Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

I dont think mcguiness is the answer . he wpuldnt have won that all itelsnd only for the two quickfire goals imo. Beat dublin in 14 but subsequently lost to kerry in final because of two stupid goals to concede.

Ah no, Donegal were well worth the win in 2012, a lot of our lads were out of their depth that day - it was a year too soon. Rory Kavanagh said in his book that the two early goals actually shell-shocked themselves and they subconsciously thought they were already halfway there and it lead to a sharp drop-off, which they remedied in the second half. I don't even think Mayo created a goal chance that day

The 2014 win was a complete smash and grab, Connolly missed a sitter which probably cost Dublin winning by 10 plus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    The Kerry and Ros replays have to be tempered given how poor they've been since. I'll always remember after the Kerry replay last year, a mayo fan shouting how the bookies always underestimate Mayo, until I pointed out that he'd have done his absolute conkers backing Mayo blind in every game over the preceding years.

Yep, I do think this year has given fresh context to that Kerry result.

That said it was great to get the monkey off the back especially after missing a great opportunity in 2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

naughto wrote: »
    The cb are red rotten they would want to be cleaned out. I no I called for rochford to go but not like this
    yop wrote: »
    Can't disagree there on those points. BUT in both '16 and '17 it was the bounce of a ball in losing 2 AI finals. He still had to find the answer to Donaghy who when Horan was in charge in Limerick destroyed us.
    I don't think if God himself was in charge this year that it would have ended any different to be honest, the hours were in the legs of the players and the mental drain of the last few years will have taken its toll.

Regardless of what he didn't deliver in Connacht, he has so far been manager of a team who were the only ones who have taken this Dublin squad the closest in championship football.
    Sunday will tell the tale of course if Tyrone can do the same and go further.

The handling of the situation of Rochfords departure is most peoples issue, I do think a change was needed but not in the way the clowns in the Co Board have gone about it, AGAIN.[

So for those who wanted Rochford gone how did you actually want it to happen ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I'm sure most would have preferred if he decided 3 years was enough, wanted to spend time with family, felt he couldn't add more etc etc. I.e. all his own reasons.

Rather than being pushed out by the clowns in the County Board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

I think the right time to leave was probably after the Kildare game which was the end to Mayo's worst year since 2010 or leave when Buckley, McEntee and Burke all stepping away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Make the decision, tell him, thank him for his service, and take steps in the right manner to replace him. Who knows, maybe Mayo will need his service again in future as we did with other managers before, and perhaps Horan this time.

Leaving it as his decision, then undermining him publicly and in private to the point he walks away, is not only unfair on SR but would make any top level manager think twice about whether he wants to work under the same conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Barlett

seligehgit wrote: »
    Nothing in Seamie's piece either to indicate it was anything other than all systems go under Stephen Rochford and his new selectors.

Ah there was folks, he was asked what style would the new backroom team bring to Mayo since he has played under them at Breaffy and he said he wouldn't know because he's hardly ever at club training. He also said that they were tired hearing the same voices in the backroom team for the past 5/6 years. He was clearly uncomfortable with the questions.

Also following the end of season review between the county board and the representatives of players, surely the players would have said they want Rochford to continue?

I mean I know Lee Keegan is saying he's shocked, but no more so than players saying they never read the newspapers, to think intercounty players would have no idea what is happening when the rest of us seemingly did, is naive.

I'm not saying this was player lead, but I am saying this decision by the county board to take this line was not made without consulting the players. Sure the whole heave in 2015 was based around the county board making decisions without input from the players!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

I see the county board have declared that they're "putting a process in place" to select a new manager. So what happened to that August 31st deadline and all the pressure they put on Rochford to get things sorted quickly? Suddenly it doesn't seem so urgent any more. They're a f*cking joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Barlett wrote: »
    Ah there was folks, he was asked what style would the new backroom team bring to Mayo since he has played under them at Breaffy and he said he wouldn't know because he's hardly ever at club training. He also said that they were tired hearing the same voices in the backroom team for the past 5/6 years. He was clearly uncomfortable with the questions.

Also following the end of season review between the county board and the representatives of players, surely the players would have said they want Rochford to continue?

