Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there a stigma against playing video games?

• 13-08-2018 10:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Campogna

As an 18 year old lad who used to play copious amounts of video games, I never tell people. I also now play the odd console game with mates but I would never tell a girl I was trying to impress, even if she asked.

Also, gaming is now seen as a form of addiction by the WHO. It's interesting to note the general view that games are juvenile and people see gamers with contempt and as wasters even though video games are varied and can be enjoyed by people of all ages.

So my question is, do you play video games and do you tell people you do? If you do not play video games do you see people that do as wasters/immature?

What do you think about video games? 79 votes

I play them but would never tell anyone.
    0% 0 votes
    I do not play them but do not care if people I know do.
    26% 21 votes
    I do not play them and I think people who do are less mature.
    45% 36 votes
    I play lots of video games and I don't care what people think
    27% 22 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Every geek on this site probably spends half the day playing video games, so you're not gonna get anyone admitting here that it is a waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Video games can be fun in moderation. I love playing my PS4 but would I play it for hours on end? No, 1-2 hours is enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

I know quite a few grown woman who play video games. It's a way to let off steam i suppose. That saying, the only game I've play myself is Championship Manager 01/02 and that's and that's closing in on its 20th anniversary soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Nothing wrong with playing lots of games, but in my experience anyone refers to themselves as a Gamer is usually a tremendous wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

I love video games but I'll be the first admit they're a waste of time. If I buy a new game I'll be hooked to it for about 2 or 3 weeks then I get bored and regret wasting so much time on it. Ultimately I have better things to be doing that would translate into actual skills and achievements but games let me stop thinking for a while. Its like a holiday for my brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Campogna

Yeah I find that is very much the case as well. However, one can play the guitar every day and not call themselves a guitarist, with that in mind do you think playing games as a hobby would be on par with practicing an instrument or something like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

B0jangles wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with playing lots of games, but in my experience anyone refers to themselves as a Gamer is usually a tremendous wanker.

Refers to or considers?

I still manage to make time for a select few AAAA++++ titles :rolleyes: once I’ve cleared my backlog of like one game and the price has dropped to around a tenner but alas I; Gamer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,044 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Games are awesome. Im never giving them up.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭D3V!L

I'm 39 and I've been gaming since I was 3. My wife is 35 and can repeatedly kick my ass at several games. Loads of people our age grew up gaming. I didn't think there was any stigma attached to it these days !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Don’t tell me your mouth doesn’t still water a little when you see those lush screenshot reveals

I don't care what anyone thinks of my gaming. For some reason, the most interactive thing you can do on your couch is seen by many as the biggest waste of time. I judge people more for thinking that than they'd judge me for my hobby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

I know a guy in his 30s who is a gamer. Works in a games shop, comes home and plays games all night and does nothing else.

Every day without fail. He has no life whatsoever outside of games.

He's a nice guy but I get the impression that if you took his games away he'd go on a berserk rampage.

It's not healthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

It's for children and teenagers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

somefeen wrote: »
    I love video games but I'll be the first admit they're a waste of time. If I buy a new game I'll be hooked to it for about 2 or 3 weeks then I get bored and regret wasting so much time on it. Ultimately I have better things to be doing that would translate into actual skills and achievements but games let me stop thinking for a while. Its like a holiday for my brain.

It's no more a waste of time than staring at facebook all day or watching some reality TV ****e every night.

somefeen wrote: »

You should see my Steam account, full of games ill probably look at but never finish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Cleopatra_

I like to play games. I'm usually reluctant to say it but only because hard-core gamers seem to be disappointed when I mention it and they realise I'm not a hard-core gamer myself. The missus likes to play games too. Sometimes we play together, none of this multi-player stuff though, the old fashioned sharing of the controller is how we do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Above all threads to start, and you omit Atari Jaguar as a poll choice? C'mon, it writes itself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Everyone has their thing to unwind. Yoga, telly, reading, music etc.

A lot of people still think it's something just for kids that you're supposed to grow out of despite all the 18+ 'don't let kids anywhere near this' games out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Of course it is:rolleyes:

Especially those R rated titles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Captain Flaps

TBH if I was trying to impress a girl and I was worried about telling her about my hobbies, she's probably not worth much further consideration. Your partner doesn't have to share your hobbies but they shouldn't be put off by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭kubjones

Video games for me are my way of not spending money on drink and drugs.

I'd probably consider it an addiction, but also considering I wouldn't even spend 20 quid a month on them I'm alright with that.

And not even so much of an addiction that it takes over my life, I work a regular 9-5, go training some days and would come home for 2-3 hours, possibly longer after I got everything I needed done, done.

