Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users Posts: 4,760 ✭✭✭omega man

Whatever about her background, isn't it good that the housing crisis is put back in all our faces?

Where is all our money going? Is it going to repaying the debts from the crash? I saw it was mentioned on BBC news...part of me wonders whether it's a good thing? Maybe some outside help might work to put pressure on the government to solve the issues.

By issues I mean the people who are in b&bs and hotel rooms etc.

Part of the issue is we have a bloated welfare system with social welfare recipients taking priority over the distribution of prime city / town properties with the tax paying workers left to fend for themselves. That’s ok for those lucky to earn good wages but not so much for the vast majority who live to work effectively.

I know I may be generalising a bit but it’s so frustrating to see the likes of ms Cash work the system and be rewarded for it. I’m livid with the one sided media attention also. A bit of an eye opener.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Cleopatra_

seamus wrote: »
    These seven children are the real vulnerable in society.

You're all about punishment and responsibility, but can't see how you're just kicking the can down the road. Would you rather punish the mother now and then punish her seven adult children, or help her now and never have to deal with her kids?

Ignore the fact that she's a criminal. Ignore the fact that she's a liar. Ignore the fact that she's an idiot. Her children are none of these things. Yet.

We can't achieve the goal of punishing her bad choices while improving things for her children. The two are mutually exclusive.

What course of action will result in a better outcome for society?

I think she needs a house obviously and that would be better for her kids but the house alone won't be enough to save them, parenting them properly is what will save them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Foster care maybe? Where the kids can be properly looked after?

And her tubes tied she already has enough

• Registered Users Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

That's irrelevant. If they don't own the asset, why should they have to pay a tax on it?

The point is that there were no protests about the property tax as most of those that pay it are too busy working , or too old, to protest.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

You're all about punishment and responsibility, but can't see how you're just kicking the can down the road. Would you rather punish the mother now and then punish her seven adult children, or help her now and never have to deal with her kids?

Ignore the fact that she's a criminal. Ignore the fact that she's a liar. Ignore the fact that she's an idiot. Her children are none of these things. Yet.

We can't achieve the goal of punishing her bad choices while improving things for her children. The two are mutually exclusive.

Yes lets deal with her children now, take them off of her as its obvious she cannot raise them. Put them into care so they can be brought up in the right manner.

If they stay with her and she gets this house all you are training them in is how to milk the system. So when they get older the can, get the wife to go and get them a house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

The point is that there were no protests about the property tax as most of those that pay it are too busy working , or too old, to protest.

Old people are better at protesting than anybody else. I think there's a tacit understanding that property taxes, based on the market value of the home, are at least relatively fair (and also quite easy to defer, should you find yourself genuinely unable to pay).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

And cue ignorant Workhouse/Magdalene Laundry/Industrial School rant ........

For the record, quite agree with you. But wasn't it raised during the 8th debate that it is nigh on impossible to take kids off unfit parents ?

Should be made easier. For the sake of the kids at least, give them a small chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Its not a house she needs, she needs contraception. Its the governments fault for having a system that allows this type of crap to happen. Fire out a load of kids, get a free gaf, medical card etc... Normal people working , have to pay for the scroungers and idiots of society. Its a great system. Two gypsies standing at the bus stop yesterday , one was pregnant, they had eight kids with them. I wonder whos paying for them...

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, maybe. Is the foster care system any good though?

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S019074091730213X

It seems like an obvious way to "disconnect" children from a poor upbringing, but worldwide the results from fostering have always been so-so. Probably because children usually come late to the system - i.e. with issues of their own - and that the vast majority of fostering is provided on a vocational basis and only barely subsidised.

I'm far from experienced in this area. Perhaps the answer is "professional" fosterers - i.e. parents who undertake a specific specialised childcare qualification and are paid a salary to be fosterers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Ignoring the fact that they all look healthy and well-nourished, there aren't many foster families out there that would be prepared to take six children. Unless you split them up, which sounds quite horrible, especially if you don't ignore the fact that they all look healthy and well-nourished.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Where's her husband?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

I’ve been here saying this stuff for years and not many believed me.

But these people always get caught sooner or later, I hope it’s an eye opener for many people.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,874 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Day later and my blood is boiling over some of the excuses being put forward.

2fmn5u.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Icsics

Its not a house she needs, she needs contraception. Its the governments fault for having a system that allows this type of crap to happen. Fire out a load of kids, get a free gaf, medical card etc... Normal people working , have to pay for the scroungers and idiots of society. Its a great system. Two gypsies standing at the bus stop yesterday , one was pregnant, they had eight kids with them. I wonder whos paying for them...

Completely agree, tax payers funding the lifestyle choice of these people. The social welfare system is far too generous, it's easily manipulated & far too many 'perks'.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Kids look healthy, well dressed and happy.

I don't think she's a bad mother.

The issue here is that her and the fathers need to get their act together in terms of providing for the children. There's plenty of welfare support available to them.

They need to start managing their money better and begin making responsible life choices.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

eviltwin wrote: »
    Where's her husband?

You know how this scam works, he needs to be out of the way for it to have maximum effect.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭nuac

erica74 wrote: »
    This is a genuine question - are travellers anti-contraception? You know the way they're into Catholicism (although it doesn't stop them being absolutely awful human beings), would that then mean that they don't believe in contraception?

I think that has been true but may be changing. Some of the current large families may be to ensure childrens' allowances and other perks.

