Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

Thanks for the few good years Rochford. Got us the closest to winning an All-Ireland.

Thanks for the good times!

F^*k you county board. All they seemed to do was release undermining statements for the last 6 weeks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

That's some game of thrones levels of sh1t goings on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Years of this crap from them.
    When do they resign I wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Roman Abromovic may as well be Chairperson of the Mayo CB.

The turnover of management teams is hugely detrimental to a side that should have had an All Ireland in its peak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Feel very sorry for Stephen Rochford.

I thought he'd banked enough credit to be given another year but it appears to all intents and purposes a hatchet job was done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Rochford was entitled to another year and should have been backed if he wanted it.

I thought that him leaving after the Kildare game might be no harm but the longer it's dragged on and seeing some names that were touted, left me wanting him to stay on.

Given the County Board delivered us Noel Connelly and Pat Holmes after Horan left, makes me think they're not to be trusted.

Overall I think Stephen Rockford can feel hard done by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Roman Abromovic may as well be Chairperson of the Mayo CB.

The turnover of management teams is hugely detrimental to a side that should have had an All Ireland in its peak.

I see a closer analogy to the current Man United situation, except I guess there's no incentive for Rochford to hang on and wait to be sacked because he wouldn't be due a multimillion payoff.:P Have we a Pogba in the playing ranks I wonder...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Thanks for 2 of the best years I've had as a Mayo supporter, Stephen. 2016 & 2017 will never be forgotten and you deserved a 2019.

Himself and the management team brought a very good team to another level. Plenty of head scratching went on at times but you have to have balls to make the calls. The net effect was progression.

The County Board got what they wanted. The signs were there. Cowardly idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Thought Rochford was doing a great job with mayo ...hope the players won't stand idly by and allow this to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Could a refreshed Horan be ready to finish what he started?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭irishgeo

padd b1975 wrote: »

he is the westport manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Discussing resignation on OTB now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

what a total fook up ,, the relationship between them must be brutal after the CB statement today. Don't know what to think anymore.

4/7 in bookies for jim mcguinness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

John Francis himself to take over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

what a total fook up ,, the relationship between them must be brutal after the CB statement today. Don't know what to think anymore.

4/7 in bookies for jim mcguinness

The cb are red rotten they would want to be cleaned out. I no I called for rochford to go but not like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

From one reading of Rochford's statement it seems like the CB did not have much confidence in him or "the management team I assembled".

Not that long ago on this very thread people were calling out the CB for penny pinchinig on the management team

Now people are again giving out about the CB for not having perceived confidence I the same management team.

So which is it.

For the people here who wanted Rochford gone, he's now gone, so as Delia famously said "let's be havin you".

For the people here who posted unsubstantiated rumours for everywhere form Twitter to barber shops, well done, ye were spot on.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Discussing resignation on OTB now.

Caught the tail end of that discussion. Loved the comment that apparently one county board officer remarked that more youthful players could have been introduced sooner. Is it any wonder that SR is gone this evening.......

Well why didn't he go three weeks or a month ago when that was said ?

[/b]

Well why didn't he go three weeks or a month ago when that was said ?

Was that said a month ago by the person in question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

padd b1975 wrote: »

He had his chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

The review wasn't till after the all Ireland semi finals which gave Rochford plenty of time. He was up against it getting selectors with only 12 months of a contract. Hardly inspiring for any mentor worth his salt.

The county board knew this and forced Rochford onto his own sword. To prolong this over the Summer was a shame and Rochford must have known he had his work cut out for him.

Front runner has to be Horan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

km79 wrote: »
    He had his chance

Would have him back in a heartbeat if I were ye. 2013 was yer highpoint and just happened to run into Dublin at their best that year

I'm not sure about Horan.

I'd like to see him back as manager but I think its far too early.

Give him a few years with Westport and the talent they have coming through and then have another crack with Mayo, hopefully with some of that new talent.

Horan as manager in 2019 would be kind of the last battle for him and the guys he made a name with in 2011.

I'm not sure about Horan.

I'd like to see him back as manager but I think its far too early.

Give him a few years with Westport and the talent they have coming through and then have another crack with Mayo, hopefully with some of that new talent.

Horan as manager in 2019 would be kind of the last battle for him and the guys he made a name with in 2011.

As a Westport supporter I fully agree. :)

A first senior county title for Westport would be a big feather in Horan's cap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Horan changed everything when he came in. He brought in a winning mentality and confidence that has waited with us over the last number of years.

I think as it stands he would be the person to go for if he wanted it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

Only thing with horan is that he may have to clear out some of the very players that he introduced back in the day. Building a team for the future is key and getting new blood into the team to create competition and challenges is overdue. Has he the wherewithal for dropping Andy, Keith, Boyler to make way?

That will be a hard task and a measure of the man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

I'd say the players would love to have Horan back.

However, if I was Horan, I'd only go near the job now if I truly believed I could win an AI with Mayo. He has a great reputation from his earlier stint. If he took over the same team group of players again & things dont go as well, then it could hit his reputation. It is genuinely hard to see who they will go for though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Who is michael solan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,709 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Rochford did a great job for the first two years, fantastic job. There are a few things to question, not beating galway in those three years, it really took its toll this year with injuries. Not bringing on any new players, we had a situation in Newbridge where we didn’t bring on subs until 60minutes on a scorching hot day, that’s down to the manager.
    I have always been a supporter of Rochford, even his decision to bring in Hennelly.
    IMO his race is run though

So who next? I’d be delighted to see McGuinness put his money where his big mouth is. It would be putrid to watch but it might be what we need.

More likely is McEntee, the word I got was that he was interested but wouldn’t stand against Rochford, I’d expect him to be the next manager

Who is michael solan?

Current u20 manager, lost all Ireland a few weeks ago to Kildare
    U21 manager that won All Ireland 2016.

Major questions about how the backs were setup and performed v James Hyland and other Kildare forwards in recent final.

It's not as if he did not see that coming.