Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roseanne fired but Sarah Jeong hired?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

RasTa wrote: »
    Who feckin cares, doubt anyone in here has ever read the NYT. Same with Roseanne, never watched or had any interest in her show.

The guy in your signature would care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

professore wrote: »
    I used to watch her original show. It was big here back in the 80s. And that bitch does look white!

Yeah she got cancelled from her new show, meh couldn't care less. Weird stuff to be discussing in Ireland
    The guy in your signature would care.

Hunter? He would have shot trump himself already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭gw80

Who feckin cares, doubt anyone in here has ever read the NYT. Same with Roseanne, never watched or had any interest in her show.
    I wouldn't be so quick to shrug off this unhealthy trend that's creeping into American society.
    This ideology is of hatred for "the white man is spreading into college's and university,s across American, and some of these kids are going to be the politicians and policy makers of the future, granted, probably most of the "social studies" students will not come to much other than lifelong activists and college go,ers.
    California for example is a very left wing, green, open border state, and that's no coincidence due to the very strong and large hippy culture of the 60s in California, those hippy and their kids are now all grown up and are in position of government making policys and laws.

And things that happen in America can have consequences for Ireland with our dependency on American multinational companies.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,683 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Don't be.

On Trump:

On Richard Spencer:

On Ben Shapiro:

Swing and a miss. None of those judgements were based on tweets.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

I think Outlaw Pete has covered that

He does in his bollocks. None of that was me judging people based on their tweets. None of it.

You and Pete can shift the goal posts, but no do any make you right. I stand by all those opinions.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

Brian? wrote: »
    I’m actually disgusted by this accusation or hypocrisy and how many people thanked it.

Don't be.

On Trump:
    He's a bigot because he's a racist, misogynist and xenophobic.

On Richard Spencer:
    Punching people is wrong. Seeing a neo nazi punched, hilarious.

On Ben Shapiro:
    ....that doesn’t actually matter to me, it’s how he uses his freedom of expression I have an issue with. He fans the flames of hatred. He doesn’t even bother with racist dog whistles.

To me, he’s a hate filled, pig ignorant demagogue.
    A conservative gives a conservative view point, it's deemed hate filled, bigoted. A left winger gives views and it's progressive, liberal, tolerant, all nonsense of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Candace Owens

Unbelievably, earlier today, as she was eating breakfast, Antifa showed up and chanted 'Fcuk White Supremacy' at her :P

https://twitter.com/RealCandaceO/status/1026458985967153153

Someone's feeling especially precious today.

I can’t stand being called a hypocrite. How is that precious?

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Taytoland wrote: »
    A conservative gives a conservative view point, it's deemed hate filled, bigoted. A left winger gives views and it's progressive, liberal, tolerant, all nonsense of course.

What conservative. None of Trump, Shapiro or Spencer are conservatives.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Taytoland wrote: »

What conservative. None of Trump, Shapiro or Spencer are conservatives.
    Shapiro is absolutely a conservative. So many of his views are deeply rooted in traditional conservatism.

I can’t stand being called a hypocrite. How is that precious?

Maybe think before you post absolutely hypocritical statements in future and then whine about it when multiple people pull you for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

What are you talking about???? What victimhood narrative? I don't speak SJW sorry.

Just seen this. You admitted you don't have the slightest clue about the term. Which is hilarious considering you made assertions that people using it( Spencer and co) are not the ones using it.

You made the claim that the term alt right didn't exist before 2016. As you said though, your ignorant to the term. So you where literally making up stuff as you go along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

He does in his bollocks. None of that was me judging people based on their tweets. None of it.

You and Pete can shift the goal posts, but no do any make you right. I stand by all those opinions.

What difference does it make if it's tweets. If it was one or two fair enough. But she wrote these things repeatedly over a long period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭keffiyeh

Alt right is a totally made up term to make the American right sound worse. It didn't exist before 2016 and guess what... it still doesn't exist.

Absolutely incorrect. It started in 2014 with Gamergate, although MRA's existed prior. It quickly picked up anti-islamic/African American sentiment along the way. They are absolutely real, and can frequently be found around Confederate statues in the US, like the worst game of Pokemon Go Ever.

Unbelievably, earlier today, as she was eating breakfast, Antifa showed up and chanted 'Fcuk White Supremacy' at her :P

Lock those scumbags up. Surely that constitutes harassment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Last time such a large number of white people stopped a black woman from breakfast was the 1950’s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,940 ✭✭✭20Cent

jmayo wrote: »
    So please tell us which of the following below you find funny?

I am substituting other groups in place of the ones this so called journalist/commentator used in her original tweet of 28 Nov 2014.

