Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Sure it is, and y’know I get that. What I don’t get is the moral high horsery. Sure we all had tough upbringings and we all went through shìt and so what... that gives us the right to dump on someone else because they have an even shìttier life than us? I dunno, I’m just not seeing what anyone actually achieves with that craic tbh.

If she has a ****ty life, it's of her own making. Homeless today, buying crystal a few days ago. It's not moral high horsey and it's not dumping on anyone . It's calling out an utter fraud. We don't see the genuine cases giving interviews to the media. She knows the game and how to play it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

You haven’t been proven right about anything. Now if you still want to believe you’re right, on the basis of what you saw posted on social media, that’s your right of course, but it doesn’t mean you’re actually any more informed than you weren’t already.

Jack. Flogging a dead horse springs to mind.

I'm more informed on this case than most. Without ever seeing her Facebook page I knew it would hang her. Without prior knowledge I knew she turned down offers of accommodation. Poster child's are all alike. Their lies trip them up quickly enough. This woman is no more homeless than you or I. She has lied & cheated to try steal someone else's place on the housing list. She has tried to make a fool out of us all.

I'm genuinely gobsmacked that you will continue to try defend her knowing that she is trying to manipulate herself into someone else's spot on the housing list. You can now see how she has exploited her children in the process.

I don't know why I keep repeating this but I believe that FG are the party of homelessness. They have ignored it for years and are now trying to juggle the figures to keep them below 10k when they are closer to 11k. We have shocking homeless statistics. This woman isn't one of them. She tried to jump the queue where in reality she should be sent to the bottom of the queue. She doesn't represent homelessness in any shape or form. She is not a poster child & should be kept away from the homeless champagne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭MFPM

Abel Ruiz wrote: »
    Straight onto the housing list at 17. She had big ambitions.
    Great role model for her children.

With comments like that, you're not much of a role model yourself.

I genuinely feel for the government and eoin Murphy getting absolutely slated for this.

But only a few know the facts yet the government get the blame.

What a thankless job.

Country really is ****ed but not the way the left wing media like to report.

Yeah I mean Denis O'Brien is a raving socialist isn't he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Jack. Flogging a dead horse springs to mind.

I'm more informed on this case than most. Without ever seeing her Facebook page I knew it would hang her. Without prior knowledge I knew she turned down offers of accommodation. Poster child's are all alike. Their lies trip them up quickly enough. This woman is no more homeless than you or I. She has lied & cheated to try steal someone else's place on the housing list. She has tried to make a fool out of us all.

I'm genuinely gobsmacked that you will continue to try defend her knowing that she is trying to manipulate herself into someone else's spot on the housing list. You can now see how she has exploited her children in the process.

I don't know why I keep repeating this but I believe that FG are the party of homelessness. They have ignored it for years and are now trying to juggle the figures to keep them below 10k when they are closer to 11k. We have shocking homeless statistics. This woman isn't one of them. She tried to jump the queue where in reality she should be sent to the bottom of the queue. She doesn't represent homelessness in any shape or form. She is not a poster child & should be kept away from the homeless champagne

I believe that out of that 10,000 homeless about 500 are genuine and the rest are scammers.

You will ask for evidence and I will point you too Erica Fleming or this one today.

I am sick of hearing about it, it’s a myth.

MFPM wrote: »
    Yeah I mean Denis O'Brien is a raving socialist isn't he?

Well why isn’t anyone reporting the truth????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,060 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

I genuinely feel for the government and eoin Murphy getting absolutely slated for this.

But only a few know the facts yet the government get the blame.

What a thankless job.

Country really is ****ed but not the way the left wing media like to report.

No sympathy at all for this Govt. There is a housing crisis. Just ask anyone who is renting who is not getting State support.

The problem is this charlatin deflects from it and just gives Leo and his fanboys room to manouvere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

dav3 wrote: »
    That's right, only the left want to solve the housing crisis.

You'll find many people across the entire political spectrum having a go at the government and Fine Gael over this. This has been brought to the attention of the government for the past number of years.

https://www.focusireland.ie/press/focus-ireland-statement-may-24th-2017/

It was even picked up by the BBC last year.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-40047042

It's summer time. Hotels are close to full. Families get kicked out of hotels and have nowhere to go. Some find accommodation, some get sent to Garda stations.

The pope's arrival will put even more strain on accommodation in the city and you'll see a lot more families directed to garda stations.

Just work harder and earn more money I guess.

Or take a roof over your head down the country or a train/bus ride away from your Mammy. Plenty of people who are working hard and paying for themselves have had to do this.

