What's the obsession middle aged lads have with cycling?

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

****ing lol. If you're going to make up BS stories you could at least make them slightly believable.

Knocking down child - plausible
    Mowing child down and riding over them cartoon style - just no.

Considering I was once sent flying over my handlebars by a jack russell terrier than ran out in to my front wheel, unless the child in question was a newborn there's no way yer man cycled over him without coming off the bike.

Jesus christ.

Right along their spine. 100% true. He had a wobble but stayed on the bike. The child was walking along the footpath just like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,640 ✭✭✭Cordell

Hurrache wrote: »
    I'm constantly amazed at the number of males that happen to be members of boards.ie who have a fascination with older men wearing tight clothing. Are you guys closeted?

No, if we were we would be asking for more men in lycra, not less!
    On the other hand, the crowd seeing no issue with men in lycra may have to ask themselves some questions ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Thank you! I am all too aware that it is a minority but it does happen.

I'm having a few mobility issues at the minute - not mad serious but I have to take care walking - and it's terrifying to see a cyclist coming towards you on a pavement!

Saying it never happens, openly mocking someone's accounts and playing the "but cars are worse" card will never achieve anything.

Pedal safe P_1!!

Get better soon, recently had my own mobility issues after a wee spill on the bike and it was quite the eyeopener.

Look at the end of the day a twat is gonna be a twat, be it on a bike, in a car or even walking down the road.

The us v them nonsense serves no purpose other than adding fuel to the fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,535 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Cordell wrote: »
    No, if we were we would be asking for more men in lycra, not less!
    On the other hand, the crowd seeing no issue with men in lycra may have to ask themselves some questions ;)

Cycling gear is fine, but these Mankini's should be banned! :)

https://www.thecostumeshop.ie/costumes/borat-mankini.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Silent Running

I drive mostly on windy country roads with solid white centre lines for many kilometres. Just last week I came up behind this guy on a bike and stayed back a bit, as we were approaching a blind bend. When he got far enough into the bend to see round, he beckoned me to pass. I nearly fell out of the open window. I was gobsmacked. In many, many years of driving, this was the first act of courtesy I have ever experienced from a cyclist.

After I passed, I gave him a quick flick of the hazards in thanks and he lifted a hand in return. The warm fuzzy feeling stayed with me for a while.

We can all get along on the road, but it's literally and figuratively a two way street. Some time ago, I read a comment from a cyclist on this forum. The topic was something like road positioning or similar. He said he never gives an inch on the road, "not an inch" for emphasis. As a driver, I give an inch, foot, yard or whatever it takes to be safe, or courteous, or both!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

there's quite a simple way to answer the 'why the lycra?' question.
    i usually offer anyone asking the choice. i will go out cycling for two hours in this heat, once wearing a cotton t-shirt, and then again wearing a dedicated cycling top. the questioner then has the choice of which top they will then put on after i've worn it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭aroundthehouse

Balanadan wrote: »
    I don't go into a cafe or a shop after I've been to the gym. I'd shower and change first.

cyclists seem to think its ok to swarm the doorways of cafes and petrol stations and make life difficult for other patrons, plus they seem to think that just because they are wearing cycling gear that they can fart the place up, i dread being stuck in a queue behind a cyclist because they just stink the place up with fart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I don't get the disbelief ??

http://www.thejournal.ie/woman-critical-collision-cyclist-3920019-Mar2018/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Jqtu4bqv-Q

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/young-woman-knocked-down-cyclist-12943045

The last one concerns me as I cross O'Connell St twice daily and the rules of the road are roundly ignored.

Plus the many interactions resulting in near misses, or the bruised a**e I had from the eejit going over the Millennium Bridge like it was the last stage of the Tour de France and me falling to get out of the way.

I'm not saying all cyclists are like this but I am very tired of the constant victim complex cyclists seem to have - some of ye are morons. Some drivers are morons but I've yet to see a Volkswagen drive at me on a tram platform!!!

That’s big of you.

