Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Does anyone know what her partner is in for?. Was she based in bray?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

mickdw wrote: »
    This traveller woman might just be the right woman in the right place at the right time to allow people to begin to turn the tide on this welfare nonsense.
    There has to be a welfare cap brought in.

ya right....this country has no balls, sinn fein will get more votes because of yesterday and if anything, its going to get worse.

political correctness will be the death of this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

She has 6 sons and 1 daughter.

In the interview she said there was no hotel to take 9 of them... (family of 9)

Could have been the journalist typo, though.

It definitely said 9.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

wonski wrote: »
    In the interview she said there was no hotel to take 9 of them... (family of 9)

Could have been the journalist typo, though.

It definitely said 9.

7 children and two parents. Woops,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Isn't he in jail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

Is the boyfriend/husband on a holiday or staying quietly in the background?

I thought he was doing porridge at Michael D’s pleasure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭zeebre12

fritzelly wrote: »
    There's a saying - when you don't pay for something you don't appreciate it
    That's true. When I was in secondary school and few years ago there was a girl from a certain 'community', which I won't name sitting up at the top of the room putting holes in the sleeve of her jumper with her pencil. The teacher told her to stop doing it that her mother will have to buy her a new one. Her remark to her was 'No she won't..I'll just get another free one'. And my working mother used to have our school uniform do us a few years. I even wore my brothers hand me down jumper as it was grand. The difference is we minded ours as we had appreciated that our mother worked hard to pay for them. We scrimped and scraped by then you have this carry one. It's the same with the school books for the Back to School allowance and brand new and funded by the government. Why would they mind them when they get them for free and can easily get them replaced for free?
    Tis a great little country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭Icsics

zeebre12 wrote: »
    That's true. When I was in secondary school and few years ago there was a girl from a certain 'community', which I won't name sitting up at the top of the room putting holes in the sleeve of her jumper with her pencil. The teacher told her to stop doing it that her mother will have to buy her a new one. Her remark to her was 'No she won't..I'll just get another free one'. And my working mother used to have our school uniform do us a few years. I even wore my brothers hand me down jumper as it was grand. The difference is we minded ours as we had appreciated that our mother worked hard to pay for them. We scrimped and scraped by then you have this carry one. It's the same with the school books for the Back to School allowance and brand new and funded by the government. Why would they mind them when they get them for free and can easily get them replaced for free?
    Tis a great little country.

Very true, getting too much for free & appreciating nothing. Back to school allowance should be vouched. There are a lot of travellers in my sons primary. On the first day back the entire clan poses for photos, elaborate hairdos/runners/nails/tans the lot outside the school. But once they meet the teacher inside it'll be 'sorry mam no books'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Cf that knob Corbyn and his fawning acolytes in the UK.

MP for Islington.

Says it all really.

Icsics wrote: »
    Very true, getting too much for free & appreciating nothing. Back to school allowance should be vouched. There are a lot of travellers in my sons primary. On the first day back the entire clan poses for photos, elaborate hairdos/runners/nails/tans the lot outside the school. But once they meet the teacher inside it'll be 'sorry mam no books'

Children’s Allowance should be abolished and books provided instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭redshoes15

I’ve been watching this across social media and the usual news outlets and am really flabbergasted at the reaction. According to the Twitter masses anyone who attempts to question the lifestyle of this lady is a horrible person who hates women and single mothers. By questioning this lady’s decision to continue to reproduce without having a notion of responsibility is akin to a nazi who has zero compassion. Mary Lou and her cronies are screaming, our high profile ‘stars’, journalists and the like are lambasting anyone who questions the decisions of this woman and her lifestyle choices. I love my country and am very proud to consider myself a child of Ireland but this incident and the couple of high profile cases that preceded it (Fleming etc.) are just too much. Surely to god the lifestyle of this woman should be allowed to be questioned. Surely somewhere in our political leaders parties there is someone who can see that all aspects of this case are wrong and should be branded as such. There is a very real possibility that this will be the norm going forward, offered a house/accommodation that doesn’t tick all of your boxes? Go ‘homeless’ and contact the media to garner public sympathy and put an extortionate amount of pressure on the poor saps in charge of housing. Jump the queue and push a genuine case of individuals in serious need of help down the line. The sense of entitlement, lack of personal responsibility and the attitude toward people raising genuine questions regarding the circumstances of cases like this is extraordinary. Like I said in a previous post, what are we teaching the children and youth of this country by accepting this carry on? It ok John/Mary, have no ambition. Don’t try to better your life. Don’t aspire to be the best you can be. If things get tough go screaming half truths to the media and you’ll be rewarded with tea and sympathy and a chat on a radio station to spin your lies and half truths. What a time to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Children’s Allowance should be abolished and books provided instead.

