What's the obsession middle aged lads have with cycling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

That's great. Now all we need is cyclists to actually cycle like that as opposed to the wobbling mass of fat taking up the entire lane that we have now and we'll be good..
    Would you ever give it a rest.

Eh no..
    You're constantly bringing up this rubbish about cyclists deliberately taking over the roads to piss drivers off. It's nonsense.

I witnessed it as recently as this weekend. You calling it nonsense doesn't make it untrue. But sure have at it if it makes you feel better.

I really must invest in a dashcam. More to protect myself from bogus insurance claims but equally to be able to provide you with proof of what I witness every weekend but then even when it's blatantly the cyclist fault in the footage, cyclists will rush in to blame everyone and everything else but the cyclist. Actually I think i'll just avoid that stress all together.
    You've also brought up the roads in your area being constantly blocked by cyclists. Given that you've mentioned Windgates twice I'm going to assume you are around Greystones/Bray? If so could you please point out these roads to me because I must be missing them. As I've said before on another thread I drive more than I cycle and I could count on one hand the amount of times I've been "held up" by cyclists.

I've mentioned Windgates because it's an obvious one with a slow climber and no room to get past. Every day I get held up here.. Sometimes in the morning you practically have to follow them all the way to the top. I even used to know who was quick and who wasn't back when I was doing that journey every day. But they were just loan cyclists trying to get to their own place of work and so I have no issue with them.

It's the large groups, particularly the amateurs that cause the vast majority of problems in my experience. . They seem to have zero sense or awareness and they're out on a jolly so they couldn't give a fluck about anyone else. I've witnessed them act in a manner so as to incite a reaction and then all in unison let out a roar while giving the finger to the young lady driving as she passed. More and more I see them act like dicks in a pack. You saying it doesn't happen doesn't make it not so.

It's getting increasingly worse as the numbers grow and something needs to be done about it as the roads have become a nightmare round here at weekends.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

So, to allow the small but existing minority of groups who hold up road users - it's worth saving 6 measly seconds ????

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,535 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Quick query - are there RSA videos or similar giving cyclists advice on how they should behave on roads ?

Yes there are.. you'll find them on youtube (RSA have their own Youtube channel) and they've all been on TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,520 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Rennaws wrote: »
    I've mentioned Windgates because it's an obvious one with a slow climber and no room to get past.

Have you ever thought about getting onto Wicklow County Council to get a safe bike lane installed rather than rant on the internet? There is plenty of room on that hill.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

What?

Thought it was self explanatory.

Allowing two abreast means allowing the groups who don't all behave like those in the video.

If you do that, then cars can pass in six seconds less.

Yet my question was "is it worth the minute amount of time to permit potentially unsafe groups on the road ?"

Really did not think that would need a further explanation.

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Yes there are.. you'll find them on youtube (RSA have their own Youtube channel) and they've all been on TV

Thanks. Be interesting to check them out.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 34,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Allowing two abreast means allowing the groups who don't all behave like those in the video.

Yet my question was "is it worth the minute amount of time to permit potentially unsafe groups on the road ?"

You don't save 6 seconds. It greatly increases your opportunities to safely pass the group in the first place.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    You don't save 6 seconds. It greatly increases your opportunities to safely pass the group in the first place.

Then why the stopwatch ?

Not all motorists behave like the motorists in the videos either.

The real question is "Is it worth risking the lives of cyclists by overtaking them only to have to slow down again once you meet another car further up the road?"

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 34,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Then why the stopwatch ?

It is showing that the overtaking manoeuvre is quicker. If you can pass quicker you have more opportunities to overtake. Same way overtaking a car is easier than overtaking an articulated lorry...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

We were talking about cycling two abreast. Nobody's defending or condoning ****e cycling. Hence the confusion.
    That's great. Now all we need is cyclists to actually cycle like that as opposed to the wobbling mass of fat taking up the entire lane that we have now and we'll be good.

