Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we protest against the pope's visit?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 424 ✭✭An_Toirpin

Eh. The state is picking up a large bill for the junket too. Why is everyone else having to pay for the free loading pope?
    because that is the rules of gov protocol. Do you think the state sent a bill to

Bill Gates when he visited Dublin in 2013? With ye guys it is one rule for you and another for religious.

And the state didn't even pay all of the bill. Futhermore, any state contribution is made pointless if the event is not used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

An_Toirpin wrote: »
    because that is the rules of gov protocol. Do you think the state sent a bill to

Bill Gates when he visited Dublin in 2013? With ye guys it is one rule for you and another for religious.

And the state didn't even pay all of the bill. Futhermore, any state contribution is made pointless if the event is not used.

The pope invited himself. Usually the state pays when dignitaries are invited. If catholics want a love in then they should foot the whole bill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

An_Toirpin wrote:

Bill Gates organisation wasn't involved in the rape and abuse of children. Frank can't make the same claim now can he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

Pretty sure that Bill Gates isn't the Head of an organisation that actively covered up sexual abuse and refused to compensate victims. Plus Gates actually contributes to pretty high levels of employment in Ireland so is of net benefit to State. Cost would have been far lower too....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Eh. The state is picking up a large bill for the junket too. Why is everyone else having to pay for the free loading pope?
    Because thats the way the system works. Why should people who are not interested in soccer, rugby, hockey etc have to pay for facilities for others?
    Why should we pay Michael Ds hotel bills etc etc etc.
    This bull**** just shows up the so called liberals are not that liberal after all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

The pope invited himself. Usually the state pays when dignitaries are invited. If catholics want a love in then they should foot the whole bill.

It that case, seeing as almost 80% of the Irish population professed to be Roman Catholic in the 2016 census (2016) it appears completely appropriate that the State in which they choose to reside should foot the bill.

Turnipman wrote: »
    It that case, seeing as almost 80% of the Irish population professed to be Roman Catholic in the 2016 census (2016) it appears completely appropriate that the State in which they choose to reside should foot the bill.

If he was invited by the state then yes it would be appropriate. In this case it’s completely inappropriate. He invited himself.

Also, the census is completely inaccurate with regards religion. Even those within the RCC question it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

.. the census is completely inaccurate with regards religion. Even the RCC question it.

Good to read that you regard the RCC as a reputable source! Were you genuflecting as you typed out that piece of tripe?

Turnipman wrote: »
    Good to read that you regard the RCC as a reputable source! Were you genuflecting as you typed out that piece of tripe?

So you don’t think that the RCC questioning the overly high RCC identification in the census is important. To me it’s great news. They doubt their own records and the census. They do not believe that their membership is anywhere near what the census implies. They are recognising that they are becoming redundant to society in general and with speed.

Turnipman wrote:

Mass attendance would contradict the honesty of the 80%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,856 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

The lovely illiberal Say Nope to the Pope crowd are punishing her. Victim of the anti Pope hysteria.

Well him arriving has prevented me from flying over that weekend to see my family, swings and roundabouts i suppose.

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Bill Gates organisation wasn't involved in the rape and abuse of children. Frank can't make the same claim now can he?
    :rolleyes: If you think an organisation as big as Microsoft wouldn't be involved in such you'd be naive and a quick google will verify my point.

Well him arriving has prevented me from flying over that weekend to see my family, swings and roundabouts i suppose.
    Nope. That is a free market force of a service provider. No travel company is trying to stop you having a sojurn away but these protestors are literally trying to stop people.

:rolleyes: If you think an organisation as big as Microsoft wouldn't be involved in such you'd be naive and a quick google will verify my point.

That statement is incredible. Have you reported your claims of Microsoft’s sexual abuse of minors to the guards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

work wrote: »
    Does "the young lad" have any clue about his state and family supportred cult indoctrination. Does he or you look at the organisation's history and still support it? Or is this just "blind faith" like they tell you you must have.
    It is shocking and sad the self indulgence that takes place for a communion giving credence to this organisation. Most people letting their kids take communion couldn't give a toss about religeon and many don't believe the Bullsxxt. But it is this type of lie that makes them appear to have support. Stop the lies.
    He comes from a strong line of Irish Catholics. His father once even considered becoming a Priest in the Catholic Church.

He can do what he wants when he matures and I'll stand by him. He can strive for anything anything he desires.

Don't you dare try to give me child rearing advice. Live what I went through.

