can the postal system survive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Cabaal wrote: »
    I'm not aware of post offices being robbed weekly...are you?

Post offices are fairly common targets for armed robbers. I didn't say anything about "weekly," but it's well known that these facilities often have large amounts of cash on hand and minimal security.
    banks are switching to staff less and cashless more and more as part of money saving, its nothing to do with providing better customer service or a better customer experience.

A bank's savings from going cashless are derived largely from not having to pay security costs relating to transporting and storing cash. If they are foisting those costs off on the state, via the post offices, surely that needs to be looked it.
    Rather then provide services for people that need them via post Offices the solution is to stop offering these services...that doesn't seem smart,

The solution would be to offer these services in different ways. Banking services should be provided by banks. Social welfare payments can be delivered electronically. There are many private couriers that deliver packages -- we don't need a state-subsidized competitor in that same space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

seamus wrote: »
    Nobody's being "forced" to go cashless. If they want cash, they can go and withdraw it somewhere.

Why should the state be forced to maintain and pay for archaic delivery systems because some people like queuing in a post office?

I live in a remote place and will only use An Post for anything I buy online. They know the address and have regular deliveries without the hassle of phone calls etc. I send stuff overseas and good rates.

Nothing archaic about delivery services with An Post .... couriers get lost in rural areas! Used to have to talk them in on the phone and even then things would get dumped in fields

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

So your alternative is to force people to go cashless?
    Sorry, I know I'm double-quoting here, but just curious:

Why is withdrawing cash at a post office counter superior to withdrawing it from an ATM, or getting cashback from a newsagents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭GarIT

So your alternative is to force people to go cashless?

I'm not the poster you were replying to but I do think there should be a tax on collection pensions in person given that their is a cost to the labour but it could be automatically deposited into an account.

Cash is expensive to maintian, there should be a 1% tax on all cash transactions to fund the creating and maintaining of cash. Personally I keep €50 in my wallet, I have to replenish that 4-6 times a year I can't understand why anyone would choose to use cash over electronic payments unless they are trying to hide from revenue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

The only thing I've posted in the last 6 months is a letter from the child benefit people wondering if my circumstances have changed.

Other than that I never use post offices or even post boxes. How much is a stamp these days? It was 70c when I sent my wedding invites 4 years ago I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Of course post offices will survive, even when they really shouldn't
    Politicians will continue to invent ways of wasting money and throwing it at An Post.

See the latest from Minister Jim Daly

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/post-vans-may-deliver-water-and-meals-861758.html
    Post vans could be stocked with bottled water to be handed out to elderly and vulnerable people impacted by the continuing drought.

Discussions are also ongoing around expanding the services An Post provides to include the delivery of meals-on-wheels, prescriptions, and some groceries.

The Government is keen to take advantage of the An Post network which delivers approximately two million items per day to 2.1 million residential and commercial addresses.

Extending the services An Post provides would also help sustain the network, whichcould see the closure of 100 post offices this year.

With a hosepipe ban expected to remain in place until October in the east and south of the country, Department of Health officials have met with An Post to utilise its valuable network of postmen and postwomen who are often aware of people most in need.

Minister of State for older people, Jim Daly, who first approached An Post with the idea of delivering water to elderly and vulnerable people in rural areas, said: “We must realise that we have a world-class network of a daily delivery service to every household in Ireland but we as consumers are not choosing to post our correspondence as often as we used to.”

A spokesperson for An Post said: “We’ll certainly help out if called upon to provide fresh bottled water to residents, alongside their mail, in areas affected by water shortages.”

Bottled water, seriously? This is what we are wasting money. It's hardly a drought and what in God's name does the hosepipe ban got to do with drinking water. Is it suggested that OAPs are dying of thirst because they can't go out into the garden guzzle down water from the hose?

It's painful stuff, and this is why State bodies that don't get with the times are allowed to continue and be funded by the taxpayer for poor and unnecessary service.

Graces7 wrote: »
    Nothing archaic about delivery services with An Post .... couriers get lost in rural areas! Used to have to talk them in on the phone and even then things would get dumped in fields

Just make sure to put your Eircode in your address. It has improved rural deliveries tremendously. Even a courier with no knowledge of your area can find their way straight to your door.
    PandaPoo wrote: »
    Other than that I never use post offices or even post boxes. How much is a stamp these days? It was 70c when I sent my wedding invites 4 years ago I think.

A stamp now costs €1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I was at the post office in the local Tesco recently (I'm not even sure why) but the queue was long enough, so there are a fair few users.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

Uriel. wrote: »

Politicians will continue to invent ways of wasting money and throwing it at An Post.