Entitled is a word too.

Well why isn’t anyone reporting the truth????

So you accept your description of the media was indeed bullsh!t? I suspect your 'truth' is what you want to hear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

With comments like that, you're not much of a role model yourself.

I know who is a better role model based on just one post...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

Fann Linn wrote: »
    No sympathy at all for this Govt. There is a housing crisis. Just ask anyone who is renting who is not getting State support.

The problem is this charlatin deflects from it and just gives Leo and his fanboys room to manouvere.

Out of curiosity can a landlord charge whatever price they want or does the government set a minimum they have to charge?

Utter garbage. The case irrespective of how one feels about the woman in question highlights the abject failure of successive Irish governments in providing social and affordable housing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Try_harder wrote: »

See the pic of the kids face that's covered over by his mum. That's cos he was smiling and none of them were asleep. Look at them on her fb page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

So you accept your description of the media was indeed bullsh!t? I suspect your 'truth' is what you want to hear?

Most of our media is dominated by left leaning, middle class 'journalists' Denis O'Brien owning some of those outlets doesn't change that fact.
    You'd be deluded to think otherwise.

Utter garbage. The case irrespective of how one feels about the woman in question highlights the abject failure of successive Irish governments in providing social and affordable housing.

Read my lips. Didn't I just say that?

Housing or homeless crisis?

Eh no.

I standby it, the media is full of left ring idiots who lap these false stories up for headlines.

What hope have those kids?

Not much. Look at the kid in the green t-shirt there giving the fingers to the camera. I'd have been grounded for that at this age! Prob learned it off the folks. I know it's not major but I hate seeing that with kids that size. It's horrible.
    colm_mcm wrote: »
    CAFA3_D47-_F3_D5-4_A7_E-93_D9-_C82605_D83_D1_B.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Jesus its €980 a month in child allowance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Where are the seven fathers to her seven kids?

plenty of possibilities. do we even know that the kids have 7 individual fathers?
    I'm sick of seeing sponges like this getting a free ride at worker's expense.

what free ride are they getting? they will never own anything, they will never be secure like someone who is working. i'm glad i'm not them.
    I genuinely feel sorry for the kids involved here but she shouldn't have had so many if she couldn't support them.

stating how people shouldn't have children if they can't afford them (which i agree with) is best stated when people are young and before they have had children, not when they have had 1 or more already. it's to late by then.
    Im fed the fxxk up paying a mortgage, paye,prsi,usc, pension levy, superannuation,road tax tv license so scrotes can live off me and every other hard working person in the country. We get nothing in return except for more levys and hardship while the rich get richer and the lay abouts get everything handed to them for nothing. This young lady is raising kids who see this behaviour and think its the way to go. Granny by 35 I bet.

Im sick of it.

you get roads, an education service, a health care system, lots more. they are far from perfect but our taxes are paying for things. what more do you want that you feel you aren't getting? paying taxes and levys are your obligation as per the law when working. paying a mortgage means you will own your house once you pay it in full. you are in a much better position compared to them, as am i, and everyone else here, even if you don't see it.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

Omackeral wrote: »
    Not much. Look at the kid in the green t-shirt there giving the fingers to the camera. I'd have been grounded for that at this age! Prob learned it off the folks. I know it's not major but I hate seeing that with kids that size. It's horrible.

I agree that these children have very little hope unfortunately but you cant determine how a person future will work out based on the fact they stuck their finger up at a camera when they where 6 or 7 years of age, thats just ridiculous.

Sure it is, and y’know I get that. What I don’t get is the moral high horsery. Sure we all had tough upbringings and we all went through shìt and so what... that gives us the right to dump on someone else because they have an even shìttier life than us? I dunno, I’m just not seeing what anyone actually achieves with that craic tbh.

I can't speak for the rest of the posters. I'm in the unfortunate situation of being on the same side of people I'd normally disagree with because I do believe that we have over 10k homeless people. The problem is that this poster child & her children aren't part of that 10k people & if she is she's way, way below most others. That's why she staged her photo shoot.

This woman wants to steal someone else's place on the housing list. That's NOT alright with me. I have no problem calling her out on this. There are plenty of genuine families ahead of her and it'll be over my dead body that she skips the queue just by staging a photo shoot in the Garda station. I don't care if she is settled or traveller. She can't use her children to try skip the queue

Many of the comments on this thread are disgusting filled with hysterical ranting against one woman. All of this in a week when we have witnessed I-Res reporting €69.5 million in profits furthermore despite a decline in private rental transactions across Europe, Dublin bucks the trend and is positively booming....
    Profits at Ireland's biggest private landlord, I-RES Reit, more than doubled to €69.5m in the six months to 30 June.