Have you explained to your son the evil the RCC has perpetrated on you, your family and the country and world. He must be very mature and forgiving. I applaud your forgiveness of this self-serving evil group but I cannot support you.
    You are on an open forum so I can give you whatever advice I like. If you do not like it boo hoo get off boards, oh yes otherwise just ignore it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

How very Christian of you
    I love when mad secularists here attack contrarians here who they think are Catholic for not being Catholic enough even though they reject Catholicism and don't know the poster's beliefs.
    They were taking the pixx, but I assume do are you with this post and the previous one about a ticket for a family member and really most everything you post .....hard to see the through the mud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I was going to have a lovely visit to ireland to visit family but alas at €450 per person per night for a hotel room due to the white wizard arriving that weekend I've had to make other plans.

Well I suppose there are two possible solutions to that:

1) Get a (better?) job so that you can afford to stay in a nice hotel
    or
    2) Be a nicer person so that your family might stop making excuses as to why you can't stay in their houses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,925 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

or
    2) Be a nicer person so that your family might stop making excuses as to why you can't stay in their houses

Too many sneering **** posts on here.

There certainly are. Mostly from you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,856 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

or

What a vile post, reported

Awwwwww.

So much for your sneery "white wizard" shite?

CruelCoin wrote: »
    It has been repeatedly said to you that the tickets were taken down from sale as the sale window had expired. NOT that they ran out.

Nobody denied anybody anything. Nobody, not a single sinner, zip, zilch.
    You are finding outrage where there is none to be had.

Stop being so bloody obtuse.

Yeah, I understand it was said to me.

But just because some gobshite says something, doesn't make it true

https://www.worldmeeting2018.ie/en/Tickets/Closing-Mass-ticket-only
    Tickets for the Final Mass in the Phoenix Park are now booked out.

https://www.thesun.ie/news/2822155/all-tickets-for-pope-francis-mass-in-dublins-phoenix-park-snapped-up-as-500000-slots-booked-out/
    All tickets for Pope Francis mass in Dublin’s Phoenix Park snapped up as 500,000 slots booked out

Feel free to post any information/evidence that contradicts this. Not some eejit posting something on Boards or Facebook or Twitter

Received my (protest)ticket allocation. Must say very easy. Just to download and print, not wasting the ink.

work wrote: »
    They were taking the pixx, but I assume do are you with this post and the previous one about a ticket for a family member and really most everything you post .....hard to see the through the mud
    I have never sarcastic in this thread or taking the pixx.

:confused::confused::confused::confused:
    Do you ever fact check? Ever? Enda Kenny invited him formally in 2016. How could you not know that?
    That statement is incredible. Have you reported your claims of Microsoft’s sexual abuse of minors to the guards?
    Look for youself online. What is incredible is how you apply certain religions to a vastly higher moral standard than everything else.

Do you ever fact check? Ever? Enda Kenny invited him formally in 2016. How could you not know that?

Look for youself online. What is incredible is how you apply certain religions to a vastly higher moral standard than everything else.

So it took 2 years to accept. Nah, he invited himself this time and he hoped it would be just before the abortion referendum.

Anyway. Have you gone to the guards about Microsoft raping Irish children?

So after all the belly-aching and namecalling from the pope lovers nobody who wanted a ticket was actually prevented from getting one as it didnt sell out?

Well you'll believe that blindly without facts as it suits your own particular bigoted agenda.

But it's false. All tickets were booked out

So it took 2 years to accept. Nah, he invited himself this time and he hoped it would be just before the abortion referendum.

What is it with you and the obsession with raping kids?

You might want to see someone for help with that

What is it with you and the obsession with raping kids?

You might want to see someone for help with that

It is your side that has the obsession with that.

I am not drawing any moral equivalence so I don't know you are you implying I am. I dont think you understand the abuse scandals.

Yes, it took years to follow up. Ireland is a small periperal place in the Catholic world.

Well you'll believe that blindly without facts as it suits your own particular bigoted agenda.

But it's false. All tickets were booked out
    I wanted one for a UK resident. I couldn't obtain one due to the bigoted louts who booked them to block them.

the papal visit is not a state visit. Kenny may have invited him 2 years ago but that is not why the pope will be here. He is here for World Meeting of Families. this is a private visit by the pope, not a state visit.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/oireachtas/government-prepares-for-pope-s-arrival-as-if-it-were-state-visit-1.3366980

he Government is preparing for the visit of Pope Francis to Ireland later this year as if it were a State visit. Taoiseach Leo Varadkar said “even though it is not formally a State visit the assistance provided to Pope Francis will be the same as if it were.
    “So Pope Francis will be given the full supports of the State in terms of protocol, security and any other matters.”