See the latest from Minister Jim Daly

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/post-vans-may-deliver-water-and-meals-861758.html

And, while we're discussing Jim "Dumbo" Daly TD, permit me to remind readers that he's using his Ministerial superman outfit to try to save Ballineen post office from closure, although there's another PO located less than a mile away in Enniskeane!

http://www.redfm.ie/news/cork/minister-intervenes-to-save-a-west-cork-post-office-on-the-brink-of-closure/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭JayRoc

The only reason I use my post office is to buy stamps and it's a pain in the ass.

I do not understand why newsagents etc don't sell stamps anymore.

To be fair, the post office is never quiet when I am there. And it's not a rural village I live in, like.

Overlooking the obvious nonsense about delivering bottled water ...
    Minister of State for older people, Jim Daly, who first approached An Post with the idea of delivering water to elderly and vulnerable people in rural areas, said: “We must realise that we have a world-class network of a daily delivery service to every household in Ireland but we as consumers are not choosing to post our correspondence as often as we used to.”

Well, duh. This is like someone in England bemoaning the "world-class network" of canals that are no longer used because everyone has switched to road and rail. Of course people are not posting their correspondence as much as they used to: We now live in a world where email, social media, and 57 bazillion texting and messaging apps have made it possible to correspond with anyone instantaneously, regardless of whether they're in the next parish or in Australia.

I daresay there are many young people who have never posted a letter in their lives. Older state ministers don't seem to grasp this reality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Trasna1

The postal system will of course survive, with so much services moving online people still need physical items delivered and somebody has to do this.

However, local post offices is another matter and people need to think long and hard about the importance of them in their community (and they are important social hubs) especially for older people.

My dad was at the post office a few years back and was talking to a women who said "did you know you can get your pension paid into your bank account now, would save Q'ing here". My dad replied "but if we all do that, we may not have a post office.

He's right.

I think the social importance of the post office is overstated. A general grocery or pub matter more than the post office tbh.

Post offices are closing because communities are not using them. If communities want to save their offices, the best thing they could do is give them business, not protesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

It better. Every time I've to send something to a civil servant it's via post. I've also got to send a form to my insurer via post too.

I registered for Revenue's PAYE Anytime service over a decade ago, since when I have never needed to send or receive any revenue correspondence through the post - it's wonderful!

If only every other Government department/Office was as easy to deal with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Trasna1 wrote: »
    I think the social importance of the post office is overstated. A general grocery or pub matter more than the post office tbh.

Post offices are closing because communities are not using them. If communities want to save their offices, the best thing they could do is give them business, not protesting.

Many in rural areas are in a corner of the shop, or in the shop in a garage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

An Post made several million last year from a loss making position the previous year.
    Must be doing something right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭RobbieMD

No it won't.

If there was any foresight or ambition in the civil service/ government there would remain a single public services office preferably attached / co located with the local school. There you could have postal service / garda desk / doctors surgery and possibly even a local shop which would (1) satisfy one of the reasons for closure (wasted resources) and (2) have a social hub in villages and towns with footfall on a daily basis and (3) have garda presence in the location at least some hours daily even if its just a 30 minute window five days a week for example.

And you could have the local paedophile signing on at the Garda part inside a school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭SPDUB

....a state-funded postal service...

it's stated owned not state funded

It has to fund it's operations out of the money it raises out of offering it's service - delivering letters , parcels selling various financial products etc .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

Again, NO - It won't.
    You're plucking figures out of thin air and even still they don't stack up.
    You said Cash would be gone in five years when facts do nothing to support this.
    https://www.ecb.europa.eu/pub/pdf/scpops/ecb.op201.en.pdf

A study based on 2016 spending shows cash is still very much king. If your going to join the "fake news" campaign at least have a pretend source to back it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

RobbieMD wrote: »
    And you could have the local paedophile signing on at the Garda part inside a school?

You could . . . . .
    or again heres a thought - don't allow them to sign on in the vicinity of children.

With an attitude like that your obviously a senior civill servant :rolleyes:
    Tiny minute possible problems often have tiny minute solutions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭Mike Hoch

I saw an ad today for TV Licence inspectors offering something like 445 per week (presumably before tax). Plus allowances, whatever that is (a free licence?)

A few weeks ago I saw an ad for temporary post sorters and postmen, with a possibility of permanent IIRC, for something poxy like 480 per week (again, before tax).

