Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Melendez wrote: »

did she not put her self out there ? who took and published the photos ? who gave interviews? who bemoaned the situation knowing her own questionable history ?

she went looking for something by putting herself and kids in the public eye and is now complaining about the consequences of being in the public eye ?

I have sympathy for people who find them selfs in hard times but this person and so many like her choose it as lifestyle that its become a culture that we should be working to eradicate and not encourage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

There are not enough :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: in the world for this.
    KrustyUCC wrote: »
    That one takes over on 96fm when PJ Coogan is on holidays

The podcats from Friday morning was all about this story

Sure no fault at all to Ms Cash who at 28 has 7 children, never worked a day in her life and can't afford to look after them. No worry sure the tax payer will sort all her problems out. No bother. We have to make good on her decisions

Bad decisions are part of messy, complex life apparently

Only thing is that everybody in the country made bad decisions there woud be nobody working, paying taxes etc so the likes of Ms Cash can get €54k in benefits despite not working
    Rjd2 wrote: »
    She's entitled to her POV.

However in this article all she has done is basically insult those who don't agree with her. If she was to try and rebuke some of the criticisms and even if I disagreed with her, I'd have much more respect for her.

I understand "keyboard warriors" can be horrible, but this article is little better than what she claims to loath. Utter hypocrite tbh.
    tom1ie wrote: »
    Ffs:mad: this right here is what’s allowed society get out of control.
    Am I going to see the pope? =no.
    Did I campaign against the recent referedums?=no.
    Am I happy with the current housing system leaving people on the street=no.
    Am I going to allow a self entitled parasite abuse the welfare system, the same welfare system myself and 1 million others provide? = NO.
    This “journalist” or blogger or whatever she is really needs to cop on to herself. How does she not realize she’s paying for ms cashs lifestyle?
    It’s beyond belief!

I love that some blogger can make you all froth at the mouth. It must have been a good article. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I see her and the flemming one are new best friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Melendez

Cap benefits and close the housing list and make 3 bed properties the largest property you can be housed in,as well as increase social housing rents to a minimum of 5-600 pm the more you earn the closer you pay to standard rents for the area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,056 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Gatling wrote: »
    Cap benefits and close the housing list and make 3 bed properties the largest property you can be housed in,as well as increase social housing rents to a minimum of 5-600 pm the more you earn the closer you pay to standard rents for the area

What happens to the genuine person on the list who just happens to be 'next' when the list is closed?

Fann Linn wrote: »
    What happens to the genuine person on the list who just happens to be 'next' when the list is closed?

Closed as no more added to the list untill at least half of the current 90,000 are housed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,056 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Closed as no more added to the list untill at least half of the current 90,000 are housed

So the low waged, disabled etc can just fcuk off?

Nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

As much as this woman sleeping with her kids in the Garda station might be seen as taking the pee it's the system that permits/facilitates/encourages it that needs looking at. Another poster related an anecdote of a girl who got herself pregnant to get a house and is living with someone who passes his day with a playstation. Again the system as built gave this girl the idea to go down this route.

It is those who work and pay taxes that should get the benefits. The unemployed should have to earn their dole. When the state gives something for nothing then an entitlement culture builds up sadly through generations.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    So the low waged, disabled etc can just fcuk off?

Nice.

No the low waged and disabled won't be housed till the 90,000 in front of them get housed before them .

Closing the list wouldn't make any difference to anyone not already on the list ,you still have to wait ,

By closing the list it leaves people to provide for their own housing and not expecting to be housed immediately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Many posters believe that Cash is ripping off the state and ripping of the taxpayers. I agree that it is an obscene amount of money to pay one family.

I would like to think that these same posters would be as horrified at the thought of someone working illegally and claiming the dole. I would hope that the same posters would be horrified at a tradesman in their home offering them a cash (vat free) deal. All equally ripping off the taxpayer. As a tradesman I get asked about "cash jobs" every day of the week.

It's all fraud, and all ripping off the tax man and the tax payer. Together we can stamp out ripping off the taxpayer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,755 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Many posters believe that Cash is ripping off the state and ripping of the taxpayers. I agree that it is an obscene amount of money to pay one family.

I would like to think that these same posters would be as horrified at the thought of someone working illegally and claiming the dole. I would hope that the same posters would be horrified at a tradesman in their home offering them a cash (vat free) deal. All equally ripping off the taxpayer. As a tradesman I get asked about "cash jobs" every day of the week.

