Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roseanne fired but Sarah Jeong hired?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭keffiyeh

Nermal wrote: »
    keffiyeh wrote: »
    I love intellectual dishonesty, it helps identify radicalized right much easier. This was just a rando, right? They were having a go because of her skin colour yeah? You know you're full of it when you have to try stuff like this.

Whatever you need to say to yourself to justify he harassment and intimidation of women, mate.

Oh now it's women, she's being attacked for being a woman.

Jesus the lies in this thread, it just discredits you radicalized right automatically.

What are ye on about. White boys are doing just fine in college, sure didn't a spate of them get off scott free for rape a few years back

Who are they now?

www.google.com
    Unbelievably, earlier today, as she was eating breakfast, Antifa showed up and chanted 'Fcuk White Supremacy' at her :P

https://twitter.com/RealCandaceO/status/1026458985967153153

Jesus what an absolute cluster**** of identity politics America has devolved to - I cannot stand this nonsense and hate to see people trying to import it over here; it tears society apart.

It's the Irish radicalized right who are trying to drag this 'left'-'right' nonsense into the country. Laughable. They know more about American politicians than Irish ones it's hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Would you be so generous to a figure on the right working for Breitbart or Fox News?

giphy-downsized-large.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

What are ye on about. White boys are doing just fine in college, sure didn't a spate of them get off scott free for rape a few years back. And California (well, only the cities not the counties) are moderate because of Silicon Valley not bloody hippies from 50+ years ago! Mental.

He’s talking about anti white rhetoric in us colleges.

www.google.com

It's the Irish radicalized right who are trying to drag this 'left'-'right' nonsense into the country. Laughable. They know more about American politicians than Irish ones it's hilarious.

You’re the one who has totally overwritten Irish history to make us all “white” in the American sense. That’s American leftism. There’s bound to be a reaction to that.

The left needs to go back to old school labour issues (I’m a fan of corbyn for instance).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

You’re the one who has totally overwritten Irish history to make us all “white” in the American sense. That’s American leftism. There’s bound to be a reaction to that.

The left needs to go back to old school labour issues (I’m a fan of corbyn for instance).

Corbyn would be fine if he hadn't let anti-Semitism in Labour spiral out of control.

He could, and should, have nipped that in the bud two years ago instead of commissioning the whitewash report he did that spent more time talking about Islamophobia rather than Anti-Semitism.

He should also have booted Ken Livingstone out of the Labour Party and suspended Naz Shah.

But...he's left himself in a hell of a pickle now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

You’re the one who has totally overwritten Irish history to make us all “white” in the American sense. That’s American leftism.

Whereas we're actually the blacks of Europe. Saw it in a documentery once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

And if you're a Northside Dub.....

Corbyn would be fine if he hadn't let anti-Semitism in Labour spiral out of control.

He could, and should, have nipped that in the bud two years ago instead of commissioning the whitewash report he did that spent more time talking about Islamophobia rather than Anti-Semitism.

He should also have booted Ken Livingstone out of the Labour Party and suspended Naz Shah.

But...he's left himself in a hell of a pickle now.

I disagree but any response would push the thread off topic. Funnily enough there’s no discussion on this anywhere here.

The Catholic situation in Northern Ireland was similar to Jim Crow alright.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,681 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Would you be so generous to a figure on the right working for Breitbart or Fox News?

If I knew nothing about them beyond their Twitter feed? I hope so. Otherwise I would be a hypocrite.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

Brian? wrote: »
    You’re doing the usual, attacking me directly rather than debating the subject at hand.

Highly ironic who thanked this post.

A poster known for doing little else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,236 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It's funny seeing the usual suspects twisting themselves in knots trying to downplay what she said.

As others have said if it was a white person said those things the posts from those same people would be a lot different.

He’s talking about anti white rhetoric in us colleges.

Obviously. Except it isn't happening in any significant amount and is massively overblown by the radicalized right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Highly ironic who thanked this post.

A poster known for doing little else.

I'm delighted you take such a interest in me:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

If I knew nothing about them beyond their Twitter feed? I hope so. Otherwise I would be a hypocrite.

