Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

butcher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

so just a really unfunny "joke"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,185 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Another Boyle sports infomercial just now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Who was the lad presenting 'The Panel on Off the Ball's show where they did a hurling preview? Was listening to the podcast earlier and he's an awful man to draw out a simple question into about ten sentences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,998 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Didn't listen to it but Shane Stapleton is their man hurling guy so I assume it was him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Dave McIntyre?

funny listening to this thing on the Mayo ladies.
    a Carnacon player lost her place on the county first 15, Staunton and the Carnacon club staged a mutiny and tried to heap pressure on the county management to reinstate her, who stood their ground, leading to some vague "player welfare issues" reasons for players walking out, and now being sanctioned.

of course, because Staunton is a contributor to OTB, we know which side Joe will be taking on this issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

funny listening to this thing on the Mayo ladies.
    a Carnacon player lost her place on the county first 15, Staunton and the Carnacon club staged a mutiny and tried to heap pressure on the county management to reinstate her, who stood their ground, leading to some vague "player welfare issues" reasons for players walking out, and now being sanctioned.

of course, because Staunton is a contributor to OTB, we know which side Joe will be taking on this issue.

Staunton is a contributor to OTB? Not sure where you’re getting that from. Think you’re confused.

But anyway you think Mayo GAA were right to exclude a club team from a county championship because 8 members of 12 who walked off a county team play for that club? That’s all fair and within the rules you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭readysetgo

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Staunton is a contributor to OTB? Not sure where you’re getting that from. Think you’re confused.

But anyway you think Mayo GAA were right to exclude a club team from a county championship because 8 members of 12 who walked off a county team play for that club? That’s all fair and within the rules you think?

Staunton is on the panel next week in Croke Park for an otb pre all ireland special so dont think they’ll be dissing her for this or mentioning the past fallouts with Mayo.
    I also think youll find the reason Carnacon were singled out was because they contacted the county manager and informed him that the club is pulling all the players. the other 4 left individually, that is the difference.

readysetgo wrote: »

Staunton is on the panel next week in Croke Park for an otb pre all ireland special so dont think they’ll be dissing her for this or mentioning the past fallouts with Mayo.
    I also think youll find the reason Carnacon were singled out was because they contacted the county manager and informed him that the club is pulling all the players. the other 4 left individually, that is the difference.

Ok fair points on the second point, don’t think Staunton is a contributor, more a guest of one show but fair enough. I still don’t think its a fair call to eject a team from a club championship for walking away from the county setup. Seems like the GAA or LGFA just love negative publicity and being on the wrong side of an argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

Ok fair points on the second point, don’t think Staunton is a contributor, more a guest of one show but fair enough. I still don’t think its a fair call to eject a team from a club championship for walking away from the county setup. Seems like the GAA or LGFA just love negative publicity and being on the wrong side of an argument.

Seems the issue Was The club withdrew the players and that is why the club is suffering the punishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

They also seem to have attempted to drag managements name through the mud in a bid to cover up what was really happening. Player welfare is a dodgy one to be throwing about these days.
    I'd ban every player involved in that for life.

Seems the issue Was The club withdrew the players and that is why the club is suffering the punishment.

Haven’t heard that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

OTB definitely have a different tone towards people they want to keep sweet. One-off guests can get absolutely grilled, but individuals they might want back in the future is given a very soft ride. I'd be interested

yes, the club rowed in behind Staunton and helped co-ordinate the boycott (all because it was a personal friend of Staunton's and the club want to keep her sweet), so fukc them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,998 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Reading up on the Mayo GAA thread, a poster said that the Mayo management team wanted to use Staunton as a impact sub and she and her club weren't happy with that, which is what kicked off the chain of events.

Some delegates from the different clubs who voted to kick Carnacon out of the competition failed to get in touch with their clubs before voting which is a bit dodgy

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/time-beat-carnacon-boardroom-not-football-pitch-173928

The whole thing is a mess really

If it's true that Carnacon withdrew players because of Staunton not being guaranteed a starting place, then they deserve to be thrown out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Surprised nobody had mentioned that OTB are sure to back any cause that serves their biased social agenda. In this case, a women’s club is in peril and is being discriminated against by the dastardly county board. It’s a story in a box for them and all they have to do is add the sound of tut-tutting. Job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Surprised nobody had mentioned that OTB are sure to back any cause that serves their biased social agenda. In this case, a women’s club is in peril and is being discriminated against by the dastardly county board.

I'm way ahead of you Jay. I listened to Joe's coverage of that the story and without even hearing the full story he was already on the side of the Cornacon players. In Joe's mind, woman playing sport + "issue of player welfare" + mostly b*stard men voting against Cornacon = An obvious case of oppression against women. If he had been covering the men's game he would have not been anywhere near as quick to take sides, he probably would have given management the benefit of the doubt more-so.

The OTB coverage of women's sport is pretty pathetic tbh. Every item has the same underlying theme of women's sport somehow being oppressed and undervalued, how much less funding the female sport gets than the men's equivalent sport, and how people should get out in support of the particular sport. They should treat women's sports the same way as they treat the men's sports. Well, except for the way they treat the men's League Of Ireland - nobody deserves to be treated like that. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The sad reality is that not many people really care.

Who here honestly attends womens sporting events?

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Think it's a bit pathetic that people don't understand the fundamental issue surrounding the story of player welfare.

A number of players express a concern with the Mayo county board, they laugh them out of the building, the players quit the county panel because of it, and the county board punish a club.

It's absolute horse**** the way a county board can treat their players like that and punish a load more players because they didn't like 12 players from the county team talking back to them.

It's bully-boy tactics to make the players back down, when the welfare of the players should treated seriously and not with contempt.

