Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Similar to holding machines, there's this woman who goes to my gym who insists on spreading her towel, phone, water bottle, bag, etc. over as many benches as possible in the free weights area (where benches are limited enough as is). Then she insists on doing tricep dips on another bench. There's ample storage areas IN THE CHANGING ROOMS FOR YOU BAG TO START WITH, and on the floor, on the window sill (the gym has very large windows with large bays where most people leave stuff as they work out)

When I asked her politely could I use one the many benches she had her stuff on she told me she was "using all of them". I politely tried to explain to her that there was only a finite number of benches and her taking up so many when she could easily store her stuff elsewhere OR on the windows etc., I got a big tut from her, followed by an incredibly sarcastic "fine". She removed her water bottle from one of the benches and said "I want it back when you're finished".

She also does jumping jacks inches away from the barbell rack, blocking off access to a portion of same. Some day I'm going to have to ask her to move to get access to the rack, I can't wait for the reaction to that.

Her jumping jacks are hilarious to watch too. She must move her feet outwards a max of 2inches from her starting position. You could do them for 20minutes with barely an increase in heart rate.

I hope she's reading this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Saw two men in the squat rack area with 5 X 20kg plates stacked on top of eachother the another smaller one just so they can sit on it du

Saw two men in the squat rack area with 5 X 20kg plates stacked on top of eachother the another smaller one just so they can sit on it during a squat rep.

Wtf like. Taking 6 plates to sit down ffs

Few weeks ago I seen other guys doing something similar with even more plates to jump onto them.

This is the Carlisle gym. There is other ways to get their exercises done like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

MarkY91 wrote:
    Few weeks ago I seen other guys doing something similar with even more plates to jump onto them.

MarkY91 wrote:
    This is the Carlisle gym. There is other ways to get their exercises done like.

Tbf Carlisle has 1 box so at any one time only one person in the whole gym can do box squats or box jumps there's no real alternative and stacking plates is the next best option as the adjustable benches are too high for box squatting

People could probably use one of the benches laying about and bring it over.

I know there should probably be a better way of them to do their box squats but seeing it in person all then plates being used is a bit annoying if the gym is packed. At the time, it didn't oersianlyl stop me needing any plates, I think I was doing non plate work but I'd be fairly annoyed if I needed a 20kg and some man is sitting on 6 of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

I've noticed dickish behaviour in the changing rooms especially when it's busy of lads brushing past me as I'm getting changed or dropping their gear down loudly in order to get me to move out of their way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

I hope she's reading this.

Report her to a member of staff. That's not on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

pauliebdub wrote: »
    I've noticed dickish behaviour in the changing rooms especially when it's busy of lads brushing past me as I'm getting changed or dropping their gear down loudly in order to get me to move out of their way.

Something similar when they drop their gear on top of yours.
    This guy dropped his sweaty tshirt or runners or whatever on top of my towel. I pulled it giving him a wtf look
    It has happened a few times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Sound bunch in my gym tbf none of that nonsense

What is it with people leaving their bags trailing all over the place? In the dumbest most annoying of places (like bang in the middle of walkways or just between stations). Use the damn changing rooms and lockers with their free reusable locks or stash your gear in a corner where everyone won't be tripping over it. Or go buy your own private gym to match the one your crazy head seems to think you own :confused:
    And you know, your stuff isn't so special that you should run to see if it's ok after "someone" awkwardly falls over it - it's polite to check the downed human first. :o

Peeples. Sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

Cali_girl wrote: »
    What is it with people leaving their bags trailing all over the place? In the dumbest most annoying of places (like bang in the middle of walkways or just between stations). Use the damn changing rooms and lockers with their free reusable locks or stash your gear in a corner where everyone won't be tripping over it. Or go buy your own private gym to match the one your crazy head seems to think you own :confused:
    And you know, your stuff isn't so special that you should run to see if it's ok after "someone" awkwardly falls over it - it's polite to check the downed human first. :o

Peeples. Sigh.

The bags holding training gear maybe? Like belt maybe different shoes for squats/deads, wraps, sleeves etc. Adds up that you need a bag to carry the stuff around.

Though leaving lying around on walkways and making it a tripping hazard is ridiculous and should def. be a matter the staff should be able to stop. Surely it's an insurance risk for them.

