If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Let's all take Blindboy seriously now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

Again you need to ask him what his motive is for it. I can not speak for him. All I can tell you is that reading the lyrics I do not see it as a song that is advocating the use of that drug. And I can see no valid way to interpret the song as having done so.

I didn't mention anything about advocating glue sniffing I actually used your words that he was mocking them as awful characters.

Spastic Hawk is Blindboys magnum opus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

optogirl wrote: »
    I can not parse it that way at all.

As I said to two other users, I just read over the lyrics and the song appears to be trying to build an awful, repellent, lead character. The kind of person who does fat shame, use people for sex even if he finds them repulsive and more. The whole song contrives to make you dislike the main character.

THEN he has that character make a given drug the crutch that justifies and supports those abhorrent character traits. Thus tainting the drug by it's association with the awful character who is taking it.

This is not nuanced shakespearean use of imagery and motive here. It is barely nuanced, in your face, simplistic motif that I am embarrassed to even have to explain.

Outside of the song, has he spoken much about the drug itself and what he, rather than the character in a parody song, actually thinks about it? Can anyone cite this stuff?

You have the patience of angels Nozz
    So between the two of you, you seem to believe that he is mocking young, misguided, inner-city lads with broken moral compasses? I'm sure that will help with their mental health.

And any fat birds who might be offended by the all too real lyrics are just incapable of understanding the artistic nuance contained within?

Okay then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,367 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

I didn't mention anything about advocating glue sniffing I actually used your words that he was mocking them as awful characters.

I am not referring to you, but to the position that the song is advocating for that drug which has arisen on the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I can not parse it that way at all.

As I said to two other users, I just read over the lyrics and the song appears to be trying to build an awful, repellent, lead character. The kind of person who does fat shame, use people for sex even if he finds them repulsive and more. The whole song contrives to make you dislike the main character.

THEN he has that character make a given drug the crutch that justifies and supports those abhorrent character traits. Thus tainting the drug by it's association with the awful character who is taking it.

This is not nuanced shakespearean use of imagery and motive here. It is barely nuanced, in your face, simplistic motif that I am embarrassed to even have to explain.

Outside of the song, has he spoken much about the drug itself and what he, rather than the character in a parody song, actually thinks about it? Can anyone cite this stuff?

But a character is a person too. Source: you, a few posts back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

optogirl wrote: »
    You might as well say that Sacha Baron Cohen advocates toddlers carrying guns.

Nah, a point is being made by Sacha and a clear one. In the same way Chris Morris with Paedogeddon was making a clear point but Bag of Glue doesn't do that. It comes across as celebratory of the behavior / lifestyle being partaken in, as much as taking Es does in The Shamen's Ebeneezer Goode.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying none of their material has an underlying satirical message. Up Da Ra for example is clearly satirical and mocking of a certain element of our society but if that is what they were attempting with Bag of Glue, they failed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Ush1 wrote: »
    The idea that the song was supposed to deconstruct stereotypes or be progressive is some of the most hilarious sh*te I've read on this thread.

Do people seriously think its audience were standing around at their gigs going, "hmm, I really think the protagonists behaviour here is despicable, what a deep metaphor and an inciteful social commentary" instead of actually drunk and pissed up students/ne'er do wells off their face dancing to a song about taking drugs?

All those rappers like Lil Jon and The Game aren't advocating misogyny, pimping women and violence. It's actually a higher concept, high-falutin' take on society that us thickos can't understand.

The songs are funny and entertaining, I've seen the Rubberbandits live and enjoyed myself.

However this does not change the fact that Blindboy is a hypocrite and should in no way be taken seriously as a social commentator unless he were to admit his past mistakes and separate himself from his previous works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Just because it's a song does not make it okay. I don't care if it's a parody. You can't be a mental health advocate and a self-proclaimed feminist whilst simultaneously referring to the weight of a female in a derogatory sense and stating that the use of drugs is needed to "clear his head" before he can determine whether he can engage in sexual intercourse with her. The main characteristic of the girl in this song is that she's overweight, and that this makes her unattractive.

