Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The poor kids but It's their culture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,593 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

soups05 wrote: »
    eh hang on a min. I would not be leaving the kids destitute, i said current families would be exempt. if YOU choose to have more kids after that then YOU are the one making them destitute unless you can afford them.

an horrific scheme? making people live within their means? you do realise that the working people all over Ireland can only have as many kids as they can afford to support yeah. So how many WORKING families have 6/7/8 plus kids. not many.

You’re ok with future kids being destitute then? Because you consider that their parents got forewarning? Are they collateral damage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

I'm just gonna put it out there...but I'm getting a settled traveller vibe from her fb page.

Between the giant communion dress and the last names of most of her FB friends (and the part where she seems very religious)...

Ah we got that covered already. She is indeed

• Site Banned Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭DONTMATTER

I'm just gonna put it out there...but I'm getting a settled traveller vibe from her fb page.

Between the giant communion dress and the last names of most of her FB friends (and the part where she seems very religious)...

What's wrong with you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

DONTMATTER wrote: »
    It clearly wasn't a publicity stunt.
    It clearly was.

About the 4th post down is a message from her uncle saying he is praying for her. Then more from cousins. Not one of her family said “come stay with us”. Not ****ing one. But they did hint that if she done that, she may not qualify to be on “the list” anymore.

People like this parasite take away from the real homeless/in dire straights families who suffer in silence. This woman should be left in emergency accommodation long after those who are more in need are catered for. Sickening carry on from her and yes, her kids could be raised better by others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭solerina

Gatling wrote: »
    So this popped dated from 2015 bottom half of the article .
    I believe this is the same family again

http://www.echo.ie/tallaght/article/no-solution-in-sight-with-ongoing-homeless-crisis

Definitely the same family, Indo has a photo of them today. Just proves that they feel entitled to everything for free from the government. If they have had 8 months to find alternative accommodation they should have found it by now. Total publicity stunt !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

You would be correct

A mother and six of her seven children were forced to stay in a Garda station in west Dublin on Wednesday night.

Margaret Cash (28), a member of the Traveller community and six of her children - aged between one and 11 - stayed at Tallaght Garda station after emergency homeless services were unable to find beds for them.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/homeless-children-spend-night-on-chairs-in-tallaght-garda-station-1.3590748

No solution in sight with ongoing homeless crisis

Also faced with an uncertain future is a Tallaght family-of-eight currently “overholding” at a property in Tymon North.
    Margaret Cash and her partner John McCarthy have been living in Castle Park for the last two years.

The house has been sold in the last year, but despite efforts to find alternative accommodation, the only option the family were given, was a temporary weekend stay at a Gardiner Street B&B two weeks ago.

“They’re taking the mick,” said Margaret, who has been on the housing list for six years, and registered the family as homeless in May, when they were aware the new owner wanted them out.

John said: “We have four kids in school at St Aengus and don’t want to disrupt them. On top of that, we have all been living and sleeping downstairs, because the upstairs is in bad shape, with no insulation, mould, damp and a leaking roof. We just want any old place nearby and would be happy to do it up ourselves.

“We gave up our Traveller life years ago and settled down, but we don’t have a family that would be willing to take in six children.”

http://www.echo.ie/tallaght/article/no-solution-in-sight-with-ongoing-homeless-crisis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

So she confirmed she turned down accommodation last night.

Hoax!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Blazer wrote: »
    Of course. Next up then is free nappies for all the sprogs, then free sky tv so the kids can watch tv when it’s wet outdoors and of course mama will need a night out to relax from the stresses of looking after 10 children.
    The whole social housing is a complete scam.
    There should be a huge crackdown on so called single moms claiming to live alone.
    The government needs to implement a crackdown on kids allowance and start restricting it to 2 kids max.
    Sure there’s the whole argument about we need more young people working for the future but I’m pretty sure that out of a 100 families all taking the piss you can be sure that even if 10% of them get a job and pay their way the other 90% are breeding like rabbits to take the piss out of the system.
    I want a political party that comes out and says they will prioritize working people, initiate huge crackdowns on welfare fraud , limit children allowance, expand and support a modern police support and crack down on criminal activity. That party would be elected in a heartbeat I reckon?,

And I can assure you that a party would emerge and come forward if it weren't guaranteed to be smothered at birth by the media.
    RTE and the like would be all over such statements, with contributing statements from the sjw and hard left.
    Truth is, if you attempted to get something like that going, RTE and other elements of the permanently outraged would have you shot down and made a laughing stock of in no time.
    I am like yourself, i'd give a politician espousing such an approach my no. 1 but it is hard to come out and offer that.

