Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donegal GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,503 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Hopefully it's just a dead arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,377 ✭✭✭doc_17

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    Hopefully it's just a dead arm.

I’ve honestly never heard of a player going off with a dead arm before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Alvin Holler

But O'Donnell doesn't start.

Same team as last week.

I think this was the winning of the game for us. Naming the most unlikely member of the squad as a starter but then going with an unchanged team. Roscommon mustn't had a clue what was going on.

Happy with yesterday's performance, plenty of errors but thought the attitude was great with plenty of support play. When we can win enough ball in midfield ball to leave Murphy inside, it makes such a difference.

It's great to see Reilly back but that's offset by the loss of Ban. Presume it's a dislocated shoulder.

doc_17 wrote:
    I’ve honestly never heard of a player going off with a dead arm before.

I was messing hiy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Redsoxfan wrote:
    If Colm Cavanagh is hobbled, it will make life even more difficult for Throne.

Good call.

For the sake of discussion if we take a win against Roscommon for Dublin as a given

That would put Dublin top and Roscommon bottom.

So we'd have Tyrone and Donegal at 2nd and 3rd looking for one spot to go through so it's all about the head to head and points for and against etc won't matter, so it's winner takes all for Donegal / Tyrone is that the case? as it's just two teams, Donegal could win by a point and go through even though they'd be level on points with Tyrone but behind on scores?

Is that the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Stoner wrote: »
    Good call.

For the sake of discussion if we take a win against Roscommon for Dublin as a given

So we'd have Tyrone and Donegal at 2nd and 3rd looking for one spot to go through so it's all about the head to head and points for and against etc won't matter, so it's winner takes all for Donegal / Tyrone is that the case? as it's just two teams, Donegal could win by a point and go through even though they'd be level on points with Tyrone but behind on scores?

Is that the case?

Yep.

It’s going to be a war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Stoner wrote: »
    Good call.

Is that the case?

It's winner takes all. Unless it is a draw and it goes to point difference which would put Mickey's side through. Whichever side wins will have 4 points so be straightforward. Only issue then would be if Rossies beat Dublin and it goes to points difference to decide seeding for the semis.

Will be some game. Super 8s starting to earn its salt!

DSH reporting that the Ban injury is elbow rather than shoulder. So that's not the worst news. August Bank Holiday could be too soon for him either way.

Did what we needed to do last night, but it wasn't enough. A draw now will send Throne into the semi finals. Remember Mayo in the league? The game felt more like a 4th round Qualifier than a Super 8 game to be honest. Roscommon probably close enough to some of the opposition we faced in Ulster.

We were fairly conservative with our kick outs last night. Could be any number of reasons for that I suppose. Guaranteed possession. Made life easier for Patton. Lack of faith in our midfield. Anyway, it was fine. They were a complete shambles on their own kick-out. We pressed well and generally competed well for the breaks. Seemed we tried to punch nearly everything, which can be a bit of a lottery. Langan made a great fetch late in the 1st half. More of that please.

I was wrong about Michael. Played much further forward for far longer than I thought likely. Speaks to the standard of the opposition. We tried some long balls in on top of him, but that's not the way to play him anymore. He thrived when we delivered ball in front of him. Too much being made of his performance last night - yes, it was very good, but Jebus, we will get nothing like that space against Throne. I hope he plays further forward all the same. Leave the ball handling to others.

It's like Neil McGee has a voodoo doll for each of the Donegal full back line. Stephen McMenamin would need to watch himself the next day. Great to see the Ram back to his best. Again, not expecting this to continue against better opposition.

Jamie B is struggling a wee bit. Needs to convert more of the opportunities he gets. Would be also good to see him show a dummy move every now and then.

Some lovely scores from MacNiallais. Have thought for a while he would be better suited to playing further forward. The fact he kicked one with his right was great to see - give defenders something to think about.

My big fear is that we are not playing at the same level as Throne. They did to Roscommon what we couldn't and will come out of last night buzzing with the belief they can mix it with the Champions. We have played the last two games at a lower level of intensity. Maybe we can really lift if for Ballybofey, but I'd be a wee bit concerned it could turn out like last summer.

I assume Doherty will mark Peter Harte, as he has picked up Kilkenny and Enda Smith in the last two games. If EB is fit, I guess he will take Sludden? I would like to see us push up on Frank Burns and throw him off his stride. Not sure who might fill that role.

