Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boy racers

• 16-08-2018 11:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭

When did the trend of boy racers die?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

When the economy crashed....so did the boy racers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Yeah they tried to keep it going with 1.9 VAG diesels but it just wasn't the same and died out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Is it dead? I still see plenty of donut tyre burnout marks on public roads these days.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Is it dead? I still see plenty of donut tyre burnout marks on public roads these days.

Me too and living in a rural area I can sometimes hear them from 2am on wards.
    I'd say a few lads still have some rear wheel drive cars in the shed. No NCT or insurance because old Jap cars are impossible to insure now. So still a few people taking them out at night when the cops aren't around. But none of them to be seen doing laps around the town in the evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

bazz26 wrote: »

Same here. Rural Tipperary and Cork is full of them. All done late at night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭firstlight

Insurance

Anything over a one litre carton of milk in this country is considered fast

Gota love the vag 1.9
    Tractor noise,straight pipe,remap and a cloud of carbon in the boat race

Oh and 55/60 mpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

Very few of them around me in Galway. Zero body kits on them

If insurance wasn't so ****ed you would probably see it make a bit of a come back. One plus side to the insurance cartel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Tazio

NCT killed off many of the cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭god's toy

Still too many in Wicklow.

' Oh have you heard me 'Dump Valve No? OK ill rally up this 30 KPH road 10 times and make it go off for the 100th time tonight!
    Burn out anyone? Here's 5 for ya!.. How about I turn up tha Bass to the point you cant hear the music only tha Bass? CB antenna on da roof? Yea man, I mean it's not connected to anything as I don't really know what it was used for but it looks DOPE right? ...
    Oh and while my Ma and Da are out we can rally there cars too! '

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

Most people are driving them on third party extension and most pre 98 will have classic insurance. The days of having a modified car that stands out is well and truly gone, now its all about A4s with fake replica wheels,sounding like a tractor and absolutely rubbish suspension

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I work in an industrial estate near Blanch, the junction outside is prime for donuts. The odd street race up and down the 500m stretch of road. The rest of the business park has some 1-2km straights that are popular along with the N3. Could be a Monday or a Friday, anytime after 7pm really.

Also I live in Lucan, plenty of cars taking forever to redline in 2nd/3rd gear being driven from Ninth Lock and down towards Grange Castle from Clondalkin.

I think the majority have moved on from Fast and Furious to clapped out 10 year old Passat or A4. Nothing like thinking your hot stuff in a 1.6 TDI with cut coils and a black bonnet.

Plenty of them driving around aggressively, in bus lanes and tailgating etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 597 ✭✭✭clfy39tzve8njq

Were any the grumpy oul f###ers on this thread ever young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

EPAndlee wrote: »
    Most people are driving them on third party extension and most pre 98 will have classic insurance. The days of having a modified car that stands out is well and truly gone, now its all about A4s with fake replica wheels,sounding like a tractor and absolutely rubbish suspension

Are fake replicas real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Were any the grumpy oul f###ers on this thread ever young.

Slightly tangential, but my father-in-law is in its 70s and lives on his own in a remote house on a rural N road in the West. My wife mentioned about the donut tyre marks down the road, and asked him if the noise and activity disturbed or frightened him. The glint in his eye when he said “sure they’re only having a bit of fun”, you knew he’d like to be out there doing it with them. Made me feel old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

tuxy wrote:
    If insurance wasn't so ****ed you would probably see it make a bit of a come back. One plus side to the insurance cartel?

Yep, if insurers are keeping arseholes off the road, fair play to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Notch000

most of the boy racers lost the run of them selves when they decided they wanted to be antisocial, unique but also econimical. And they all went and got 1.9TDIs,
    See a typical boy racer the last day, N plates and big rear window sticker.
    "AGRI SPEC, Bailing hay, beatin lads and banging beoirs" ................................

On a serious note the must be hundreds if not thousand of celtic tiger cars tucked away in garafges from the recession or from lads that emmigerated.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Is it worth your €800 insurance premium for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 597 ✭✭✭clfy39tzve8njq

phutyle wrote:
    Slightly tangential, but my father-in-law is in its 70s and lives on his own in a remote house on a rural N road in the West. My wife mentioned about the donut tyre marks down the road, and asked him if the noise and activity disturbed or frightened him. The glint in his eye when he said “sure they’re only having a bit of funâ€, you knew he’d like to be out there doing it with them. Made me feel old.

