Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we protest against the pope's visit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

What is it with you and the obsession with raping kids?

You might want to see someone for help with that

Obsession with protecting them from rapists is more like it. How can there be anything wrong with that?

An_Toirpin wrote: »
    I am not drawing any moral equivalence so I don't know you are you implying I am. I dont think you understand the abuse scandals.

Yes, it took years to follow up. Ireland is a small periperal place in the Catholic world.

I wanted one for a UK resident. I couldn't obtain one due to the bigoted louts who booked them to block them.

You brought Microsoft into this, not me! If you have evidence to back up your claims of them abusing children then do what a normal decent person world do and report them to the guards.

Also, I’m quite sure I understand the abuse covered up by the church. However, you appear to be in denial about aspects of the institutional abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

I am not drawing any moral equivalence so I don't know you are you implying I am. I dont think you understand the abuse scandals.

Yes, it took years to follow up. Ireland is a small periperal place in the Catholic world.

I wanted one for a UK resident. I couldn't obtain one due to the bigoted louts who booked them to block them.

I think we all understand the abuse scandals pretty well. Religious orders have refused to compensate victims. An institutional coverup occurred as directed from the highest levels of the church. It happened in numerous countries and caused immense damage to numerous citizens. This is also just one of many scandals that have had a spotlight shone on them. Eg Magdalen Laundries where babies were sold and in this instance of Tuam where mass graves were discovered. (this one included a smear campaign against the historian who uncovered it)

I'm hoping to be at the protest, since the event is tax payer funded, I'm happy to have some tickets that will go unused and I'm as entitled to them as you are. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

batgoat wrote: »
    I think we all understand the abuse scandals pretty well. Religious orders have refused to compensate victims. An institutional coverup occurred as directed from the highest levels of the church. It happened in numerous countries and caused immense damage to numerous citizens. This is also just one of many scandals that have had a spotlight shone on them. Eg Magdalen Laundries where babies were sold and in this instance of Tuam where mass graves were discovered. (this one included a smear campaign against the historian who uncovered it)

I'm hoping to be at the protest, since the event is tax payer funded, I'm happy to have some tickets that will go unused and I'm as entitled to them as you are. ;)

Bit ironic that those whinging most about tax payers money are those quickest to waste it.

If there are 500k tickets and the event will cost say 500k to run/police it for the day then it's costing one Euro per ticket.

Every single unused ticket dishonestly obtained is costing the "taxpayer" the same as a ticket used by a person who actually attends. Costs are based on planned crowds. There aren't a load of guards sitting there who won't get paid if not everybody turns up

And at least the person who attends is likely to buy a sandwich or get a drink or something along the way. Big crowd in the centre of the city on a day out. Will be a boon for local shops/bars etc. The gobshite with 1000 fake email addresses just wastes the taxpayer money and contributes nothing. But they're likely the type of person that will never contribute anything anyway

Ah sure look. There's just a certain type of people who never achieve anything in their life. Their only sense of gratification is from trying to drag others down to their own miserable level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,925 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Bit ironic that those whinging most about tax payers money are those quickest to waste it.

If there are 500k tickets and the event will cost say 500k to run/police it for the day then it's costing one Euro per ticket.

Every single unused ticket dishonestly obtained is costing the "taxpayer" the same as a ticket used by a person who actually attends. Costs are based on planned crowds. There aren't a load of guards sitting there who won't get paid if not everybody turns up

the costs for the gardai doing security will be the same no matter how many actually turn up. No money will have been wasted.

Ah sure look. There's just a certain type of people who never achieve anything in their life. Their only sense of gratification is from trying to drag others down to their own miserable level

how is that working out for you?

the costs for the gardai doing security will be the same no matter how many actually turn up. No money will have been wasted.

It's ok princess. If you can't understand it, don't worry

how is that working out for you?

L
    O
    fucking
    L

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Spot on, we'll also still be paying for snipers to protect the head of an organisation that wrote a rule book on how to cover up sexual abuse of children.

When it comes to the money the government is wasting on this visit the likes of free public transport costs, road closures, cleaning a cross etc its the same regardless of if 500k people actually show up or 400k show up.

