Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Snowseer

I'd be surprised if they were able to read to be honest.

A really unpleasant thing to say about the children. Surprised that seven people liked this post already. What have the children done to deserve that kind of comment?

I also have to wonder about the posters saying that these children have no hope and will end up criminals. And, if they do? Well, then they’re scumbags, right? There’s some weird disconnect in some people’s minds right there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

Blazer wrote: »
    Oh don’t worry. By the time we retire we’re ****ed .

[offtopic]
    Just an interesting observation here:

The State assumes that every person is perfectly fit to work until the age of 68,
    nothing bad of letting 68 yo working 40 hours a week.

But two years later, at your 70th birthday you would have to prove to the State that you are fit to drive a car!

[/offtopic]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Snowseer wrote: »
    A really unpleasant thing to say about the children. Surprised that seven people liked this post already. What have the children done to deserve that kind of comment?

Give their mother's disdain for education, I think it's fair to wonder if the kids are getting an honest shot at it.

I think most people would want the kids to get opportunities to break out of the insane cycle their mother has them living in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Cina

Why not cut social welfare and put the extra money in our health system.

I'd rather not give a penny more to the HSE to waste it more. They already have one of the OECD's largest health budgets per capita and look where it's getting us.

What we should be spending this money on while we're thriving again is infrastructure, public transport, renewable energy etc. Stuff that will help future-proof this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

Out of interest has anyone who wrote to their TD received a reply.

I have not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

jjmcclure wrote: »
    Out of interest has anyone who wrote to their TD received a reply.

I have not

Still on their holliers.

Give their mother's disdain for education, I think it's fair to wonder if the kids are getting an honest shot at it.

I think most people would want the kids to get opportunities to break out of the insane cycle their mother has them living in.

I know that the mum said that she didn’t want to continue education herself. But, she’s sending the children to school so far. I haven’t read anything about the children not receiving an education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,229 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Quick question

If the state pension is stopped would you just get the standard dole when you retire ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

The comment wasn't an insult.
    I also have to wonder about the posters saying that these children have no hope and will end up criminals. And, if they do? Well, then they’re scumbags, right? There’s some weird disconnect in some people’s minds right there.

If they end up battering old age pensioners or running paedophile rings then yes they will be called scumbags.

Quick question

If the state pension is stopped would you just get the standard dole when you retire ?

State Pension will NEVER be stopped as long as pensioners vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,377 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

This may very well happen, currently yes, you would receive some sort of welfare payment, but since we can't accurately predict the future, who knows if that will occur in the future. Many people of retirement age are currently being forced to play all sorts of games in order to receive payments.

Oh never say never

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I know that the mum said that she didn’t want to continue education herself. But, she’s sending the children to school so far. I haven’t read anything about the children not receiving an education.

That's coming across as very naive. Even the settled travellers I went to school with (settled 2 generations) still had to leave to get married at 16. Cash has already banged on about how school means getting exposed to drugs and alcohol.

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    This may very well happen, currently yes, you would receive some sort of welfare payment, but since we can't accurately predict the future, who knows if that will occur in the future. Many people of retirement age are currently being forced to play all sorts of games in order to receive payments.

But you are guaranteed a payment if you have never worked ?

• Site Banned Posts: 210 ✭✭Sardine

Traveller families are criminal gangs. The males go into crime, the women stay at home having babies. No way will these kids finish school because travellers do not want to be part of normal society. They want to rob from normal civilians while taking the p*ss out of the welfare system. If you think otherwise you're very naive.

Am probably going to be killed for saying this, but should Child Allowance be linked to school attendance? Maybe it is I dunno. So for every week that a child is absent or whatever, the CA is reduced by X amount or something.

Same applies to the FLA system. Surely a garnish of SW payments should happen on a sliding scale. Say a few euro a week for the length of the trial and post incarceration (if it happens), and an increased deduction every time a person avails of FLA.

There are small things that can be done to encourage respect for the public purse and personal responsibility. But no, 227 previous convictions, no problem, here's your free lawyer. Again.

No doubt the Legal Egals will have a conniption, but there are ways, but the will doesn't seem to be there at all to do anything to upset the entitled crowd at all.

Not necessarily, claimants must meet particular requirements which can change over time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,740 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Yes you are.
    Don't mind that spoofer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,927 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Why do we automatically have to feel sorry for kids? Not going to be a popular opinion, but other peoples kids (well, kids in general imo) are not my problem. Going by previous experience, the kids not being able to read is not a far stretch, considering the circumstances. Again though, just an opinion. And yes, if they're brought up in those conditions, they are most likely going to turn out to be criminals. There comes a point when the kids will grow into adults, and their actions will give them the title they deserve. I know it wouldn't be easy to leave that life and try and make something of it, but the fact is the vast majority don't, or don't want to. So I see nothing wrong with the comment.

