Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

Utter utter ****.

Why is it ****?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

ELM327 wrote: »
    Maybe that could have reduced some of the unnecessary children that we are all funding.

If she fixes herself and Johnny I would be thrilled.

Cina wrote: »
    This is truly astounding.

I've worked tirelessly for ten years to afford a two bed apartment in Dublin which I'm now paying a big mortgage on. Friends of mine can't even afford to get a property despite being in full-time jobs. Other friends are being out-bid by vultures and the council themselves.

This woman who has never worked a day in her life and yet gets more money than I do (after tax) every year elaborately plans to shove her six kids (at the age of 26, no less) into a Garda station for the night, videos it and then releases it all over the net just gets handed a fecking three bed apartment. Sure why not? Get RTé in on it too.

It shows how utterly out of touch our media and politicians are with the general public of Ireland that they think it's a good thing to promote this woman as a success story and giving her this apartment as something we should all be happy for. Sickening really, maybe me and the missus should've just scrapped using contraception and popped out a few young'uns instead of working to get our apartment.

Is raising children not considered work these days?

Dannyriver wrote: »
    Why is it ****?

Really ? You need that explaining ???

She has no intention of doing what she claimed.

Ah, I get your spin now.

No it's not - it's an incredibly difficult life choice.

Work is what benefits others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

So I was right all along, go homeless and get bumped up the list.

And people wonder why the homeless numbers increase.

Brain dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

If this is a work ms Cash must be fired immediately.

Ah, I get your spin now.

No it's not - it's an incredibly difficult life choice.

Work is what benefits others.

Spin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,421 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

I've worked tirelessly for ten years to afford a two bed apartment in Dublin which I'm now paying a big mortgage on. Friends of mine can't even afford to get a property despite being in full-time jobs. Other friends are being out-bid by vultures and the council themselves.

This woman who has never worked a day in her life and yet gets more money than I do (after tax) every year elaborately plans to shove her six kids (at the age of 26, no less) into a Garda station for the night, videos it and then releases it all over the net just gets handed a fecking three bed apartment. Sure why not? Get RTé in on it too.

It shows how utterly out of touch our media and politicians are with the general public of Ireland that they think it's a good thing to promote this woman as a success story and giving her this apartment as something we should all be happy for. Sickening really, maybe me and the missus should've just scrapped using contraception and popped out a few young'uns instead of working to get our apartment.
    Stop whinging and pay your tax

zell12 wrote: »

And to Twitter I go......

And rewarded early doors with this ****e:
    Anti#FFFGAUSTERITY

@watbanner
    1h1 hour ago
    More
    Keeping #children together against odds is being responsible.

#Ireland has always placed a higher burden on women to make up for structural discrimination & inequality.
    #travellers are treated with distain by many.
    #homelessness increasingly felt by many

Privilege protects��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,220 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

BPKS wrote: »
    This one is going to be interviewed by Miriam O Callaghan this morning.

I wonder will any difficult question be asked? (I typed that with a straight face).

MOC was tweeting about this, I asked Miriam was she going to mention the husband but no reply as of yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭22michael44

Kivaro wrote: »
    Funny enough I know quite a few people who left Ireland because of the repressive regime of tax on workers and how that tax money was spent. In effect, they became economic migrants; much to the benefit of the countries that they immigrated to.

High tax for good quality services would be worth it (in my opinion), but high tax to support an out-of-control welfare system is just a ticking time bomb that some people do not want to be around for.

well yeah. my post wasn't an entirely flippant one. if the welfare regime is that bad you have the option of finding a less repressive one. obviously not that simple if you're settled down with family though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Utter utter ****.

Oi Oi...an all **** is a good thing sometimes :).
    Or so I've been told..:) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭Silent Running

Based on this story, I've started my degree in social welfare. Their website is very informative.

It turns out that I might be entitled to a welfare payment I haven't bothered claiming. Also, I'm off now to the doctor with my application for a medical card. Also, I reckon I could put on the poor mouth and get another couple of entitlements. I feel an anxiety attack coming on.

If I sold the house I worked hard to pay for, would I then be homeless?

Now where am I going to get 7 children. I wonder would the Cash cow lend me hers.

It looks like they can't be beaten. Might as well join in at the trough. It might just speed up the day that the state realises this cannot be sustained any longer.

Is she pregnant again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Tallaght Garda station has erected barriers and anyone requiring housing must take a ticket and be dealt with in turn.
    It's like queuing for Clery's sale

Read on another thread here she getting about 3k a month !

Oh and anyone curious as to where Martin Collins was ?

Walk Tall

@DrCollins10
    Follow Follow @DrCollins10
    More
    Replying to @MiriamOCal @RTERadio1
    I applaud her for raising 7 children in the midst of this personal crisis. They all look very happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭omega man

I hope Garda stations are inundated now following ms Cash’s success. It’s not their fault of course but you (the state) reap what you sow.

I can’t wait until a GE so I can vent on every single door knocking politician! It will do fcuk all but I’ll feel better. I’ve had enough of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Job done. Forever home. No rent . Salary of €50k

Must be what winning the Lotto feels like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

Oh and anyone curious as to where Martin Collins was ?

Odd that he didn't wish the childrens' father the very best of luck in his forthcoming court trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭22michael44

do folks here regard the UK system as a better, more desirable one? they're certainly a lot stricter about benefits, but also i think it'd be objectively fair to say that people there are at a much higher risk of ending up homeless (genuinely homeless). like a run of bad luck away from ending up on the street.

Is she pregnant again?

Was just about to ask the same question.

Ah stop this story keeps on giving!!

Mugs is all we are.

Ah bless, another wastrel mouth to feed. Should take her comfortably into the 5k a month tax free bracket I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭zeebre12

Miriam asks the most stupid questions 'Would you like to get a job in the future?' I'm sure she'd love to work 9 to 5 five days a week and pay taxes. Why would she?
    Also Mags Cash says 'if they'd only give me a house to sit in in the day time' I can't sit in my house during the day time as I actually have work to go to. Tis a great little country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭mikemac2

This isn't your forever home neither. So we will all fight on.. this is only a shut you up for now apartment because your making a show of them... x
    Mary Lennon i no dis like i said THE BATTLE HAS JUST BEGUN we will continue to fight not just for me but for every1 else x ❤

Cancel those celebrations. The three bed isn’t a forever home so the fight goes on

Not a word of gratitude for the 3 bed like :/. Some reek of entitlement going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Corb_lund

There seems to be a lot of confusion around what people are entitled to. Say I sold my house and quit my job. Would the government still give me my jobseekers allowance? Would they find me accommodation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,460 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

This is hilarious! The internet is foaming at the mouth!!