Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boy racers

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,913 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

They can't afford to race them anymore with the price of fuel. The only good thing about high fuel prices is less boy racers.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

I think the modded 'boy racer' scene ran its course. The Honda Civic was the stereotype, but it was lots of Wolfrace alloys, painted interior trim, light strips under the car, crap body kits, huge sub woofers taking up the boot, and of course, lambo doors... no small hatch was safe

Come to think of it, when was the last time Max Power magazine was seen?

Same lads laughed at my Mk4 golf back in 2003...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,840 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

I miss the good old days of boy racers and the Dukes of hazard antics.theres a junction about a mile back the road from the home house here that's used a good bit for doughnuts and I sleep like a baby any night I hear tyres squealing.i do throw open the bedroom window and fall asleep with a smile on my face thinking of the good old days that are sadly gone for me.
    Even with the wife giving out about the cold it cheers me up to hear a car bouncing off the red line and the tyres roaring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I think back to the early noughties and Jesus the amount of car doing laps of Dundalk on the weekend was unreal. All kinds of yokes, insurance was easily acquired and lads were earning good money.

As mentioned above, there's now less money and less lads to drive them about, and way more restrictions in getting into anything halfway nice.
    I see so many young chaps now in Micras, Yaris, Auris etc with L and N plates.

The game done changed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Dartz

You're not allowed have any sort of fun anymore. All the fun in the world is taxed and charged because they know so many people are desperate for a bit of fun these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Dartz wrote: »
    You're not allowed have any sort of fun anymore. All the fun in the world is taxed and charged because they know so many people are desperate for a bit of fun these days.

There are alternatives to driving round in circles all evening. There are many fun sports and hobbies that are inexpensive, healthier and better for the community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭DrFunkatron

tuxy wrote: »
    There are alternatives to driving round in circles all evening. There are many fun sports and hobbies that are inexpensive, healthier and better for the community.

True but many people really like driving, different strokes and all that jazz.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Emmersonn

Higher rates reflect higher risks presumably?
    Higher rates reflect higher profits for insurance companies and the lack of desire of our goverment to act. The bigger the premium the bigger the take for revenue. :mad: Risk is not a factor. Can you explain why adding a driver to your policy reduces the risk which results in a reduced premium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Emmersonn wrote: »
    Higher rates reflect higher profits for insurance companies .

By that logic, all insurers should be fighting like mad for this juicy boy racer market. Is that the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,037 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Me too and living in a rural area I can sometimes hear them from 2am on wards.
    I'd say a few lads still have some rear wheel drive cars in the shed. No NCT or insurance because old Jap cars are impossible to insure now. So still a few people taking them out at night when the cops aren't around. But none of them to be seen doing laps around the town in the evening.

Same here in Cavan, some high powered bikes out in the evenings too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,927 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

corkgsxr wrote: »
    It's simple alot of the very fast cars now are very understated. Might be a badge of a difference.

Eg. Gf has a 2l turbo petrol a5.

How do ya tell the difference between that at a 1.8 petrol or a diesel one?

You don't because there were no non turbo 1.8 and many of the diesels were quicker.
    The 2.0 had power output of 180 bhp to 210 or so. The 1.8 is 170 and was the entry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

A load of young lads down the chipper car park in mk 5 mk6 golfs last night. A few gtis. Times have changed. Most of the cool jap stuff is owned by lads in their 30's and older now. Any drivers ive seen lately in sti imprezas looked to be in their 50's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭5500

Totally different scene nowadays to what it was back then. I had my share of disgraceful looking cars (and still do in) but had great craic all the same. Forums used to be hopping and there were forever meets and cruises being organised, can remember convoys of cars leaving different spots in Dublin to head to the port road in Waterford back then.

When the economy went bang a lot of the jap stuff was either broken for parts or exported, and nobody had the cash to import themselves anymore so I think that's how the next generation/younger lads got into the diesels. If they wanted something jap and performance orientated on the road they were/are looking big money compared to buying a TdHai, dropping it chipping it and making it boo for small money in comparison.

Forums that once were are practically dead and social media is where it's at/organised now. More emphasis on the show rather than go with a lot of the younger lads now I think, but the weapon of choice for crossroads is the is200, mainly because they can't find a good one here/don't have the money for an altezza out of japan which would be the preferred choice, boom may be back but I don't see the young lads spending 12k on an ae86 these days to tear lumps outta crossroads in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,184 ✭✭✭✭cena

TrailerBob wrote: »
    I think the modded 'boy racer' scene ran its course. The Honda Civic was the stereotype, but it was lots of Wolfrace alloys, painted interior trim, light strips under the car, crap body kits, huge sub woofers taking up the boot, and of course, lambo doors... no small hatch was safe

Come to think of it, when was the last time Max Power magazine was seen?

Same lads laughed at my Mk4 golf back in 2003...

Just looked up that magazine. January 2011 was it's last issue

True but many people really like driving, different strokes and all that jazz.

I know and if it was viable I would be driving a much more interesting car than I currently have. I was just objecting to the poster saying there is nothing interesting or fun to do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭V8 Interceptor

Del2005 wrote: »
    I was looking for insurance for my parents both >10 year old cars. The quotes for 3rd party where double or triple their fully comprehensive quotes. So the insurance companies have no bother with fully comp policies, but people buying cheaper older cars and insuring 3rd party is the issue.

