Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we protest against the pope's visit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Odhinn

quintana76 wrote: »
    Suggesting we protest against the Pope as our clown of a Taoiseach visits a Muslim Brotherhood mosque for a photo shoot. There is no hope.

You might explain that to the slower of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Why is no one calling for the heads of the Gardai and political figures who knew about the abuse and covered it up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,260 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Those who are now in authority in the state are not pro Catholic Church, so why not a single arrest for questioning, or warrant issued for searching their files in recent years, never mind a trial or conviction for the bishops that covered up these crimes in Ireland ? Most of these Bishops are still alive and well. The state is on the only body in Ireland that can obtain and administer justice for the victims of these crimes and cover ups, so why are the state authorities still refusing to do so and getting away with it, along with the bishops responsible ?

Did you see my post which mentioned statute of limitations, and that covering up child abuse has not always been a crime?

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Why is no one calling for the heads of the Gardai and political figures who knew about the abuse and covered it up?

Why take the limelight off the church?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

From all accounts this Pennsylvania report is quite disturbing even for those of us accustomed to shocking child abuse reports. The sexual abuse dates back from 1947 and the report names 300 predator priests abusing over 1000 children. You already get the impression that the Americans will take a no nonsense approach when dealing with the Roman organisation even though it also highlights the flaws in their statute of limitations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,833 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Well it was around 200 religious in Boston comparative to the figure above. So you can begin to extrapulate that type of number across the USA and probably other countries. I think the approx figure for Ireland is 300

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

From all accounts this Pennsylvania report is quite disturbing even for those of us accustomed to shocking child abuse reports. The sexual abuse dates back from 1947 and the report names 300 predator priests abusing over 1000 children. You already get the impression that the Americans will take a no nonsense approach when dealing with the Roman organisation even though it also highlights the flaws in their statute of limitations.

Compareable to Ireland as this state has a catholic population of just 3.2 million.

If there are around 1,091 active priests in the state in 2017, and assuming most put in a steady 40/50yrs or service, the '300' figure is rather alarming.

What would the total amount of active priests have been since 1947?
    Guessing maybe 2 or 3 thousand at the very most (indicating 10-15% have offended) would that be about right?

No, it's generally 6% in the US. So maybe 5,000 religious over that time. Remember the number of priests would have dropped quite a bit over the last 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Irish Kings

Did you see my post which mentioned statute of limitations, and that covering up child abuse has not always been a crime?

So no other crimes were committed and no other laws were broken when they conspired to pervert the course of justice and concealed criminal activity ? Absolute Rubbish. It's always been a crime to conceal any crime, and yet the state is doing nothing. Who else is supposed to question, trial, convict and sentence these people and enact justice if it's not the state ?

These flimsy Church and / or State apologist's excuses are rubbish.

Eaxctly. And even more importantly, why is no one calling for today's authorities today here and now to question, search, investigate, trial and convict the bishops/former bishops responsible and still alive and well, especially with new evidence coming to light year in year out ? There is something very funny going on today with today's current crop of politicians and state authorities, just as there was. And today's lot no longer have the excuse they are pro Catholic Church anymore, they are not. There is not a single vote in it, so there is something extremely strange still going on. It's time the state apologists and their pathetic excuses were called out as well as the Church one's. The Irish justice system is the Irish state's responsibility. How else are the victims going to get justice if the state continues to refuse to administer it and prosecute not just those who committed the crimes, but those in the Church management that conspired to conceal crimes and pervert the course of justice ? I'm sure there will be another Church and / or State apologist along soon to try another excuse / yarn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

The state has been held accountable and is paying victims for various crimes. The state has changed over the years and learned from the interactions with the RCC.

The church is not paying and has not changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,926 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

So no other crimes were committed and no other laws were broken when they conspired to pervert the course of justice and concealed criminal activity ? Absolute Rubbish. It's always been a crime to conceal any crime, and yet the state is doing nothing. Who else is supposed to question, trial, convict and sentence these people and enact justice if it's not the state ?

These flimsy Church and / or State apologist's excuses are rubbish.

funnily enough you are not the first to think of this. The consensus is that it would be very difficult if not impossible

https://www.ucc.ie/academic/law/blogs/ccjhr/2009/12/murphy-report-can-failure-to-protect-be.html

The state has been held accountable and is paying victims for various crimes. The state has changed over the years and learned from the interactions with the RCC.

Rubbish. Neither the state or the Church management has.

With all the new evidence coming to light year after year :

How many bishops / former bishops that concealed criminal activity and attempted to pervert the course of justice have been questioned under caution so far by the state ?

How many warrants to search their files and offices have been issued by the state ?

How many files for attempting to pervert the course of justice been sent to the DPP by the Gardai ?

How many bishops / former bishops have been take to court and trialed for attempting to conceal criminal activity and pervert the course of justice ? To do so was ALWAYS and EVER HAS BEEN against Irish law.

Rubbish.

With all the new evidence coming to light year after year

How many bishops / former bishops that concealed criminal activity and attempted to pervert the course of justice have been questioned under caution so far by the state ?

How many warrants to search their files and offices been issued by the state ?

How many files for attempting to pervert the course of justice been sent to the DPP by the Gardai ?

How many bishops / former bishops have been take to court and trialed for attempting to conceal criminal activity and pervert the course of justice ? To do so was ALWAYS and EVER HAS BEEN against the law.

