If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

How appalling of that person to throw the atrocity of the Magdalene laundries and other mistreatment of unmarried mothers at this woman's critics. And what's this "despite us all congratulating ourselves for being champions of feminism" thing about? Such terrible writing.

This isn't a situation where a woman has a child (or more than one child) whose father isn't around and is trying her best - wants to work/upskill but needs help getting on her feet. It isn't a situation where a woman was married or in a relationship, had children and their dad died or was abusive and she had to leave him. But the pretence is that it is comparable. It is however a case of someone being really irresponsible and demanding that resources be provided entirely by others. It is not difficult to see the difference.

It's not difficult to see the difference apart from if you are in the media

Entirely valid criticisms of Margaret Cash and her husband have been swept away as trolling or support for Magdalene laundries

You can't expect the media to actually want to get at the true story like

Easier to blame the government, society, so called racism against travellers, landlords, the housing crisis etc than actually see this story for the stunt it was

Sad thing is that it's worked to a degree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

Imagine the outrage if this were China with the one child policy.

Do people this this article is right in limiting the number of children to 2 now?

https://www.rte.ie/news/world/2018/0828/987993-china-family-planning/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Do people this this article is right in limiting the number of children to 2 now?

Encourage middle and upper class to have more children
    Discourage others.

We need a new generation of tax payers badly, we don't need a new generation of wasters.

Someone posted in the last while about a cohort of tax payers who have effectively just given up, I'd probably put myself in that bracket.

Look at Michael McGrath yesterday.... Shouldn't be an election until after the budget. There's 800 million as a starting point to spend in the budget... There will be increases in social welfare.

It's makes me mad on two fronts. One, yet again, as last year, Social welfare increases across the board. This will likely be the head line payments, dole, pension etc. Its a joke, here's extra money, because. I could more readily live with it if they came back and said after examination we feel there's a real problem in this area, area "x" and people need support here, so we've decided to increase support in area "x" by €y. Nope it's heeeey, here's a fiver a week for all you people waheeeey.

Two: it pisses me off that a spokesperson for an opposition party and come out and effectively say this is what's going to be in the budget and we think there's more than 800million to spend. Who's in government? It's a shambles. If FG and Leo weren't so power hungry the plug would be pulled.

But the issue, as the other poster said, is what then? An election with, at this stage almost certainly little chance of a coalition government (which are a joke anyway), but at least somewhat workable, and most likely it's FG or FF trying to scrape a few percentage points more than the other so they can call themselves "the leading party" or "the governing party" while the other supports them in a minority agreement.

As such I can see why people feel it is a hopeless situation, especially when you throw in the media bull****.

Although, my biggest fear, is that we stop voting in elections and somehow sinn fein slither into power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,989 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

If you're asking if China are going to limit it to two, that's not clear from the article.

If you're asking, should the limit of two apply to Ireland, well for starters you can limit the dole after two, so it drops off to negligible amounts at some level, maybe 3 to prevent dole farming like done by Ms. Ca$h.

If you're asking whether there should be a limit in general in Ireland, that's likely a contentious other thread. Personally given the ecological nightmare that is planet Earth these days, my opinion is yes, there should be a limit and it should be world-wide, and probably one child.

But, it's also too late to reverse the excesses of overpopulation that are happening now, and only going to worsen in the future for the children people are having. Ireland will be seen as a paradise in the upcoming years due to its low population density relative to much of the rest of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Aska

Eoghan Murphy and Miriam still praising the woman on Radion 1. It will never end with the media only willing to look at one side of the situation.

Re: homelessness in general, lord can Eoghan Murphy do some spin

FFS still praising her

Bet the fact that she is back with the hubby after his release from prison didn't come up

Yeah Murphy is unreal. What a spoofer which is exactly why he gets on so well with Leo

Aska wrote: »
    Re: homelessness in general, lord can Eoghan Murphy do some spin

You can be sure that he was after rehearsing from a script prepared by a spin doctor.

Except that the one child policy never worked. It was broken constantly by those in poorer regions away from party officials, or by the rich who could buy more allotments. The one child policy was dropped due to the lack of population in the countryside after the encouragement to move to the cities, and there is talk of replacing it with a three child policy.... but again, it won't be effectively enforced. And that's with China being a police state, and a very strict formal culture.

It would never be allowed in a western democracy like Ireland. Too many rights would be trampled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,338 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Have any of the Traveller organisations made any comment on her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,397 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

bobbyss wrote: »
    Have any of the Traveller organisations made any comment on her?
    "Jus u n dm angles now hun"
    was one copied from her facebook page before she deleted loads of stuff/made it private

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

Aska wrote: »

Eoghan Murphy and Miriam still praising the woman on Radio 1.

It will never end with the media only willing to look at one side of the situation.

The only people in the entire universe who Irish Cabinet Ministers are currently allowed to condemn are (i) the Pope and (ii) Brexit supporting Tories, especially Boris!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Turnipman wrote: »
    The only people in the entire universe who Irish Cabinet Ministers are currently allowed to condemn are (i) the Pope and (ii) Brexit supporting Tories, especially Boris!

And Jacob Rees-Mogg- but I get that one!