Blacktie. wrote: »
    The bags holding training gear maybe? Like belt maybe different shoes for squats/deads, wraps, sleeves etc. Adds up that you need a bag to carry the stuff around.

Perhaps, but in a handbag? :D Nah, just someone who came to the gym in gear and was too lazy to route through the changing rooms. Like you know how people will drive around and around the gym carpark to get the spot closest to the door so as to avoid an extra 30 second walk before heading in to treadmill for an hour?

I'm actually in stitches at my own outrage though. Funny to re-read your worked up angry post and then have to admit chill girl, be cool :o
    Blacktie. wrote: »
    Though leaving lying around on walkways and making it a tripping hazard is ridiculous and should def. be a matter the staff should be able to stop. Surely it's an insurance risk for them.
    For sure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭veganrun

I'm getting ready to venture back to the gym in the next few days to help build up some muscle and strength and to help with an injury. Last time I was in the gym I felt a bit self conscious as I was doing 5x5 and needed the squat rack for the squats and overhead press and I felt like I was hogging the rack. However I was doing the workout as fast as possible and only taking the minimum rest between sets but still felt a bit guilty.

I remember one time years ago in another gym in Dublin, two guys were tag teaming the lat pulldown machine for an eternity. When they finally decided to move, they unhooked the bar and took it with them to another machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,729 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Nothing wrong with that in my view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

veganrun wrote: »

I remember one time years ago in another gym in Dublin, two guys were tag teaming the lat pulldown machine for an eternity. When they finally decided to move, they unhooked the bar and took it with them to another machine.

Now this is funny :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭soiseztomabel

As a new gym goer well done to whoever set up this thread, getting a right old laugh from the majority of the entries.

Guy in a puffer jacket (with a cap on) doing seated curls while staring a girl out of it whose doing planks. Jumps up throws the dbs on the floor and casually strolls off while eyeball me and anither guy on the way out.

3 lads this morning working out together firstly hogging the cables for what seemed like an eternity, then doing the thing I hate the most - standing in front of the dumbbell rack - whilst doing whatever TF they were doing in unison again for an eternity - like a meathead boy band having a stupid competition (you were all winners guys if you're reading this). When I politely asked one of them to move so I could access the dumbbells I got a big tut and a "WTF?" look.

Later I was doing seated incline curls as a finisher and after Set 1 I had the dumbbells between my feet between sets, perhaps 30secs to a minute max rest. Some twat just walks over to pick them up. No "are you finished with those?", nothing. When I explained I was still using them, I get another tut and "WTF?" expression. Honestly if this sh*t continues someone will be pulling a barbell from their hole.

LEARN SOME GYM ETIQUETTE YOU MUPPETS.

Finally, from yesterday: a guy I haven't seen in the gym before standing on the seated shoulder press machine, bent over in some incredibly awkward stance and doing some kind of pulling exercise on said machine. You had to see it - if I was the type to take my phone in to the gym this would have been shown around the world on one of those Gym Idiots videos you see on YouTube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,953 ✭✭✭caviardreams

The standing in the way blocking the dumbell rack wrecks my head. The number of times I have to wait for somebody to get through a set of 50 DB swings curls so I can then ask them if I can get in by them to get a DB is ridiculous. Spatial awareness people. And if you need to be less than a foot away from the mirror to see those guns well....

Having said that, some people are nice too - a few weeks back the only 20kg KB was about 1m from where a guy was doing curls so I didn't just want to take it as it looked like he might be still using it. The guy must have literally been doing about 100 reps and I was doing my best to give him some personal space but the longer it went on I must have looked like a right weirdo standing nearby doing nothing with the odd glance in his direction whilst waiting for him to finish so I could ask. As it happens he wasn't using it, but he then apologised for taking so long with his set, which was very mannerly* I must say. Maybe we need a good manners at the gym thread to commend people also :-)

*I realise the use of this word makes me sound like I am 87 years old, I'm not, honest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

There's a little Portuguese lad in Carlisle, has a serious case of body dismorphia. He's about 5'1 and thinks he about the same width, spends most of his time pulling body builder poses in the mirror.

