If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Tomorrow's papers anyone ?

"Tragic Homeless Mother of 7 Victim To Internet Bullying Campaign"

"Ms Cash said today that the trolls are judging her for helping her partner through a short term crisis".

Or some guff.

"Tragic Single Homeless Mother of 7 Victim To Internet Bullying Campaign"

"Heartbroken Ms Cash said today that the trolls are judging her for helping her ex partner through a short term crisis".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

KrustyUCC wrote: »

"Heartbroken Ms Cash said today that the trolls are judging her for helping her ex partner through a short term crisis".

That's the one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,338 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Sardine wrote: »
    It's looking for an address if you try and report her though. She's homeless! What address did you put in?

That really wouldn't be too difficult for them to find out.
    A few phone calls would do it.

I am sure they would have done something similar in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

I remember the people being given their dole there were junkies and Margaret Cash looking types.
    Some of us don't seem to be entitled to any benefits.

+1 Reminds me of being on the dole years ago. It was bad enough having to queue up in your local office but the useless b*stards you'd see there would p*ss you off.

I remember one guy talking on his phone giving out about how long the queue was and how it was much faster signing on before the recession. And I still see this asshat walking around in his tracksuit with not a care in the world :mad:

Err...

Err...

Ah look she expects us to believe any old ****e so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,397 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Faith+1 wrote: »
    +1 Reminds me of being on the dole years ago. It was bad enough having to queue up in your local office but the useless b*stards you'd see there would p*ss you off.

I remember one guy talking on his phone giving out about how long the queue was and how it was much faster signing on before the recession. And I still see this asshat walking around in his tracksuit with not a care in the world :mad:
    And remember when you pay your taxes (my effective tax rate was 34.97% last paycheck) that this is what you're paying for :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

ELM327 wrote: »
    And remember when you pay your taxes (my effective tax rate was 34.97% last paycheck) that this is what you're paying for :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Payday on Thursday - I really avoid looking at the wage slip online, it's just depressing!!!

• Site Banned Posts: 210 ✭✭Sardine

Payday on Thursday - I really avoid looking at the wage slip online, it's just depressing!!!

Serious question - you seem to post on this thread all day long - are you out of work at the moment?
    I'm off for another 2 weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

Serious question - you seem to post on this thread all day long - are you out of work at the moment?
    You'll be off doing nothing for 2 weeks, while Mrs Cash is struggling to feed all her children?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Dont be getting depressed. Just realise that Leo Vardakar and company are here to look after the hard working people

Explained many times ffs.

It's called a combination of the time of year waiting for tasks from other people, peaks and troughs of workload (e.g. today I'm not getting out till 7pm and won't be home till 9.15pm - a 16 hour day) plus being able to manage my own time - if I choose to work through lunch and spread the time the rest of the day wtf is is to do with anyone ?

None of anyone's business quite frankly but FYI, I've never been out of work and claimed the dole EVER. Not once.

30 years of doing anything to earn a crust, how DARE I have a job where I can manage my own workload eh ?

Explained many times ffs.

It's called a combination of the time of year waiting for tasks from other people, peaks and troughs of workload (e.g. today I'm not getting out till 7pm and won't be home till 9.15pm - a 16 hour day) plus being able to manage my own time - if I choose to work through lunch and spread the time the rest of the day wtf is is to do with anyone ?

None of anyone's business quite frankly but FYI, I've never been out of work and claimed the dole EVER. Not once.

30 years of doing anything to earn a crust, how DARE I have a job where I can manage my own workload eh ?

You must be a civil servant then. The middle class dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Obviously someone isn't entitled to post regularly on here unless they are out of work/never worked. I suppose they should have 7 kids too. :rolleyes:

Genuine question though, I wouldn't have time to post all day at my own job. I knew she'd tear me a new a*shole if I asked though.

