Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018/2019 [Mod note 31-Aug-18]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

5pm goes with United confirming the board has no ambition to hack a title tilt anymore.

A pathetic summer for the club. A pathetic giving up. City laid down a gauntlet and United said "you win". We could be pushed on this summer. But no. Club didn't have the appetite.

I'm gutted.
    Temper tantrum alert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

BenK wrote: »
    Those passing statistics are pretty pointless- how many were 5 yard telegraphed sideways passes or passes back to De Gea?

Haven't a clue. I'm sure plenty of Alderweireld's passes for sidewise 5 yarders too though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

We needed signings.

But Mourinho must get more out of the players actually at the club. There are plenty of players who we should expect more from this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

brinty wrote: »
    You went away...

Today................

Are you crazy........

I couldn't watch SSN all day, I knew the disappointment was coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

bangkok wrote: »
    De gea

Dalot----bailly
    lindelof
    shaw

Fred
    matic
    pogba

Rashford--lukaku--sanchez

Let the season begin :)
    Season must not be starting for a few weeks if you are including Dalot.Hes out till mid September.

The above team will need to see several players to show big improvements/stay injury free/prove themselves.
    Too many IFs for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭JaMarcus

bangkok wrote: »
    De gea

Dalot----bailly
    lindelof
    shaw

Fred
    matic
    pogba

Rashford--lukaku--sanchez

Let the season begin :)

On paper thats fine, but in reality you know that Valencia, Young, Smalling and Lingard will be first team regulars by the end of September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Shootout between City and Liverpool for the league, I reckon. Rest competing for the scraps of CL places and domestic cups.

What's done is done, can't change it now. Get on with the season and our hideous brand of football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Expecting more from the players but the reality is their “more” still isn’t good enough to win the league or CL, will probably turn out to be the last nail in Mourinho’s coffin with the transfer window closing and no signing of note.

As always people are entitled to their opinions and I have no problem with people trying to be positive, I’m just expecting the worst to be honest. I can see Mourinho losing the plot around November/December.

Anyway it’s done now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Now that the club has for a second season in a row failed to get a priority target lets at least look forward to tomorrow.

What do we think is starting lineup tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Drumpot wrote: »
    Now that the club has for a second season in a row failed to get a priority target lets at least look forward to tomorrow.

What do we think is starting lineup tomorrow?

And for the 3rd summer in a row since Mourinho arrived it has also succeeded in getting a priority target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,890 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Struggling to think we might not sign anyone :(
    And if we do, what price(s) will be paid ??

Still think we get one signing and one loan with option to buy..
    Predictions ( for fun)

In..
    Toby
    Loan..Willian and Kurzawa

Out..
    No one cause they all going foreign

I salute the boundless optimism of football fans by times. :)

JaMarcus wrote: »
    Now, everyone have a good look at themselves and realise how much time they wasted following our transfer window.

Every Twitter check, useless.

Every F5, pointless.

Every time you were away from the internet for a few hours longer than you usually are and got excited expecting big news when you next logged on - for nothing.

Spot on - and it goes for fans of all clubs, even those that are happy with the business their club completed. It's a shocking charade aimed to keep people tuned in and consuming soccer media which continues the consumption of advertising sold off the back of same. I don't know how people can handle never being switched off from football. It's genuinely mad to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,506 ✭✭✭Quandary

That's us done until January anyway. Loan deals are not permitted after 5 today as far as I am aware.

Unhappy manager and an unhappy Jose can become destructive
    Pogba unsettled
    Abysmal showing in the transfer market
    Injuries to key players for start of season
    Rivals significantly strengthening their 1st teams (apart from Spurs)

Taking everything into account, it's hard to see us do as well as last season. Such a disappointing showing from the club. Mourinho has not been supported adequately in this window and if we don't get off to a good start over the next few weeks I could see things going pear shaped very quickly.

It's difficult to be optimistic right now as a Utd fan imo.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

I wonder if we submitted any deal sheets that would allow us till 7 to confirm

:pac: yeah right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭bryangiggsy

On paper thats fine, but in reality you know that Valencia, Young, Smalling and Lingard will be first team regulars by the end of September.

Could not agree more with this. Disappointing not to see Jose leave for 12 m today. It’s a one man show. All about him. Can’t stand him or his brand of football....

