Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,147 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

strandroad wrote: »
    Leo said he's for the people who get up in the morning and he was blasted for it.

True forgot about that, but he was already in power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

the welfare state works when there are more people working than not working. with an aging population and increased automation this won't be the case for long.

it will at some stage become necessary to encourage working over not working. this is not currently the case. if i lose my job after 20 years paying PRSI i will be compensated to the same degree as my neighbour who has never paid PRSI. this is entirely unsustainable ans indeed contrary to all natural justice.

the welfare state works when there are more people working than not working. with an aging population and increased automation this won't be the case for long.

it will at some stage become necessary to encourage working over not working. this is not currently the case. if i lose my job after 20 years paying PRSI i will be compensated to the same degree as my neighbour who has never paid PRSI. this is entirely unsustainable ans indeed contrary to all natural justice.

And why some countries reward those people who find themselves outta work through no fault of their own with a slowly downward sliding scale in relation to payments starting at a scale of the same kinda wages as when they were working
    Welfare payments in this country are way outta skew with working for a wage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,915 ✭✭✭Feisar

Blazer wrote: »
    What do you think will happen in 10-20 years with the falling baby count amongst most working people.
    Yet the welfare population have no problem popping out 5+ kids.
    What happens when all these kids who are now adults don't know any better and suddenly there's not enough money to keep them in their lifestyle.
    Or what happens when the working class people are told you have to pay more tax so we can keep these people in the lifestyle they're accustomed to?
    This is how dictatorships rise to power in most democracies. There's a common enemy to point them all towards.
    eg if we have a new Hitler and he was starting out..do you think he'd target the welfare class or the millions of working class and point them towards the welfare class, the lawyers and policticians and tell them "these people are your real enemy. Elect me and I'll make sure these people get what's coming to them and you get rewarded for your work not taxed heavily etc".

Unless the government implements proper support structures down the line there's a huge backlash coming.

I said something similar a while back however I was admonished for it. As years go by less and less will be paying for more and more. That's on the basis that social degenerates will produce similar ilk. Breed from a wild duck and all that.

First they came for the socialists...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

In fairness, Ireland doesn't fund IVF, apparently we can't afford it. Her yearly benefits alone would fund 10 rounds or so... q.
    Actually it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Homeless mother criticises 'horrible' reaction to family sleeping at Garda station

Margaret Cash condemns social media response to the incident

Irish Times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

fritzelly wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me of a political party that has come out at an election and said we are for the workers of the country, we see you have been done wrong by but we will fight for you.
    No!
    It's all about appeasing the OAP's and we're gonna make it easier for people on benefits to survive blah blah blah
    I suggest a new party made up of boards.ie members who spend their lives slogging away at work only to be told screw you you're working and doing grand
    Look at the media reaction to Leo saying he wants to 'work for those who get up early in the morning.' He was castigated in the media for those comments yet every worker would be on board with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Does anyone know if the public can request the CCTV footage from the Garda station under a FOI request

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Can anyone tell me of a political party that has come out at an election and said we are for the workers of the country, we see you have been done wrong by but we will fight for you.
    No!
    It's all about appeasing the OAP's and we're gonna make it easier for people on benefits to survive blah blah blah
    I suggest a new party made up of boards.ie members who spend their lives slogging away at work only to be told screw you you're working and doing grand

You could try voting Fine Gael as some people have mentioned. They are currently running the country into the ground though, so you may be backing the wrong horse there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Gatling wrote: »
    Does anyone know if the public can request the CCTV footage from the Garda station under a FOI request

Imagine!!!

Great idea though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Super hoop

Gatling wrote:

Id love to know....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭Icsics

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Homeless mother criticises 'horrible' reaction to family sleeping at Garda station

Margaret Cash condemns social media response to the incident

Irish Times.

Ah jaysus would ya listen to her! No Margaret u are not doing ur best, u are riding the system & u have too many children. It is not the Governments fault, it is your own fault!

Gatling wrote: »

No, for some things yes but CCTV does not come under it

dav3 wrote: »
    You could try voting Fine Gael as some people have mentioned. They are currently running the country into the ground though, so you may be backing the wrong horse there.