Losing EB on top of Paddy would be huge. Two lads having All Star standard seasons. We have lads that can do a decent job in place of EB going forward but we'll miss his defensive ability. Paddy probably would have scored 10 points last night. For all the good things he does, Jamie is not at that level and for all his ability, neither is Niall O'Donnell.

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Only issue then would be if Rossies beat Dublin and it goes to points difference to decide seeding for the semis.

Tempted to report this for trolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭raiders11

Tickets got today, roll on the 5th :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,683 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Handy win, even though we were a bit sluggish to start. When we made them kick long to midfield by covering the short kick out we took over and outscored them 8 points to 2 for the last 20 mins of the first half the game was over. Should have been more. Jamie Brennan didn`t have a great day at the office.Michael Murphy was magnificent.Looked like he was really annoyed with himself for getting caught in two mind over a fisted point or goal and lost control of the ball. Really stormed into it after that. McNiallais being used further forward showed what he is capable off. A couple of his points were outstanding and his shot on goal that came off the post was a bullet.
    Frank again conducted the orchestra to great effect and great to see the bite back in all its glory from McGee. Good to see Patton didn`t carry over any worries from the Dublin game. Overall than that a good performance for all involved even if the intensity dropped off a bit around the middle 2nd half, but they game was won at that stage so no great quibble there. Eamonn Doherty deserves a special mention. He has kept both Kilkenny and Smith quiet in the last two, and like Redsoxfan I presume he will pick up Harte next day out. Same again from him will go a long way to help in the next one.
    The only negatives I would have, with the proviso that after a twenty minute spell we had this game in the bag, the overall performance would not be good enough next day out. Plus Ban Gallagher would be a huge loss. Looked like elbow to me when he was coming off.
    Second half when our centre back was pulled out of there nobody filled the hole and we stood off a few times in the half back line allowing Roscommon to look up or given time to get a shot of. We cannot afford to do either with the neighbours. After his performance there will be calls to put Murphy in at full and leave him there. That would be playing into their hands imo. They will just plant Cavanagh in front of him.There were a few balls hit long by Patton in the 2nd half that we either didn`t know were coming, or we weren`t alert to that we made hay on against Down. Perhaps an idea for the next day.
    I hope someone had a word with the groundsman in Ballybofey to shave the grass around the middle. McGuinnes messed up Morgan`s frees a few years back by doing it, and Beggan had tha same problem against Fermanagh in Omagh. Looks as if from used to kicking of the tee, keepers need a bit of grass when it comes to free kicks. Going to be a tough one. That last 10 minutes in Omagh will have bouyed them up where a 6 point loss would have knocked a bit of wind out off them. Still, great year so far. One game away from a semi at this stage I would have taken with open arms before a ball was kicked.

Just as an aside.
    I hope we get a better level of officials than we did Saturday night. That linesman from Galway (Molloy?) on the stand side during the first half was atrocious. He didn`t even know the rule on kick-outs, even if he did miss a clear free to Roscommon end of the first half that got McStay all hot and bothered.
    Not good enough at intermediate club level let alone at All Ireland Q/F level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Alvin Holler

My understanding of the rules is that a linesman can only bring the referees attention to foul play during a break in play. So there isn't much he can do if he sees a foul, pick up off the ground etc. if the referee misses it.

So McStay lost the plot expecting the linesman to do something he couldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Tempted to report this for trolling.

Ah lighten up. It is straightforward. I could be playing for Dublin against Ros and they would still win.

Tyrone/Donegal is going to be a huge game. Winner goes into the semi finals.

My understanding of the rules is that a linesman can only bring the referees attention to foul play during a break in play. So there isn't much he can do if he sees a foul, pick up off the ground etc. if the referee misses it.

So McStay lost the plot expecting the linesman to do something he couldn't.

Then he should have had a word in the first half.

At least two Roscommon kick out went to Roscommon players inside their own 20 meter line.

So no Eoghan Ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Don2012

So no Eoghan Ban.

Another blow..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

I don't think anyone could accuse Declan of being a lucky manager...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭boxer.fan

I wouldn't be too stressed about the lads getting injured for the rest of the season. Its been a great championship for us whatever happens. I was certainly expecting us to get a complete hiding eventually & it hasn't happened yet. We are coming from quite a low base however the lads have proven that they were punching way below their weight for a few years.
    There's a lot to like about this current setup & hopefully the progress is incremental for another couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,707 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Joe McQuillan ! Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Minister Boyce

Joe McQuillan ! Why?