It's all fraud, and all ripping off the tax man and the tax payer. Together we can stamp out ripping off the taxpayer

Most people I know hate when people are ripping of the dole and they frown upon it.
    I find the tax man is different tough.
    Lets pretend a single mother had a job as a hair dresser and was struggling. So she did a few appointments at home in the evening. They'd turn a blind eye to this tough because she was trying her best even tough it was wrong.

Gatling wrote:
    But they wouldn't get 54,000 if they became unemployed .

If a self employed person becomes unemployed and they have seven children they will receive the exact same amount in welfare as Cash.

Cash has never paid PRSI (in old money she has no stamps). A self employed person hasn't paid full PRSI. Both are in the exact same situation. Both get the exact same amount of taxpayers money for the same amount of children.

If a self employed person becomes unemployed and they have seven children they will receive the exact same amount in welfare as Cash.

You conveniently forgot the part where ordinary joe would be hassled to retrain ,take a course or similar unlike the cash one .

Who conveniently gets to sit on her hole day in and day out while her hand is out saying gimme ,gimme ,gimme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Who’s sending you out to work? I take it you’re an adult? Then you’re perfectly capable of making decisions for yourself with a full understanding of the consequences of your actions. You’re certainly not being sent out to pay for the decisions of others.

Ah FFS.
    As I said earlier you’d likely be paying the same amount of tax as you’re paying now regardless of what anyone else chooses to do with their lives. They aren’t being directly funded by you, and yes, if you were in their circumstances, you would be entitled to claim for exactly the same benefits they are claiming for.

If more people chose to have more children and not work to help pay for them then that cost falls on the taxpayers, you (I presume), me and all the other smucks who do work.

If more people chose to commit crime the cost of policing goes up, or is meant to, and ultimately that cost falls on the taxpayers.
    We don't exist in a vacuum, we are all in a society.

If those costs go up then either more taxes need to be raised or money is diverted from other areas.

FFS my 5 year old has a better comprehension of this than you it seems.
    The tax that you pay doesn’t just fund the welfare system. It goes into funding all sorts of things that allow for the functioning of society as a whole, according to how the Government of the day chooses to spend it’s revenue. You’re not directly funding anyone, and even child benefit isn’t directly funding the parents lifestyle, as it’s intended for children.

Ah FFS here we go with this shyte that somehow we are not directly funding leeches.

It may be only €0.001 of my tax money that goes to fund this particular woman, but add up all the leeches and then you find that it is millions that are spent keeping some people in a manner and in a lifestyle choice that workers can't make.
    It is not like the sinn fein magic money tree you know.

More money for large families on the dole less money for A&E, less money for the daughter looking after the ill parent or the disabled child.
    If you have children, you’re likely to qualify for the payment. You would fulfil at least one of the criteria which is that you have children. If you don’t have children, and I shouldn’t need to state the obvious but, well you don’t qualify at all for the payment and therefore aren’t entitled to claim for it.

She gets more than children's allowance.
    Also she gets medical cards so that she never has to worry about GP and medicine costs for most things.
    Now saying that she will not have the option of going private for quicker service, but the people that do go private are paying for private healthcare insurance and it aint cheap.
    People who don’t have children still pay tax as it goes towards providing for services for children who obviously aren’t theirs. I’d only love if I didn’t have to pay as much in tax as I do to fund other people’s lifestyle choices and services I will absolutely never have any use of, but I’m ok with paying as much tax as I do because even though I personally may never benefit from it, I know that it goes towards helping many more people who are less fortunate than I am that I don’t need assistance from the State.

I have kids and yes we do get children's allowance, but we also have more costs such as childcare (massive), medical and school.

BTW childcare costs are huge, like another mortgage and that is what has kept many families from making the lifestyle choice of having more than one kid.
    This woman doesn't need to worry about that and is in fact rewarded for having more kids.

We could not afford, nor would I ever want, the number of kids that this woman has managed to spew out even by this age.

And we are trying to rear our children to follow in the footsteps of their parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles to go out and get a job and pay for themselves and the next generation.

You see you might see it as subsidising my kids, but I would term it more that you are contributing towards someone that will help pay for some of the costs you may incur in the future such as medical and pension costs.
    Consider it an investment.
    Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a fan of the Welfare State by any means, and I have often argued on here that child benefit should be scrapped entirely, but when I argue for that, it’s based upon the belief that it’s just bad policy, nothing to do with curbing anyone’s lifestyle choices or any of the rest of it. I believe that the Welfare State just keeps poor people poor, it doesn’t do anything to encourage independence, but rather it fosters dependency on the State, really not the kind of thing I’d encourage anyone to imagine is an effective long term strategy.

