Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

So who is our next manger ?

Horan ?
    Solan ?
    McGuinness ?
    Holmes :)
    John Maughan :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Pocaide

I listened back to it and you are correct it was Colm Keys but to say Colm Keys as a prominent GAA correspondent has no inside information, doesn't seem credible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

Pocaide wrote: »
    I listened back to it and you are correct it was Colm Keys but to say Colm Keys as a prominent GAA correspondent has no inside information, doesn't seem credible.

He's a decent journalist most of the time but he was purely speculating here. Out of a panel of over 30 players it is normal for 1 or 2 to be unhappy. Didn't one of the Tyrone forwards walk off the panel earlier this year? It's widely thought that Jim Gavins relationship with Connolly is strained and that contributed to him leaving.

But again, there's no indication that happened with Mayo this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Pocaide

However he seems to be correct in the County Board meeting with the players so there may some truth in what he said. As for speculation, it was speculation that Rochford was going to resign in the last few days. Speculation is sometimes that, but sometimes it turns out to be fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Rochford always seemed to be looking for his next chance to show what a tactical genius he was.

Not once did I ever get the impression that he was out to show himself to be a tactical genius.
    That's one of the strangest criticisms I've heard about him tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

padd b1975 wrote: »
    I wouldn't jump to criticise someone who knows what's 100% best for his players and sticks to it, it creates certainty.
    Rochford always seemed to be looking for his next chance to show what a tactical genius he was.

So Horan is criticised for not being willing to change tactics, Rochford is for the exact opposite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Pocaide wrote: »
    However he seems to be correct in the County Board meeting with the players so there may some truth in what he said. As for speculation, it was speculation that Rochford was going to resign in the last few days. Speculation is sometimes that, but sometimes it turns out to be fact.

afaik this is standard practice so i think you're trying to read something into it for the sake of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

afaik this is standard practice so i think you're trying to read something into it for the sake of it

Indeed it is standard practice for the county board to meet with player representatives for an annual end of year review.

But this group consisted solely of the Mayo captain Cillian O Connor and the two vice captains Tom Parsons and Aidan O Shea not the squad as a collective.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

So who is our next manger ?

Horan ?
    Solan ?
    McGuinness ?
    Holmes :)
    John Maughan :)
    Certainly a case for Sherlock Holmes .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

seligehgit wrote: »
    Indeed it is standard practice for the county board to meet with player representatives for an annual end of year review.

But this group consisted solely of the Mayo captain Cillian O Connor and the two vice captains Tom Parsons and Aidan O Shea not the squad as a collective.

So they met with player representatives as is standard practice ?

Why are people looking for something that isn’t there

How do you go about changing the Mayo Co. Board ?

They could certainly do with a shake-up .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

seligehgit wrote: »

Seem like the natural candidates to represent the players!! FFS. Your point/issue /agenda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Seem like the natural candidates to represent the players!! FFS. Your point/issue /agenda?

My point is that is that the players as a collective didn't meet the county board as earlier appeared to be implied.

I have no idea what on earth you're on about re my agenda?

The betterment of Mayo football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭boosabum

blinding wrote: »
    How do you go about changing the Mayo Co. Board ?

They could certainly do with a shake-up .

Get your club delegates to propose new members and have them voted in at AGM time, it's all very democratic actually :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭kala85

John Maughan just confirmed as the new offaly manager

The Mayo County board used to have difficulties with James Horan for those with medium term memories .

Then there was the Connelly / Holmes shambles !

Now the Rockford carry-on !

Whats the common theme here = Mayo County Board .

Perhaps the Mayo County Board are the Problem .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

Horan 5/6 Jim 2/1 what do they no that we don’t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

The Mayo County board used to have difficulties with James Horan for those with medium term memories .

Not forgetting the Kevin McStay brouhaha in 2014. Some bunch of operators alright..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

I am not standing up for the CB but the players didn't want Connelly / Holmes so you can't blame CB here.