Lol get some tea and relax lads

I'm delighted that ****e is over. It just shows how bad SSN has become.

Now on with the football, looking forward to the game tomorrow

Interesting to see who starts

I think the end of the summer transfer window is an excellent time to take stock for all clubs. Wanting to gloss over this because you don't like the implications of how it has gone is your right, but there's a fascinating conversation to be had around how or why one of the bigger clubs in the world couldn't strengthen while their manager seemingly desired further acquisitions. You might not like that conversation, but now is certainly the time to have it.

And for the 3rd summer in a row since Mourinho arrived it has also succeeded in getting a priority target.

That’s The kind of standards I expect for a club that’s happy once it gets champions league qualification!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Temper tantrum alert.

Ah, bugger off with this ****.

I know earlier I was saying I want to be Mr. Optamistic, but Mitch is right. I had said I'd be angry if our window shut and no more deals were done, but the reality is Mitch is right when he says that we've missed a massive step on City this year.

I really worry we fell at the final hurdle; a new Fullback and RWer, and we'd have had a complete first team worthy of competing at a top level. As it is now, you won't find a bookies giving decent odds for us to come second, let alone third.

There's quality there to come comfortably in the top 4. But a proper title run will now rely on City failing to maintain the high bar they set. We basically decided to hope the bar gets lowered to our level rather than us trying to step up to its.

I'd say Jose is angry too. Didn't even get the one last player he'd been teasing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

I presume it was Liverpool Mourinho was alluding to earlier on today about teams below us getting hyped as serial winners.
    He is spot on, it's even in here. Though at times it's hard to know who in here is a Utd fan.
    Liverpool will not win the league this year. Their squad hasn't improved a great deal and was miles off winning last year.
    Salah almost certainly can't be as good again and the new boys might not settle in quickly. Cans miss will be massive and surprised there's been so little made of it.
    Bookies laughing their way to the bank having them 2ND fav.

I presume it was Liverpool Mourinho was alluding to earlier on today about teams below us getting hyped as serial winners.
    He is spot on, it's even in here. Though at times it's hard to know who in here is a Utd fan.
    Liverpool will not win the league this year. Their squad hasn't improved a great deal and was miles off winning last year.
    Salah almost certainly can't be as good again and the new boys might not settle in quickly. Cans miss will be massive and surprised there's been so little made of it.

So you'd have Utd as second favourites I'd take it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Hoping shaw has a great start to the season, he said himself he feels fit and strong.

I have no problem with lingard in the team, think he is an excellent player

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    So you'd have Utd as second favourites I'd take it?

If Pogba and Sanchez perform they are comfortably second favorites IMO.

For all the negative stuff said about Jose he knows how to get results. People focus totally on his weaknesses and forget what he’s achieved and what he can do when he gets a team pumping.

Havent improved much??

Allisson, fabinho, keita, shaquiri all signed

Both gomes and mina have ended up at everton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭IITYWYBMAD

Yea, he seems to have developed an obsession with Liverpool for some reason, referring to them as "serial winners" . HE should really just concentrate on belittling his own players.

I defo think UTD are second favorites.

Sure ye only signed one less player than Liverpool, and have Sanchez and Pogba to step up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I'm glad its closed and I can just watch a bit of football again. I would expect a rough position of 3rd with 2nd being a stretch and 5th-7th a disappointment. Qualify from the group in CL and go out to the first decent team we face so either at R16 or QF.

https://twitter.com/Nashat_Hassan/status/1027595953799278592

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,523 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Sold no one of note (can't include Can in this as he wasnt key player last season).
    In comparison to start of last season, they have a fit Mane, fully settled Salah and added Van Dijk, Alisson, Fabinho, Keita and Shaqiri.
    Lost Ox for the season but Lallana is fit again a previously key player.
    It's a miles better squad.

Still don't think we will beat City though, they just have ridiculous strength in depth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭dubmick

Imagine how confident our defenders are after this week. Another transfer sh*t show from United. I see Everton signed the two players Barca were looking to offload to us as part of the Pogba deal. They’ve some neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,048 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Is there a 10 euro fantasy football league this year guys?

Is anybody actually looking forward to tomorrow? I’m quite excited about it.