Don't tell me that's not hypocritical, and don't even get me started on the other suggestion that there's a deeper meaning behind this song like there is to "Jeremy" by Pearl Jam. Blindboy is no Eddie Vedder. Fact.

Engage in sexual intercourse.

Don't think anyone is saying that.Again, no one really cares.

Ye have all jumped the shark and trying to make him out to be some demi god just to knock him down.
    No one thinks that way.

I said a person speaking in character is still a person too.

But I am not sure what your point here is meant to be? It does not rebut or contradict a single thing in the post you just quoted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Spastic Hawk is Blindboys magnum opus

And wrote to get rid of any fans from horse outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

The idea that the song was supposed to ADVOCATE for the use of that drug, by constructing an absolutely repellant and repugnant main character who uses it, is some of the most hilarious sh*te I've read on ANY thread.

But I am still waiting for what you people dont appear to have. Citations and quotes of him actually discussing what HE, rather than a character in a song he has created 7 or so years ago, thinks of the drug.

You'll be waiting a while ya mad yoke, I've given up on you a long time ago.:pac:

Sure he said on literally on todays podcast he wrote music that he didn't like for a specific audience, the horse outside crowd.

The only real success the Rubberbandits have enjoyed has been by appealing to the audience I described. If you don't think that's the case and that Blindboy isn't aware of that, you're deluded.

By the way, I like the song bags of glue a lot.

You'll be waiting a while ya mad yoke, I've given up on you a long time ago.

So you do not have it, but rather than admit that you get petty and personal. Nothing new here I guess. Though what is new is "given up on you" appears to have come to mean "cant help but respond to you".
    The only real success the Rubberbandits have enjoyed has been by appealing to the audience I described. If you don't think that's the case and that Blindboy isn't aware of that, you're deluded.

Sorry where did I express this position again? I recall making no comments AT ALL about how or why they got any "success".

However I just read a few reviews of his book in the last 10 minutes however which has been quite successful to (in Ireland terms) and that appears to be appealing to an ENTIRELY different audience to that of the song we are discussing. It does not at all sound like a book I will want to buy however. Or even receive as a free gift. Not my thing.

So it seems their success is NOT as you describe it by appealing to one particular audience, but by appealing to a different ones on different levels in different ways at different times. Which is a good business plan for many people.
    By the way, I like the song bags of glue a lot.

Haven't heard it. I just read the lyrics today because it came up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Can I check ?

Are we talking:

Real person
    Blndboy character
    "Blindboy" parody character in songs

So three in one ?

Sure he said on literally on todays podcast he wrote music that he didn't like for a specific audience, the horse outside crowd.

Remarkable coincidence. You'd swear he was reading this thread :D

Will those songs be portrayed as "The Misunderstood Years" - feminist advocate and mental health guru suffers the pitfalls of the music business, writes songs entitled Spastic Hawk and Bags of Glue to meet demands of fickle pop audience.

Sweet Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭optogirl

TBH I can take or leave the songs - some of them are quite funny but they are novelty so not the kind of thing I'd be putting on regularly to listen to. Thoroughly enjoyed his book - weird & well written short stories that suit my commute and I would definitely buy his next offering. I listen to the podcast every week but it can be a bit hit & miss - I don't however think that he is preaching - I just don't get that from it at all and I find the anger over his discussions about mental health a bit bewildering. It seems that people on here are genuinely disgusted by him giving his two cents, as though there is some deep cover up going on or some slimy motive behind it. The impression I get is that he is helping a lot of people judging by the reviews & listener figures. And a lot of what he says makes sense to me.
    Also the medium through which he is operating at the moment is mainly the podcast so you have to actually make the decision & choice to listen - it's not like it's coming on the telly at 6pm every evening and you are sick looking at it - just don't subscribe.

Real person Blndboy character "Blindboy" parody character in songs

Leaving Blindboy aside entirely I would say that is not a distinction you would be wasting your time exploring.