The performance was driven by a 13pc increase in net rental income to €19.3m, according to six month interim results from the group.

I-RES Reit also reported an increase in its EPRA earnings for the period of 9.8pc to €13m.

https://www.independent.ie/business/commercial-property/increasing-rental-income-sees-profits-at-irelands-biggest-private-landlord-more-than-double-37180951.html
    Other major PRS transactions in the first half of this year included Irish Life's acquisition of 262 apartments from Park Developments at Fernbank, Churchtown, Dublin 14 for €138.5m; Carysfort Capital's deal to buy the 120-unit Six Hanover Quay development from Cairns for €101m and IRES Reit's acquisition of the 128 apartment Hampton Wood scheme in Finglas, Dublin 11 for €40m.

https://www.independent.ie/business/commercial-property/dublin-bucks-decline-in-european-commercial-property-market-deals-37175805.html

The dependence on the private sector is a key factor in the housing crisis, they are making millions in profits which we the taxpayer subsidize and you lot are screeching about one woman and her children......seriously lads get a f@cking life.

stating how people shouldn't have children if they can't afford them (which i agree with) is best stated when people are young and before they have had children, not when they have had 1 or more already. it's to late by then.

Absolute bollox EOTR. 6 kids is a lot more than 1 and you know it. Unplanned pregnancies happen. That's fine. Half a dozen don't. It's a lifestyle choice and I'm paying for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

plenty of possibilities. do we even know that the kids have 7 individual fathers?

what free ride are they getting? they will never own anything, they will never be secure like someone who is working. i'm glad i'm not them.

you get roads, an education service, a health care system, lots more. they are far from perfect but our taxes are paying for things. what more do you want that you feel you aren't getting? paying taxes and levys are your obligation as per the law when working. paying a mortgage means you will own your house once you pay it in full. you are in a much better position compared to them, as am i, and everyone else here, even if you don't see it.

Eotr, you said they will never own anything!

Have a look at her page, she owns some nice crystal vases, don't think she robbed them this time. Also looked like a fairly nice car they go out in for spins/days out

Housing or homeless crisis?

Housing.

Fann Linn wrote:

This is the point of the whole thread. There is a massive homeless problem. This woman just isn't part of it. In fact she is harming it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

Lux23 wrote: »
    What the f**k does it matter if they're wearing school uniforms? Kids shouldn't be sleeping in a Garda station at any time, wearing anything.

This is what is wrong with public discourse this day, people pick tiny little holes and then refuse to look at the bigger picture which is a homelessness and housing crisis which is now endemic and getting worse. The school uniforms don't matter a jot!!!

They serve to highlight this for the publicity stunt it is. The reporting on situations such as this should be modified from the bleeding heart perspective to the; this is what happens when you don't push yourself towards gaining a qualification/worthwhile skill and attempt to succeed in life viewpoint.

Might serve to awaken the rest of the filth in this country to the benefits of hard work.

Mod: Ban me if you want i'm only speaking the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Those who do not work should not require housing within the Dublin area. Why would they? Be honest now. There are plenty of places around the country where they could be housed, but Dublin is not a place for housing you if you are not contributing, only taking and demanding.

There is a lot of anger on this thread about takers. Most of us have contributed to society by working, paying taxes, high rents, mortgages, considering a second (yes) a second child, paying commuting and childcare costs. A lot of our hard work goes into funding the lifestyle choices of others who do not contribute at all, but take, take, take,

And then take to FB if they don't get exactly what they want.

The world has definitely gone mad.

I bet there is no journo out there who will take them in to their homes. Oh no.

Housing priority within the Dublin Region should be for productive taxpaying, law abiding citizens.

Most of our media is dominated by left leaning, middle class 'journalists' Denis O'Brien owning some of those outlets doesn't change that fact.
    You'd be deluded to think otherwise.
    Most of our media is dominated by left leaning, middle class 'journalists'

Who would they be now?

Pat Kenny
    Sean O'Rourke
    Paul Williams
    Marian Finucane
    Ivan Yeats
    Stephen Collins

FFS.
    Denis O'Brien owning some of those outlets doesn't change that fact.

Your dishonesty does your argument no favours...
    Mr O’Brien is the largest shareholder in Independent News and Media (INM), Ireland’s largest newspaper group, and also controls Communicorp, which owns Newstalk, Today FM and a number of other radio stations.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/denis-o-brien-s-media-power-must-be-addressed-report-says-1.2840470