Is there a stigma against playing video games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Could care less really. Not big into gaming myself but wouldn't look down on someone just because they play videos games, it's just another form of entertainment at the end of the day.

Can't abide Youtube gamers or those guys that play FIFA for a living though, pretty irritating ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

Just another art form/form of entertainment/procrastination.

I have a shiny xbox x since launch day, it'd be nice to get the time to have a go of it on occasion. . .maybe around xmas time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I'm an avid gamer so maybe i'm being biased in saying that I don't see a problem with them. It's no different to watching tv or listening to music really. People have their hobbies and some people like to play games. I understand why some people have their reservations about them but if it makes a person happy then who are we to judge how they live their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Campogna

I'm actually really surprised by the responses on the poll thus far :eek:

I can't believe so many of ye are neckbeards

B0jangles wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with playing lots of games, but in my experience anyone refers to themselves as a Gamer is usually a tremendous wanker.

That reminds me. The brother in law was over a while ago. I was having a quick game of something, possibly Street Fighter iirc. Offered a go to himself. He decline saying, "nah, I'm not a gamer". I thought that was weird, like "gamer" is now on the census form or something :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Niles Crane

If people want to play video games that's fine but anyone who considers e-sports to be a sport is a complete and utter idiot.

I'd argue video games are a fairly empty experience, whereas books,music and TV/Film can make you think about the wider world and expand your mind video games don't really have that to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

What a waste of time. You'd be better off reading a book. I thought people grew out of video games when they made the transition in to adulthood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

Campogna wrote: »
    That's interesting. This is what I was suggesting but I would argue that gaming is VERY social, it is very easy to make online friends playing multiplayer games.

Your husband clearly enjoys a bit of Skyrim once in a while and the fact that you get comments like that clearly demonstrates that a lot of people have a blatant misconception about people who play vidya

Yeah, I agree that video games are very social, especially now with the majority of games having a huge online presence. There's lots of gaming tournaments where people can meet up and chat their heads off about gaming and whatever else. Some people play football and make friends when they join a football team, some people play video games and make friends through that.

When my husband first started playing GTA a lifetime ago, he became great friends with this guy over in California and they became great friends. Now, they're both grown up, been through college, got married, the guy in California has children, they still keep in touch. How is that not social?!

Also there is no poll option for me. I'm so edgy!

But really, what about the "I'm an auld fella who'd like to play but don't get the chance and I'd have no issue having a chat about games much as I would about books, films, football etc." option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

It's for children and teenagers.
    What a waste of time. You'd be better off reading a book. I thought people grew out of video games when they made the transition in to adulthood.

Mod: My spidey senses tell me you're on a wind up. PM me if you're genuine. Until then, don't post in this thread again.

If people want to play video games that's fine but anyone who considers e-sports to be a sport is a complete and utter idiot.

I'd argue video games are a fairly empty experience, whereas books,music and TV/Film can make you think about the wider world and expand your mind video games don't really have that to them.

I appreciate what you've said but those points are completely shrouded in ignorance. Games like Fez are a testament to beautiful graphic design and unique artwork while other games like the Stanley Parable are story-dense. To say it is an empty medium is a gross error in judgement.

Also regarding the e-sports thing I am not totally sure, speaking from experience I have played games like Arma and DayZ where my heart is beating like crazy and it can be hugely competitive, giving a similar adrenaline rush to when I play (competitively) football. Obviously there is a lack of significant physical exertion but the reflexes and rapid processing of information required to play games like Call of Duty competitively are great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭afkasurfjunkie

Myself and husband are in our mid 30’s and he enjoys an hour or two of PS4 an hour or two maybe 4/5 evenings a week after work. He’s not into sport and I’ve really enjoyed watching some of the games he’s into, mostly Skyrim and the Witcher 3. It’s replaced the soaps in this house. Lol. Nobody judges him for it or is bothered by it. I guess I grew up playing on SNES and mega drive so don’t look down on gaming either. Now if he was up all hours playing it and drinking cans I wouldn’t be too impressed but it’s not the worst hobby to have and I suggest OP find a girl who enjoys it too.

theteal wrote: »
    Also there is no poll option for me. I'm so edgy!

But really, what about the "I'm an auld fella who'd like to play but don't get the chance and I'd have no issue having a chat about games much as I would about books, films, football etc." option?

Apologies :pac:

the poll probably could be a lot better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭kubjones

Fair. I can't imagine you've played much though.

There are games that do exactly that, things like The Witcher 3 which is based heavily in Celtic and Germanic Folklore and tells a fairly deep story.

There's Max Payne, which is written better than any movie I've seen in a while.

Far Cry 3 was another masterpiece.

You need to give it a go to judge, rather than looking over someone's shoulder. You won't read a book that way either, you know? :)

lertsnim wrote: »
    It's the people who watch soap operas that people should be looking down on.

Best not to look down on anyone. We've all got our foibles* and the world would be a boring place if we were all the same.

*first time I've ever typed that word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

kubjones wrote: »

There are games that do exactly that, things like The Witcher 3 which is based heavily in Celtic and Germanic Folklore and tells a fairly deep story.
    Like Ernest Scared Stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

Have a PS4 have not touched in six months. If I was to play when on probably be just Fifa or Battlefield.

Do play total war on PC through every couple of weeks, spend about 2 to 3 hours on that. Don't touch any other PC game just have not got the time.