How do you make that out?

dav3 wrote: »

FG/FF - no difference really and really hard for any other party to make a foothold because of such deep rooted we were always FF/FG supporters

she's a single mother as far as i'm aware and according to the media, i''m not going to stalk somebody's facebook page for posts indicating otherwise.

It was said earlier in the thread that she’s got a husband who is in prison. I don’t recall it being refuted.

FG/FF - no difference really and really hard for any other party to make a foothold because of such deep rooted we were always FF/FG supporters

Country is doing just fine, don’t believe all the hyperbolic nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Actually it does.

I don't think so? Some form of IVF subsidy was discussed to start in a year or two but are there any actual steps taken or is ot still just an intention?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Country is doing just fine, don’t believe all the hyperbolic nonsense.

Tell that to the people on trollies in A and E . Tell it to the people paying €2000 rent in apartments . Tell it to carers and to parents struggling with very sick kids at home . Tell it to people on waiting lists who live with pain daily . Or tell it to a child crying with the pain of scoliosis
    This country is not doing fine if we can't help the vulnerable in our society

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

A friend of mine had IVF through VHI, for each round there was a sort of levy to fund public patients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭22michael44

The removal of the welfare state would be the proper step forward, and replacing it with limited support with far better controls. Our current system is unsustainable, and based on the type of cases coming out within the last few years, it suggests that people want more benefits for the "disadvantaged".

We really need to be promoting personal responsibility and stepping away from the state/taxpayer picking up the tab for other peoples poor life choices. Help the genuine cases of those who truly cant help themselves (disabled, mentally ill, etc)... but others? Set them up with a job and put them to work for the benefits they "need".

there's only so many jobs to go around, there's always going to be unemployed people. another thing that seems to pass a lot of people by

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Tell that to the people on trollies in A and E . Tell it to the people paying €2000 rent in apartments . Tell it to carers and to parents struggling with very sick kids at home . Tell it to people on waiting lists who live with pain daily . Or tell it to a child crying with the pain of scoliosis
    This country is not doing fine if we can't help the vulnerable in our society

What utopia do you think we should live in?

Tell me what country has solved every issue you listed above?

Life just doesn’t work like that unfortunately.

Especially when leeches like this one rob valuable taxes that could be spent elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

there's only so many jobs to go around, there's always going to be unemployed people. another thing that seems to pass a lot of people by

But they are generally the csrrer parasites though.

Ehhhhh, we have full employment right now and companies can’t find people hence our 700,000 foreign workers.

You’re talking nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Super hoop wrote: »
    Id love to know....

Gdpr i presume would make it a no no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,478 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

and what do you think will happen when AI or automation removes a lot of jobs?
    Surely you can see that people treating welfare as an alternative to getting a job etc is leading to ruin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

A friend of mine had IVF through VHI, for each round there was a sort of levy to fund public patients.

I honestly don't think there is any public programme in existence. They are only trying to start some subsidies now but the plan has stalled. Can you find anything online? I'm curious.

"IVF is not provided by the public health services. Your family doctor (GP) may refer you to the private specialists and clinics that provide the service or you may be able to contact the clinic directly for an appointment."

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/health/health_services/women_s_health/fertility_treatment.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

The trouble is we don't know who to believe any more. How many are actually homeless?

I don't believe the numbers especially when some groups consider the likes of myself homeless.

According to them, anyone in private rental accommodation is homeless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,478 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I honestly don't think there is any public programme in existence. They are only trying to start some subsidies now but the plan has stalled. Can you find anything online? I'm curious.

And there shouldn't be.
    If you can't afford to pay for the treatment to have IVF then you can't afford kids.
    The last thing we need is people on welfare with no kids deciding to go for IVF and just start popping kids out.
    There are alternatives like adoption etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

What utopia do you think we should live in?

Tell me what country has solved every issue you listed above?

Life just doesn’t work like that unfortunately.

Especially when leeches like this one rob valuable taxes that could be spent elsewhere.

Did I say I knew any country who solved it all ? But by God I could name some who at very least do better than us . And your last sentence is one instance where we are not doing fine at all . Throwing money at people like this while others live in pain or in squalor is a case in hand
    We don't need Eutopia we just need someone who is in charge