Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Seems she's thinking of occupying a county council house now ,till they give her her own house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭vectorvictor

There is a solution . Get off your hole and go to work . Don't have 7 kids if you can't afford them . It's what I've done . It's quite simple really . If welfare weren't dishing money out so easily these people wouldn't be breeding like rabbits because they would be like me .. paying my own way in life .

And that was your choice. Why so much anger towards people who have more than you without having to "get off their hole"?

Is it because they are really cleverer and you have to sit through 40+ hours of work to achieve what they get for a mere stroll to the post office.

I am playing devil's advocate here. I have worked 90% of my life and will continue to do so despite "easier" options but I honestly cannot blame people for using the system. It's a lotto win when you break it down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

There is a solution . Get off your hole and go to work . Don't have 7 kids if you can't afford them . It's what I've done . It's quite simple really . If welfare weren't dishing money out so easily these people wouldn't be breeding like rabbits because they would be like me .. paying my own way in life .

And that was your choice. Why so much anger towards people who have more than you without having to "get off their hole"?

Is it because they are really cleverer and you have to sit through 40+ hours of work to achieve what they get for a mere stroll to the post office.

I am playing devil's advocate here. I have worked 90% of my life and will continue to do so despite "easier" options but I honestly cannot blame people for using the system. It's a lotto win when you break it down.

Enabling bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

Gatling wrote: »
    Seems she's thinking of occupying a county council house now ,till they give her her own house

Her friend informed her she'll be removed from the housing list if she did that. Another friend suggested she gets a charity to occupy it for her and they get her in to it that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭TAPlank

Here's a thought that'll be sure to annoy the do-gooders and freeloaders in our society.

Pay the full childrens allowance for the first two children, then reduce it by half for the third, with nothing for subsequent children. If the family is unable to provide for these additional children, they should be taken into care or fostered. They would then be more likely to be better looked after, get a better education and a better start in life. This would be an additional cost to the state, but these people should be more productive.

Would this reduce fami9ly sizes or the number of homeless children? I don't really know, but I'm sure there are well informed people who have opinions on this.

Enjoy the good weather, it won't last!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Melendez

Enabling bollocks.

No viable argument so reduce it to crude language. That'll fix it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,750 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Gatling wrote: »
    The cash one is now complaining that the council told her she could be waiting 13 years to be housed in a 4 bed house .

Another 5 or 6 years for her then

I hope she finds a hobby other that having children for everbodies sake in the meantime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Melendez wrote: »
    You seem like the sort of person who would drill a spy hole into the next door neighbours toilet.

Not as if the poster carried out Russian levels of hacking, I presume this is all in the public domain so it's fair game.

Cash can't expect to exploit media for gain and not have her life examined, it's not a one way street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

It's all publicly available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

If I win the euromillions tonight it would make my day to buy them a house
    there's a house for sale beside my ex Mother in law :) aul bag it's close to Tallaght.

Enabling bollocks.

No viable argument so reduce it to crude language. That'll fix it all

If you read the thread you will see viable options.

You're like many just choosing to ignore these and make excuses for her two fingers to society and those who pay for her lifestyle.

123balltv wrote: »
    If I win the euromillions tonight it would make my day to buy them a house
    there's a house for sale beside my ex Mother in law :) aul bag it's close to Tallaght.

She would turn it down ,she might claim a fair share of your winnings too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I guarantee all the bleeding hearts who want her housed dont want her housed anywhere near them.

eviltwin wrote: »
    I guarantee all the bleeding hearts who want her housed dont want her housed anywhere near them.

Have you noticed none on here offered a room or a house .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

You seem like the sort of person who would drill a spy hole into the next door neighbours toilet.

That wouldn't be very clever
    You'd get an eyeful of 5hite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,079 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I wouldn't want me worst enemy near me stuck in a village the arsé end of civilization getting hammered by the feckin atlantic :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

Ya your right I should be delighted . Thanks for clearing that up for me I'm so silly .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

She is not exploiting the media, she might think she is, but she isn't. The media are exploiting her. Slowly turning on her. This is not her game. She doesn't know what she is at. Canon fodder.

Poor woman. I'll be up all night now worrying about her.

That wouldn't be very clever
    You'd get an eyeful of 5hite

And the difference between that and her enablers would be...???? ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

So easy to pontificate when the problem is never near your door

Looking forward to seeing the ten bay halting site being built on part of the land RTE sold off in Montrose

If you read the thread you will see viable options.

You're like many just choosing to ignore these and make excuses for her two fingers to society and those who pay for her lifestyle.

I have. They are not real world.

I'm stating facts (that I already stated much earlier in the thread that I don't necessarily agree with) I.e. She is using the legislation we have set down. Directing anger at this individual is wrong. Blame the legislators. Absolutely anybody can have their house paid for and decent living money care of the tax payer for doing nothing if they use the system / legislation.

Right? Nope and not the basis for a growing and responsible economy.

Clever to do so? Of course it is.

It's a matter of ambition over reward. Our social welfare system is a complete giveaway. I do believe it should be changed (people on "job seekers" for 20 years is an example)

To be clear I think that what people in this situation get for nothing is wrong but I do not blame them for taking what's in the pot.

It's up to people who want it changed to canvas for it through the right channels not to direct their anger at the "smart cookies"

Melendez wrote:

And you seem like the sort of person that deserves the Cash's as neighbours .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,079 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

So what to do with them? She can't or won't provide for her family without social support. That's the end of. She isn't about to find herself a 50k career in IT nor does she want to. She is where she is and rightly or wrongly that's the states problem to sort out given there are kids involved.

Put the kids into care and leave mother to fend for herself?

Leave the kids with mother and withdraw social support leaving the kids vulnerable?

Gas them all?

So many judgemental posts and not one viable solution among them.

There would be absolute bloodshed here to become the person with the honour of flicking that switch!

Melendez wrote:

What happened to poor Margaret she deserves a house ? Why don't you want her next door to you ?

Melendez wrote:

So you don't want her next door to you but your quite happy to have some other poor family lumbered with them . Interesting .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,849 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    They don't but Solidarity are pushing that agenda

D defeats Bill that would make housing a constitutional right
    Dun Laoghaire TD Richard Boyd Barrett has called the government “shameful” for not supporting the Bill.

THE DÁIL HAS voted to defeat a Solidarity-PBP Bill which aims to make housing a constitutional right.
    Uniting with Fianna F, the government defeated the Right to Housing Bill by 73 votes to 37. Instead, the Bill is to be sent to the Oireachtas Finance Committee for consideration.

Dun Laoghaire TD Richard Boyd Barrett has called the government “shameful” for not supporting the Bill, stating that the Constitutional Convention recommended that the right to housing be included in the Constitution a number of years ago.

http://www.thejournal.ie/right-to-housing-bill-3609627-Sep2017/

Here's the list of TD's who voted in favour of that claptrap, make sue to remind them the next time they knock at your (earned) door looking for votes.

https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/debates/debate/dail/2017-09-21/6/

Sinn F

Adams, Gerry. Louth.
    Brady, John. Wicklow.
    Buckley, Pat. Cork East.
    Crowe, Se Dublin South West
    Cullinane, David. Waterford.
    Doherty, Pearse. Donegal.
    Ellis, Dessie. Dublin North West
    McDonald, Mary Lou. Dublin Central
    Mitchell, Denise. Dublin Bay North
    Munster, Imelda. Louth