Influencers over-editing photos in Social Media/Cyber-bullying accusations

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    New Instagram account up.

@Bloggerunveil

The irony of an instagram account set up to to expose bullying but is in fact bullying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭TheChizler

GingerLily wrote: »
    Sorry I know you are very close to her- I should have allegedly.
    Ah, 'allegedly', the gossip equivalent to the free pass of "I'm not racist, but" and hazard lights while parked on the footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Vegetarian2017

GingerLily wrote:
    She has a private Instagram too called I_spy_ where she shares things average folk on Facebook say in private groupa- presumably to ridicule them.

GingerLily wrote:
    This is not 8 years ago - this account is open today.

The ispy page is absolutely slating BU. I dont understand you? If R is BU she outed herself? Have you followed the ispy page it is slagging her off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭wyrn

TheChizler wrote: »
    Ah, 'allegedly', the gossip equivalent to the free pass of "I'm not racist, but" and hazard lights while parked on the footpath.
    Not in my case

I used it because both parties are here and because I know how boards reacts to posts that might land them in it.
    Also, taking the IT post at face value, there’s a Garda investigaton. I only used that word to try and be responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Geminijosa

I'm not a regular poster on this or any other forum. I usually use boards to search for advise on various things (or sometimes just to have a laugh at some of the 'after hours' threads).

Nor am I on Instagram, but my 14 year old daughter is.

I read of the whole 'bloggers unveiled' saga via twitter, and am trying to figure it all out, but unless you are on instagram, whatsapp, snapchat, facebook, or whatever else, it seems like a jigsaw puzzle with many missing pieces.

It seems such a hate-filled story, with people ready to bash others from the safety of their living rooms,

But... over the past few days it has given me the chance to discuss the importance of moderating your internet posts, and not believing everything you read/see on the internet with my daughter, so for that reason i'm grateful that I came across it (For once, I am a little clued in to the story...which is not the norm according to her !)

As a mother, I hope that this girl, whether she is or isn't the blogger behind BU, will be ok, and have the support of her family and friends to help her until all this dies down, as i'm sure it will.

Whether or not she has 'trolled' others in the past, or done some things that you or I might find offensive, she too deserves to be left alone to reflect on her mistakes and learn from them. A little compassion in a world gone mad.

Regards
    cal33

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

I think people are still failing to see the whole reason BU was created in the first place.

'Influencers' pulling the wool over their followers' eyes in order to make money or doing dumb **** like using their phone while driving.

I would agree that more recently it was more bitchy and less about unveiling but it has ruffled a few feathers because it's obviously hurting the profits of those that were unveiled to be deceiving.
    The ASAI would hardly take action if there were no advertising rules being broken.
    That makeup accreditation course...imagine paying that much for a piece of useless paper...

Can people honestly say that the whole account was a waste of time?
    I think those that are most vocal against are those whose profits have been hurt because people have been educated on what a sponsored/affiliated/ad post is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 wexfordhun

Caliden wrote: »
    I think people are still failing to see the whole reason BU was created in the first place.

'Influencers' pulling the wool over their followers' eyes in order to make money or doing dumb **** like using their phone while driving.

I would agree that more recently it was more bitchy and less about unveiling but it has ruffled a few feathers because it's obviously hurting the profits of those that were unveiled to be deceiving.
    The ASAI would hardly take action if there were no advertising rules being broken.
    That makeup accreditation course...imagine paying that much for a piece of useless paper...

I think those that are most vocal against are those whose profits have been hurt because people have been educated on what a sponsored/affiliated/ad post is.

+ 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭GingerLily

Caliden wrote: »

I'm 100% behind the idea of BU as I was for the original - bull****callerouter, and I'll support the next account that's calling influencers on their lies and shady practices!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭soiseztomabel

I'm 100% behind the idea of BU as I was for the original - bull****callerouter, and I'll support the next account that's calling influencers on their lies and shady practices!

Have you seen the new one? Straight after muf and sosueme(sniff)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

:D:D:D:D:D

What's the name? Edit: Found it!

Tad bitchy that page! I guess we'll have to wait for good content!

Bloggerunveiled is an interesting account for anyone who didn't see that BU was getting bitchy, the page has a good few of the examples if your interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭SozBbz

Whats this new page then?

SozBbz wrote: »
    Whats this new page then?