Lots of schools don't have books. Many now use tablets instead.

Also children allowance is supposed to be for the child not to pay for our free education

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

People are saying she’s to be pitied because she’s not clever enough to use birth control or take care of her children on her own. She’s clever enough to know all the benefits she can claim though. Funny that isn’t it.

Virtually every member of the ethnic group of which she is a member would effortlessly achieve First Class Honours if any Irish third level college was to offer a degree on Social Welfare entitlements and how to claim them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,167 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

It's probably gonna take another recession and for the IMF to come back and sort this all out once and for all for anything to be done.

Don't see the politicians taking the actions needed left to their own devices.

It's probably gonna take another recession and for the IMF to come back and sort this all out once and for all for anything to be done.

The IMF didn’t do anything major in that area at the last visit. It’ll take so nothing major for them to act on it if a second bailout happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

redshoes15 wrote: »
    I’ve been watching this across social media and the usual news outlets and am really flabbergasted at the reaction. According to the Twitter masses anyone who attempts to question the lifestyle of this lady is a horrible person who hates women and single mothers. By questioning this lady’s decision to continue to reproduce without having a notion of responsibility is akin to a nazi who has zero compassion. Mary Lou and her cronies are screaming, our high profile ‘stars’, journalists and the like are lambasting anyone who questions the decisions of this woman and her lifestyle choices. I love my country and am very proud to consider myself a child of Ireland but this incident and the couple of high profile cases that preceded it (Fleming etc.) are just too much. Surely to god the lifestyle of this woman should be allowed to be questioned. Surely somewhere in our political leaders parties there is someone who can see that all aspects of this case are wrong and should be branded as such. There is a very real possibility that this will be the norm going forward, offered a house/accommodation that doesn’t tick all of your boxes? Go ‘homeless’ and contact the media to garner public sympathy and put an extortionate amount of pressure on the poor saps in charge of housing. Jump the queue and push a genuine case of individuals in serious need of help down the line. The sense of entitlement, lack of personal responsibility and the attitude toward people raising genuine questions regarding the circumstances of cases like this is extraordinary. Like I said in a previous post, what are we teaching the children and youth of this country by accepting this carry on? It ok John/Mary, have no ambition. Don’t try to better your life. Don’t aspire to be the best you can be. If things get tough go screaming half truths to the media and you’ll be rewarded with tea and sympathy and a chat on a radio station to spin your lies and half truths. What a time to be alive.

The vast majority of the media would rather chase views with a simple story (poor mother, mean government, nasty trolls) than include complicating facts that would kill the human interest angle and open the journalist up to criticism from the poverty industry.

The opposition can make hay off this so they have no interest in the truth.

The government will say nothing and let it blow over rather than engage in a mud fight with powerful vested interests, regardless of the truth. FG may even see the benefit in the Homeless lobby championing this person. It hardens the informed section of FG's own base against that lobby if they are aware of the truth in the case.

Frankly I think that fixing Housing for the long term is one of the greatest issues facing the country today. It's dysfunction causes enormous hardship to a great and growing number of people, crashed the economy before and may do so again. However this whole saga has been a spectacular own goal to any attempt to fix Housing and discredits the movement to do so enormously. Therefore I'm quite suspicious of how eagerly right wing media such as the Indo have championed Ms Cash.

I previously made annual donations to homeless charities however I am never making any donation again to any of the charities that have been advocating on Ms Cash's behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,019 ✭✭✭Floppybits

redshoes15 wrote: »

Isnt that the thing nowadays, you cant question folks who give a sob story? All you are suppose to do is say 'ah god love them what can we do to help?' You cant question why she had 7 kids when she hasn't a pot to wizz in or why she has never worked a day on her life.

It sickens me seeing this and people who are out working everyday, paying mortgages, taxes, creche fees and cutting their cloth to suit their measure just to make ends meet and you have this one saying its her right to be housed.