I get no buzz from TV shows at all save a few, but sitting down with a headset and diving into a game with a few friends is a nice way to unwind, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

I think there is a stigma. My husband loves to play Skyrim, he occasionally plays other games but that's his favourite. He plays Skyrim about once every 2 weeks because he just doesn't have time to play it more often. If he mentions his xbox, he gets comments like "you should go outside and get some sun" or "does your wife lock you away in there for a bit of peace" and shite like that. If I mention my husband playing xbox, I get comments like "oh that's banned in our house" and there seems to be assumptions made that I'm forgotten about in another room while my husband spends 5 hours a day on his xbox:pac:

A lot of people seem to think that video games are antisocial and those that play them are hermits hiding away from the world. I just think that everyone is interested in different things and it can be difficult for other people to understand things that don't interest them.

TBH if I was trying to impress a girl and I was worried about telling her about my hobbies, she's probably not worth much further consideration. Your partner doesn't have to share your hobbies but they shouldn't be put off by them.

Fair enough. Just my thinking is first impressions are crucial and I do not want to bring up a hobby that a majority of people could potentially view as for children. I'm playing devil's advocate here!!

I think video games are fantastic but it seems that nowadays there is a stigma and this is exacerbated by the fortnite craze that is driving kids and the like insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mokuba

I was probably addicted to League of Legends for 3 years. I barely did anything other than play it. I put on huge weight and failed at college.

It was giving me a sense of accomplishment daily that I didn't deserve. My real life was falling apart while a did well in some video game. What do I have to show for that game now? F*ck all.

I play now in very occasional moderation. I fixed my life and now it's a nice hobby. The danger is when it is negatively impacting your life - socially, physically, educationally. And that happens more than quite a few would like to admit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

It's the people who watch soap operas that people should be looking down on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

That depends doesn’t it? She might not care if you spend a few hours a week playing. Large amount of people wouldn’t want to be going out with some neckbeard who spends 5 or 6 hours a night raiding virtual villages and killing dragons with members of his online clan.

Sounds fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

There does seem to be a stigma around it in that some people, for whatever reason, will look down on you for playing them. I've never understood it though. I don't really see it as being all that different from watching a movie or listening to music.

erica74 wrote: »
    I think there is a stigma. My husband loves to play Skyrim, he occasionally plays other games but that's his favourite. He plays Skyrim about once every 2 weeks because he just doesn't have time to play it more often. If he mentions his xbox, he gets comments like "you should go outside and get some sun" or "does your wife lock you away in there for a bit of peace" and shite like that. If I mention my husband playing xbox, I get comments like "oh that's banned in our house" and there seems to be assumptions made that I'm forgotten about in another room while my husband spends 5 hours a day on his xbox:pac:

A lot of people seem to think that video games are antisocial and those that play them are hermits hiding away from the world. I just think that everyone is interested in different things and it can be difficult for other people to understand things that don't interest them.

That's interesting. This is what I was suggesting but I would argue that gaming is VERY social, it is very easy to make online friends playing multiplayer games.

Your husband clearly enjoys a bit of Skyrim once in a while and the fact that you get comments like that clearly demonstrates that a lot of people have a blatant misconception about people who play vidya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Probably the most idiotic and ignorant comment I've seen in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Could care less really. Not big into gaming myself but wouldn't look down on someone just because they play videos games, it's just another form of entertainment at the end of the day.

Can't abide Youtube gamers or those guys that play FIFA for a living though, pretty irritating ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Just another art form/form of entertainment/procrastination.

I have a shiny xbox x since launch day, it'd be nice to get the time to have a go of it on occasion. . .maybe around xmas time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I'm an avid gamer so maybe i'm being biased in saying that I don't see a problem with them. It's no different to watching tv or listening to music really. People have their hobbies and some people like to play games. I understand why some people have their reservations about them but if it makes a person happy then who are we to judge how they live their lives.

I'm actually really surprised by the responses on the poll thus far :eek:

I can't believe so many of ye are neckbeards

B0jangles wrote: »

That reminds me. The brother in law was over a while ago. I was having a quick game of something, possibly Street Fighter iirc. Offered a go to himself. He decline saying, "nah, I'm not a gamer". I thought that was weird, like "gamer" is now on the census form or something :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Niles Crane

If people want to play video games that's fine but anyone who considers e-sports to be a sport is a complete and utter idiot.

I'd argue video games are a fairly empty experience, whereas books,music and TV/Film can make you think about the wider world and expand your mind video games don't really have that to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

What a waste of time. You'd be better off reading a book. I thought people grew out of video games when they made the transition in to adulthood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

Campogna wrote: »
    That's interesting. This is what I was suggesting but I would argue that gaming is VERY social, it is very easy to make online friends playing multiplayer games.