Some of the better off travellers seem to have smaller families. Some of the modern traveller women are more assertive and insist on family planning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Melendez

• Registered Users Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

eviltwin wrote: »
    Where's her husband?

Wheatfield

Melendez wrote: »

It's that or guarantee that bad mother of 7 is bad great grandmother of 50 before she hits that age.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭Prospectors

Melendez wrote: »

I wouldnt say worthless, she is as well off as anyone on €80-90k before tax. Otherwise, I agree with the rest of your post.

Jesus that's the kind of salary you'd need an advanced degree and many, many years of experience to get.

Oh wait - or you can be a bleeding heart numpty and set up a "charity" or scrounge. Both "pay" that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

In fairness. She's only got herself to blame for this situation. You don't have 6 kids without a solid foundation in life. Maybe if it was 1 kid or at a push 2 but anything over that and your really taking the piss.

What do these people expect here? Fully paid house, 6 kids fully funded? I mean I am the one funding this and don't have kids or a house. Get a grip women and ****ing control yourself ye moron.

It's mental, it's the the justice system and it have no cut off. After 3 kids your maxed out and tuff luck.

TallGlass wrote: »
    In fairness. She's only got herself to blame for this situation. You don't have 6 kids without a solid foundation in life. Maybe if it was 1 kid or at a push 2 but anything over that and your really taking the piss.

What do these people expect here? Fully paid house, 6 kids fully funded? I mean I am the one funding this and don't have kids or a house. Get a grip women and ****ing control yourself ye moron.

It's mental, it's the the justice system and it have no cut off. After 3 kids your maxed out and tuff luck.

That should be typed up, laminated and posted in every media outlet in the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,185 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Listening to all the mainstream radio stations talking about this (today fm, news talk) is making me sick. This woman is clearly playing the system and giving genuine homeless family’s a terrible rep. I switched stations as I couldn’t listen to it anymore and came across 4 fm talking about it. The presenter is actually asking proper questions that the tax payers paying for this scam want answers to.
    I think the presenters name is nial boylan. He’s asked:
    where is the father?
    Why has this woman 7 kids when she can’t look after them.
    He has commented on how, when all reliefs and payments are added up the total cost is coming to 49000 pa for the state.
    He’s commenting on personal responsibility, which seems to have gone out the window in this case in particular.
    Genuine people that need help should get it. This is not genuine , it’s a scam.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Giving her the perfect house she wants won't stop us havin to deal with the kids. In fact, it's the opposite - it'll teach them that the state will look after them financially for life and they never have to (officially) work. They need accomodation but it has to come with strings attached - what those strings are and how you break the cycle of inter-generational dependence in the state I don't know, but the media and pressure groups making martyrs certainly won't help.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

tom1ie wrote: »
    Listening to all the mainstream radio stations talking about this (today fm, news talk) is making me sick. This woman is clearly playing the system and giving genuine homeless family’s a terrible rep. I switched stations as I couldn’t listen to it anymore and came across 4 fm talking about it. The presenter is actually asking proper questions that the tax payers paying for this scam want answers to.
    I think the presenters name is nial boylan. He’s asked:
    where is the father?
    Why has this woman 7 kids when she can’t look after them.
    He has commented on how, when all reliefs and payments are added up the total cost is coming to 49000 pa for the state.
    He’s commenting on personal responsibility, which seems to have gone out the window in this case in particular.
    Genuine people that need help should get it. This is not genuine , it’s a scam.

She was on most programs today spouting her lies, but she hasn't the nerve to go on Nialls program

• Registered Users Posts: 45 DaveyWaveyLad

nuac wrote: »
    I think that has been true but may be changing. Some of the current large families may be to ensure childrens' allowances and other perks.

Some of the better off travellers seem to have smaller families. Some of the modern traveller women are more assertive and insist on family planning.

My 90 year old mother was in for a weeks respite care recently. 72 year old lady in the bed opposite her, from the traveling community, had some of her children bring in a cake to celebrate the birth of her 100th Grandchild. When I tried to calculate the amount of Children's allowance paid from this one woman's labours, I ran out of 00000's. Great Country for some.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

They should be taken in and neutered like feral cats.breeding like rats and when the baby rats reach a certain age they are released into society to display their anti social behaviour and society suffers on account of them despite having to pay for them throughout every step of their miserable lives.
    And then they breed passing on the cycle.
    A genuine solution I have is fcuk the lot of them into trailer parks and give them food stamps as a means to survive. And the money which would normally be spent buying them houses and job "seekers" even though not one of them has a cv should be spent educating the younger generation of these pond rats and cut your losses on the current generation.
    Us working class are left to rot on the dung heap paying taxes and the pond rats are given the best of everything and they still go around with the hands out telling people how hard they have it.
    If they're not fit to look after and provide for themselves the rest of us shouldn't have to foot the bill.
    I'm sick to the fukn teeth of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Old people are better at protesting than anybody else. I think there's a tacit understanding that property taxes, based on the market value of the home, are at least relatively fair (and also quite easy to defer, should you find yourself genuinely unable to pay).

Whats fair about it?, aside from the fact that if you're paying a mortgage the bank owns the house and you're being taxed on something you're getting no income from.
    Whether you paid 100k or 700k for the house you shouldn't be taxed. I have no problem with taxing people on something they're making money from but not their 4 walls!