It has been a long term strategy now for decades and as long as people defend and condone people like this woman it will continue.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Cash has never paid PRSI (in old money she has no stamps). A self employed person hasn't paid full PRSI. Both are in the exact same situation. Both get the exact same amount of taxpayers money for the same amount of children.

The self employed person has paid tax while earning and so contributed to the purse of the country he lives in .

Gatling wrote:
    JSB for 9 months then on to jsa which is means tested

Cash is also means tested
    Amirani wrote:
    Surely there's a council house somewhere in the country (doesn't have to be her county council) that can be offered to her for about 1k or so per month, significantly below her "guaranteed" monthly income? Many people paying 50% these days in private rental accommodation.

I'm surprised at how few people know how this all works. The money given to her is considered to be the minimum required for a family of eight to live on. Not my own opinion but it is the socal welfares opinion. According to their rules she couldn't afford to pay a thousand per month in rent. I'm not an expert but I wouldn't expect her to pay more than a few hundred per month for a council house. I'm not saying that it's right but it is the way things are

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 70 ✭✭warsaw2018

hello, I'm Johnny Cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,267 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

I love that some blogger can make you all froth at the mouth. It must have been a good article. :D

Not frothing at the mouth whatsoever. A bad article is a bad article. And for balance I will say some of the abuse at the lass here and elsewhere has been very harsh. An article no matter the POV should try and debunk some of the criticisms instead of merely roaring and calling them names.

Cash is also means tested

Lol

Has 10,000 for a car and what ever she spent on a caravan which would likely be in a similar price range if not more .

Anyone would be getting reviewed and asked to explain where the money came from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,755 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I saw something about this woman buying a caravan and wanting to put it on waste ground or something.
    Are people aware of what happened in Fermoy a few weeks ago?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

Ms Cash revealed she was married at 15, had her first child at 17 and has had children ever since at short intervals.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-6054735/Homeless-mother-six-children-forced-sleep-police-station.html

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    The self employed person has paid tax while earning and so contributed to the purse of the country he lives in .

I totally agree & we wouldn't have a problem giving them a temporary leg up

I was replying to a poster that thinks a self employed person wouldn't get the exact same amount as Cash per child. Both would be means tested & unless the self employed had thousands in the bank they would be treated the same

Both would be means tested & unless the self employed had thousands in the bank they would be treated the same

UnLike the cash one who has thousands for a car and caravan in the bank

Lol

Has 10,000 for a car and what ever she spent on a caravan which would likely be in a similar price range if not more .

Anyone would be getting reviewed and asked to explain where the money came from.

I hear you. I'm just saying that she is means tested the same way a self employed person would be. Self employed person might ha a 40K jeep or Merc yet still get payments

The difference is most self employed might try sell the Jeep to survive long before turning to social welfare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

No problem giving people a temporary dig out, I don't think many here have a problem. That's what PRSI is for, we all might need it. I plan on taking 12k a year for 20 years from the government once I hit 68.
    Used to be 65 but hey, have to pay for self entitled nomadic tribes for their whole lives so I have to wait longer.
    Luckily they don't live as long as the rest of us but by Christ they multiply to make up for it.

UnLike the cash one who has thousands for a car and caravan in the bank

No. If cash has thousands in the bank it hits her payments the same way as a self employed person. Cash having cash under the mattress wouldn't effect her payments

I think the main difference we are dancing around is the self employed person will get caught in every social welfare trap where someone born into the welfare state has learned to dance around all the traps before becoming a teenager

In theory Cash & the self employed guy are entitled to the exact same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭forward8

Ms Cash revealed she was married at 15, had her first child at 17 and has had children ever since at short intervals.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-6054735/Homeless-mother-six-children-forced-sleep-police-station.html

Married at 15? How is that even legal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

forward8 wrote: »

Married at 15? How is that even legal?

The same way robbing everything you set beady little eyes on is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭Silent Running

A relative of mine lives in a private rented house (not Dublin) with this wife and baby, he earns 25k a year and manages to pay his rent and run a car to get to work. He gets children's allowance for the baby and that's it. He pays PRSI and USC.

So, he's on well under half of what this woman gets and manages to rent a house for his family. What does she do with all the money she gets?