I would like to know how come some people can find the first ones very offensive, but the last one seems to be satire or somehow acceptable?

Maybe it is me being somewhat old fashioned, oh and an old white guy, but I find all of them uncalled for, equally disparaging and yes offensive.

Never heard of her don't read the NYT so couldn't care less.

What difference does it make if it's tweets. If it was one or two fair enough. But she wrote these things repeatedly over a long period.

You accused me of hypocrisy because I was refusing to judge someone based on their tweets. I pointed out I’d n bet judge someone based on their tweets. You accused me of hypocrisy again. I challenged you to provide proof. Outlaw Pete found some quotes about right wing people I don’t like. This had nothing to do with what I said.

I don’t judge anyone from the content of their tweets. That was my entire point. I didn’t say this Jeong woman wasn’t racist. I said I needed to see more.

So apologize or find proof. Simple.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

You accused me of hypocrisy because I was refusing to judge someone based on their tweets. I pointed out I’d n bet judge someone based on their tweets. You accused me of hypocrisy again. I challenged you to provide proof. Outlaw Pete found some quotes about right wing people I don’t like. This had nothing to do with what I said.

I don’t judge anyone from the content of their tweets. That was my entire point. I didn’t say this Jeong woman wasn’t racist. I said I needed to see more.

So apologize or find proof. Simple.

I did apologise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Anyway, really bad “optics” as the yanks say for the antifa movement. Utterly dumb.

If you were to infiltrate them you couldn’t do more harm. Maybe they have been infiltrated.

Maybe think before you post absolutely hypocritical statements in future and then whine about it when multiple people pull you for it

What hypocritical statement? All I said was I was reserving judgement until I read more. Her contention that she was attempting satire was reasonable to me.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

I did apologise.

I missed that.

I accept your apology.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Anyway, really bad “optics” as the yanks say for the antifa movement. Utterly dumb.

If you were to infiltrate them you couldn’t do more harm. Maybe they have been infiltrated.

Ye, politics aside it just makes them look like idiots. Do they think they are going to gain support with this sort of stuff?

Brian, I apologise for calling you a hypocrite. It was unnecessarily personal.

I’m sorry I missed this post. I commend you for your apology, thanks.
    The point I was trying to make is that certain posters here throw out the accusation of racism/bigotry at will (I myself have been called racist for calling for tighter immigration controls), but then we when we have a clear example of racism from someone who is on the liberal wing people are trying to make excuses. Even anchapailldorcha, hardly a white supremacist, has said it's blatant racism.

That’s fair enough. I’m not saying she isn’t racist. I am saying that he statement that her tweets were satire are believable to me. Especially seeing as she uses the language of the alt right.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

What hypocritical statement? All I said was I was reserving judgement until I read more. Her contention that she was attempting satire was reasonable to me.

Reasonable?! Why do you think it's reasonable to post literally hundreds of racist (and often sexist) tweets over a period of years. Common sense and logic would suggest that is anything but reasonable. More like unhinged if anything to be so feverishly 'replying' to internet trolls.

The thing is, her posts never seem to be replying to anyone in particular, they just seem to be spurious rants againstwhite people, not even white supremecists, just white people in general. I don't really care but is a little jarring to see such blatant double standards in the same high profile company.

While we're on the topic of reasonable, or rather unreasonable, sticking your fingers in your ears in the face of blatant racism, simply because it's posted on twitter is absolute nonsense. It's as reasonable as me saying I don't take anything on CNN seriously because fake news.

Brian I could sell you a bag of air if you believe that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

You think its reasonable that someone posting such garbage for 6 years is just attempting satire!

Does that apply to the likes of Tommy Robinson or Katie Hopkins or any other the other people who hold views the left disagree with? Pull the other one would ya.

Hunter? He would have shot trump himself already.

He'd have probably shot himself again more likely.

That wasnt my point though, Hunter was a journalist who spent much of his career attacking the lazy idiotic press in the US.

He'd have been disgusted with the media in America today.

Venom wrote: »
    You think its reasonable that someone posting such garbage for 6 years is just attempting satire!

Does that apply to the likes of Tommy Robinson or Katie Hopkins or any other the other people who hold views the left disagree with? Pull the other one would ya.

I’m replying to multiple people here.

If you’re going to be satirical, then you keep it up. It’s not as if the Onion stopped one day and reported the actual news.

I think it’s believable that the tweets were satire. Does anyone have some articles or talks
    That show they weren’t satire?

They definitely weren’t funny, even if they were meant as satire.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Ye, politics aside it just makes them look like idiots. Do they think they are going to gain support with this sort of stuff?

I think their so far down the rabbit hole they honestly believe everyone is already on their side.