Not really since the taxpayer cost isn't my prime issue... It's the large scale cover up of abuse and the fact that survivors have been treated like absolute ****e by the church. This includes by the current pope who initially went on the offensive against Chilean abuse victims.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

How is someone who booked a ticket as a means of protesting against how the RCC has behaved a bigoted lout?

batgoat wrote: »
    Not really since the taxpayer cost isn't my prime issue... It's the large scale cover up of abuse and the fact that survivors have been treated like absolute ****e by the church. This includes by the current pope who initially went on the offensive against Chilean abuse victims.

Grand. and denying some oul' pensioner granny from Kerry the right to a day out up to the Phoenix park is going to solve all that exactly how?

She can visit the Phoenix Park any other day of her life. She is not being denied a day out at all.

How is someone who booked a ticket as a means of protesting against how the RCC has behaved a bigoted lout?

If tickets were unlimited, those gobshites wouldn't have bothered booking them

They only did it to deprive others and to bully them for having the temerity to identify as part of a particular religion

1970's Ian Paisley in his prime couldn't have done better

She can visit the Phoenix Park any other day of her life. She is not being denied a day out at all.

You should get yourself an oul' hobby there pal.

If tickets were unlimited, those gobshites wouldn't have bothered booking them

They only did it to deprive others and to bully them for having the temerity to identify as part of a particular religion

1970's Ian Paisley in his prime couldn't have done better

Alll your ranting is making you sound like big Ian! :pac:

You should get yourself an oul' hobby there pal.

Not sure what you’re on about. One day out in the Phoenix Park for a Kerry granny doesn’t make it her hobby.

Not sure what you’re on about. One day out in the Phoenix Park for a Kerry granny doesn’t make her hobby.

Well if you had something to do yourself, you might not be so obsessed with begrudging others the choice to do what they want.

Who said I applied for and got tickets that won’t be used? You’re starting to imagine things.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Your word use is very wrong.
    How is a silent protest bullying exactly?
    Bully:
    Seek to harm, intimidate, or coerce (someone perceived as vulnerable)

So by booking tickets and not going,. showing up on the day or saying a word to anyone somebody is a bully?

So if i get a cinema ticket but don't go am I bullying other cinema goers?

If I get a free OPW card and choose not to go to any of the OPW sites am I bullying the OPW or other OPW card holders?

Do you want to know what really is bullying.
    Allowing a priest to abuse a 7 year old and then putting that 7 year old in a room and threatening them to remain silent in relation to the abuse they experienced.

But maybe that wasn't bully, after all this was only part of the Vatican rulebook eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

It's quite ironic that the majority of the abusive and downright vile comments are coming from supporters of a faith that proports to teach tolerance, acceptance and understanding. I'm rather surprised Donald Trump is still not thread banned here, only time I guess he has already been banned off the other thread about Frank's visit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

Ian Paisley let the Pope know what he thought of him and his Church all those years ago. Proven right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Taytoland wrote: »
    Ian Paisley let the Pope know what he thought of him and his Church all those years ago. Proven right.
    When you have to use Paisley to support your arguement you're fairly desperate or has revisionism gone so far now that we mustnt say Paisley was a Loyalist bigot who was responsible for prolonging the genocide up North

Edgware wrote: »
    When you have to use Paisley to support your arguement you're fairly desperate or has revisionism gone so far now that we mustnt say Paisley was a Loyalist bigot who was responsible for prolonging the genocide up North
    He wasn't a Loyalist but do go on.

Is there another Ian Paisley that we are not aware of?

Ian Paisley was an establishment Unionist.

Ian Paisley was a pretty hateful bigot in his own right. He opposed the Catholic civil rights campaign in the North which was very real discrimination. He was a homophobe and his dislike of Catholicism etc seemed to be that it wasn't extreme enough. So I wouldn't be using him as a reference point on anything. I also doubt you'll find many on here that will agree with you in this instance.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    It's quite ironic that the majority of the abusive and downright vile comments are coming from supporters of a faith that proports to teach tolerance, acceptance and understanding.
    Erm which faith are you referring to as it definitely couldn't be the RCC!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Erm which faith are you referring to as it definitely couldn't be the RCC!

There the parts they don't practise, just like the part in the bible where Jebus told them not to harm a hair on the head of a child.