If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

ELM327 wrote: »
    Yes, no funding past second child for anyone, across the board, for all allowances.

Can’t cap child benefit as it’s a payment to the child, not the parent.

Yeah. I know, I know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Icsics wrote: »
    Margaret's back in the news (Indo) this am, council lied to her, what'll she tell her kids etc etc

She can tell her kids that "Mammy fcuked up, I should have stayed in school, got an education, got a job, got a mortgage, got a non criminal husband and started a family"

She is the epitomy of Travellers wanting everything off the State without putting anything into it.

The only rules they abide from the State are the ones they benefit from.

Fcuk off Margaret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Thanks for the replies.
    I was just wondering how the whole thing would work out if benefits were drastically cut.
    Would kids simply end up in care or foster homes which also costs a packet.

Yes so the state would pay hugely anyway. These drastic solutions wouldnt work.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Shop40

Chewbacca wrote: »
    She can tell her kids that "Mammy fcuked up, I should have stayed in school, got an education, got a job, got a mortgage, got a non criminal husband and started a family"

She is the epitomy of Travellers wanting everything off the State without putting anything into it.

Fcuk off Margaret.
    Exactly. A sponger with a staggering sense of entitlement. Why can’t I wait get a free house? Because I get up off my a’se and work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

Shop40 wrote: »

Fcuk off Margaret.
    Exactly. A sponger with a staggering sense of entitlement. Why can’t I wait get a free house? Because I get up off my a’se and work.

There's thousands like her out there and until or unless we change the system that dropping kids does not automatically entitled you to a free house, medical, money etc this craziness will continue. I feel sorry for the kids. Irresponsible people having kids without thinking how will I feed them clothes them shelter them...... I know **** happens in life and things can turn out far from.how you'd planned but 7 kids, not a father in sight, living off benefits and no home, what a ridiculous setup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Ugh gonna have to look at her smug head and listen to her whining again for the next few days.

There is much more important stories to report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,489 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

endacl wrote: »
    Can’t cap child benefit as it’s a payment to the child, not the parent.

Yeah. I know, I know...
    That's the beauty of politics you can do what you like once you account for it accordingly.
    It's not a payment to the child, it is a payment to the parent in respect of the child. Big difference.

It can and should be capped at 2 children.
    There should, in addition to "no welfare for more than 2 children" be a "make work pay" movement where welfare is capped at 30k per year including all allowances, regardless of any other factors. 30k per year NET is equivalent to over 40k per year gross and you dont have any work to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Dick Pickle

Fcuk off Margaret.

Was it ever established where the father(s) are in all this?

Ugh gonna have to look at her smug head and listen to her whining again for the next few days.

There is much more important stories to report.
    Including people who are actually homeless being moved out of the phoenix park.

Was it ever established where the father(s) are in all this?
    Prison for aggrevated assault, on an OAP if I'm not mistaken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/what-do-i-tell-my-kids-i-feel-heartbroken-mumofseven-margaret-cash-told-she-must-leave-home-given-to-her-by-council-37240086.html

I’m guessing What happened there was that the landlord found out who the council put into his apartment and said no ****ing way. Drumcondra next stop. I’d expect a similar reaction.

Looking at the comments on the articles most would agree with the sentiment on this thread.

good ploy by the papers to be incompetent as to create click bait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,022 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Skelet0n wrote: »
    Thoughtful that they made it rhyme in English too.

The Chinese, a great bunch of lads.

Well, it's hardly rocket science to rhyme "them" with "them". :pac:

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭SirChenjin

'Ms Cash says she is determined to use her situation to highlight the homeless crisis.'

It highlights something alright, but it ain't the 'homeless crisis' that is highlighted, IMO...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

But we're not paying the person to have them at that point. It would reduce the amount of them being born as it's not a ticket to a free house and a load of benefits.

Put the money you save on children's allowance then (I'm not sure how much this would be btw) into education or childcare (or just cut taxes). A more effective use of that money rather than giving into the entitled welfare class of society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Fcuk off Margaret.

Well said. This type of nonsense is out of control and needs to be tackled ASAP. It's going to create generations of layabouts. A point needs to be made. Enough is enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Looking at the comments on the articles most would agree with the sentiment on this thread.

good ploy by the papers to be incompetent as to create click bait

So our national broadsheets are reduced to bloody click bait. Depressing. Surely the journalists read the comments and therefore get a feeling of the nation on this Sponger. Yet, apart from Niall Boylan, not one journalist has said or printed one article questioning this welfare dependant culture. Not once have I read the words 'personal responsibility' come up on this issue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Once AGAIN - tell us what WOULD work then instead of just blithely saying what wouldn't ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭jay0109

If they put her in Drumcondra, I'd lay money there'll be a taxi put on several times a day by the taxpayer to get the kids to and from school in Tallaght. Plus other ancillary journeys no doubt.