That's unfortunate for you, I suppose. Where I live the cyclists are mostly lean, incredibly good looking, and can cycle in a straight line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Internet Friend

It's not about time, it's about safety. Single file presents the opportunity to dangerously overtake, 2 abreast presents no option but to overtake when it is safe to do so.

So, to allow the small but existing minority of groups who hold up road users - it's worth saving 6 measly seconds ????

A lot can happen in 6 seconds on the road.

watch any "Car Crash" videos on youtube and you'll see that the longer it takes to overtake, the greater the risk (to everyone)

It's in everyone's interest to keep overtaking time to a minimum. and to be honest, having to explain this to someone who i assume drives on our roads is scary!

A lot can happen in 6 seconds on the road.

watch any "Car Crash" videos on youtube and you'll see that the longer it takes to overtake, the greater the risk (to everyone)

It's in everyone's interest to keep overtaking time to a minimum. and to be honest, having to explain this to someone who i assume drives on our roads is scary!

I don't drive. I can, I choose not to as commuting is easier by train and LUAS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

Sorry that says nothing about it being safer or shows the RSA recommending that they ride two abreast.

It simply says they may ride two abreast, which is not in dispute.

So, as I said, I haven't seen any ad by the RSA making claims that it is not only safer but that they recommend cyclists to cycle two abreast as it's safer.

Is there really one?

dense wrote: »
    Sorry that says nothing about it being safer or shows the RSA recommending that they ride two abreast.

It simply says they may ride two abreast, which is not in dispute.

So, as I said, I haven't seen any ad by the RSA making claims that it is not only safer but that they recommend cyclists to cycle two abreast as it's safer.

Is there really one?

Here's and Idea...YOU go find a video/evidence that shows that cycling two abreast is dangerous? take your time, i'm here all day ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,328 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

if there is a video made by the RSA saying it's safer to ride two abreast, i'll eat my cycling shorts.

this is not a reflection on what *i* think is safe or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭ballyharpat

I think he was actually hoping you didn’t mean what you actually meant. So you are saying that the safety of cyclists does not matter? And that saving time and making it easier for drivers to pass does not matter?
    If you cannot pass a single cyclist safely, it is unlikely you can pass 2 cyclists safely. If on a narrow road or where a cyclist can see the road up ahead, but the driver can’t, they cyclists should signal for the driver to pass when safe to do so.

It is no wonder the roads are so dangerous if people with your attitude and lack of skill and care are actually driving on the road.

I hate to think that I drive the same roads as you, not to mind walk or cycle them with you- Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

It seem that the 'Bastard Cyclist' brigade are bemoaning being held up on the road. Passing out cyclists safely might add 10-15 seconds to your journey at best.

I cannot imagine for one moment that makes any difference to your journey and you are just spoiling for an argument.

Have you ever thought about planning your journey a bit better so that the precious 10 seconds effort it took does not have such a devastating life changing impact on your journey?

Expect there to be cyclists- live with it.

It's not like cyclists suddenly appeared on the roads in recent years. There will always be there.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

It seem that the 'Bastard Cyclist' brigade are bemoaning being held up on the road. Passing out cyclists safely might add 10-15 seconds to your journey at best.

I cannot imagine for one moment that makes any difference to your journey and you are just spoiling for an argument.

Have you ever thought about planning your journey a bit better so that the precious 10 seconds effort it took does not have such a devastating life changing impact on your journey?

Expect there to be cyclists- live with it.

It's not like cyclists suddenly appeared on the roads in recent years. There will always be there.

I have to agree with this, people get into their cars 'already late' and in a rush to get somewhere.

I think he was actually hoping you didn’t mean what you actually meant. So you are saying that the safety of cyclists does not matter? And that saving time and making it easier for drivers to pass does not matter?
    If you cannot pass a single cyclist safely, it is unlikely you can pass 2 cyclists safely. If on a narrow road or where a cyclist can see the road up ahead, but the driver can’t, they cyclists should signal for the driver to pass when safe to do so.

