Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,290 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Not sure what you mean. If the disks are fitted to each side of the car, their orientation compared with direction of travel will be different.

I expected them to be like this:
    turbogroove-direction.png
    And that's exactly how they should be.
    To drive OCD insane, these Mazda6 alloys are directional too. On the passenger side the spokes "sweep" along but on the driver's side they claw towards the ground :D

[...]
    If they're all identical while compared to each other, especially if all taken off the car, they're not directional, but indeed, OCD-wise it could be much better to have them like mirror image, 2+2. And some wheels are made that way, however rarely.

2 examples:

s-l1600.jpg s-l1600.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

joujoujou wrote: »
    And that's exactly how they should be.
    If they're all identical while compared to each other, especially if all taken off the car, they're not directional, but indeed, OCD-wise it could be much better to have them like mirror image, 2+2. And some wheels are made that way, however rarely.

2 examples:

s-l1600.jpg s-l1600.jpg

Escort? and Probe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭E36Ross

Patww79 wrote: »
    I've never experienced a harder ride in anything, and I've put poly bushes in cars before. If you had any long term exposure to driving one you wouldn't have a spine left.

Also, no air con in a 2018, a touchscreen radio without steering controls, zero covers or sound deadening above or below the engine, and 75bhp from a 2.0TDI. Woeful stuff.

They don't come with covers standard but they do have the positions for them and ones of a Golf or Jetta fit. :)
    I even asked the sales man to see another as I didn't believe VW were that cheap not to bother fitting them!

Night and day difference between a 75 trend and 150 highline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Not sure what you mean. If the disks are fitted to each side of the car, their orientation compared with direction of travel will be different.

I expected them to be like this:
    turbogroove-direction.png

I don't know why you are making it so complicated. Tonight go out to the car and put each disc resting against each tyre/alloy and look at them and they will be the correct way.
    Interslice wrote: »
    :p edit: those discs are grand

That's what I said last night????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Escort? and Probe

2 pictures of Probes

Unregistered Users

2 pictures of Probes
    True. :cool:

Never had one, btw. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Should the grooves in these discs not be orientated differently for each side?

IMG_20180903_214735.jpg

Are those 2 front discs or 1 front and 1 rear nearside/offisde discs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

joujoujou wrote: »
    True. :cool:

Never had one, btw. :D

Would anyone openly admit to having a nice Probe in the past! :eek::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Are those 2 front discs or 1 front and 1 rear nearside/offisde discs?

They are the same size so either two front or two rear.

Unregistered Users

Would anyone openly admit to having a nice Probe in the past! :eek::P
    My work colleague had at least 4 (hence I knew about wheels). Now only 2 and he's proud of them. ;)

blade1 wrote: »
    They are the same size so either two front or two rear.

Top one looks a bit bigger for some reason.

Vintage, can you post a pic of the full set? If those grooves are directional I think you've been sold 4 discs for one side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

I don't know why you are making it so complicated. Tonight go out to the car and put each disc resting against each tyre/alloy and look at them and they will be the correct way.

That's what I said last night????

Had a big rant about gases escaping from brake pads. Theyre grand but theyre both nearside discs. Classic online parts shopping.

Top one looks a bit bigger for some reason.

Optical illusion I'd say.
    Boxes look the same size anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Jesus, I am not making anything complicated. This disks I bought do not come in near/off side. They are identical. The BMW part is the same. Below is a picture of the BMW OEM kit fitted. In my opinion, it just looks wrong, but that's the way it is.

f30-m-performance10.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Tonight go out to the car and put each disc resting against each tyre/alloy and look at them and they will be the correct way.

No they won't.

Jesus, I am not making anything complicated. This disks I bought do not come in near/off side. They are identical. The BMW part is the same. Below is a picture of the BMW OEM kit fitted. In my opinion, it just looks wrong, but that's the way it is.

Calm down sonny Jim :)

You were the one saying that you expected them to be directional as per the image you posted. :p

The ones facing the wrong way will come in handy when you are reversing!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭kirving

Checked this out before as it didn't look right to me either. Bottom line is that outside of professional racing, the direction of the grooves or internal ventilation channels make no difference.

You could always import one from the southern hemisphere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Patww79 wrote:
    Was doing a bit of work in the UK the end of last week and was given a brand new Caddy to use by our partner company. For something with such a name, they are so disappointing.

One of the lads had an 11 102 brake caddy and replaced it with a 131 connect 90 brake. It was the old shape connect but my God it was horrible to drive and be in. Caddy was miles ahead of it. Different ball game with the new connect though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

One of the lads had an 11 102 brake caddy and replaced it with a 131 connect 90 brake. It was the old shape connect but my God it was horrible to drive and be in. Caddy was miles ahead of it. Different ball game with the new connect though!

I left the toll at the Limerick tunnel at the same time as a 181 caddy and was left for dust in the Doblo. Can't be the worst yokes. I had one last year and it was fine, also had a kangoo I think which was a bit rougher and gruffer. Had a Nissan NV a few times and that was actually very pleasant bar the utterly shíte gearbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Caddys are noisy even at low speeds so I can only imagine what they're like on a motorway, and the ride is atrocious as well. The one I was in was a 2008 so I don't know if they've improved them since (the interior has definitely been changed), but I definitely wasn't impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Caddys are noisy even at low speeds so I can only imagine what they're like on a motorway, and the ride is atrocious as well. The one I was in was a 2008 so I don't know if they've improved them since (the interior has definitely been changed), but I definitely wasn't impressed.

They haven't. Hard as a rock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Take the seats out of a golf throw them into caddy...

Gti seats be nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,580 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Pimp my Caddy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Speaking of Seats my dads Leon has the ‘Upgraded’ alcantara leather Christ they are the hardest yokes ever the odd time I drive would actually be sore getting out of it like sitting on plywood. Even with 80k km on it they never softened up. The standard FR seats are 100 times miver which is what was in my old one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Had a spin in Shadowhearths ibiza cupra this evening. What a fantastic little car, great fun altogether.

http://www.thejournal.ie/traffic-delays-m50-collision-4219914-Sep2018/

Schools only back and the m50 is a mess. Been driving it this week in the bad traffic. Bound to happen with all the last minute exit from the fast lane merchants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,580 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

If only they built a ring round around Dublin....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,182 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

bazz26 wrote: »
    If only they built a ring round around Dublin....
    At this stage they need a ring around a ring.