That is what needs to change.
    The media narrative. We have no one willing to defend the genuine common sense question.

It clearly was.

So what did all the other families sleeping in garda stations do wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,302 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

You yourself haven’t done people who are homeless any favours by using what you speculate about this woman’s circumstances as the basis for starting a thread just to criticise her, thereby reinforcing the stereotypes of people who are homeless as scammers and people who just want to game the system, pop out kids with gay abandon and then claim a free gaff.

I can't defend a scammer. They genuinely hurt the cause.

So she confirmed she turned down accommodation last night.

Hoax!!!!!!

It wasn't suitable. No hoax.

It could be worse, you could be forced to sleep in a garda station or on the streets.

Don't have 6 kids if you don't have a gaff and can't afford them. You can get free condoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,449 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Jaysus. She’d want to set her Facebook profile to private if she’s serious about rustling up a bit of sympathy.

She’s a caricature of everything that springs to mind when you’re told her name is Margaret Cash. Less than a week since she was buying crystal ornaments and heaving into a box of vodka naggins with her pal..,

It clearly was.

So what did all the other families sleeping in garda stations do wrong?

Same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

better than a Garda station

Which would you choose if you had 6 kids with you ?

A house with rooms for 5 kids or a Garda Station ?

Come on - which one ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,932 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

More suitable than the front office of a garda station.

Same.

Still no proof. You're spoofing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Lux23 wrote: »
    This is what is wrong with public discourse this day, people pick tiny little holes and then refuse to look at the bigger picture which is a homelessness and housing crisis which is now endemic and getting worse. The school uniforms don't matter a jot!!!
    Yup. They should get a house wherever they want, not live wherever there is a house, such as in Meath.
    Why are we rewarding these chancers ????
    They seem to keep popping out sprogs until they get a house?
    You made an unsubstantiated posted and made disparaging remarks towards travellers.
    Can you substantiate your post in regards what remarks were disparaging?
    But very few people believe they were forced to do anything of the sort.
    It's a scam. A hoax. A con. A publicity stunt. An act of leveraging children to get what you want. Tusla should take the kids. Then she can get a job.
    Actually, there's nothing stopping her pumping out 15 more sprogs.
    You need to stop with the selective reading, read the whole post.
    You need to stop with your posting until you quote where they said the Gardai lied.
    What's wrong with you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

More mindless slobbering on RTE's Drivetime. Our National Broadcasting Station is hell-bent on ensuring that no-one need ever take personal responsibility - every time it's all the State's fault.

And Fungus Finlay has just been dragged in from the back garden where he was having a quite smoke to add his ha'penny worth to the national sense of outrage and shame.

gctest50 wrote: »

Come on - which one ?

It's really not a nice situation to be in. Neither choice is appetising. Families stuck in these awful situations need support. The growing number of them is really concerning.

endacl wrote: »
    Jaysus. She’d want to set her Facebook profile to private if she’s serious about rustling up a bit of sympathy.

Ha no, there's plenty on here who just don't care about that. Anything for a pop at the government or the bankers or whoever else. Personal responsibility means nothing to these people. I don't know who is worse... the scammers or the muppets excusing them.

More suitable than the front office of a garda station.

Both options weren't great.

No but one was a whole lot better than the other. and they decided to take the worst option as part of a stunt. You would have to wonder who put them up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

Which one is better ?

[ A ] Front of Garda Station

[ B ] House where one may have to sleep on the couch

Pick A or B

the_syco wrote: »
    Yup. They should get a house wherever they want, not live wherever there is a house, such as in Meath.

They seem to keep popping out sprogs until they get a house?

Can you substantiate your post in regards what remarks were disparaging?

Actually, there's nothing stopping her pumping out 15 more sprogs.

You need to stop with your posting until you quote where they said the Gardai lied.

What's wrong with you?

I can sleep easy at night knowing that I help people in need as much as I possibly can, others who take joy in other people's suffering are deeply unhappy inside.

No but one was a whole lot better than the other. and they decided to take the worst option as part of a stunt. You would have to wonder who put them up to it.

Again, there's dozens and dozens of families who have been forced into similar situations in the past few months alone. 8 others last night. It's not all a big stunt, there's people really struggling out there.

I can sleep easy at night knowing that I help people in need as much as I possibly can, others who take joy in other people's suffering are deeply unhappy inside.

can you show where posters have taken joy in other people's suffering?

gctest50 wrote: »

Come on - which one ?

It's really not a nice situation to be in. Neither choice is appetising. Families stuck in these awful situations need support. The growing number of them is really concerning.

If you had to spend 20 euro of your dole money a week to stay in one or the other, which would you choose and why?