It is no wonder the roads are so dangerous if people with your attitude and lack of skill and care are actually driving on the road.

I hate to think that I drive the same roads as you, not to mind walk or cycle them with you- Jesus wept.

What the actual .... ????

Your OK dont worry..

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=107610557&postcount=705

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭MarkY91

I cycle on a regular basis. Don't drive at all. And even I think those lycra wearing cyclists holding up traffic are feckin eejits.

Getting a bus to enniskerry to powerscourt, two cyclists kitted out in their Lance Armstrong wannabe clothing cycling too far out on the road so the bus couldn't pass it for a good couple of minutes.

Well done lads holding a whole bus up because you don't move a couple of feet closer to the edge of the road.

prinzeugen wrote: »
    Where does it say that motorists were responsible for all these deaths? Nowhere because it is not the case as you claim.

It records how many died not HOW they died. That is the problem with your bullcrap accusations that motorists killed them all.

Sure I could say that every cyclist killed on the roads committed suicide by throwing themselves under a vehicle. I know that is not the case but it is as ridiculous as the crap you come out with.
    I don’t think you’re really done your homework here. Did you check out the RSA analyses of road death reports?
    Check out this one, from the Gardai, which specifically refers to ‘collisions’:
    http://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Fatal%20Collision%20Stats/Provisional_Reviews_of_Fatal_Collisions/Provisional%20Review%20of%20Fatal%20Collisions%20Jan%20to%2030%20June%202018.pdf
    or this one, from the RSA:
    http://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Fatal%20Collision%20Stats/Provisional_Reviews_of_Fatal_Collisions/RSA%20Provisional%20Review%20of%20Fatalities%2031%20December%202017.pdf
    The vast majority of road deaths are motorists killing motorists – no cyclist and no pedestrian involved in about 75% of road deaths, so one or other motorist is at fault, or indeed both.
    There are a tiny number of road deaths that don’t involve motorists – I know of two or three such cases where cyclists have died without any motorist involved. There was also the case of the cyclist killed in the Phoenix Park last year when a pedestrian stepped into his path. But those are very much the exception to the rule. The fast majority of road deaths involve motorists.
    prinzeugen wrote: »
    A person jumped of a bridge on the M50 into the path of a truck a few years ago. The death was recorded by the RSA as a road death even although it was suicide. (Coroners verdict was misadventure IIRC). Did the motorist kill them?
    As I said, unless you know the intimate details of EVERY road death in Ireland, cut the crap about motorists being killers.
    I remember one sad case from the Sandyford overpass involving a young lady. You can still see flowers left out there from time to time. I’d be very surprised if the RSA included these as road deaths – do you have a source for this please?
    Or how about we not close roads at all. The rest of us use them for things like visiting sick relations and getting them to hospital for appointments, we use the roads for getting in a few bits of shopping, attending funerals etc etc

You know, things we have to do in life.. none of us view the roads as a toy ora personal playground so why should cyclists ?

Take it off road.
    You have noticed that road closures are very much the exception to the rule, and are as likely to relate to other sports or events, including road races, marathons, triathlons and even road bowling. Any road closures that I’ve seen are well flagged up in advance, so residents have loads of opportunities to change their route of their schedule. Roads are indeed for everybody, and that’s a double-edged sword. I suppose I shouldn’t have been surprised to see the self-entitlement of drivers around the recent Longitude gigs in Marlay Park when three roads were closed for 60-90 minutes to allow 30k-40k young people exit the venue safely. Idiot drivers in residential estates decided that 11pm at night was a good time to persistently blow their horns to signal their displeasure, until the Gardai had to start dishing out tickets for illegal use of the horn. Such idiots (the drivers, that is)
    This line keeps getting trotted out over and over again ad nauseum and it’s simply untrue in so many cases.

