The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,911 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I'm old enough to remember when you could buy c*r maintenance magazines* which actually recommended bashing a big screwdriver through the filter and then turning that :pac:

There is an official Triumph oil filter tightening/removal tool which is like a huge socket but made of plastic, I threw it into an order a few years back for a few quid when I was buying lots of other stuff. The idea is (presumably) that you can't overtighten the filter waay too much because the plastic will deform and it'll slip. Problem then is that if you try to undo an overtightened filter with this, it'll slip too. An unbranded version of this yoke sorted it out for me no problem, cost me a tenner at a classsic bike show.

457485.png

How it got overtightened in the first place was because, like a complete gombeen, I was tightening the filter like it says in the manual, using a torque wrench for some stupid torque level like 5 or 10 Nm. Unless you have a very small range torque wrench it's much too easy to not notice the click at such a low torque and just keep tightening. It took the oil filter incident and a stripped brake caliper pin before I decided to never use a torque wrench on low torque bolts again, and just go by what felt reasonable using as short a bar as possible.

* Hard to imagine these days but they actually advertised these on TV and presumably people actually bought them. Nobody can be bothered reading the handbook to find out what the idiot lights mean these days, it's hard to imagine that there used to be a market for buying a magazine every week for 2 years or so just to find out how to fix your cage, and people actually did their own work too. Putting air into the tyres is too much for most these days.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'm old enough to remember when you could buy c*r maintenance magazines* which actually recommended bashing a big screwdriver through the filter and then turning that :pac:

That's the usual method, grand until the screwdriver starts to open the filter like a tin of beans but the thread remains stuck to the sump :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 325 ✭✭Pretzeluck

That's the usual method, grand until the screwdriver starts to open the filter like a tin of beans but the thread remains stuck to the sump :mad:

How many lbs can you bench?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Pretzeluck wrote: »
    How many lbs can you bench?

lbs? Pfft!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

How it got overtightened in the first place was because, like a complete gombeen, I was tightening the filter like it says in the manual, using a torque wrench for some stupid torque level like 5 or 10 Nm.

Use a torque wrench? What Book of Lies was that? :D

5 Nm isn't even a "ah", even "uh" is about 20. "Hurrghhh" is about 100.

I never got on with those Manx :pac: -style removal tools. So I bought a fancy automatic band for working on the cars (given the types/accessibility of the ones I have):

23284151556_84a33f987b_c.jpg
    IMG_20150920_243702_049 by macplaxton, on Flickr

Then I bought a Berlin foot-warmer and found that they decided to bury the spin on canister in the casing (doh) so yet another tool was needed, so a Mahle OCS1 cup-type was bought. (There was a K&N filter with a nut on it, but I don't think much of their innards).

xcngiq.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

blade1 wrote: »
    lbs? Pfft!

Ibs are always bigger numbers :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 325 ✭✭Pretzeluck

Ibs are always bigger numbers :D

Please answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭two wheels good

Maybe some people don't realise that the (canister) filter o-ring should be oiled before fitting. Hand-tight is more than tight enough.

A trick I've read about dealing with a seized filter is to place sandpaper between filter and removal tool - esp. effective with cup-type tool photo-ed above apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Jackdaw89

Maybe some people don't realise that the (canister) filter o-ring should be oiled before fitting. Hand-tight is more than tight enough.

A trick I've read about dealing with a seized filter is to place sandpaper between filter and removal tool - esp. effective with cup-type tool photo-ed above apparently.

A screwdriver rammed through the filter then beat with a hammer will get a fella back on the road to :). I’m using a k&n filter with a nut tacked on the seems solid enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Jackdaw89 wrote: »
    A screwdriver rammed through the filter then beat with a hammer will get a fella back on the road to :). I’m using a k&n filter with a nut tacked on the seems solid enough.

Not a 204 filter ?
    https://www.knfilters.com/recallkn204

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Jackdaw89

CJhaughey wrote: »

Thanks had me nervous their, nope the codes in the article don’t match mine. Sound out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

Guys can I get some advice. I drained something from my moped’s cooling system today. It was yellow with a very light hint of brown. Is that normal or can I put pink coolant into it that is also used in cars?

Generally for bikes you want silicate free coolant, do you have a manual for the bike?

I don’t CJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,911 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

The pink stuff is usually OAT which shouldn't be used unless the manufacturer recommends it, and it shouldn't be mixed with the glycol based stuff (usually blue)

Give the system a good flush out with a hose (wait until the hosepipe ban is over :p ) until only clean water comes out. It's usually worth flushing the rad in each direction or even removing it to flush it upside down depending on the amount of gunk in the system, it's likely the coolant was never changed.

Then fill up with the blue stuff (dilute the concentrate with distilled water, or buy pre-mix)

There might be a bleed screw in the water pump or top of the radiator that needs to be opened to get any air bubbles out.

