Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we protest against the pope's visit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,099 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

the pope coming to Ireland should be treated as a pop/rock concert - charge everyone who 'wants to get in an see him/hear him' a fee on ticketmaster LOL :D - 80euro a ticket should suffice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

the pope coming to Ireland should be treated as a pop/rock concert - charge everyone who 'wants to get in an see him/hear him' a fee on ticketmaster LOL - 80euro a ticket should suffice

All proceeds given to the church's victims as part of the millions they owe.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,991 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

80euro a ticket should suffice
    Given the RCC's love for all things relating to money, this was presumably considered in depth.

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Oh dear. Do you still believe that they care about the victims?
    How innocent of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

The pope visit already seems a PR disaster for the Roman organisation. Between the Chile and Pennsylvania abuse stories we are getting constant reminders of how twisted the organisation continues to be. Is it me or have the Irish media really gone after the Vatican this week? Excellent interview with Gabriel Byrne on Newstalk today where he told a few home truths about membership of the Roman Catholic organisation.

Hitman3000 wrote: »

maths were never my strong subject .. is that after the 32mil that its costing the state?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,482 ✭✭✭Odhinn

The pope visit already seems a PR disaster for the Roman organisation. Between the Chile and Pennsylvania abuse stories we are getting constant reminders of how twisted the organisation continues to be. Is it me or have the Irish media really gone after the Vatican this week? Excellent interview with Gabriel Byrne on Newstalk today where he told a few home truths about membership of the Roman Catholic organisation.

What was the show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

We're hoping to go but our part of Dublin will be on something approaching lockdown and public transport will be full of the bewildered.
    If you wanted to go you'd find a way. Easier to sit on your arse and whinge on line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

Mary McAleese has been on full whinge mode anyway.

Wish she'd ever shut the fcuk up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭keith_sixteen

maths were never my strong subject ..

Everyone is well aware of that Andy. Particularly given your well documented efforts to pay zero euro for a god damn cup of coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,067 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

What is she whinging about?
    Pope defending church ahead of abuse victims, says McAleese
    Former president describes reading reports from Pennsylvania as ‘like a horror show’
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/religion-and-beliefs/pope-defending-church-ahead-of-abuse-victims-says-mcaleese-1.3600827

Are you suggesting that people simply continue to make nicey nicey with the CC despite the CC still following exactly the same modus operandi they have always followed in terms of how they 'deal' with sexual abuse.

THe AG of PA wrote to the Pope months ago about the case, heard nothing back. The grand jury reported last week, nothing of note from the CC.

She is right, the CC has always sought to protect itself and its priests before any concern for the victims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

You do realise yet another large cover up has been uncovered? That's been a significant part of what she's been discussing. That's not whinging, it's ongoing global coverups of abuse by the church.

Odhinn wrote: »

What was the show?

Second Captains.

I think you'd prefer we were all gagged and wearing blinkers when it comes to the Roman church.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Is she wrong? Why not address the message instead of attacking the messenger.

Everyone is well aware of that Andy. Particularly given your well documented efforts to pay zero euro for a god damn cup of coffee.

nice to see i will never ever be able to shake that off ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,839 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Another key speaker crying off. This will be relying on the B Team at this stage.
    Taoiseach seems to be indicating the Pope will/should address the issue publicly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

I don't know about protest... as in protesting in attempt to kick him out of the country? That's messed up.

A 'demonstration' might be a bit better. Demonstrating opposition to the catholic church to combat the mainstream media's representation that every Irish person is thrilled and that the visit is generally a good thing...or to highlight any of its countless crimes and unethical behaviour. If there's a peaceful gathering like that I might join in because I will actually be in Dublin. Might bow out if it becomes too rowdy or overrun by blue hairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,365 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Edgware wrote: »
    If you wanted to go you'd find a way. Easier to sit on your arse and whinge on line

We are going. If we have to f**king walk we're going.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

There is such a option available at the Garden of Remembrance, which I expect will be very dignified.
    It is beyond time the RCC takes reponsibility, at all levels, for the grave harm done.

458752.png

Wuerl has now, in good catholic fashion, pulled out...

Cardinal in Pennsylvania withdraws from World Meeting of Families in Dublin
    A Cardinal who was heavily criticised for his handling of child sexual abuse allegations in the Pennsylvania grand jury report has withdrawn from a scheduled appearance at the World Meeting of Families in Dublin next week, it has been confirmed.