That's not been my experience nor a lot of people's. Folk in their 50's with never as much as a tip haven't been able to get insured on perfectly fine, 100% NCT compliant 10+ year old cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Interslice wrote: »
    A load of young lads down the chipper car park in mk 5 mk6 golfs last night. A few gtis. Times have changed. Most of the cool jap stuff is owned by lads in their 30's and older now. Any drivers ive seen lately in sti imprezas looked to be in their 50's.

You hit the nail on the head, I'm in my late 30's and have my Prelude stashed away safely in a workshop. It's kept company by my friends Evos, Sti Imprezas and other cool Jap stuff.
    We can't be the only ones doing it.

Yeah Ireland was importing second hand jap cars at and astonishing rate for years even if most were sold to the uk or scrapped there still has to be plenty of them in storage like your prelude. After enough time passes you may be able to get classic insurance on it.

At the moment do you have any idea how much it would be for someone in their 30s with 5 years+ no claims bonus to insure a prelude or could you even get a quote?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭V8 Interceptor

Boy raced (jumped off his bike & legged it) away from US Cops and got ploughed out of it by a Cruiser.

(smacks him at 1:07)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,328 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

jim salter wrote: »
    Currently 8 drive an Evo 7 as my daily. This is my 5th VII and all have passed the NCT first time. So, for car enthusiasts it's not the NCT.
    My insurance is under €500/yr (yes it is properly insured).
    How the jaysus feck are you getting into an Evo 7 for 500 quid? Even over 30. I'm paying near triple that on a DC2 R at 50. Zero points, full NCB, zero claims ever. Only TPF&T at that. Fully comp would have added near what you're paying for insurance all in.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭jim salter

Wibbs wrote: »
    How the jaysus feck are you getting into an Evo 7 for 500 quid? Even over 30. I'm paying near triple that on a DC2 R at 50. Zero points, full NCB, zero claims ever. Only TPF&T at that. Fully comp would have added near what you're paying for insurance all in.
    Well, I'm over 30 by a long way. There is a bit of a story behind the car (that I'm not going to go. Into publicly but feel free to pm to me and I'll explain).
    I had a D4D Avensis with my current insurer and transferred to the Evo. Genuinely thought they wouldn't take it on but they did and I even got a refund at the time. Yes. The Evo was cheaper than the Avensis?!
    For some reason my insurance has always been cheap (relatively)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Yeah Ireland was importing second hand jap cars at and astonishing rate for years even if most were sold to the uk or scrapped there still has to be plenty of them in storage like your prelude. After enough time passes you may be able to get classic insurance on it.

At the moment do you have any idea how much it would be for someone in their 30s with 5 years+ no claims bonus to insure a prelude or could you even get a quote?

I could insure it with Firstline up north for very little, it's over 20 years old now so it qualifies for classic insurance.
    It's the dreaded tax that keeps me from using it these days. I've a family car and a commercial jeep on the road, so the Prelude is only a toy really.
    The last time I insured it was a nightmare, only one company would go near it. I had a full NCB and a clean license but it was still over a grand a year.
    This country is a joke for petrol heads like us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭mr c

cena wrote: »
    When did the trend of boy racers die?

They all grew up had families bought houses etc. just like the generation before them and grew a bit of sense as the years went on
    the new generation are to busy on social media to even care about cars and getting out and socializing too busy taking selfies
    that would be my opinion anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Higher rates reflect higher risks presumably?
    Pay whiplash money direct to the hospital, and those rates will drop!
    firstlight wrote: »
    So what age by insurance company standards does a male become a responsible driver?
    It used to be 28 years old. Not sure about now.
    Begs the question why do insurance companies insure classic cars if that's the case?
    For most companies "classic" insurance needs you to have a daily driver, and that you only drive the classic on the weekends. In the past, some people just insured a Micra parked in a field somewhere with it's wheels and battery removed, but wonder if companies are checking the annual mileage yet?

I could insure it with Firstline up north for very little, it's over 20 years old now so it qualifies for classic insurance.

I googled Firstline Insurance Northern Ireland and couldn't find them.
    Do you have a link? Have you actually got a quote just to see?
    Most classic insurance companies have black listed 90s Japanese cars as they know there is a good chance the car will be driven daily.

You could have a husband taking a regular policy with his wife as a named driver on their SUV or whatever and then the husband getting a classic for €200 on his Japanese dream car from when he was a young lad and driving that every day. I'm fairly sure they would want to avoid that as they would consider that liability as well above the cost of classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭conor2469

I assume he means Autoline.

I have three classic cars insured with Autoline for 360 euro total. One of those cars is a 1990 Toyota Celica GT4. I am 30 years old and have an everyday car insured. They did ask for the mileages of all three cars. I can't remember the mileage allowance but it is plenty for me. They don't restrict what days you are allowed to drive the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

the_syco wrote: »
    Pay whiplash money direct to the hospital, and those rates will drop!

It used to be 28 years old. Not sure about now.

For most companies "classic" insurance needs you to have a daily driver, and that you only drive the classic on the weekends. In the past, some people just insured a Micra parked in a field somewhere with it's wheels and battery removed, but wonder if companies are checking the annual mileage yet?

Some people just bought logbooks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

11 pm tonight and they were having great fun burning the tyres off their cars on the N30 just outside Enniscorthy. The main road to New Ross and Waterford with clowns doing burnouts on it.