I can understand your desire to have a chat given how boring cycling actually is and have no problem with this behavior on the hard shoulder of the N11 or anywhere else that you’re not obstructing vehicular traffic..

But there are numerous roads in my area where cyclists like to “take the lane” and block the road and you can hear them form the blockade, they actually take delight in doing so. In one case there’s excellent off road cycle lane facilities available but again they choose to block an entire land of vehicular traffic as they haul their fat asses up that hill. As I keep mentioning, I never have a problem with experienced cyclists. Just the slow fat ones wobbling all over the road and being a danger to themselves.

Then I had a moron decide to pass a slow cyclist while climbing windgates, problem is she had zero road awareness and swerved out in front of me. Luckily for her there was no traffic coming at us because I would have kept left given the circumstances and she would have paid the price.

Cyclists were fine until recently but lately there are just too many of them, particularly in large groups, often little to no experience on the road and taking this road hogging business to a new level and in places where it’s inappropriate.

I understand defensive cycling and I get the need for taking the lane but it’s become the default position for all cyclists groups on all roads and that’s not teneable for any road network.
    How did you work out that slow fat wobbling cyclists are not experienced? Wobbling is often a result of road conditions or wind gusts. I’m a very experienced cyclist, but I’m still slow on hills, and yeah, I’m a bit fat, though a lot less so than I would be without cycling. So once again, you’re jumping to false conclusions to suit your personal prejudices
    Patww79 wrote: »
    How did you work this out? Did you stop and talk to them or what?
    Or how about we not close roads at all. The rest of us use them for things like visiting sick relations and getting them to hospital for appointments, we use the roads for getting in a few bits of shopping, attending funerals etc etc

You know, things we have to do in life.. none of us view the roads as a toy ora personal playground so why should cyclists ?

Take it off road.

This line keeps getting trotted out over and over again ad nauseum and it’s simply untrue in so many cases.

I can understand your desire to have a chat given how boring cycling actually is and have no problem with this behavior on the hard shoulder of the N11 or anywhere else that you’re not obstructing vehicular traffic..

But there are numerous roads in my area where cyclists like to “take the lane” and block the road and you can hear them form the blockade, they actually take delight in doing so. In one case there’s excellent off road cycle lane facilities available but again they choose to block an entire land of vehicular traffic as they haul their fat asses up that hill. As I keep mentioning, I never have a problem with experienced cyclists. Just the slow fat ones wobbling all over the road and being a danger to themselves.

Then I had a moron decide to pass a slow cyclist while climbing windgates, problem is she had zero road awareness and swerved out in front of me. Luckily for her there was no traffic coming at us because I would have kept left given the circumstances and she would have paid the price.

Cyclists were fine until recently but lately there are just too many of them, particularly in large groups, often little to no experience on the road and taking this road hogging business to a new level and in places where it’s inappropriate.

I understand defensive cycling and I get the need for taking the lane but it’s become the default position for all cyclists groups on all roads and that’s not teneable for any road network.

Take it off road.

gctest50 wrote: »
    this sorta thing :
    Do you really want to start swapping YouTube examples? If you do, you can start with the thousands of examples of idiotic and dangerous driving captured on this thread:
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057839970
    Or the idiot who STILL insists on cycling through Portlaoise ticket office and on to the platform. He did it in front of two ticket inspectors just now.

Nothing will ever be done, I've tried.
    Welcome back to the thread. I don’t know the station, but it does sound fairly idiotic. Have you thought about lobbying for better access for cyclists to the trains? That might be one creative solution.
    Let’s keep the issue in context though – it’s a bit rude and selfish, but it’s not exactly a capital offence. It is no more rude and selfish than those who smoke on the platform forcing others to breathe their second hand smoke, or those who spit gum, or just spit on the platform. In the overall scheme of things, it is a fairly minor issue.
    The crap you see Andy and co. coming out with about motorists killing cyclists is very deliberate language to demonise drivers. Nobody sets out on their drive with the intention of killing anyone. The stance taken by this type of cyclist is designed to antagonise motorists and shut down any conciliatory discussion. In other words: the usual bullshlte.

