Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭22michael44

Augeo wrote: »
    How many folk earning 50k/year are needed to house and support (fund) this lady & her 7 kids ?

That's why the country us under pressure, that's why there are excessive hospital waiting times....too many fooking wasters to be looked after.

this one lady? probably not many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,310 ✭✭✭bobbyss

I think she said she's been homeless since September, unless I am wrong.

Where has she been staying since then? I can only assume close to the kids' school?

Travellers usually come from extended families. What is her extended family I wonder and what have they been doing to help?

i should think that if the IMF thought there was a way to deal with that issue, then they would have dealt with it. not a chance would they have left it.
    i can only think that for it's many faults, we are dealing with this issue in the only realistic way. some changes could be made but not very much.

people can question what they like. however realistically, i'm not sure they are going to get the answers they are hoping for.
    she had 7 children because she had 7 children. she hasn't worked because lets be honest, she is unemployable. people seem to keep missing the reality that there are people who are just unemployable and getting them into work would actually be bad for employers, and those who would have to work with them. any benefits she gets, she gets them for the children's sake.

can't win, can they? 'she should get a job, just not in my workplace, thanks'.

she can't look after her kids, so presumably the answer is go out and get a job and leave the seven kids to their own devices. and when they grow up to be delinquents presumably that'll be her fault too.

bobbyss wrote: »
    I think she said she's been homeless since September, unless I am wrong.

Where has she been staying since then? I can only assume close to the kids' school?

Travellers usually come from extended families. What is her extended family I wonder and what have they been doing to help?

There were reports or screenshots earlier in the thread where she was celebrating getting a house a few weeks ago. Nothing has been said about what happened to that house.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

It's wonderful isn't it, and a nice carbon tax just to make it a little more difficult for the average worker.

The only fools in this country are us workers. Time to move to #welfareforlife I think.

I can't speak for all but I'd have a problem with that due to the upbringing I had and the work ethic and honesty that was instilled in me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Nermal

I thought welfare was supposed to prevent the unemployable turning to criminality.

Not working like that here, is it? Given the rap sheet of this 'family'?

The bottom line is that when we pay people for feckless behaviour, we get more feckless behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I see now every interview she's playing I'm a traveler card now ,

She remained she's only 9 years on the list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,282 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Why does she want a house if she is a traveller?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,531 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

she can't look after her kids, so presumably the answer is go out and get a job and leave the seven kids to their own devices. and when they grow up to be delinquents presumably that'll be her fault too.

exactly, i'm completely in agreement.
    the reality is there will always be people like her. there is no way of solving this. i know that's an unpopular point but it's realistic.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

That's what I was wondering. Is there no cousin in the family who'd have a spare caravan for her and her brood?

this one lady? probably not many.

Well she gets about a grand a week all in so that's 50k+ / annum.

3 or 4 average workers paye needed to fund that.

Augeo wrote: »
    Well she gets about a grand a week all in so that's 50k+ / annum.

3 or 4 average workers paye needed to fund that.

i can't get over people thinking that the only possible way to fund social welfare is through taxing the working man

someone on reddit made the comparison to the amount of money owed by Apple - the figure is astronomical, it completely dwarves even the most generous estimations of the cost of welfare fraud. i wish i could find the post but unfortunately there's about 7 threads on there and i can't be bothered going back through them all.

not to mention the money being spent on the ****ing Pope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,531 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

I can't speak for all but I'd have a problem with that due to the upbringing I had and the work ethic and honesty that was instilled in me.

as would the vast majority of people. the vast majority of people won't want to be on wellfare, they are happy and want to work because they will always be in a better position, even if some may not see it.
    Nermal wrote: »
    I thought welfare was supposed to prevent the unemployable turning to criminality.

Not working like that here, is it? Given the rap sheet of this 'family'?

The bottom line is that when we pay people for feckless behaviour, we get more feckless behaviour.

trying to prevent them from turning to crime is one of it's jobs. of course it won't always work, but it may prevent them from increasing what crime they are involved in .

presumably because she is a settled traveler. i think that as the years go on the amount of traveling travelers will decrease for various reasons. being on the road won't be viable.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

the subtext of a lot of posts in this thread is that a lot of you would rather these people didn't exist. actually it's not even subtext in some cases, some of you would happily admit it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Maeve Sheehan got it just a bit wrong when she wrote "The 27-year-old mother from the travelling community has actually done the State some service. She has exposed another bleak milestone in the creeping advance of homelessness that went unnoticed until she posted a photograph last Wednesday night of six of her seven children sleeping in the reception area of Tallaght Garda Station" in today's Sindo.