None of anyone's business quite frankly but FYI, I've never been out of work and claimed the dole 
    I've been out of work for 2 weeks due to redundancy.
    The State support was:
    they taxed my redundancy payment, as it was too generous.
    they banned me from getting jobseeker benefit for 2 weeks for the same reason.

You must be a civil servant then. The middle class dole.

Oh ffs. I'd reply to that honestly but you're not worth the ban.

Sorry to burst your prejudiced bubble but no, education for the last 16 years, pensions/insurance before for that - that covers the last 21 years and the rest was the benefits office dogsbody after school and a few years of temping - some a year, some a day,

Beggars can't be choosers.

I always find these kind of posts amusing because I'm never on the receiving end of them... and yet, I am on boards quite a lot every day (whether I'm posting or "liking" posts.

Go figure. :D

na1 wrote: »
    I've been out of work for 2 weeks due to redundancy.
    The State support was:
    they taxed my redundancy payment, as it was too generous.
    they banned me from getting jobseeker benefit for 2 weeks for the same reason.

And when I returned to Ireland, they put me on 114 euro because I was mortgaged to the hilt, no serious savings apart from my life assurance and was able to stay with my parents (I'm aged 41) and wasn't able to afford to pay the deposit for renting. Naturally, 114 euro really set me up to afford to move out. No other benefits or extras which seem rather common in welfare bashing threads.

Admittedly, I returned to Ireland because my parents were seriously ill, but that doesn't really factor into their consciousness unless you're from a disadvantaged minority (my parents being retired teachers naturally had an influence over my means).

So... State support? Minimal. Lasted a grand total of 2 months before I was forced to find work online (still couldn't afford to move to Dublin to find work, or the cost of commuting since I wanted to be near my parents. All of which was disclosed to them but I was deemed to be a higher bracket.) [Oh, and had 14 years full time prior employment, all taxed in higher brackets and never accessed any welfare/government support before I left Ireland, but that's not terribly relevant to them]

Oddly enough, I've come to know a variety of people in similar situations, which is why I tend to get my back up at the dole bashing threads/references.

On the other hand, I see people like Cash.. and I... grow disgusted.

Oh ffs. I'd reply to that honestly but you're not worth the ban.

Sorry to burst your prejudiced bubble but no, education for the last 16 years, pensions/insurance before for that - that covers the last 21 years and the rest was the benefits office dogsbody after school and a few years of temping - some a year, some a day,

I'm in the same boat and make no apologies for spending some down time on here now and again (As Margaret Cash might say - I'm entitled to it). I've worked my arse off for 12 years (undergrad, Masters, Ph.D, postdoc) to get a lecturing position on €40k a year. As idealistic as it might sound, I'm not in it for the money, but knowing that Margaret Cash makes more than I do by stealing a fraction of my gross salary is sickening to the core.

I find it truly offensive that people have a problem with workers having some free time but no problem with the likes of her having nothing but!!!!!

BTW we're on similar salaries - are you enjoying being part of the 1% ??!! :D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

Ms Cash is working on changing how that works :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭zeebre12

Anything new to this story in the last week or so?..can't be bothered to read all the pages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Ms Cash is working...

Don't get my hopes up.

zeebre12 wrote: »
    Anything new to this story in the last week or so?..can't be bothered to read all the pages
    Her husband is back to join the happy family! God loves them!
    https://extra.ie/2018/08/27/news/real-life/husband-of-homeless-mother-of-seven-margaret-cash-back-living-with-his-wife

zeebre12 wrote: »

Well she has moved to a new place

Hubby is out of Cloverhill and back living with the family

Well she has moved to a new place

Hubby is out of Cloverhill and back living with the family

does this mean they'll get even more scratcher, or less?

I don't know

I would have my doubts it is less but not 100%

BTW we're on similar salaries - are you enjoying being part of the 1% ??!!

Living the dream! 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Has anyone contacted the council? Supposed “vetting procedures” would probably exclude him from social housing if he’s joint applicant with her.