The difference between an author creating a character in some form of literature..... and giving it a voice...... and someone creating a persona/character in which they themselves speak by adopting that character..... is a very different thing.

Leaving Blindboy aside entirely I would say that is not a distinction you would be wasting your time exploring.

The difference between an author creating a character in some form of literature..... and giving it a voice...... and someone creating a persona/character in which they themselves speak by adopting that character..... is a very different thing.

If you think he's "literature" let alone "art", God help you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

More like he doesn't want former private school classmates and teachers to recognise him and blow the working class Limerick b**locks clean away.

You really think that people don t realise he was playing a character in their earlier work. The Blindboy of 2018 does not claim t be anything other than an artist who has been to art school and consistently talks about his background and family in his podcasts. Seriously it s like chatting with a 10 year olds about Man Utd and Liverpool and who is the most **** at soccer :confused:

If you think he's "literature" let alone "art", God help you.

See that is just yet ANOTHER case of you disengaging with the conversation and just making personal comments. It is becoming an established MO at this point, and not one to be proud of.

To respond anyway, in the good faith you are NOT returning, I can only say I do not judge "literature" or "art" based on what I personally like.

Today I read the lyrics of some of their songs. I can find nothing in them I find remotely funny.

Today I read a few reviews of his moderately successful book. Nothing about that book suggests it is to my taste.

But a book is literature, music is an art form. So yes, it is art and literature. The fact I have no liking for any of it does not qualify it or disqualify it that title. That is not how those words work.

Cienciano wrote: »
    I don't think it's any secret that exercise helps against depression.
    https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/depression/in-depth/depression-and-exercise/art-20046495
    Getting motivated is the thing which he goes into a bit more detail in addressing.

If you don't like the guy, fair enough and I can understand why, I unsubscribed a while back and think he talks ****e on plenty of things and comes across as condescending on others. But comparing his stance on helping people with depression with antivaxxers is not only stupid and disingenuous, but proves you never actually listened to his show and have just made up your mind about him. Again, I'll stand to be corrected if he does this outside his podcast, because apparently the guy is "paraded all over the media". I haven't bought a newspaper in about 15 years, don't listen to the radio and don't watch RTE, so he could be all over those for all I know.

That s the interesting point he is rarely if ever in the mainstream media. These are all claims of the people who decided he s a talentless chancer years ago and are ****ed if they re gonna change their mind and don t realise that they see everything about him through this initial lens, regardless of all the various accomplishments achieved in the last 10 years or so.

Rarely if ever.

Lol

Remarkable coincidence. You'd swear he was reading this thread

Well if he is it would be useful if he would do a podcast on drugs in general, which ones he advocates, which ones he takes, which ones he thinks are safe and acceptable to legalize, which ones he feels should stay off the market.

Or if he is reading this, or if his friend who posts on the thread wants to communicate with him........ someone should tell him to at least subject tag his podcasts. If one was marked #drugs for example I might listen to it to get his take on them, since no one here can be arsed citing what they think he believes when they presume to tell us what they think he believes on any subject.

Well if he is it would be useful if he would do a podcast on drugs in general, which ones he advocates, which ones he takes, which ones he thinks are safe and acceptable to legalize, which ones he feels should stay off the market.

Or if he is reading this, or if his friend who posts on the thread wants to communicate with him........ someone should tell him to at least subject tag his podcasts. If one was marked #drugs for example I might listen to it to get his take on them, since no one here can be arsed citing what they think he believes when they presume to tell us what they think he believes on any subject.

And the second he, his character, his alter ego, or his shadow produce a qualification in Pharmacology or similar - we'll take his view on board.

Given he has a platform, and you and I do not, I would suggest that statement is not convincing.

Further the character he creates may be of a type/class/level that he feels might be more accessible to the people who he most hopes receive his message. After all school drop out types, lower class types, and so forth do not tend to spend a lot of time listening to preachy messages from highclass suits and labcoats. So perhaps he feels he can be a communicator by creating a bridge via his character.