Your father in law is my kind of man and my boy racing days are well behind me too by the way :-(

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I'm trying to think of any positive contribution that boy racers make to anything, but I'm struggling.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Your father in law is my kind of man and my boy racing days are well behind me too by the way :-(

During the icy winter there, he used to head out the the car park in the local forestry just to skid around a bit.

Hard to believe
    Praising an insurance company for hiking premiums for no reason other than profit,some people obviously have more money than sence

Was nobody here young once,I don't see the harm in doing up a car and looking after it,it's a hobby for most

What I don't agree with is racing them on public roads or really over aggressive driving
    Sure they don't have to be a boy racer to witness that each day driving

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

firstlight wrote: »
    Hard to believe
    Praising an insurance company for hiking premiums for no reason other than profit,some people obviously have more money than sence

Was nobody here young once,I don't see the harm in doing up a car and looking after it,it's a hobby for most

What I don't agree with is racing them on public roads or really over aggressive driving
    Sure they don't have to be a boy racer to witness that each day driving

Higher rates reflect higher risks presumably?

Do you really believe that honestly?
    Higher risks of what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

It died when the recession hit. Most economists talk ****e about new building or capital investiment etc as a way to know the economy has recovered and is growing. It's BS. The number of boy racer cars on the road is the real measure that the recession has ended and I keep seeing more and more around the classical hotspot towns. The BOOM is back baby! The Boom is back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Yes we're all young once but most of us don't think it's cool to cut coils, slowly redline every gear in traffic going to the shop or bounce off the rev limiter for way to long. I don't need to hear WAAAAAAAAAP at 2am while a car screams doing 0-60 in 12 seconds while I'm trying to sleep.

The majority of these are ricers. I'm sure there's some tasteful, well looked after examples out there but I'd rather my 1 litre econobox over most. None of these cars are particularly interesting and usually driven by some chap who thinks deadly because he's with some bird who's with him for his car. I knew a girl in school who was with a lad in his late 20s with a debadged Altezza going around pretending he drove a Lexus. Probably couldn't get a girl his own age.

Saw a VA WRX STI the other day for the first time in Ireland, that got me excited. Casual thumbs up to the driver and he held back to give it the beans with a nice choo choo from the blow off valve. I'm a fan of JDM cars, but there's a lot of poor examples of them here.

Nothing against anyone who wants to mod their car if it's their hobby, but 9 times out of 10 it's some riced up Civic going down the bus lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

Sleeper cars are the trend now. Low key, understated, crappy exterior, big engine

Higher risks of what?

I don't underwrite motor policies so my personal view isn't overly important, but I do believe that boy racers in general represent a greater risk.

Would you disagree?

Higher risks of what?
    I don't underwrite motor policies so my personal view isn't overly important, but I do believe that boy racers in general represent a greater risk.

Would you disagree?

p.s. Risk of claims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

DaveyDave wrote: »
    I don't need to hear WAAAAAAAAAP at 2am while a car screams doing 0-60 in 12 seconds while I'm trying to sleep.

That made me laugh out so hard....

I don't miss car ads like "Glanza 1.3 Turbo - 1.3 on the log book".

You'd need to be a bit dim not to understand the insinuation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I'm trying to think of any positive contribution that boy racers make to anything, but I'm struggling.....

They keep a lot of car accessories shops in business. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Plenty of econo box early 2000's Audi A4's still knocking about with the RS4 badges super glued on the back. The Honda civic generation is dead now years.. When did you last see a properly shagged out 1.4 civic with all the bells and whistles? I don't remember... Iffy young lads with big teeth and caps tend to spend all their money trying to look the business in a low spec 2 grand Audi or BMW with the higher spec badges on the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Simple answer is young people cant afford them.

Back about 12 years ago when I was first on the road a buddy of mine, who was an electrician had an imported Toyota Levin with a sh*te bodykit and he paid about 10k for it, it was nearly undriveable it was too low and the wheels would rub on the tiniest of bumps, it wouldnt go over speed bump at all, it had about 180bhp but back then you'd swear it was closer to 400bhp the way he drove it, of course back then it was the norm as every other fella under 21 had either a tarted up Levin or Civic and would drive around the city doing laps of the same street for hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Ginger83

But they're not. They come out uninsured.

I know a few, uninsured and running on the green.

The beauty of a smart phone to alert others to a squad in the area. Leggit :D

Yes I agree to a certain degree they are higher risk
    So what age by insurance company standards does a male become a responsible driver?
    Are you still considered a boy racer by your insurance company?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Back in the day when The Fast and Furious was released you had:

Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6 tarted up to look like Paul Walker's
    Subaru Imprezas (same as above)
    Toyota Starlets
    Honda Civics
    etc.