With regards benefits and capping them etc. Would it not make more sense to target girls/women in deprived areas/bad family backgrounds and pay them not to have children for x number of years i.e. give them an allowance each month from the age of 18, top it up if they get further education training, keeping paying a portion of it even if they get a job...do all this to the age of 25.

Your not stopping them from having babies, just encouraging them. And they won't be too old by 25. Hopefully by then after having had the freedom a job gives and the benefit of having time by not having loads of kids, they'll be better set up to make life decisions.

Tell them it's all Mummy's fault for being a feckless parasite and bringing them up to think you get everything for nothing.

Throw in a few choruses of "whenever you f**k up, just go crying to the papers and they'll believe any old pony".

Given the Holy Father's visit is imminent I imagine her handlers are preparing some sort of parable for her. possibly involving an inn.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

tom1ie wrote: »
    Yeah it seems crazy that a fg minister would come out with this Prsi hike just before an election coming in feb or around then. Is that not political suicide?
    I know the hike is to fund state pensions but that money should come from welfare reform.

Have you a link to her actually saying this would happen?

Any new tax or tax hike is generally leaked and drip fed to the public with no minister taking direct responsibility in order to soften the blow. On the other hand any type of pitiful reduction in taxes or some kind of grant they’ll be clambering on top of one another to get to the podium to announce and take full credit in getting it approved.

sightband wrote: »
    Any new tax or tax hike is generally leaked and drip fed to the p

I've long maintained, in the budget you go "we're raising taxes by x% - it will raise x million euro. That will hire x gardai, x nurses, x doctors etc etc etc - no middle managers save what is needed to manage increased staff - no unions holding us to ransom for silly pay rises, an inflationary pay rise for all annually".

I'd not be thrilled but I'd cough up with a good heart.

But putting up taxes when they're going to wagons like this taking home sums of money we will never see, no f**king way.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,410 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I've long maintained, in the budget you go "we're raising taxes by x% - it will raise x million euro. That will hire x gardai, x nurses, x doctors etc etc etc - no middle managers save what is needed to manage increased staff - no unions holding us to ransom for silly pay rises, an inflationary pay rise for all annually".

I'd not be thrilled but I'd cough up with a good heart.

But putting up taxes when they're going to wagons like this taking home sums of money we will never see, no f**king way.
    The problem with that is that it doesn't do accommodate the non sexy expenditure such as sewage.
    We need to stop wasting money on items such as Children's Allowance and simply provide welfare to those who need it.
    Expenditure based on PR such as x gardai serves nobody well.

Nonetheless we need a complete overhaul of the welfare system from who can apply, for how long and how much they are entitled to.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Grand job. Expect to see and hear lots more from her in the next few days. She'll have a track worn to every studio in RTE.

If only she used that time - working!

Yeah how stupid of me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,215 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

If only she used that time - working!

Yeah how stupid of me!

Sure how could she be expected to work when she had to travel out to Talla every day to photograph all the boarded up houses.
    Full time job in itself, in fact she should request travel expenses for it. Not.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,344 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

ELM327 wrote: »
    There should, in addition to "no welfare for more than 2 children" be a "make work pay" movement where welfare is capped at 30k per year including all allowances, regardless of any other factors. 30k per year NET is equivalent to over 40k per year gross and you dont have any work to do.

Haven't they introduced something like this in the UK now, a benefits cap. Is is working, or too early to tell/

pc7 wrote: »
    Haven't they introduced something like this in the UK now, a benefits cap. Is is working, or too early to tell/

It's working, given the whining from people who say they can't live on 26k GBP a year!

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Sure how could she be expected to work when she had to travel out to Talla every day to photograph all the boarded up houses.
    Full time job in itself, in fact she should request travel expenses for it. Not.

I'm so bad for forgetting to factor in her vocational work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭judestynes

So our national broadsheets are reduced to bloody click bait. Depressing. Surely the journalists read the comments and therefore get a feeling of the nation on this Sponger. Yet, apart from Niall Boylan, not one journalist has said or printed one article questioning this welfare dependant culture. Not once have I read the words 'personal responsibility' come up on this issue.

I followed this story on facebook at 1st then on here and the difference in attitudes between these 2 formats is the polar opposite to each other. Not one person on facebook could see the point that this woman totally created this situation herself. the prevailing attitude was that it was all the governments fault, the words "personal responsibility" seemed like a foreign language