Calling out the BS

Its not great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭soiseztomabel

What's the name? Edit: Found it!

Tad bitchy that page! I guess we'll have to wait for good content!

Bloggerunveiled is an interesting account for anyone who didn't see that BU was getting bitchy, the page has a good few of the examples if your interested.

I imagine things are about to get very interesting regarding this page, since BU closed and this page opened i get the impression this page will be more about going for bloggers in a way like the original account didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

Have to laugh people who were rightly called out on their bull on BU accessed it of bullying, yet BU ended up closing cause of bullying

BU did a lot of good one thing i would like to see is the revenue commissioner going after soom of these chancer of blogger. That would put manners on them quick

I imagine things are about to get very interesting regarding this page, since BU closed and this page opened i get the impression this page will be more about going for bloggers in a way like the original account didn't.

BloggerUnveiled (not bloggerSUnveiled), has been posting since June, so nothing to do with the death threats and accusations of identity!

There are some very strange pages out there - it's a bit creepy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭SozBbz

Calling out the BS

Its not great

Yeah 4 posts and 95 followers. :rolleyes:

Hardly the second coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

The furore over BU seems to have already died down a fair bit already. They only people that really seemed to be happy about 'outing' BU (if in fact they really did) are some other bloggers or 'influencers'.
    I think if BU came back, it would be stronger, and maybe with a fair bit of help if they needed it (or trusted anyone).
    As mentioned plenty of times already, this seems to have spurned on a lot of other accounts. It could be very interesting in the next few months watching the poor influencers getting bullied..
    BU may have (just surmising here) been finding less to make stories about, so resorted to little bits of bitchiness. It was hardly the worst.

I had a look at that calling out the BS, and every time I see those type of pics, I just wonder.. What it must be like for them when 'followers' see them or meet them for the first time in real life :D:D:D.
    When they have faked this online image of themselves, there has to be a lot of shocked faces looking at them on their day to day business.
    "......That's...... HER!!???"
    I'd love to watch for a day.. :D

The whole thing is weird.. I got sucked in, like many others. I am firmly of the belief that many of them should be called out. I despise the crocodile tears every new day, and the BS accusations by the people doing as much harm themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

BloggerUnveiled (not bloggerSUnveiled), has been posting since June, so nothing to do with the death threats and accusations of identity!

There are some very strange pages out there - it's a bit creepy

I didn't check the posts because I only follow all this through this thread but it all seems to me completely toxic with one side being as bad as the other. The only difference is that some make money out of it and most don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭frogstar

meeeeh wrote: »
    I didn't check the posts because I only follow all this through this thread but it all seems to me completely toxic with one side being as bad as the other. The only difference is that some make money out of it and most don't.

The new page is bloggersrevealed. With a pic of someone with q scream mask. Set up up a couple days ago

Edit, meant to quote ginger lily not meeeeh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,786 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Anyone watch your man on the 6 o'clock show on TV3 today wearing the I was Bloggers Unveiled top
    Your atypical person following this kind of thing :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 ClickRbait

I don't agree with the stunt JK and the WMC pulled at all. They claim that they were 'just clearing their name' but in actual fact the way they carried on was worse than the behaviour BU graced us with.

Either way I hope somebody picks up where she left off and from what I've seen so far the new comers are coming accross vicious and far too personal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭AttentionBebe

Watch Aoife Dooley's insta story to see the type of person you're defending lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Q_ueeny

Watch Aoife Dooley's insta story to see the type of person you're defending lads.

I second this. Absolutely shocking stuff. I have been following from the start and I'm shook!

That was long but very interesting! I'm not surprised by that at all, but there are some people who won't listen. Sure I was skeptical at first, but the truth at this stage seems very obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Telly

Aoife Dooley is the most harmless person ever. You’re some sick shít to send her nasty hurtful comments like that. There’s just no need for that!

Check out bloggers_unveiled_revealed on Insta!

There's a times article out today / tomorrow saying Caris Closet is the reason BU got shut down.

It sounds like a perfect storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Is Aoife Dooley her name on IG? Can't find her

rawn wrote: »
    Is Aoife Dooley her name on IG? Can't find her

https://www.instagram.com/aoife_dooley/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Thanks Ginger. Damn it's all so sinister! If all of those profiles really are that person then that person needs help. A lot of it.