Deirdre Jacob missing twenty years Today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Sofi1

Day Lewin wrote: »
    Well, the Gardaí have implied "new evidence" and mentioned "witnesses" - and invited "people whose situation may have changed" to come forward.

We do know that Larry Murphy returned to this country following his mother's decease last May.
    The family were estranged from LM: but a mother is a mother and death is a sad event; and there are always things to be dealt with afterwards.
    Round about now is the period when the family would be going through her possessions: perhaps a diary or a postcard has turned up, dating from the relevant period in the 1990s? Some document that is suggestive? Pointing to a place or a date, perhaps?
    or even a small personal item of some kind?

I know it is speculation, but it fits the few facts we have.

Yes, really wondering if the death of LM's mother was somehow the catalyst for the change of pace in all this.

That said, i'm totally baffled at the purpose of the Garda statements on this. It would appear that they'd need a lot of evidence to upgrade it to a murder case, particularly the statement that Deirdre died within about 36 hours of her disappearance. That's quite specific. Yet, they're saying they're nowhere near arresting someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,995 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Sofi1 wrote: »
    Yes, really wondering if the death of LM's mother was somehow the catalyst for the change of pace in all this.

That said, i'm totally baffled at the purpose of the Garda statements on this
    . It would appear that they'd need a lot of evidence to upgrade it to a murder case, particularly the statement that Deirdre died within about 36 hours of her disappearance. That's quite specific. Yet, they're saying they're nowhere near arresting someone.

The alternative might be to do nothing at all and nothing whatsoever happens in the Deirdre Jacob investigation. At least this week's news has people talking about her......perhaps that is the plan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭OB1Kildare

Sofi1 wrote: »

That said, i'm totally baffled at the purpose of the Garda statements on this. It would appear that they'd need a lot of evidence to upgrade it to a murder case, particularly the statement that Deirdre died within about 36 hours of her disappearance. That's quite specific. Yet, they're saying they're nowhere near arresting someone.

i hadnt thought of that - its very possible - a trophy of some sort directly linked to DJ . Then its just a matter of joining the dots ...which would explain the upgrade of the case .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Sofi1

Strazdas wrote: »
    The alternative might be to do nothing at all and nothing whatsoever happens in the Deirdre Jacob investigation. At least this week's news has people talking about her......perhaps that is the plan?

Maybe so, but you could get similar publicity about a possible breakthrough without upgrading it to murder? It just seems like something they wouldn't, or at least shouldn't, do lightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭ACAguy

Trevor Deely and Tina Sachwell were still missing persons cases when they performed organised digs? this has been upgraded but they are asking someone to come forward before they do 2 digs in 2 different counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Strazdas wrote: »
    That wouldn't be appropriate behaviour and disrespectful to the family. There must be evidence to justify the upgrading to murder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,956 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Its a bit like the trevor deely case and the recent search. Why did they have to release the reason as to why they were searching? Very unfair on the family and must have been a horrible time especially when the search turned up nothing.

This time the fear is they are at the same. Its extremely difficult to see where new info could have come from after this long. Especially of it was Murphy.
    *I'm sure they spoke to the family about why just not the papers

Omackeral wrote: »
    Dont forget about Raonaid Murray. Another poor girl whos murder is unsolved.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murder_of_Raonaid_Murray

That scumbag who the Scissor Sisters killed mentioned her name before and was briefly linked with the case. Dirtbag Graham Dwyer also referred to her saying ''nobody was ever caught for Raonaid Murray'' when talking about one of his sick fantasies. Poor girl.
    Ye he lived in the area at the time, also was know to have kept knives as he was a butcher at some stage of his life, More than one person had heard him claim he killed Raonaid ,
    Slightly different type of case to the others as there was no abduction or sexual motive but it was horrific none the less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭DublinHun72

Ye he lived in the area at the time, also was know to have kept knives as he was a butcher at some stage of his life, More than one person had heard him claim he killed Raonaid ,
    Slightly different type of case to the others as there was no abduction or sexual motive but it was horrific none the less

I’ve read a bit on this that indicates she was killed by a female.

Really where did you see that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

Really where did you see that

It was listed as a possibly theory. I read it on the Raonaid Murray Wikipedia page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

It was either that or a male I reckon

Is it just me or is the article trying to tell you its the IRA man that's mentioned at the starts daughter without saying its his daughter ,  
    Why speak about him if not ?