He's a little stocky chap but not on a million years would you say he has a body builder physique. Pulls all sort of bizarre faces while posing. Last night took the biscuit, he was literally trying to do that pec twitchy thing in the mirror for about ten minutes Bonkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

The number of times I have to wait for somebody to get through a set of 50 DB swings curls so I can then ask them if I can get in by them to get a DB is ridiculous. Spatial awareness people. And if you need to be less than a foot away from the mirror to see those guns well....

Full disclosure, I involved the DB rack in certain exercises.
    I basically brace myself off the bottom row of DBs when doing DB bent over rows. It's just the the perfect height. The angle is much better than one leg up on a bench.

But the difference I do this with some awareness of my surroundings. I do it at lunchtime, then gym is empty and I typically do it over the less used large DBs ,and it's in and out 6 reps sets

Mellor wrote: »
    Full disclosure, I involved the DB rack in certain exercises.
    I basically brace myself off the bottom row of DBs when doing DB bent over rows. It's just the the perfect height. The angle is much better than one leg up on a bench.

But the difference I do this with some awareness of my surroundings. I do it at lunchtime, then gym is empty and I typically do it over the less used large DBs ,and it's in and out 6 reps sets

Hmmm ok, maybe I'll just about let you away with that one :D And at least technically you are using the actual rack in some way rather than just standing right beside them/blocking them for no reason but to admire your guns pump up close in the mirror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Hmmm ok, maybe I'll just about let you away with that one :D And at least technically you are using the actual rack in some way rather than just standing right beside them/blocking them for no reason but to admire your guns pump up close in the mirror.

I'm aware it could easily be getting in somebody's way, and a bit of an asshole. But I think I'm aware enough than it never an issue. It's the guys who think its completely normal to stand there that are making issues

That's my story anyway

Full house this morning:
    • A guy blocking access to the DB rack as he stood so close to it whilst doing curls he was pretty much resting his balls on the rack itself
    • Jumping Jack Gash (as I now call her) taking up 90% of the floor space with her stuff again AND also resting her balls on the DB rack while she curled a 5kg barbell against it
    • A guy abusing himself and the Lat Pull Down machine by attempting to touch his shoulders on the ground during every pull and grunting like a madman throughout. 2 PTs walked past during his sets and said nothing:rolleyes:
    • No-one (bar me) with a wipe down towel in the gym itself it seemed. I'm sure Jumping Jack Gash had one but instead of her using it on the bench she was using she was likely "resting" it on another
    • Free weights area littered with bars, weights and DBs not put back after being used (really annoys me that one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,729 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

• No-one (bar me) with a wipe down towel in the gym itself it seemed. I'm sure Jumping Jack Gash had one but instead of her using it on the bench she was using she was likely "resting" it on another

This one annoys me. My gym (like a lot of gyms) provides anti bacterial wipes for wiping down equipment and benches, which I use and thus don't bring a towel.

Manager gave out to me the other day and said I couldn't use rowing machine because I had no towel with me. Told him it was ok, as I would be using the wipes afterwards. He insisted on the towel. I asked him why, given that the wipes were considerably more hygienic than towels, and surely that was the point of wiping down the equipment. He spluttered for a few seconds and just said "Management policy" as if it explained everything.

How many gym towels do people keep? How often to they wash them? They're nowhere near as hygienic as made out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

I've about 10 hand towels - washed after every use.

Nate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

How many gym towels do people keep? How often to they wash them? They're nowhere near as hygienic as made out.

I've a good few as I use them for drying my hair too. Probably use each one for two sessions max and they all get washed at the weekend

Goes without saying you would wash it after use/every gym session, but can see the wipes and spray argument too. That said, the number of people who do neither is ridiculous, and I wouldn't even mind if they left the equipment clammy/damp which I can live with if I don't think about it too much. I have literally seen heavy beads and drops of sweat left all along seats of the leg extension, leg curl etc. from guys wearing shorts, like who thinks it's ok to leave equipment like that? :mad:

I wash my towel after every gym session...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Yeah have about 5/6 towels, washed after every session.
    I am one of the few in my gym with a towel though, as there is tissue and antibacterial spray supplied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Manager gave out to me the other day and said I couldn't use rowing machine because I had no towel with me.

Did he want you to sit on it? Or just have one?