLou wasn’t very forthcoming on radio this morning. It’s all very well giving out about the Government and wasting time on meaningless votes of no confidence, but what concrete plans have they to sort the crisis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Sure that would be Gerry fecked with his 2 holiday homes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

It's not the holiday homes they're after, it's the elderlys houses.

MaryLou wasn’t very forthcoming on radio this morning. It’s all very well giving out about the Government and wasting time on meaningless votes of no confidence, but what concrete plans have they to sort the crisis?

I heard her.

When put to her what sf would do all she replied with is landlords wouldn’t be allowed sell up and get rid of tenants.

Basically she says if a tenant stops paying rent the landlord shouldn’t be allowed turf them out.

And that was it, that was all she was able to put forward to solve the “homeless” crisis.

Pure waffle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

I heard her.

When put to her what sf would do all she replied with is landlords wouldn’t be allowed sell up and get rid of tenants.

Basically she says if a tenant stops paying rent the landlord shouldn’t be allowed turf them out.

And that was it, that was all she was able to put forward to solve the “homeless” crisis.

Pure waffle.

If you dont have a policy you cant be criticised. Typical Sinn Fein approach. Populist bull**** that wouldn't pass a constitutional challenge.

I remember after the bank bailout we had Mary Lou and others in the party saying they had sourced alternative sources of funding ,when asked about the "alternative sources" all we got was oh we had a varified alternative funding other than the IMF .

Now I've spoken to sinn fein TD's and councillors and all I'm getting is redistribution of wealth and various claims of fixing housing, fixing the hse , fixing schools and affordable child care .

But that's all ,no substance nothing you can back and support just oh we can ,we will .

They talk a housing crisis ,they control most of the councils who are not turning houses around quickly while calling for more social housing but blocking plans other than their own projects.

It's the same for the others all complaining but not having any substantial to how they will fix the major issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,509 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

john4321 wrote: »
    Mrs Cash?

lol I should have said working family :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Last I heard was she is living in a B&B with the whole family but imo it's only a matter of time before she gets their home forever

Speaking to the Sun she said: “I’m devastated, it is more bad news. We have been moved from a three-bed apartment to a one room in a B&B. That’s all there is for all eight of us, one extended room, there’s bunk-beds. I thought we were getting another apartment but no. I’m absolutely sickened.

“We are being moved around like cattle.

“It’s disgusting the way we are being treated. They can’t even tell us how long we’ll be in Drumcondra.

She went on to say she has no idea whether to put her kids up in school in Drumcondra or Tallaght as she's been given no clue as to where she will be.

According to the Mail on Sunday, Margaret's husband John McCarthy is now living with the family after being released from Cloverhill Prison on bail last Friday.

Speaking the paper, Margaret confirmed the news saying she is happy to have him home to help out.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/margaret-cash-homeless-tallaght-mum-15074658

Colour me surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,128 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The easiest job in the world is to be in opposition.

Just say the government is doing a crap job, and call for heads to roll, cos you know you'll never have to fix it yourself.

Then when there is a chance for going into power, turn it down so you can remain in the ditch throwing stones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,148 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Margaret "Teflon" Cash.

All questions are deflected to the "uncaring" about the "vulnerable".

Not a word about those who pay for it all. But there we are. Cash & Co. are out of bounds for any criticism. But the contributers will always be criticised.

Riddle me that someone!

Margaret "Teflon" Cash.

All questions are deflected to the "uncaring" about the "vulnerable".

Not a word about those who pay for it all. But there we are. Cash & Co. are out of bounds for any criticism. But the contributers will always be criticised.

Riddle me that someone!

Or if cash and Fleming cares so much about the homeless why aren’t they contributing with tax that could build houses for the homeless?

What are they doing to help the situation if they care so much?

Truth is they don’t care about anyone else only themselves.

Self centered horrible people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,284 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Why are there loads of council owned houses sitting idle and boarded up?
    I know of several in different parts of Dundalk and I'm told of similar in towns around the country. Surely they could be done up and given to families and thus providing a source of revenue for the councils. Seems a waste.

NIMAN wrote: »
    The easiest job in the world is to be in opposition.

Just say the government is doing a crap job, and call for heads to roll, cos you know you'll never have to fix it yourself.

Then when there is a chance for going into power, turn it down so you can remain in the ditch throwing stones.

Even those in power are powerless when faced with SJWs and the "vulnerable" word.

I am not advocating a dictatorship here or anything, but there are times when the dreaded word "overall majority" might just get things done without having to pander to all and sundry propping up a Government.

I know, I know. But the current Government is supposedly for the Workers and those who get up in the morning. But they have to tweak everything in favour of those who believe entitlement is a Constitutional right, or else you are out!

Well, the next GE should be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,284 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Even those in power are powerless when faced with SJWs and the "vulnerable" word.

I am not advocating a dictatorship here or anything, but there are times when the dreaded word "overall majority" might just get things done without having to pander to all and sundry propping up a Government.

I know, I know. But the current Government is supposedly for the Workers and those who get up in the morning. But they have to tweak everything in favour of those who believe entitlement is a Constitutional right, or else you are out!

Well, the next GE should be interesting.

A lot of the talk about workers and "those who get up in the morning" seems to have been nothing more than waffle. They had their chance to prove it in the last budget but failed miserably.

I know of several in different parts of Dundalk and I'm told of similar in towns around the country. Surely they could be done up and given to families and thus providing a source of revenue for the councils. Seems a waste.

Yes Sinn Fein have the most seats on dcc, and they are responsible for housing, you should ask them.

Apparently a lot of local authorities don't have the staff to do it ,
    Retired staff are not being replaced or they somehow don't have the funds to employ staff and carry out repairs ,

Once a house has all it's windows ,doors ,water and electricity ,then they should be flipped straight away and tenants told to carry out their own maintenance if it's nothing major

Yes Sinn Fein have the most seats on dcc, and that are responsible for housing, you should ask them.

If that's the case then their failing miserably.

A lot of the talk about workers and "those who get up in the morning" seems to have been nothing more than waffle. They had their chance to prove it in the last budget but failed miserably.

Strangled by the "propper uppers" i.e. Indos who demand everything for their own patch and don't think of the big picture at all.

At this stage I really wish FG would just bring in a budget to care for those contributing (for once) and see what happens in a soon to be held GE.

I doubt they will have the bottle to do it though.