My friends game but they fairly similar to me they play about 4 to 5 hours a week maybe a few hours extra on the weekend

Playing online is very social had a lot of friends on the Xbox about 5 years ago but lost touch since but you have interesting chats in party chat with people from different countries.

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    Like Ernest Scared Stupid.

Reference is a bit before my time but I'll take your word for it. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

I play a retarded amount of CS:GO, I even play in work (after hours) when I'm overseas as the offices tend to have very good interwebs but hotels/residential areas don't. Never hidden it from anyone, lads in work have given funny looks to me putting my "gaming mouse" on my work station as they were heading out the door, but sure lookit, they think I'm weird anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I’ve two sons. They are chalk and cheese. One is outgoing, plays some GAA and soccer, complete horndog, plenty of mates, well adjusted sort. The other lad is the opposite, and I strongly believe playing too many computer games has had a deep negative impact on him. He has a contempt for sport, all his mates are other fat lads with glasses, spots and fuzzy neckbeards; he prefers to spend his evenings locked in a room playing online shooting games than going outside, his studies are impacted, he has never brought a chick home.

There is a negative stigma around ‘hardcore gamers’ (as he told me he is) and it’s well grounded in reality.

I’ve two sons. They are chalk and cheese. One is outgoing, plays some GAA and soccer, complete horndog, plenty of mates, well adjusted sort. The other lad is the opposite, and I strongly believe playing too many computer games has had a page negative impact on him. He has a deep contempt for sport, all his mates are other fat lads with glasses, spots and fuzzy neckbeards; he prefers to spend his evenings locked in a room playing online shooting games than going outside, his studies are impacted.

There is a negative stigma around ‘hardcore gamers’ (as he told me he is) and it’s well grounded in reality.

Maybe a hoof up the arse and an appreciation for other things life has to offer?

In all seriousness maybe it's just a phase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭afkasurfjunkie

kubjones wrote: »

There's Max Payne, which is written better than any movie I've seen in a while.

Far Cry 3 was another masterpiece.

You need to give it a go to judge, rather than looking over someone's shoulder. You won't read a book that way either, you know? :)
    Would you recommend max Payne then? Husbands’ birthday coming up and I usually try get him a game with a good story, open world type. E.g. horizon zero dawn and the last of us. Any suggestions?

Its fairly linear compared to those, its more like a story being told than an experience.

Its also a few years old now. I'd say if you're getting him anything, get him the new God of War.

The thing is a masterpiece.
    I didn't cry as much watching Marley and Me. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

I haven't played games in nigh on 15 years.
    I just might get back into it...

As per my username, was a big Final Fantasy (VII & VIII) fan back when they were released, and for a few years afterwards too to be honest.
    Any suggestions what I might like now, and what console would be good to go with??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Max Payne is over 15 years old and while you can buy it for the PS4 on the online store, it's going to show it's age. I'm presuming you're buying for the PS4 so the big game of the year is God of War which has seemed to knock the socks off pretty much anyone that's played it. If he hasn't played Witcher 3, I'd get that. It's a couple of years old now at this stage but for me, it's one of the best games ever and I would not be a sorcery RPG type of person at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

I haven't played games in nigh on 15 years.
    I just might get back into it...

As per my username, was a big Final Fantasy (VII & VIII) fan back when they were released, and for a few years afterwards too to be honest.
    Any suggestions what I might like now, and what console would be good to go with??

You're in luck as there is a remake of Final Fantasy 7 coming out soon on the Playstation 4 so that's probably the console I'd go for. Chuck in the likes of Last of Us Remastered, Horizon Zero Dawn and as I mentioned above, the Witcher 3 and you'll have plenty to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

I know a guy in his 30s who is a gamer. Works in a games shop, comes home and plays games all night and does nothing else.

Every day without fail. He has no life whatsoever outside of games.

He's a nice guy but I get the impression that if you took his games away he'd go on a berserk rampage.

It's not healthy.

I know a guy who watches TV. Works in a on office, comes home and watches TV all night and does nothing else.

Every day without fail. He has no life whatsoever outside of TV.

He's a nice guy but I get the impression that if you took his TV away he'd go on a berserk rampage.

It's not healthy.

(and it describes the vast majority of the Western population - so what's exactly the difference?)

Classic argument from people who don't have experience with games or just don't understand them - it's not comparable. When playing, you're actually DOING something, rather than passively absorbing. You don't go to play football to learn the meaning of life, you play football to kick a ball around a pitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

Max Payne is over 15 years old and while you can buy it for the PS4 on the online store, it's going to show it's age. I'm presuming you're buying for the PS4 so the big game of the year is God of War which has seemed to knock the socks off pretty much anyone that's played it. If he hasn't played Witcher 3, I'd get that. It's a couple of years old now at this stage but for me, it's one of the best games ever and I would not be a sorcery RPG type of person at all.

This game looks beautiful but you have to invest a lot of time into it. Still, it's a game that can you play anytime when you're free and doing nothing.

I usually buy 2 games a year, maybe 3 if something I truly want to play. A decade ago i be buying 8 or 9 games a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

I like my PS4 I play as much as the kids.
    I'm pretty decent on fortnite I must say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭megaten

Maybe? I think its more like other mediums now where its normal enough to be a casual fan but there would still be a bit of a stigma once you go past a certain level of interest.