The pink stuff is usually OAT which shouldn't be used unless the manufacturer recommends it, and it shouldn't be mixed with the glycol based stuff (usually blue)

Give the system a good flush out with a hose (wait until the hosepipe ban is over :p ) until only clean water comes out. It's usually worth flushing the rad in each direction or even removing it to flush it upside down depending on the amount of gunk in the system, it's likely the coolant was never changed.

Then fill up with the blue stuff (dilute the concentrate with distilled water, or buy pre-mix)

There might be a bleed screw in the water pump or top of the radiator that needs to be opened to get any air bubbles out.

Thx is for that H.D I’ll flush it out with a bucket of water and a funnel tomorrow to circumvent the hose ban :p

G12 is the stuff I have used in my car and thought it might work on the moped as well.

It’s a YQ50 Yamaha engine BTW

From what I have learnt about coolant is that colour has no real bearing on the type of coolant, in the past colours meant that it was OAT or Glycol, Silicate free or Silica added, but these days you have to look at specs to know what you need to use. Unfortunately or fortunately depending on how you look at it Yamaha has no spec for the YQ50 listed.
    You only need 1.2 litres to fill it so I would go with a motorcycle specific coolant like Rockoil Kool or Motul Motocool or any of the major brands coolant.

From what I have learnt about coolant is that colour has no real bearing on the type of coolant, in the past colours meant that it was OAT or Glycol, Silicate free or Silica added, but these days you have to look at specs to know what you need to use. Unfortunately or fortunately depending on how you look at it Yamaha has no spec for the YQ50 listed.
    You only need 1.2 litres to fill it so I would go with a motorcycle specific coolant like Rockoil Kool or Motul Motocool or any of the major brands coolant.
    Currently out and about at the moment. Got sorted in a bike shop near where I work this morning, it is blue in colour, can’t remember the name but will check it out, as you rightly say, 1.2 litres to fill and I ended up with 1 litre.

On a separate note I got a givi box for my V-Strom, a blade I think is the name on it.

Yep,I told them they can use my name but I get a cut from every box they sell :D

20%?? :D

Just back to my coolant issue CJ.

It’s Motul. Is that stuff good?

Yep, that's what I used around 2 weeks ago.
    Coolant flush while I'm at it
    Motul Inugel Expert €26 for 5litres.
    33xyqt0.jpg

Yep, that's what I used around 2 weeks ago.

I flushed out the system with water yesterday.

That stuff looks good value also.

I’ve no idea how to embed photos

Are you finished all the jobs on your bike now blade1?

I have on that bike.
    Soon enough I must start thinking of going at another one.
    My ZZR.
    I may not ride it much over the winter so it could be anytime between now and next summer when I do it.
    List of stuff to do to it..
    Tyres
    Chain and sprockets
    Grease headstock/Swingarm/linkage bearings.
    Thinking of getting my forks and rear suspension serviced or upgraded.
    Valve clearance will need doing soon which I don't fancy doing myself as space is just too tight for me to do it without it annoying me.

Almost sold it a few months ago as I had my eye on a newer one but it was sold the morning I went about it.
    Had a buyer for my own (2 infact).

I've thought about selling it a few times in the 5 years I have it.
    People keep asking me to sell it to them.
    I then polish it and stand back and say "Why would I want to sell that?" :pac:

I have on that bike.
    Soon enough I must start thinking of going at another one.
    My ZZR.
    I may not ride it much over the winter so it could be anytime between now and next summer when I do it.
    List of stuff to do to it..
    Tyres
    Chain and sprockets
    Grease headstock/Swingarm/linkage bearings.
    Thinking of getting my forks and rear suspension serviced or upgraded.
    Valve clearance will need doing soon which I don't fancy doing myself as space is just too tight for me to do it without it annoying me.

Almost sold it a few months ago as I had my eye on a newer one but it was sold the morning I went about it.
    Had a buyer for my own (2 infact).

I've thought about selling it a few times in the 5 years I have it.
    People keep asking me to sell it to them.
    I then polish it and stand back and say "Why would I want to sell that?" :pac:

You’ll have your hands full with that workload.

Is it the 1100 zzr you have?

Just the 2 bikes??

If you have pride in your bike and like it that much why not keep it :)

My moped restoration is progressing beautifully

You’ll have your hands full with that workload.

Is it the 1100 zzr you have?

Just the 2 bikes??

If you have pride in your bike and like it that much why not keep it :)
    2007 ZZR 1400.
    Yeah, it's a lovely bike and it's in beautiful condition.
    1z1xxjq.jpg

2007 ZZR 1400.
    Yeah, it's a lovely bike and it's in beautiful condition.
    1z1xxjq.jpg
    What a machine

All I can say is I’m jealous :eek:

Yes, have a look at the bottle, look for it to meet JIS K2234 and you should be fine.

Dunno about all this silicate free stuff though, does it matter and is there really any difference with bike specific coolant?

The workshop manual for mine specifies "Mobil Antifreeze". That's it. I went to Halfords and there were two types of Mobil Antifreeze. I said fcuk it and bought their own brand pre-mix stuff :p