Then when the crash came they changed to and are still in:

VW Bora/Passats
    Audi A4 (RS4 TDi)
    BMW E60 520d
    Toyota AE86 (which I think is the only petrol they still go with)
    etc.

All of which are skangerised to the hilt as were the copious amounts of Civics back in the day.

Can't see them going back to their F&F days unless they start driving around in tanks :D
    So what age by insurance company standards does a male become a responsible driver?

Between 68 and 70 :pac:

No idea, and I'd have to ask them but I doubt it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

cena wrote: »
    When did the trend of boy racers die?

In the interest of this thread, as the OP can you define what you refer to as a 'Boy Racer'?

To me a 'Boy Racer' is the 'person' that drives like a lunatic (day or night).

Someone that spends the money buying & maintaining a modded car that drives within the law is not a boy racer imo.

Sligo Metalhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Did you know that the term "boy racer" was in fact coined to describe girls who got into the scene and wanted to race the boys?

BronsonTB wrote: »
    In the interest of this thread, as the OP can you define what you refer to as a 'Boy Racer'?

To me a 'Boy Racer' is the 'person' that drives like a lunatic (day or night).

Someone that spends the money buying & maintaining a modded car that drives within the law is not a boy racer imo.

Exactly what I was thinking
    You will be labelled one though
    By others and insurance companies ,Get a sticker for your window,Legal boy racer,Could be a good seller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭Inviere

Starlet Turbo’s, Glanza’s, and Levin’s...gas, years since I’ve seen any of them driving around. They used to be ten a penny. Agreed with several posters above, they’ve all migrated to ****box VAG diesels.

Inviere wrote: »
    Starlet Turbo’s, Glanza’s, and Levin’s...gas, years since I’ve seen any of them driving around. They used to be ten a penny. Agreed with several posters above, they’ve all migrated to ****box VAG diesels.

What luxurious limo you driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

One of the downsides to having my E36 is I attract an awful amount of negative attention from lads in altezzas and such. I was roared at in Killorglin last week by a load of young lads to "limit it" which I took to mean they wanted me to spin the wheels. Losers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

It's simple alot of the very fast cars now are very understated. Might be a badge of a difference.

Eg. Gf has a 2l turbo petrol a5.

How do ya tell the difference between that at a 1.8 petrol or a diesel one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭conor2469

DaveyDave wrote: »
    who was with a lad in his late 20s with a debadged Altezza going around pretending he drove a Lexus.

They actually prefer the Altezza to the IS200, the Altezza had the more powerful 4 cylinder engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭jim salter

Currently 8 drive an Evo 7 as my daily. This is my 5th VII and all have passed the NCT first time. So, for car enthusiasts it's not the NCT.
    My insurance is under €500/yr (yes it is properly insured).
    I know lots of others with Evo's as daily drivers (3 in Blanch alone) also know a lot of Type R owners and Skyline owners that daily their cars.
    Oh sorry! BOY RACERS????!
    Yeah, they all died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

jim salter wrote: »
    Currently 8 drive an Evo 7 as my daily. This is my 5th VII and all have passed the NCT first time. So, for car enthusiasts it's not the NCT.
    I know lots of others with Evo's as daily drivers (3 in Blanch alone) also know a lot of Type R owners and Skyline owners that daily their cars.
    Yeah, they all died.

I remember back in the day you would all be going mad being called a boy racer, I thought you were all modified car driver's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

jim salter wrote: »
    Yeah, they all died.

why have you had 5 evo 7's ? maybe 2 id understand but why 5 of them, they haven't had that many revisions and facelifts.

also with insurance at 500 I'm going to have a stab at saying you're over 30, this thread is really asking about the <25 group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

My theory on it is

1) Young people aren't driving as much (huge concern for auto makers, its why they sell cars as 'tools to go anywhere and have experiences' rather than sell the car itself as cool , young people are more concerned with taking Instagram pics to look cool rather than be seen around the town in some premium metal.

2) Rear wheel drive cars dying out because of the EU's fuel economy demands. FWD cars aren't as fun.

3) Jap imports being almost universally banned by most insurers.

4) 15 year limits on car age by some insurers, have to spend the money buying an 08 golf instead of keeping your 02 one and putting a massive sound system in it

5) The internet has kind of shown these people that if you look like a tool and somebody takes a photo, people worldwide are going to call you a prick, so the weird colour tint paints and stupid spoilers on corsa's are getting less likely.