Maybe i should clarify. The state has learned about the protection of children and changed procedures and practices. The church has not. Maybe you don’t agree with the protection of children!

And tell us how you propose to protect Children when the state refuses to enforce the law or prosecute the people who conspired to cover up criminal activity and pervert the course of justice ?

I don't think you understand what is meant by change. The state changed procedures and processes to safeguard children. The church have done nothing. Are you implying that the state is currently raping children?

So no crime was commited when these bishops conspired to pervert the course of justice ? yeah right.

When was it ever not a against the law to pervert the coursed of justice and conceal a crime ?

With all the new evidence coming to light now every year, the CURRENT authorities have no excuse to refuse to question, investigate, search or prosecute.
    Are you implying that the state is currently raping children?

Don't be an idiot. Tell us though, how do you propose to prevent people from perverting the course of justice and covering up child rape if the CURRENT AUTHORITIES in this state continually refuse to investigate those responsible for doing exactly that, never mind prosecute them ?

So no crime was commited when these bishops conspired to pervert the course of justice ? yeah right.

When was it not a crime to pervert the coursed of justice and conceal a crime ?

Don't be an idiot. Tell us though how though do you propose to prevent people from perverting the course of justice and covering up child rape if the state continually refuses to investigate those responsible for doing exactly that, never mind prosecute them ?

Less of the childish name calling.

I am not going to repeat for the third or fourth time to someone who deliberately misinterpretes the message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

It is obviously a person's own choice whether they choose to protest against the world meeting of families etc etc

If it means so much why would a person not be protesting outside their local church or archbishop's palace outside the time of the world...

Are they jumping on a band wagon, I think so

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 424 ✭✭An_Toirpin

Rubbish. Neither the state or the Church management has.

With all the new evidence coming to light year after year :

How many warrants to search their files and offices have been issued by the state ?

How many bishops / former bishops have been take to court and trialed for attempting to conceal criminal activity and pervert the course of justice ? To do so was ALWAYS and EVER HAS BEEN against Irish law.
    I am sorry but you are not realistic if you think there is many opportunities for the DPP to get successful convictions against bishops who covered up in Ireland. It would have happened at least once if there was many opportunities for this as you say. There is no sitting bishop that covered up anyway in Ireland in this country.

Aren't you very careful with your wording in the last sentence;

'There is no sitting bishop that covered up anyway in Ireland in this country.' Quote.
    Does this cover retired bishops or bishops no longer in this country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

An_Toirpin wrote: »
    There is no sitting bishop that covered up anyway in Ireland in this country.

Like Bishop McAreavy just up the road in the diocese of Dromore?

Forced to resign (but only after the BBC ran a spotlight investigation programme) earlier this year (2018).

The pope himself classed the diocese as 'unfit for purpose'.

Water John wrote: »
    Aren't you very careful with your wording in the last sentence;

'There is no sitting bishop that covered up anyway in Ireland in this country.' Quote.
    Does this cover retired bishops or bishops no longer in this country?
    Well I would presume that person is more interested in going after active bishops. Maybe they mean Seán Brady but is there really a case? Any lawyers here on the thread?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Well I would presume that person is more interested in going after active bishops. Maybe they mean Seán Brady but is there really a case? Any lawyers here on the thread?
    Are you looking to see if they broke the law or failed to let the law investigate any case.
    Sean Brady was a crucial part of a RCC cover up (despite his claims to be a lowly priest).

Sean Brady failed to tell the RUC about Smyth.
    Sean Brady failed to tell the parents about Smyth.
    Sean Brady allowed Smyth's evil acts continue uninterrupted.

There is no sitting bishop that covered up anyway in Ireland in this country.

what difference does it make if someone who conspired to pervert the course of justice is sitting, standing, lying down or taking a dump ?

what exactly makes them so exempt from any investigation and criminal prosecution by the state, search warrants, questioning under caution ?

since when was any retired person exempt from the criminal law process ?

why has the state failed to up hold justice ?

Are you looking to see if they broke the law or failed to let the law investigate any case.
    Sean Brady was a crucial part of a RCC cover up (despite his claims to be a lowly priest).

Sean Brady failed to tell the RUC about Smyth.
    Sean Brady failed to tell the parents about Smyth.
    Sean Brady allowed Smyth's evil acts continue uninterrupted.
    But could you actually convict someone for that? The Gardaí knew of Brendan Smyth's abuse since the 1970s. Are you going to convict them too?

Where is Bishop McGee nowadays?

But could actually convict someone for that? The Gardaí knew of Brendan Smyth's abuse since the 1970s. Are you going to convict them too?

Since when was conspiring to pervert the course of justice not a crime ?
    Since when were people not prosecuted for this ?
    Why are the state authorities refusing to uphold the criminal justice system and enforce law of the land ?

Water John wrote: »
    Where is Bishop McGee nowadays?

Completely Immune from any crime, investigation, questioning, search, trial or prosecution it seems.

Why are the authorities and politicians not doing their job and enforcing the law of the land ?

The state is responsible for administering justice for the victims of crime

Since when was conspiring to pervert the course of justice not a crime ?
    Since when were people not prosecuted for this ?
    Why are the state authorities refusing to uphold the criminal justice system and enforce law of the land ?
    I honestly don't know if it was a crime or not. I think it is a serious question that would be good to run by a lawyer experienced in this area.