I'm a motorist. I've huge mileage under my belt. I've never killed a cyclist. Therefore motorists never kill cyclists. Makes about as much sense as the stuff they come out with.
    You’re right, insofar as the language chosen is indeed very deliberate. It’s time for motorists to start taking responsibility for the death toll on the roads. But why do you need to exaggerate with your ‘intention of killing anyone’. I never mentioned intention. No-one does indeed set out with the intention of killing, but the car accelerator doesn’t work itself, and the mobile phone doesn’t jump out of the glove compartment into the driver’s hard. These are indeed deliberate, intended actions, done without a thought to their responsibility to control the several tonnes of lethal equipment that they are responsible for.
    Here's another view: cycling is dangerous. It get's 3-4 people killed every week. It should be banned.
    The main problem with your stated ‘view’ is that it is factually untrue, with zero evidence to support it – unlike each of my factual statements.
    P_1 wrote: »
    And tag the likes of Sticky Bottle, I Bike Dublin et al in it if you put it up on Twitter. Gobshiites like that who give the rest of us a bad name need to be named and shamed. I'm sick and tired of asshole cyclists being used as a stick to beat the rest of us up with
    How does this ‘bad name’ thing work? Do the asshole drivers shown in this thread give the rest of us drivers a bad name?
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057839970
    P_1 wrote: »
    Agreed. Calm, rational and educational discourse (on both sides) is needed. Yes cars can cause more damage but shrilly shouting "murderer" at people isn't going to solve this mess.
    Just a slight clarification – no-one shouted ‘murderer’. Could you not find anything in what I actually said that you could argue with?
    Dangerous indeed – taking back bike lanes for bikes is a huge threat to the self-entitled ‘just for ten minutes’ drivers who endanger and inconvenience cyclists all the time.
    Who do you think owns the roads, Pat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Internet Friend

MarkY91 wrote: »
    I cycle on a regular basis. Don't drive at all. And even I think those lycra wearing cyclists holding up traffic are feckin eejits.

Getting a bus to enniskerry to powerscourt, two cyclists kitted out in their Lance Armstrong wannabe clothing cycling too far out on the road so the bus couldn't pass it for a good couple of minutes.

Well done lads holding a whole bus up because you don't move a couple of feet closer to the edge of the road.

If the bus couldn't safely pass 2 cyclists cycling abreast for a couple of minutes I'd highly doubt the bus could safely pass 2 cyclists in single file either.

Also, really not sure any self respecting cyclist would aspire to be Lance Armstrong :rolleyes:

In most cases, it means they get to the back of the next queue of cars 10 seconds earlier. Then they sit in the queue, just as they would have done if they hadn't passed the cyclist.

Then the cyclist filters past them on the left as they wait in the queue.

But yeah, bloodycyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

I bet those 2 minutes were life changing for you...and it's not like the bus was holding up anyone during any point in the journey...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

What is it that people don’t understand about that being unsafe? Two abreast they are taking up as much room as a car. So the bus should overtake them like one. What’s the problem? I genuinely don’t know why this is difficult to understand.

You talking about the R760? not exactly wide is it?*

*and I won't mention the solid white line

https://goo.gl/maps/pTKLT5i6MWy

dense wrote: »
    Is it? I'm a motorist and cylist.
    I cycle with a partner and try to go single file because you feel like you're antagonising motorists by staying 2 abreast.
    Do you worry about antagonising cyclists when you're driving in heavy urban traffic? Do you pull over and let them through? Or do you perhaps avoid driving a single-occupancy vehicle, wasting vast amounts of road space in the first place?

Your personal subservience approach is your own personal choice, but I've no idea why you'd expect others to show the same lack of confidence.