Cardinal Donald Wuerl, the Archbishop of Washington, was due to give the keynote address, entitled “The Welfare of the Family is Decisive for the Future of the World,” in the RDS at 2.30pm next Wednesday.

No reason has been provided for the decision.

Cardinal Wuerl was bishop of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, from 1988 to 2006. The report of the grand jury, which was published on Tuesday, found “wholesale institutional failure that endangered the welfare of children” in Pittsburgh.

The report faults Cardinal Donald Wuerl, a former bishop of Pittsburgh and now Archbishop of Washington, for what it said was his role in the concealment of sex abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I don't know about protest... as in protesting in attempt to kick him out of the country? That's messed up.

A 'demonstration' might be a bit better. Demonstrating opposition to the catholic church to combat the mainstream media's representation that every Irish person is thrilled and that the visit is generally a good thing...or to highlight any of its countless crimes and unethical behaviour. If there's a peaceful gathering like that I might join in because I will actually be in Dublin. Might bow out if it becomes too rowdy or overrun by blue hairs.

If you are going to be in Dublin anyway you might consider coming along to the Garden of Rememberance from 3pm to the gathering there. It's not a protest. It's location is the clue, we will be gathering as survivors and supporters of survivors to remember the victims past and present.

It will be peaceful and family friendly.

Colm O'Gorman tweets
    That's unreal!

One reply mentions businesses who contributed towards the funding of this nonsense. Does anyone know the names of these businesses?

When you look back 40 years at the 2 clerics doing the warm up act in Galway. They were in the halfpenny place compared these two who have, cried off this time. Their hypocracy at having moved predator priests around for years.

Water John wrote: »
    When you look back 40 years at the 2 clerics doing the warm up act in Galway. They were in the halfpenny place compared these two who have, cried off this time. Their hypocracy at having moved predator priests around for years.
    But thinking the difference in how the RCC treated Casey against the paedos and their protectors. Casey was banished for being with a woman and fathering a child. Many of those who abused or protected the abusers were promoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

Hey Robert, I did not really see a difference in using the word demonstration or protest. Many times I said peaceful. You are also right the biggest turn off would be the usual loudspeaker brigade that are really only making their profile bigger. The garden of remembrance meeting will meet what we are both looking for I would think. Saying that the abuse is only one issue. There are many more to be dealt with like removal from education and misogyny etc....See you at the Garden?

eviltwin wrote: »
    If you are going to be in Dublin anyway you might consider coming along to the Garden of Rememberance from 3pm to the gathering there. It's not a protest. It's location is the clue, we will be gathering as survivors and supporters of survivors to remember the victims past and present.

bollix it’s not a protest- in every national newspaper I’ve read this weekend it’s called a protest- it’s called a protest in this thread- so why are you fudging it now?

That's unreal!

One reply mentions businesses who contributed towards the funding of this nonsense. Does anyone know the names of these businesses?

I'm sure there are quite a few others, but Skoda are providing free cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

eviltwin wrote: »

bollix it’s not a protest- in every national newspaper I’ve read this weekend it’s called a protest- it’s called a protest in this thread- so why are you fudging it now?

We are being very pedantic here about the word protest it is the meaning that counts. A protest is not always bad. People are suggesting this is not a protest in that the loud megaphone fools will not be "given" the stage. It is to be a peaceful gathering mainly to show support for those harmed, especially abused, by the church and I would hope to demonstrate we are no longer sheep......unlike the Phoenix park attendees that are showing support for this misogynistic paedophilia protecting cult that still has influence in our society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,067 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

After what has come out this week in terms of the US, which mirrors what Ireland and plenty of other countries, how can anyone justify a continued support for this organisation?

Is it simply because they don't care?
    They have convinced themselves that its totally different now?
    That their own faith is such that stepping away from the CC would give them no basis?

I really don't understand it. Belief in God and Jesus does not need the CC. One can continue to have faith, to read the bible, to live in the way of Jesus, without continued support for such an organisation.

What message do these people think they are sending both to the church and to the wider world by their attending the event? Or are they of the view that that doesn't matter once they get to take part?

It is really odd to see that there is still so many people willing to support this.

What would it actually take for them to turn their backs on the CC? I cannot imagine how much worse it needs to get.