I mean I know Lee Keegan is saying he's shocked, but no more so than players saying they never read the newspapers, to think intercounty players would have no idea what is happening when the rest of us seemingly did, is naive.

I'm not saying this was player lead, but I am saying this decision by the county board to take this line was not made without consulting the players. Sure the whole heave in 2015 was based around the county board making decisions without input from the players!

Wasnt Keegan one of the few who didnt vote for removal of H&C also?

A lot say he was, I suppose we never know for sure. But what I'm getting at is what is said in the media and what actually happens is very different. The players took action when things weren't right in 2015 and nobody is able to answer why Rochford was removed other than the county board didn't fancy him anymore and you just have to ask why was that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

He was.

Barlett wrote: »

TBH I thought it was a refreshingly honest interview and I think you might be reading something into it that's not really there?

I didn't detect any real discomfort on his part.

Nothing surprising that after hearing the same voices for 5/6 years.. Donie Buckley that the time might be ripe for change.

Certainly didn't construe it as in any way referencing Stephen Rochford.He was answering the question in relation to the changes in backroom team.

seligehgit wrote: »
    TBH I thought it was a refreshingly honest interview and I think you might be reading something into it that's not really there?

I didn't detect any real discomfort on his part.

Nothing surprising that after hearing the same voices for 5/6 years.. Donie Buckley that the time might be ripe for change.

Certainly didn't construe it as in any way referencing Stephen Rochford.He was answering the question in relation to the changes in backroom team.

Fair enough, we'll have to agree to disagree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Everyone knows, Keegan does his talking on the pitch. He has so much confidence in his ability that he doesn't need to point fingers or look for excuses. A truly smashing player both on and off the field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

PressRun wrote: »
    I see the county board have declared that they're "putting a process in place" to select a new manager. So what happened to that August 31st deadline and all the pressure they put on Rochford to get things sorted quickly? Suddenly it doesn't seem so urgent any more. They're a f*cking joke.

Criticise them for many things but for this?? Come on, obviously the process is going to take time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I see the county board have declared that they're "putting a process in place" to select a new manager.

I suspect that 'process' will be heavily focused on a recent incumbent of the job and will closely resemble the one Martin O'Neil is currently undertaking vis a vis Declan Rice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Criticise them for many things but for this?? Come on, obviously the process is going to take time.

Well yes, had they named a manager Monday night people would be giving out too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

The sneakily manoeuvred Rochford out .

Why / How would any good candidate trust the Mayo County Board ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭irishgeo

blinding wrote: »
    The sneakily manoeuvred Rochford out .

Why / How would any good candidate trust the Mayo County Board ?

by saying its on my terms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭eastmayo

Jim mc Guinness has ruled himself out this eve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

eastmayo wrote: »
    Jim mc Guinness has ruled himself out this eve.

Where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,052 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Where?

Any link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭BandMember

Well thats Keegan Higgins & Doherty in recent weeks who have all spoken well of Rochford. So I think it is safe to say there was no player involvement in this decision. Not that that will suit certain people's narrative

Yep, particularly a (edited because I can't say what I really think of him or Boards would get sued) so called journalist who writes for a national rag...

Carnacon's appeal against their recent expulsion from the Mayo ladies senior football championship will be heard before the Connacht LGFA tonight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

irishgeo wrote: »
    by saying its on my terms
    They gave him very little time to pick his back up team and then hmmm and haaaad .

They wanted Rockford out but played the cute hoor in how they went about it .

They want their Yes Man . Will they get a Good Manager that is also their Yes Man ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

http://twitter.com/offtheball/status/1035245123616075776

If they have gotten rid of Rochford just to end up with Solan next year ........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭irishgeo

km79 wrote: »

If they have gotten rid of Rochford just to end up with Solan next year ........

going to be the only name in the hat its seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

km79 wrote: »

Solan in to 6/4 now from 11/4 yesterday, and 9/2 the day before.
    Horan 4/7, McGuinness now out to 5/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

irishgeo wrote: »
    going to be the only in the hat its seems

The U20s have serious time for Solan so it may not be the worst thing in the world. It's better to get someone who wants it rather than trying to get someone to take it. It looks like Horan is out so Solan is the only man in town.

It is a high profile job so I am surprised someone from outside has not come forward.