More like she has highlighted to the hardworking taxpayers in Ireland that you can be a non-productive member of society, pop out multiple kids before you're 30, have a jailbird hubby and get a free house. It's yet another reminder that those of us who have jobs, pay our taxes, have mortgages/rent and generally pay our way are funding these leeches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

Varadkar looking to increase welfare ‘entitlements’

http://www.thejournal.ie/budget-2019-2-4158775-Aug2018/

Varadkar is a fcuking waster of a taoiseach. Has done absolutely nothing in the role. Too worried about appeasing the Twatter Fcebook generation. He won't say or do anything of consequence because he knows there is no alternative to him.. Can't wait for a real recession to hit and we'll really see him squirm..

the subtext of a lot of posts in this thread is that a lot of you would rather these people didn't exist. actually it's not even subtext in some cases, some of you would happily admit it.

No subtext here - yes I would rather sponging, pointless, layabouts did not exist.

The country would flourish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I've read posts describing travellers as "breading". Obviously this is a very thinly veiled attempt to class them as sub human or animals. Others seem to think that natzi Germany was the way forward and we should have forced invasive surgery for women by "getting their tubes tied"

Racism and hatred is alive and well in Ireland

No subtext here - yes I would rather sponging, pointless, layabouts did not exist.

and that's where your kind will always fall down when you act like you're the 'voices of reason'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

I'd rather people like her didn't exist, the vast majority of hard working people feel the same. However, we wish people like her didn't come into existence, we're not wishing her dead.

Sleeper12 wrote: »

I've read posts describing travellers as "breading". Obviously this is a very thinly veiled attempt to class them as sub human or animals. Others seem to think that natzi Germany was the way forward and we should have forced invasive surgery for women by "getting their tubes tied"

Racism and hatred is alive and well in Ireland

Oh for heaven's sake.

That woman could have been black, white, settled, traveller, whatever - her situation is abhorrent. She's coining in nearky twice in her bank each month than I am and it's taken 30 years to get here. Plus I pay taxes, PRSI, USC and have to pay for EVERYTHING she gets for free.

You can throw out Godwin as much as you like to deflect but the fact is she and her ilk contribute nothing, only take take take.

That is indefensible and no manner of throwaway pathetic accusations of racism will detract from the truth.

erica74 wrote: »
    I'd rather people like her didn't exist, the vast majority of hard working people feel the same. However, we wish people like her didn't come into existence, we're not wishing her dead.

oh well that makes it all okay, thanks for the distinction.
    beyond satire.

and that's where your kind will always fall down when you act like you're the 'voices of reason'.

"My kind" - are you prejudiced against hard working taxpayers ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,921 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Sleeper12 wrote:

Let's be honest dictatorships get $hit done.

I scratch my head at people who think travellers are great craic and that people who choose to live outside of societal rules should still benefit from society.

They should apply for a job on the UKs brexit negotiating team.

That woman could have been black, white, settled, traveller, whatever - her situation is abhorrent. She's coining in nearky twice in her bank each month than I am and it's taken 30 years to get here. Plus I pay taxes, PRSI, USC and have to pay for EVERYTHING she gets for free.

It doesn't matter what colour or race she is or isn't. It's fascism is fascism. Like I say just like natzi Germany

"My kind" - are you prejudiced against hard working taxpayers ?

not all hard-working taxpayers think like you, praise be.

It doesn't matter what colour or race she is or isn't. It's fascism is fascism. Like I say just like natzi Germany

First if you're going to call someone a Nazi then it's wise to know how to spell it.

Plus I really don't think you understand what fascism is if you believe it is working people tiring of being taken advantage of.

Let's be honest dictatorships get $hit done.

You are 100 percent correct. We had up to 6 million Jews wiped off the planet due to a dictator. Very effective indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

Do you actually even know what you are talking about now. Being a traveller makes no difference whatsoever. The fact that she has never worked never will, never contributed to anything in this country yet 'earns' thousands more than a worker in a well paying job is what is infuriating people. Yet she is castigating the very government that are throwing a thousand euros tax free at her a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭stratowide

not all hard-working taxpayers think like you, praise be.

Well as a similar taxpayer who has paid paye for nigh on 30 years now I would feel that I should have a say about how it's spent.

And I would not like a cent going to this charlatan/scam artist.