'TRESPASSING ARREST Homeless mum Margaret Cash tells how she was arrested after trying to live in caravan in abandoned yard'

https://www.thesun.ie/news/2972064/homeless-mum-margaret-cash-arrested-caravan/

'HUBBY CHARGED Father of homeless children forced to sleep in Garda station is in jail awaiting trial over assault charge'

https://www.thesun.ie/news/2971987/dad-homeless-children-garda-station-jail/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

'TRESPASSING ARREST Homeless mum Margaret Cash tells how she was arrested after trying to live in caravan in abandoned yard'

Shes the gift that keeps on giving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

As no emergency accommodation was available on Wednesday night, the mum said she was directed to go to the Garda station by the Focus Ireland homeless charity.

I see the media are still printing lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Free condoms when you buy a crate of beer

It would save the state MILLIONS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

They were discussing this on newstalk this morning. Colm ó Gorman, Some journalist from the Journal called Christina Finn and a solisitor of sorts. It was so infuriating to listen to. The solisitor was the only one who brought up personal responsibility. Gorman in partial was nauseating to listen to. Felt it was disgraceful the way the media have looked into this woman's life. Obviously he forgets the fact she brought this media attention on herself.
    Then he had the audacity to attack and lambast the government. Claimed they should be ashamed for the position they have put Cash in. This is the same government that gives Cash 1000 euro a week tax free. Where else would she achieved that.
    There seemed to be a feeling amoint the panel that the pixies in the sky fund the social welfare state. The media really seem to have their finger off the pulse on this matter. The fall into the populist noncense every single time. Remember Sinn Féin and PBP account for around 20% of voters in most opinion polls yet the media seem to be backing their stance on issues like this. Welfare lifers is an issue that really needs to be tackled. I wish Leo had stuck to, and defended, his comments about protecting those that get up early in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

They were discussing this on newstalk this morning. Colm ó Gorman, Some journalist from the Journal called Christina Finn and a solisitor of sorts. It was so infuriating to listen to. The solisitor was the only one who brought up personal responsibility. Gorman in partial was nauseating to listen to. Felt it was disgraceful the way the media have looked into this woman's life. Obviously he forgets the fact she brought this media attention on herself.
    Then he had the audacity to attack and lambast the government. Claimed they should be ashamed for the position they have put Cash in. This is the same government that gives Cash 1000 euro a week tax free. Where else would she achieved that.
    There seemed to be a feeling amoint the panel that the pixies in the sky fund the social welfare state. The media really seem to have their finger off the pulse on this matter. The fall into the populist noncense every single time. Remember Sinn Féin and PBP account for around 20% of voters in most opinion polls yet the media seem to be backing their stance on issues like this. Welfare lifers is an issue that really needs to be tackled. I wish Leo had stuck to, and defended, his comments about protecting those that get up early in the morning.

Ugh what is wrong with these journalists.

Is there no one with the balls to question this nonsense.

How many folk earning 50k/year are needed to house and support (fund) this lady & her 7 kids ?

That's why the country us under pressure, that's why there are excessive hospital waiting times....too many fooking wasters to be looked after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,531 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

i should think that if the IMF thought there was a way to deal with that issue, then they would have dealt with it. not a chance would they have left it.
    i can only think that for it's many faults, we are dealing with this issue in the only realistic way. some changes could be made but not very much.
    Floppybits wrote: »
    Isnt that the thing nowadays, you cant question folks who give a sob story? All you are suppose to do is say 'ah god love them what can we do to help?' You cant question why she had 7 kids when she hasn't a pot to wizz in or why she has never worked a day on her life.

It sickens me seeing this and people who are out working everyday, paying mortgages, taxes, creche fees and cutting their cloth to suit their measure just to make ends meet and you have this one saying its her right to be housed.

people can question what they like. however realistically, i'm not sure they are going to get the answers they are hoping for.
    she had 7 children because she had 7 children. she hasn't worked because lets be honest, she is unemployable. people seem to keep missing the reality that there are people who are just unemployable and getting them into work would actually be bad for employers, and those who would have to work with them. any benefits she gets, she gets them for the children's sake.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

It just shows the type of character O'Gorman is.

This is after all a guy who stood in a general election for the Progressive Democrats but can now spout leftie guff ad nauseam.

Varadkar looking to increase welfare ‘entitlements’

http://www.thejournal.ie/budget-2019-2-4158775-Aug2018/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

Varadkar looking to increase welfare ‘entitlements’

http://www.thejournal.ie/budget-2019-2-4158775-Aug2018/
    It's wonderful isn't it, and a nice carbon tax just to make it a little more difficult for the average worker.

The only fools in this country are us workers. Time to move to #welfareforlife I think.