There's a name :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭jay0109

According to Murphy and O'Callaghan, the nation was 'shocked and sickened' by what happened to Ms Cash. And 'everyone was moved' by the images.
    Maybe we're all out of touch with the real people on the ground!

Maybe ....

Just another example of politicians and the media having a set agenda and being too PC to reflect the real public mood

Couldn't be seen to be anything but supportive of a Single Homeless settled traveller mother of 7 who was 'forced' to sleep in Garda station with 6 kids

jay0109 wrote: »
    According to Murphy and O'Callaghan, the nation was 'shocked and sickened' by what happened to Ms Cash. And 'everyone was moved' by the images.
    Maybe we're all out of touch with the real people on the ground!

I was shocked and sickened by her alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

First couple up when we do our version of Mr & Mrs on the new Virgin Media channel.

Marty Morrissey takes over from Phillip Schofield on the UK version...

"Who's better at running away from Gardai ?"
    "Who usually fills in the benefit claim forms ?"
    "Who has more criminal convictions ?"

Ah you've won this lovely carriage clock. Er, it was here a minute ago ?

LOL

Sad when Cash is still being used as a stick to beat the government with

Minister expects increase in homeless figures

The Labour spokesperson on housing, Jan O'Sullivan, has accused Mr Murphy of avoiding the realities of the housing crisis.

In a statement she said: "In the last month alone, we have seen families sleep in Garda stations to avoid sleeping on the streets and protesters occupy buildings that have been lying vacant.

"Every month the homeless figures are rising and the numbers of children homeless are rising, this is not a sign that Rebuilding Ireland is working."

https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2018/0828/988040-homelessness-eoghan-murphy/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

I recall our present Taoiseach promoting citizens to report welfare fraud. I’ve just reported her...I’d encourage everyone on this thread to do the same...civic duty after all.

https://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/Report-Suspected-Social-Welfare-Fraud-contact.aspx

sightband wrote: »
    I recall our present Taoiseach promoting citizens to report welfare fraud. I’ve just reported her...I’d encourage everyone on this thread to do the same...civic duty after all.

https://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/Report-Suspected-Social-Welfare-Fraud-contact.aspx

Done:

"We as hard working taxpayers have been subjected to the nauseating coverage of her as a "single mother".

Her partner/husband is openly living with her (cf numerous media stories led by her)

Yet he was "out of the picture and not relevant". I respectfully disagree and believe the spin has to stop.

She must be investigated as a perpetrator of a blatant benefit fraud"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,197 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Done

• Site Banned Posts: 210 ✭✭Sardine

It's looking for an address if you try and report her though. She's homeless! What address did you put in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,197 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Sardine wrote: »
    It's looking for an address if you try and report her though. She's homeless! What address did you put in?

Tallaght Garda Station, Dublin 24

I put "some free gaff in city centre, try the papers - they seem to know where to go for the photo ops".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

sightband wrote: »

Done as well, surprisingly easy (and somewhat satisfying) to do so. If everyone on here can report this (takes 2mins), you never know what might happen, she might actually get investigated and, heaven forbid, justice might be done! Although she is the poster-girl of homelessness now (which is an issue I might add, I just hate seeing her abuse this issue), so is probably above the law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,397 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Done:

"We as hard working taxpayers have been subjected to the nauseating coverage of her as a "single mother".

Her partner/husband is openly living with her (cf numerous media stories led by her)

Yet he was "out of the picture and not relevant". I respectfully disagree and believe the spin has to stop.

She must be investigated as a perpetrator of a blatant benefit fraud"

Done:

Reporting Suspected
    Social Welfare Fraud

Your form has been submitted.

Thank you for using our online services.

• Site Banned Posts: 210 ✭✭Sardine

I think the reality is she's untouchable at this stage. She'll probably get more and more benefits for the rest of her life. Unless some new political party appears out of nowhere with an agenda that might be a little fairer, we just have to stomach this kind of thing for the rest of our lives.
    The one time I tried to claim the dole, I was 22, had just been in Canada for a year, and my Ma encouraged me to go to the Dole Office and try and get dole while I was looking for a job. They basically told me to f**k off. Something to do with stamps or something. And I didn't get a penny. I got a job a few weeks later contracting for a multinational. I had part time tax paying jobs all through my teens and beyond, and I remember the people being given their dole there were junkies and Margaret Cash looking types.
    Some of us don't seem to be entitled to any benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Sardine wrote: »
    That isn't a necessary requirement to submit the report. You can leave it blank

Tomorrow's papers anyone ?

"Tragic Homeless Mother of 7 Victim To Internet Bullying Campaign"

"Ms Cash said today that the trolls are judging her for helping her partner through a short term crisis".

Or some guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

Uriel. wrote: »

Encourage middle and upper class to have more children
    Discourage others.
    Well in the next budged I believe they rejected to make the CB means tested, but they are planning to cut the CB for high earners. Which literally means encourage low income to have more children and discourage high earners from having children.
    That obviously makes sense: If high income family start having more children, they would probably decide to spend more time with them, resulting in getting less working hours - less income - less support for most vulnerable! This could not be allowed!