Because every party needs a pooper

Ref in 2011 Ulster Semi Final - Joe
    Ref in 2013 Ulster Championship Quarter Final - Joe
    Ref in 2015 Ulster Championship Quarter Final - Joe

All Donegal wins over Throne.

Dublin Donegal Joe

Loves the sound of that whistle of his does Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Have to say I’m not very confident. With Paddy and Eoghan Ban - would expect to take them out.

Ballybofey gives us a fighting chance of course but I just think Tyrone have been operating at a higher level than us for the past few games, are too well organized, too powerful and too direct for us at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭MactheKnife90

Any tickets lads no?? Been flat out with work at the minute and just completely didn't sort it out

I hear what you're saying Nidge. My biggest fear would be that Declan goes back to previous tactics rather than sticking with the break in style from the last few seasons. I think if we play with belief and a positive attitude we can certainly match Tyrone so I hope we don't pay them too much respect and that we really get at them.

Let's be honest. We have beaten nothing in this Championship. It's great that we are Ulster Champions again, but questions will linger if we ship a hammering this weekend.

Losing Paddy was bad enough in that it took away a key advantage we held over Throne - a top class inside forward and reliable free taker to boot. Someone Mickey Harte might change his beliefs to get hold of.

Then we lose Eoghan Ban. A fine defender and a good attacker. Someone who might have picked up one of their key danger men in Sludden. Now, if he is replaced by Neil McGee, that isn't anything like a direct replacement. But Neil might enjoy getting to grips with Richie Donnelly and Stephen McMenamin will shift over to take the place of EB. I guess.

We can't afford to underperform on Sunday. We are playing at home, against a 'top team' and have the chance to go to an All Ireland Semi Final! When will we get that chance again? Who knows what way the draw will play out next year or how long this format will last. We gotta grab this by the bollix! On top of that, wouldn't you love a crack at Galway or MONAGHAN in an All Ireland Semi Final?

Come Donegal, we can win this too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭babybuilder

I agree that we will have to play out of our skins on Sunday, at a level that we haven't played all year. This is a real test. I felt the same way with the mayo match earlier in the year. Then I felt a draw was the most likely result and on Sunday unfortunately a repeat won't be good enough.

An good start is vital and getting in at half time two or three points up. Tyrone will drive at us early in the second half and how we respond to this pressure will determine our fate; keeping goals out and keeping the scoreboard ticking over with our attacks whenever they happen.
    If we can be ahead into the last ten you never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭raiders11

Let's be honest. We have beaten nothing in this Championship. It's great that we are Ulster Champions again, but questions will linger if we ship a hammering this weekend.

Losing Paddy was bad enough in that it took away a key advantage we held over Throne - a top class inside forward and reliable free taker to boot. Someone Mickey Harte might change his beliefs to get hold of.

Then we lose Eoghan Ban. A fine defender and a good attacker. Someone who might have picked up one of their key danger men in Sludden. Now, if he is replaced by Neil McGee, that isn't anything like a direct replacement. But Neil might enjoy getting to grips with Richie Donnelly and Stephen McMenamin will shift over to take the place of EB. I guess.

We can't afford to underperform on Sunday. We are playing at home, against a 'top team' and have the chance to go to an All Ireland Semi Final! When will we get that chance again? Who knows what way the draw will play out next year or how long this format will last. We gotta grab this by the bollix! On top of that, wouldn't you love a crack at Galway or MONAGHAN in an All Ireland Semi Final?

Come Donegal, we can win this too!

Hope your pools prediction is tempting fate :)

I do think it's a tough ask, were missing 2 lads, who were probable All Stars, for this game, not many teams bar Dublin could afford that loss.

It's doable though and cannot wait to get to Ballybofey for few bevvies n soak up the atmosphere of the good old days before back door came in, all or nothing..

Tirchonaill Abu

Gillespie might be a surprise inclusion on Sunday, went very well in a recent club match apparently. Can't wait for Sunday now, as RSF said, a de facto quarter final in your own back yard, that's the stuff of dreams. If some lads aren't cramping up at the end of this match they haven't tried hard enough!