I’d take a bike cycling at me on a tram platform any day over a two tonne vehicle. Cyclists can of course cause injury and death but to the extent a car can? Nah.

shakeitoff wrote: »
    It's a certain type of cyclist btw, not all them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,397 ✭✭✭✭dahat

cyclists seem to think its ok to swarm the doorways of cafes and petrol stations and make life difficult for other patrons, plus they seem to think that just because they are wearing cycling gear that they can fart the place up, i dread being stuck in a queue behind a cyclist because they just stink the place up with fart

Is a cyclists money any different to yours?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Perverts, the lot of them. Utter perverts.

dahat wrote: »
    Is a cyclists money any different to yours?

it is when it comes from a person who stinks the place up with fart, you must consider other patrons when using services

Folk wearing non lycra stink up many a place.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

The last thing a cyclist is going to do is fart after stopping. After all that movement, you just can't take the risk unless you are sitting on a jacks.

Folk wearing non lycra stink up many a place.

not in large groups, if a bunch of travelers came into a shop and all started blocking the doorway and farting in peoples faces i bet you would have something to say about that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

That's a cycling thing. We deliberately end our cycle by choosing a cafe, dismount and huddle by the door having spent three hours on the saddle thinking up ingenious ways to piss off cafe dwellers. We always choose going with buying a coffee and sitting down to enjoy it which bizarrely pisses off people no end.

One time one of the lads just met us there in normal clothes and tried the same thing but it wasn't half as effective.

not in large groups, if a bunch of travelers came into a shop and all started blocking the doorway and farting in peoples faces i bet you would have something to say about that

Nope, and if I did have an issue I'd leave and go elsewhere.

If you choose to spend your money in a place riddled with fart smell then it's a poor choice by you.

That's a cycling thing. We deliberately end our cycle by choosing a cafe, dismount and huddle by the door having spent three hours on the saddle thinking up ingenious ways to piss off cafe dwellers. We always choose going with buying a coffee and sitting down to enjoy it which bizarrely pisses off people no end.

One time one of the lads just met us there in normal clothes and tried the same thing but it wasn't half as effective.

look, all i'm saying is consideration has to be given for other road and service users

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I was talking to a guy that owns and runs a mobile coffee shop. His best business is from these gangs/hoards/murders of cyclists, without them, he wouldn't have a sustainable business.

Nope, and if I did have an issue I'd leave and go elsewhere.

If you choose to spend your money in a place riddled with fart smell then it's a poor choice by you.

but they are everywhere, you try going for a coffee at 10am on a saturday morning and not run into a swarm of cyclists stinking the place up

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I was talking to a guy that owns and runs a mobile coffee shop. His best business is from these gangs/hoards/murders of cyclists, without them, he wouldn't have a sustainable business.

a mobile coffee shop is ideal for cyclists, they are out in the fresh air so no fart smell and no doorway to block, everyones a winner here

but they are everywhere, you try going for a coffee at 10am on a saturday morning and not run into a swarm of cyclists stinking the place up

Lazy on your part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

look, all i'm saying is consideration has to be given for other road and service users

How?

Lazy on your part.

ah now, so i'm supposed to go driving around just because a bunch of cyclists decide to block the doorway of my local service station?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Somebody has a scat fixation...

How?

maybe go into a cafe or service station in single file, 2 at a time etc, just consider other people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,535 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Agree...nothing worse than arriving at a cafe, your tired and all you want is a coffee and to sit down and the place is full of old dears sitting at tables with empty coffee cups and dirty plates! if your finished your coffee, get up and leave! (And don't get me started on kids screaming and running around the place unsupervised!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,946 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

You smell of dogs after driving around with them in your car.

a mobile coffee shop is ideal for cyclists, they are out in the fresh air so no fart smell and no doorway to block, everyones a winner here

What about if non mobile coffee shops rely on the income from groups of cyclists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I do 20 mile (pretty flat) loop about every second weekend wearing tracksuit bottoms, runners and a t-shirt.

However if you're seriously into it and doing 80-100 mile runs on a regular basis then you have to be kitted out in the correct gear.

You'll die a death out there otherwise.