This was first rumored on 21 August before Rochford announced his team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭muddle84

naughto wrote: »
    Horan 5/6 Jim 2/1 what do they no that we don’t
    Could that be based on the amount of money that is being placed on them though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Not forgetting the Kevin McStay brouhaha in 2014. Some bunch of operators alright..

I think the starter for 10 has to have been the Mickey Moran story. If ever I wanted to know who or what was in charge of the Mayo County Board I saw it then.
    Nothing would have surprised me after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

I reckon Peter Forde is in the mix for this position.

Previous Intercounty experience, and coming from working with Breaffy won't harm his chances.

Like another poster here I'm not necessarily standing up for the CB here but some people just default to blaming them for everything.

On Sunday they were blamed for penny pinching on the backroom team, but when they were less than enthuastic about that back room team now they are to blame for Rochford and the same back room team not actually happening.

They were blamed for bringing in H+C and also blamed for getting rid of H+C.

In my opinion they were dead right not to go with McStay and his in law a few years ago.

Give the job to Solan.

They need to bring in whatever young talent is good enough or looks good enough to be brought in.

Solan has worked with that young talent and is more likely to be willing to make the changes required.

The opening 20 mins of the u20 final was a bit of a disaster but put it down as a learning experience for all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Gael85

kala85 wrote: »
    John Maughan just confirmed as the new offaly manager

Is he the first manager to manage in all 4 provinces?

Mayo/Roscommon
    Clare
    Fermanagh
    Offaly

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Any news lads. I went into a cave yesterday looking for leprachauns.

I hear there is an AI final at the week. Any craic besides?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Would agree to an extent. The backroom team was certainly less than exciting for me anyway. I wouldn't have been too confident of them adding more than the previous team.

But, and it's a big but, I think the County Board backed him into a corner. It wouldn't surprise me if he was told to shop local and he certainly was put under pressure, very publicly too. The whole thing smelled of a set-up and many commented on that at the time.

Putting pressure in the midst of Club Championship is just nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Give the job to Solan.

They need to bring in whatever young talent is good enough or looks good enough to be brought in.

Solan has worked with that young talent and is more likely to be willing to make the changes required.

The opening 20 mins of the u20 final was a bit of a disaster but put it down as a learning experience for all involved.

That was the thinking in Galway with Alan Mulholland a few years ago. We had just won an AI U21 and he seemed the logical choice. He took the senior job but threw way too many of that U21 team into the seniors too quickly. He also got rid of some of the established players too quickly. Not many of that U21 team have really thrived at senior level since (those hammerings by Mayo obviously left a mark). Tom Flynn is probably the stand out one who has stepped up at senior level. So I would be a little cautious about promoting U20 managers since I saw what happened with Mulholland.

Who has been managing Castlebar the last few years? Given their dominance, would their management team not have some chance of getting the Mayo job?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

That was the thinking in Galway with Alan Mulholland a few years ago. We had just won an AI U21 and he seemed the logical choice. He took the senior job but threw way too many of that U21 team into the seniors too quickly. He also got rid of some of the established players too quickly. Not many of that U21 team have really thrived at senior level since (those hammerings by Mayo obviously left a mark). Tom Flynn is probably the stand out one who has stepped up at senior level. So I would be a little cautious about promoting U20 managers since I saw what happened with Mulholland.

Who has been managing Castlebar the last few years? Given their dominance, would their management team not have some chance of getting the Mayo job?

But Limerick hurlers did the same and yet won an AI? Its a balancing act but the line of "you cant win anything with kids" is something unpredictable.

The Cbar lads would have more sense than taking the Mayo setup tbh

yop wrote: »
    But Limerick hurlers did the same and yet won an AI? Its a balancing act but the line of "you cant win anything with kids" is something unpredictable.

The Cbar lads would have more sense than taking the Mayo setup tbh

"Doother" Durkan as Mayo manager.

He'd bring in Mauricio Pochettino as a consultant.