You're a gas man Brian? Gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Brian I'm very interested in your opinion of hate speech laws (or policies on social media). Given your take on this, I assume you strongly disagree with them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Brian? What would someone have to say or do to be considered a racist in your view?

Brian? in this thread...lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Has too much stock been put on what people wrote online I wonder? Have to say I'm not a fan at all of this latest trend of digging into people's social media history and that goes for people on all sides of the political spectrum

P_1 wrote: »
    Has too much stock been put on what people wrote online I wonder? Have to say I'm not a fan at all of this latest trend of digging into people's social media history and that goes for people on all sides of the political spectrum

It seems the liberal left's tactic of organising witch hunts on social media is coming back to bite them on the ass because their opponents have decided to give them a taste of their own medicine. Can't say I have too much sympathy for them. They've destroyed so many peoples careers because of their hysterical carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

Completely agree. I don't like it either. A stupid few tweets does not a person make. I think those on the right have started doing it in response to a number of their fellow travelers being subjected to this kind of hounding by liberals. I wish they wouldn't though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

It seems the liberal left's tactic of organising witch hunts on social media is coming back to bite them on the ass because their opponents have decided to give them a taste of their own medicine. Can't say I have too much sympathy for them. They've destroyed so many peoples careers because of their hysterical carry on.

True, it's just nasty behavior all round really

The irony is that left wingers have destroyed people's careers - look at Roseanne, she made a joke about someone being ugly, being the love child of an ape and the Muslim brotherhood , and claims she didn't t know she was black. She doesn't look black to be fair. This was on the basis of a single tweet that was wide open to interpretation. In this case there are hundreds of unprovoked tweets that are aimed at a whole race, and that's OK. Apparently.

Here she is : https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/4/4e/Valerie_Jarrett_official_portrait_small.jpg/220px-Valerie_Jarrett_official_portrait_small.jpg

It's a difficult one. While it's no doubt enjoyable seeing them getting a taste of their own medicine, I think these kinds of tactics are pretty nasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Completely agree. I don't like it either. A stupid few tweets does not a person make. I think those on the right have started doing it in response to a number of their fellow travelers being subjected to this kind of hounding by liberals. I wish they wouldn't though.

If no fuss is made then there's more chance that hate speech laws and policies will continue unopposed. I want them to agree, by seeing it happen to people of their own ideological dint that they have to wake up and fight against them. It seems to be the only hope.

Alex Jones in the memory hole. I think he is a retard but what needs to be understood by everyone is that hate speech laws / fake news banning means you are asking the government and tech companies to drip feed you your 'truth' and decide what is and is not humour.

If no fuss is made then there's more chance that hate speech laws and policies will continue unopposed. I want them to agree, by seeing it happen to people of their own ideological dint that they have to wake up and fight against them. It seems to be the only hope.

Alex Jones in the memory hole. I think he is a retard but what needs to be understood by everyone is that hate speech laws / fake news banning means you are asking the government and tech companies to drip feed you your 'truth' and decide what is and is not humour.

I agree. I can't see it changing though. Twitter etc are private companies so can do whatever they want Re hate speech etc. Plus there is no reasoning with twitter liberals. They are off the wall. If those on the right engage in this sort of stuff they will just get nastier.

It's funny seeing the usual suspects twisting themselves in knots trying to downplay what she said.

As others have said if it was a white person said those things the posts from those same people would be a lot different.

Have to say, fair play to ancapailldorcha, the only one that I'd consider staunchly on that side of the divide to simply just come out and call a spade a spade. Everyone else from Hapax Legomenon to Brian? to Winny The Poo tripping up over themselves to makes excuses for an out and out racist sexist just because they're from an ethnic minority... a racist act in itself ironically.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Have to say, fair play to ancapailldorcha, the only one that I'd consider staunchly on that side of the divide to simply just come out and call a spade a spade. Everyone else from Hapax Legomenon to Brian? to Winny The Poo tripping up over themselves to makes excuses for an out and out racist sexist just because they're from an ethnic minority... a racist act in itself ironically.

There does seem to be a case of Hank Scorpio syndrome...

Edit: Links not working properly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Omackeral wrote: »

Where was I tripping myself up?

Care to elaborate ?

edit: Where was I making excuses as well?.