You would have to ask him though, I have no idea.

As do I. I am someone who believes in the legalization and regulation of many drugs. I am also someone who advocates many things I believe support or would support improved levels of health care.

I am not seeing the contradiction therefore that you apparently do. I see the two things as being perfectly congruent in fact.

I can not answer for him on that one, ask him. I can answer for me. And my answer is that one of the reasons I would like to see weed legalized and regulated is BECAUSE the stronger "skunk" variant we get on the streets is an issue. Further I have seen little evidence that the drug causes such issues so much as it only triggers and exacerbates issues that were already there.

He did a whole podcast explaining that he doesn t do drugs [other than alcohol occasionally] and warned of the evidence that the strains of weed available nowadays due to lack of regulation are hit and miss regarding strength and also advocates legalisation in order to put some regulation on strengths etc.

And the second he, his character, his alter ego, or his shadow produce a qualification in Pharmacology or similar - we'll take his view on board.

Speak for yourself. I evaluate what people say based on the substantiation they offer while saying it. Not based on some qualification they have, claim to have, or want to have.

I would not recommend putting too much stock in qualification. They are nice to have, and worth pursuing, but they do not validate the words out of anyone's mouth, or devalue the words from people who do not have one.
    Dannyriver wrote: »
    He did a whole podcast explaining that he doesn t do drugs [other than alcohol occasionally] and warned of the evidence that the strains of weed available nowadays due to lack of regulation are hit and miss regarding strength and also advocates legalisation in order to put some regulation on strengths etc.

Indeed? So the claims on the thread that he advocates the use of glue are solely and wholly based on a 7 year old song of parody?

Well color me unsurprised.

Nail on head there.

Though we may be using the wrong definition of feminism and perhaps he's using one where it is okay to demean women if they are unattractive ?

He has said many times that songs from earlier in their career were written when they were teens and they no longer play them anymore as they 'are a bit embarrassing' . Bag of Glue being the most obvious which I think is harsh as I believe it's a bit of a cracker myself but I can see why the PC brigade on here might get a bit rattled by it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Could have sworn he said he smokes grass on an episode, or a lung full of bowldy as he called it.

Speak for yourself. I evaluate what people say based on the substantiation they offer while saying it. Not based on some qualification they have, claim to have, or want to have.

I would not recommend putting too much stock in qualification. They are nice to have, and worth pursuing, but they do not validate the words out of anyone's mouth, or devalue the words from people who do not have one.

Indeed? So the claims on the thread that he advocates the use of glue are solely and wholly based on a 7 year old song of parody?

Well color me unsurprised.

I believe we should legalise semi automatic weapons and make them compulsory for 8 year olds.

It's a stupid idea and I have absolutely no foundation or training to make such a comment - but surely that doesn't count ? My words aren't "devalued" by coming from a place of ignorance ?

I've a Tesco bag for life here too - would it add to the effect to wear that ?

That s the interesting point he is rarely if ever in the mainstream media. These are all claims of the people who decided he s a talentless chancer years ago and are ****ed if they re gonna change their mind and don t realise that they see everything about him through this initial lens, regardless of all the various accomplishments achieved in the last 10 years or so.

Promoting exercise doesn't make him exempt from criticism for promoting transactional analysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

He has said many times that songs from earlier in their career were written when they were teens and they no longer play them anymore as they 'are a bit embarrassing' . Bag of Glue being the most obvious which I think is harsh as I believe it's a bit of a cracker myself but I can see why the PC brigade on here might get a bit rattled by it. :D

LOL. Talk about twisting things. Blindboy is part of today's PC Brigade. Moaning about objectification and how men are projecting misogyny and showing their privlegde. That's why it was pointed out earlier how ironic it is that someone who apparently set out to challenge the system is now helping to propagate a new more sinister one. People are not citing their non-pc lyrics out of puritanism, they're citing them to highlight how full of it they are how this new woke virtue signalling version of Blindboy is insincere.