The fact people want to have a pop at OTB for simply highlighting this says a lot. They don't even care about the story, just how OTB is covering it which is quite pathetic imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Faugheen wrote: »
    The fact people want to have a pop at OTB for simply highlighting this says a lot. They don't even care about the story, just how OTB is covering it which is quite pathetic imo.

The whole purpose of this thread is about the way OTB cover stories. Just because you don’t see the words you want doesn’t invalidate the points. I’m sure there’s a Mayo GAA or feminist causes thread somewhere on this site. Maybe you should check those out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,507 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Is anyone able to say what exactly the issue of player welfare was?

I've been hearing this running for a while now, and have been really curious as to what actually happened.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Is anyone able to say what exactly the issue of player welfare was? I've been hearing this running for a while now, and have been really curious as to what actually happened.

Yeah but that phrase is the key to the issue. If the Mayo players are using the words player welfare to describe players being physically mistreated or mentally/emotionally abused in some way, then that's fair enough.

But if the Mayo players are using the words player welfare to describe Cora Staunton only being used as a sub (or some other tactical or selection issue that the Cornacon players don't agree with) then this is an abuse of the phrase and they are deliberately using it to make their side of the story seem more reasonable and plausible. In the same way that the GAA misused the phrase health and safety to try to force Kildare to play Mayo in Croke Park.

If it is the former, I find it hard to believe that all of the club boards would have voted against Cornacon. Either way, I think it was unfair and unprofessional of Joe Molloy to set the narrative within literally seconds of hearing the story for the first time, particularly given the massive conflict of interest that OTB has when reporting this story (i.e. Cora Staunton will be working with them next week in the lead up to the All Ireland final).

It still makes me laugh when OTB bring on that used car salesman Leon Blanche from Boyle Sports, and there he is like you oul mate down the pub giving you tips for the horses in Cheltenham. Were they not front row centre before giving out about how sinister the avuncular nature of the Paddy Power advertising was? And it seems like Leon Blanche (presumably real name Reginald Paul Joseph Morris) has to give interviews no matter where he is. Won't be long before he's phoning in his tips from the jacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,265 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It still makes me laugh when OTB bring on that used car salesman Leon Blanche from Boyle Sports, and there he is like you oul mate down the pub giving you tips for the horses in Cheltenham. Were they not front row centre before giving out about how sinister the avuncular nature of the Paddy Power advertising was? And it seems like Leon Blanche (presumably real name Reginald Paul Joseph Morris) has to give interviews no matter where he is. Won't be long before he's phoning in his tips from the jacks.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,507 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Yeah but that phrase is the key to the issue. If the Mayo players are using the words player welfare to describe players being physically mistreated or mentally/emotionally abused in some way, then that's fair enough.

But if the Mayo players are using the words player welfare to describe Cora Staunton only being used as a sub (or some other tactical or selection issue that the Cornacon players don't agree with) then this is an abuse of the phrase and they are deliberately using it to make their side of the story seem more reasonable and plausible. In the same way that the GAA misused the phrase health and safety to try to force Kildare to play Mayo in Croke Park.

If it is the former, I find it hard to believe that all of the club boards would have voted against Cornacon. Either way, I think it was unfair and unprofessional of Joe Molloy to set the narrative within literally seconds of hearing the story for the first time, particularly given the massive conflict of interest that OTB has when reporting this story (i.e. Cora Staunton will be working with them next week in the lead up to the All Ireland final).

agree, but I'm still none the wiser.

When I first heard it reported and so many players pulled out of the squad I was thinking it was something VERY serious, but in this day and age of snowflakes, I'm starting to think someone was called 'rubbish' after a game and its all collapsed due to this.

Can anyone even PM me to tell me what actually happened?

Having Declan lynch on the paper review. Jesus, does he ever listen to himself-sneer, sneer sneer...Irish journalism is rife with sneerers but he’s the galatico.

You know when I saw all the Boyle's Sports bunting festooning the Off The Ball studio, I did wonder about Declan Lynch too. He has been known to give half hour lectures on the dangers of gambling, a serious bible thumper with regard to the oul gambling is Declan, and the alcohol. But to my surprise there he was in studio today. And here is where I fear a comedy opportunity was missed. Can you imagine just before the paper review today:

Declan Lynch: "who is doing the papers with us today Joe?"
    Joe: "He'll be here in a second. Used to be a used car salesman, did you know that?"

*door bursts open*

Leon Blanche (Real name Tom Smith): "Ah how yiz boyaz... Ah Declan buddy, how are ye getting on. Chelsea looked good last week but I think they might struggle against Arsenal today, but there's great value today cos you can get them at five to one today with Boyle Sports or you can combine bet with a bet on with two flies running up a wall and a bet on the cartoon horses for twenty to one"

*sound of Declan's jaw hitting the floor*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

NIMAN wrote: »
    Is anyone able to say what exactly the issue of player welfare was?

I've been hearing this running for a while now, and have been really curious as to what actually happened.

I'm curious to find out what exactly the issues were too. I'm not making a judgment on the club or the county board until more comes out, but unfortunately it did seem like Joe Molloy had decided it was the LGFA county board were fully at fault.

Also, one other point: it wasn't really made clear for the average listener that this was indeed the Mayo Ladies Gaelic Football County Board making the decision. It wasn't a bunch of men with no attachment to ladies' sports screwing a team of footballers over without a second thought.

Thought Kilbane was way over the top last night. Rice obviously has a lot of people in his ear influencing him one way or the other, and he's under a lot of pressure with the eyes of the nation on him. He's only a kid. Kilbane's contribution on this is very unhelpful and will just make things difficult for everyone. For the player himself, who will no doubt be asked about Kilbane's comments, as will Martin O'Neill.

And it's a bit hard to take Kilbane's continuous moral grandstanding now that he has chosen to become the face of Boyle Sports advertising.