Your husband clearly enjoys a bit of Skyrim once in a while and the fact that you get comments like that clearly demonstrates that a lot of people have a blatant misconception about people who play vidya

Yeah, I agree that video games are very social, especially now with the majority of games having a huge online presence. There's lots of gaming tournaments where people can meet up and chat their heads off about gaming and whatever else. Some people play football and make friends when they join a football team, some people play video games and make friends through that.

When my husband first started playing GTA a lifetime ago, he became great friends with this guy over in California and they became great friends. Now, they're both grown up, been through college, got married, the guy in California has children, they still keep in touch. How is that not social?!

Also there is no poll option for me. I'm so edgy!

But really, what about the "I'm an auld fella who'd like to play but don't get the chance and I'd have no issue having a chat about games much as I would about books, films, football etc." option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

What a waste of time. You'd be better off reading a book. I thought people grew out of video games when they made the transition in to adulthood.

Mod: My spidey senses tell me you're on a wind up. PM me if you're genuine. Until then, don't post in this thread again.

If people want to play video games that's fine but anyone who considers e-sports to be a sport is a complete and utter idiot.

I'd argue video games are a fairly empty experience, whereas books,music and TV/Film can make you think about the wider world and expand your mind video games don't really have that to them.

I appreciate what you've said but those points are completely shrouded in ignorance. Games like Fez are a testament to beautiful graphic design and unique artwork while other games like the Stanley Parable are story-dense. To say it is an empty medium is a gross error in judgement.

Also regarding the e-sports thing I am not totally sure, speaking from experience I have played games like Arma and DayZ where my heart is beating like crazy and it can be hugely competitive, giving a similar adrenaline rush to when I play (competitively) football. Obviously there is a lack of significant physical exertion but the reflexes and rapid processing of information required to play games like Call of Duty competitively are great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭afkasurfjunkie

Myself and husband are in our mid 30’s and he enjoys an hour or two of PS4 an hour or two maybe 4/5 evenings a week after work. He’s not into sport and I’ve really enjoyed watching some of the games he’s into, mostly Skyrim and the Witcher 3. It’s replaced the soaps in this house. Lol. Nobody judges him for it or is bothered by it. I guess I grew up playing on SNES and mega drive so don’t look down on gaming either. Now if he was up all hours playing it and drinking cans I wouldn’t be too impressed but it’s not the worst hobby to have and I suggest OP find a girl who enjoys it too.

theteal wrote: »
    Also there is no poll option for me. I'm so edgy!

But really, what about the "I'm an auld fella who'd like to play but don't get the chance and I'd have no issue having a chat about games much as I would about books, films, football etc." option?

Apologies :pac:

the poll probably could be a lot better

Fair. I can't imagine you've played much though.

There are games that do exactly that, things like The Witcher 3 which is based heavily in Celtic and Germanic Folklore and tells a fairly deep story.

There's Max Payne, which is written better than any movie I've seen in a while.

Far Cry 3 was another masterpiece.

You need to give it a go to judge, rather than looking over someone's shoulder. You won't read a book that way either, you know? :)

lertsnim wrote: »
    It's the people who watch soap operas that people should be looking down on.

Best not to look down on anyone. We've all got our foibles* and the world would be a boring place if we were all the same.

*first time I've ever typed that word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

kubjones wrote: »
    Fair. I can't imagine you've played much though.

There are games that do exactly that, things like The Witcher 3 which is based heavily in Celtic and Germanic Folklore and tells a fairly deep story.
    Like Ernest Scared Stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

Have a PS4 have not touched in six months. If I was to play when on probably be just Fifa or Battlefield.

Do play total war on PC through every couple of weeks, spend about 2 to 3 hours on that. Don't touch any other PC game just have not got the time.

My friends game but they fairly similar to me they play about 4 to 5 hours a week maybe a few hours extra on the weekend

Playing online is very social had a lot of friends on the Xbox about 5 years ago but lost touch since but you have interesting chats in party chat with people from different countries.

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    Like Ernest Scared Stupid.

Reference is a bit before my time but I'll take your word for it. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

I play a retarded amount of CS:GO, I even play in work (after hours) when I'm overseas as the offices tend to have very good interwebs but hotels/residential areas don't. Never hidden it from anyone, lads in work have given funny looks to me putting my "gaming mouse" on my work station as they were heading out the door, but sure lookit, they think I'm weird anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I’ve two sons. They are chalk and cheese. One is outgoing, plays some GAA and soccer, complete horndog, plenty of mates, well adjusted sort. The other lad is the opposite, and I strongly believe playing too many computer games has had a deep negative impact on him. He has a contempt for sport, all his mates are other fat lads with glasses, spots and fuzzy neckbeards; he prefers to spend his evenings locked in a room playing online shooting games than going outside, his studies are impacted, he has never brought a chick home.

There is a negative stigma around ‘hardcore gamers’ (as he told me he is) and it’s well grounded in reality.