A criminal is a scumbag, I don't give a toss about circumstances or background, committing a crime is a person choice, so having a bad upbringing or issues with alcohol or drugs has no bearing with me. You commit a crime, you're a scumbag (i'm on about victim crimes, ie: burglary, robbery, fraud, etc).

ELM327 wrote:
    Yes you are. Don't mind that spoofer.

Really? As far as I'm aware, claimants require a permanent address in order to claim many welfare payments, hence why many homeless are unable to do so. Some boards members such as splinter may be able to confirm this to us all, including myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,740 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Really? As far as I'm aware, claimants require a permanent address in order to claim many welfare payments, hence why many homeless are unable to do so. Some boards members such as splinter may be able to confirm this to us all, including myself

Permanent address is really a notion that does not exist in a bear economy. I suggest you do some reading from Ostrom and Hardin on the subject.

http://www.thejournal.ie/glasnevin-aggravated-burglary-4209882-Aug2018/

Wonder who this was? My Grandmother lived around there until she died, could have been her too. But no let's give them free money and houses.

The comment wasn't an insult.
    I'd be surprised if they were able to read to be honest.

You said that you would be surprised if the children (aged up to 11 or so) were able to read. I don't think that's a compliment..
    If they end up battering old age pensioners or running paedophile rings then yes they will be called scumbags.

The point is that posters are saying that these children have a hopeless future now. People here are saying how sad it is that these children don't have a chance at life. But, if they fulfil their destiny, they turn from hopeless children into "scumbags". Is there a ticking clock where they change from one to another? The kids without a chance end up hopeless, and then we blame them?

Battering old age pensioners or running paedophile rings is a bit specific, and hyperbolic though..

You said that you would be surprised if the children (aged up to 11 or so) were able to read. I don't think that's a compliment..

The point is that posters are saying that these children have a hopeless future now. People here are saying how sad it is that these children don't have a chance at life. But, if they fulfil their destiny, they turn from hopeless children into "scumbags". Is there a ticking clock where they change from one to another? The kids without a chance end up hopeless, and then we blame them?

Battering old age pensioners or running paedophile rings is a bit specific, and hyperbolic though..

Travellers often batter and burgle pensioners. That's why he made that reference.
    Because of poor parenting and a culture of crime in their community, the kids will most likely be scumbags.
    That's their fault, not ours. But that's what they want, they don't want to integrate.

Sardine wrote: »
    Travellers often batter and burgle pensioners. That's why he made that reference.
    Because of poor parenting and a culture of crime in their community, the kids will most likely be scumbags.
    That's their fault, not ours. But that's what they want, they don't want to integrate.

? Confused - I was referencing the quote about the children not being able to read. They go to school and get an education - why would somebody suggest that they are unlikely to be able to read??

I don't support Margaret Cash. There are much worse around, for sure, but I don't think that what she is doing is right. I believe you should work for what you get.

However, there is no need, no justification, and no reason to attack her children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Cina

For sure.

It'll just have increased to 75 by the time we get it instead.

Cina wrote: »
    For sure.

It'll just have increased to 75 by the time we get it instead.

That will be gas . A bunch of people in their 60s on jobseekers after quitting their jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

It wasn't meant as a compliment either.

There will come a point when they will be responsible for their own actions. Regardless of their upbringing, they will know that it is wrong to harm people, to steal things etc. When they choose to do these things and do them repeatedly, then I personally will regard them as scumbags yes.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/raiders-with-120-convictions-out-on-bail-when-they-tied-up-and-beat-90yearold-woman-35313866.html

https://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0403/606517-man-gets-life-for-sligo-pensioner-murder/

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/many-lives-have-been-ruined-by-simon-mcginley-s-horrific-crimes-1.700478

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/almost-20-child-victims-of-alleged-paedophile-ring-identified-1.3416894

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

D3V!L wrote:
    Could have gotten a free house at this stage.

D3V!L wrote:
    Me too !! Myself and the missus have been saving for a deposit for the last year. FOR WHAT !!

Within a year? When people are waiting 10 years? Let's not start making **** up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

Sardine wrote: »
    http://www.thejournal.ie/glasnevin-aggravated-burglary-4209882-Aug2018/

Wonder who this was? My Grandmother lived around there until she died, could have been her too. But no let's give them free money and houses.

Who was it Sardine? If you have info you should report it to the cops not post cryptic messages on here.