If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What are ye eatin'? (NOW WITH DRINKING!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Belated birthday wishes to the birthday girls :).

I had a Tesco salmon parcel, broccoli and leftover sweet potato mash heated on the frying pan with a glass of Shiraz, quite nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,142 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Beef casserole for tomorrow in the oven , simmering away , and rice pudding finishing off in there too :)

https://forumofgames.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Whocanibe

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Beef casserole for tomorrow in the oven , simmering away , and rice pudding finishing off in there too :)

Oh I love rice pudding,real comfort food. you've put a longing on me now :)

Glass of wine and bowl of O'Donnells sea salted crisps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Was just thinking that there's an Autumnal feel there this evening and now all your posts have me craving a nice proper dinner.

Just had a banana earlier but will make something nice when the savages get back from their match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Colser wrote: »
    Was just thinking that there's an Autumnal feel there this evening and now all your posts have me craving a nice proper dinner.

Just had a banana earlier but will make something nice when the savages get back from their match.
    I got that feeling earlier so I had pork, roast potatoes vegetables, gravy and a glass of vino for dinner.

I rounded it off with so-called 'old style chocolate cake' and tea.
    Yum yum

Need to go for a constitutional now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Autosport wrote: »
    Lamb chops, onions and mashed potatoes :)

Chocolate buttons
    3 sausages, 2 rashers, lamb's liver, lamb chop, b&w pudding, fried onions and homegrown baby potatoes

Epic stuff lads! The food of kings.

Working all day, but managed to do some homemade bun burgers and chips for the ladies. I'm not a fan of that type of food (even as takeaway) as I find it boring. I'd prefer the homemade burger smothered in onions and mushrooms with gravy/pepper sauce, peas and mash! Didn't have the energy tonight so having a beer as not really working tomorrow, but dreaming of that meal anyway.:(

Just hand a banana. A really ripe one. My daughter thought the bruised ones tasted crap until I told her they're the best ones!

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Just hand a banana. A really ripe one. My daughter thought the bruised ones tasted crap until I told her they're the best ones!

A toasted banana sandwich is lovely too. :)

Whocanibe wrote: »
    A toasted banana sandwich is lovely too. :)

I was reared on banana sandwiches, but not toasted as we didn't have a feckin toaster.:D The grill was crap as it took ages to heat up.:D

Ah we've all been there. I shouldn't say, but we used to toast the bread on the fire :eek: :D
    Bread on the end of the poker :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

I prefer under ripe bananas. Am I weird? I think they taste better but the mushy ones are better in a honey sandwich.

Ah we've all been there. I shouldn't say, but we used to toast the bread on the fire :eek: :D

I'm beaten!:D

I said you were just a nipper :D

We did that..the nicest toast ever ,the burnt hands were the only drawback.

Well my banana was well ripe as it was in my handbag all day but wasn't hungry in work,similar to the kids apple in to lunchbox,could be the same one all week when they won't eat it but you have to make the lunch look healthy.

I prefer under ripe bananas. Am I weird? I think they taste better but the mushy ones are better in a honey sandwich.

You are probably in the majority S. I just never liked the taste and firmness of a banana straight off the stall. But when I was young most bananas were verging on ripeness when they were bought. If they were under ripe, we used to put them near the fire or heater.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

It always had a certain burned/sooty flavour that we loved.

Those new fangled toasters just don't do the same job. :pac

Nostalgia night in here !

Picking wild mushrooms , then cooking them on the top of the cooker , with just a little salt , they'd fill up with juices that would scald the mouth off you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭0lddog

Lights out, just the glow of the fire & chat. The bestest of times. :)

Picking wild mushrooms , then cooking them on the top of the cooker , with just a little salt , they'd fill up with juices that would scald the mouth off you :D

In our case it was cockles and periwinkles that we collected on the beach, cooked with milk and onions, oh how I hated those! I may have just been told of that though :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I'm waiting for the La-Di-Da boardsie who had a proper toasting fork.
    0lddog wrote: »
    Lights out, just the glow of the fire & chat. The bestest of times. :)

I remember my Dad would go out at the dawn to pick them for us..delicious.
    Or if someone went fishing and dropped a few mackerel in and my dad would gut it and they'd all be thrown in the pan and fried.
    They really were the good old days lol.

Remember if your mam made homemade chips (once in a blue moon for us) and that hard block of frytex was used in a saucepan to cook them.That tasted gorgeous.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,215 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Hmmm I hope there not magic mushrooms now Mam are they :pac:?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,215 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I remember doing last winter and I burnt the toast and set the fire alarm off :D, I got a scolding off my mam for it :D:3.

Hmmm I hope there not magic mushrooms now Mam are they :pac:?

They could be Seph , as nothing else tasted as magical :P

I remember doing last winter and I burnt the toast and set the fire alarm off :D, I got a scolding off my mam for it :D:3.

Rightly so too and a perfectly good toaster there. :D

I remember my Dad would go out at the dawn to pick them for us..delicious.
    Or if someone went fishing and dropped a few mackerel in and my dad would gut it and they'd all be thrown in the pan and fried.
    They really were the good old days lol.

Remember if your mam made homemade chips (once in a blue moon for us) and that hard block of frytex was used in a saucepan to cook them.That tasted gorgeous.

Frytex? We had the cheap Dunnes stores version.:D Seriously! Cookeen was another posh version. I remember once my mother fried chips and sausages in a frying pan with butter because my Dad was late home from work on Friday with the wages and we had no hard block. Tasted manky and I got the head bet off me coz I wouldn't eat the dinner.:eek:

In our case it was cockles and periwinkles that we collected on the beach, cooked with milk and onions, oh how I hated those! I may have just been told of that though :pac:

I can still remember picking periwinkles at the beach but I can't say if I ever ate them or not. I was a squeamish kid :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

I'm waiting for the La-Di-Da boardsie who had a proper toasting fork.

It wasn't a toasting fork. It was the ham fork!! Harrumph.

We used to do toast over the open fire and the mushrooms on top of the stove. I'm only in my early 30s so not that old :D

We also used to eat a lot of game and fish. Meat like cows tongue and heart. It's how they managed at the time.

Just had an Edam and tomato sandwich and a handful of peanuts. Washed down with a glass of white wine.

We never had frytex, everything in the early 90s was cooked in the deep fat fryer. Jesus when I think of it now, so unhealthy.