Is that the prov
    The IRA man she's speaking about sounds like a certain someone who's very well know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,098 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Edgware wrote: »
    It was either that or a male I reckon

??

Is that the prov

The IRA man she's speaking about sounds like a certain someone who's very well know

Oh didn’t realize that. I wasn’t living in Ireland when she was murdered so only read up on it years later .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,995 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Edgware wrote: »
    That wouldn't be appropriate behaviour and disrespectful to the family. There must be evidence to justify the upgrading to murder

I'm suggesting though that there has been new information or new leads ie. that what they said a couple of days ago is true. The decision then would be whether they keep this to themselves or go public with it. I'm guessing that the decision to go public is to see if there is yet more new info out there.

Is that the prov

Oh didn’t realize that. I wasn’t living in Ireland when she was murdered so only read up on it years later .
    Now the article good be completely nonsense, but the way I read it that what the writer is pointing at a connection girl and IRA man,
    I had a google and the name of said IRA man came up and if you see his job now you won't be surprised why its a theory that hasn't made the media on a higher scale without proper evidence,
    As it is there is just rumour and hear say , from the article and could be nonsense,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,269 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

If you do follow these cases be very careful of articles by Paul Williams and Donal Mcentyre !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The thing to remember with all these newspaper/magazine articles is that paper never refuses ink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭by8auj6csd3ioq

Donal McIntyre idiot has a programme about annie mccarrick soon. won't be watching him and that sunday world 'crime reporter' woman playing at being gardai. it is a shamew they can be allowed to mock AM by making such an attempt at entertainment. it is not even entertainment. Donal and 'his' team- clown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭by8auj6csd3ioq

"had a google and the name of said IRA man came up and if you see his job now you won't be surprised why its a theory that hasn't made the media on a higher scale without proper evidence"

What is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,269 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I remember watching one of those TV3 doccumentres before by these invostegstors and the only thing they left out was they fell into a dotch/hole.

"had a google and the name of said IRA man came up and if you see his job now you won't be surprised why its a theory that hasn't made the media on a higher scale without proper evidence"

What is he?

Well she mentioned an IRA co ordinator living in the area since the late 70s,
    There is a man who was a member IRA pretty well know guy in that area who is now a barrister & lawyer
    Is it the same guy ?
    Is the girl she spoke about even connected to the IRA man she spoke about ? iv know idea just joining dots that may not even be there ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

i think the point they were making was that even in peaceful, bourgeois Dun Laoghaire, there were people in the neighbourhood who had something violent in the history or their past. Not necessarily pointing out any particular individual.
    If the Guards suspected one certain person, they wouldn't let it lie!
    That particular murder, the Raonaid Murray case, deeply touched the popular consciouslness: she was so young!
    Imagine if it was your sister or daughter - the shock and horror.
    - I am certain they would pursue every lead onto the bitter end, pull every last tiny thread, to find out who did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,420 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Phyllis Murphy is a classic case. 20 Years after her murder a garda called into the workplace of John Crerar and arrested him for murder. Dna on a bloodstain kept in perfect lab conditions for 20 years was the proof.
    One of the last places Phyllis Murphy was seen was 4 houses away from mine (I'm still living there). She was visiting her brother and his family just before Christmas. I remember the Garda Patrol reconstruction being filmed, even though I was only 6.

Years later, but before it was discovered, I worked with John Crerar's son. Crerar was caught due to advances in forensic science, but also because a co-worker retracted an earlier alibi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭starbaby2003

Day Lewin wrote: »
    - I am certain they would pursue every lead onto the bitter end, pull every last tiny thread, to find out who did it.
    I thought they implied it was the chef who had blood on him who the taxi man picked up and brought to Newtownpark Avenue.
    They always said he had an alibi in the way they didn’t think it was a real alibi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭2cool4school

great to see this thread heading the same way the Trevor Deely one went - nonsense theories from amateur detectives, barely coherent posts repeating info already posted by someone who can actually string a sentence together, misleading contributions from the terminally confused or those out to muddy the water on purpose, and endless misspelling of the names of the disappeared.

presumably the offensive posts about the victim will be along any minute to guarantee the lock. I'll be surprised if the thread lasts through the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭nim1bdeh38l2cw