Reason I ask, I always thought post men were on a great old rate even when starting. And licence inspectors would be on great money- who the hell wants to go door knocking in Jobstown and into halting sites threatening court appearances and fines, all for teenagers wages?!?

Most state employees of the likes of the buses, post office, etc etc were, to my knowledge, pushing upwards of 40K if they had a decade or two service under their belt. What's with these poxy race to the bottom temp contracts and awful money? Is this really going to be the standard?

Far as I know the buses still start on quite good money, 29K or thereabouts, probably plenty of opportunity for overtime and probably bonuses for weekend and late evening work. That's to start with, your average driver with 10 plus years service is probably raking it in.

And as for Irish Rail drivers! And Luas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Mike Hoch wrote: »
    I saw an ad today for TV Licence inspectors offering something like 445 per week (presumably before tax). Plus allowances, whatever that is (a free licence?)

A few weeks ago I saw an ad for temporary post sorters and postmen, with a possibility of permanent IIRC, for something poxy like 480 per week (again, before tax).

Reason I ask, I always thought post men were on a great old rate even when starting. And licence inspectors would be on great money- who the hell wants to go door knocking in Jobstown and into halting sites threatening court appearances and fines, all for teenagers wages?!?

Most state employees of the likes of the buses, post office, etc etc were, to my knowledge, pushing upwards of 40K if they had a decade or two service under their belt. What's with these poxy race to the bottom temp contracts and awful money? Is this really going to be the standard?

Far as I know the buses still start on quite good money, 29K or thereabouts, probably plenty of opportunity for overtime and probably bonuses for weekend and late evening work. That's to start with, your average driver with 10 plus years service is probably raking it in.

And as for Irish Rail drivers! And Luas!

A grand a week at least for this kinda crap.

https://youtu.be/bsTsppyP4KI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I still believe Post Office's play an important role in communities. Plus i'd imagine a lot people will be put out of work because of this. Don't like the idea of people losing their jobs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭Mike Hoch

kneemos wrote: »

These freemen on the land types are fecking hilarious, each and every one adamant he and his mates have discovered legal loopholes in the likes of contract law, property rights and motoring laws that no qualified brief has ever noticed before. I might go for the licence job after all, if only for the banter off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

kneemos wrote: »

I hate ar$eholes like that.
    Scrounging scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭RobbieMD

You could . . . . .
    or again heres a thought - don't allow them to sign on in the vicinity of children.

With an attitude like that your obviously a senior civill servant :rolleyes:
    Tiny minute possible problems often have tiny minute solutions.

No I'm not a senior civil servant. I'm a parent though, and I wouldn't want a school grounds being used/shared as a Garda type facility.

I agree that services should be located in a central hub type thing, motor tax/ revenue and the other services. Just I don't think the Garda part is necessary.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

GarIT wrote: »
    Cash is expensive to maintian, there should be a 1% tax on all cash transactions to fund the creating and maintaining of cash.
    Let's leave that one until they put a transaction tax on electronic trades of shares and derivatives churned over in less than a month. :mad:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

if banks cared about customer's they'd be open later and at weekends with staff for the last few decades.

Rather then provide services for people that need them via post Offices the solution is to stop offering these services...that doesn't seem smart,
    Banks have three types of customer
    Plumbs, the ones they make money on , if you aren't an employee you can easily get to a bank during working hours.
    Apples and Oranges, normal customers , not very profitable, but there's lots of them.
    Lemons, poor customers , banks don't want these and will close branches if that's the only type of customer in the area.

Most Post Office customers would be lemons. Small transactions. So they need new business. Irks me that stuff from China has much cheaper postage. Maybe we could introduce a Slow Post for parcels at a cheaper rate ?

An Post still has a very large network so it must be useful for something.

Uriel. wrote: »
    Don't get me started on how much An Post get for NOT collecting the TV license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,134 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I post about 15-20 packages every week, an post provide a good price for international postage and it is pretty fast too. If our local post office closed it would be a major pain for me. It's always pretty busy when I go in.

Really? I think the international rates are expensive. So much so that I wonder how anyone could sell overseas.

2kg to Finland is €22 if its a packet but €54 for a parcel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,083 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Post Offices are very important social hubs and important for news and keeping an eye on people. if for example Mary collects her pension every week and the suddenly doesn't show up the people in the local post office are likely to notice this and may follow up with somebody to see if they've seen Mary and is she ok.

if Mary gets her pension paid into a bank account and doesn't use it...nobody will notice.

If ypur community is so pathetic that going to the post office to collect the pension is the only social outlet for older people, then the whole area needs to take a good hard look at itself and start organising some actual social activites.