Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,747 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Mooooo wrote: »
    I assume you'd want to have planning etc sorted prior to applying for it
    I am not sure for the milking parlour equipment is planning needed for that. I went for full planning, planner rang me today , I got it. Have to wait 28 days to see that no one objects . I posted before about a lad doing a whole new build- a new entrant- not going for planning at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

whelan2 wrote: »
    Will go for grant on the dairy equipment. Plan is to do the cubicle shed first then parlour. Otherwise wait 4 years for young lad to finish college and get young farmer grants. Don't want to tie him down and don't want to wait that long either. :)

Only needs to be enrolled and finishing within 36 months to apply for young farmer grant I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Mooooo wrote:
    I assume you'd want to have planning etc sorted prior to applying for it

Existing shed no planning for myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,670 ✭✭✭straight

One must admit it's nice to see the lads with the wet ground winning for once. They definitely deserved some break up in the north west and so on. Still no fecking rain here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭danjoe

Yeah ya have a year from the time you're approved.

True, but you can get a 6 months extension to complete a job also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Oats would be more digestible forage than barley

Neighbouring farmers in Canterbury NZ were grazing oats in the springtime with replacements or ewes and lambs. Unfortunatly none of us ever got into the nitty gritty with the farmers about the detail of growing and feeding, but we assumed it was obviously winter barley. Might be of some use to ye, we had a bad winter with floods etc and a cold spring last year in nz (i thought it was great weather) but we cant compare everytging with new zealand ye all know what yere willing to try on yere own farms

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,389 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Neighbouring farmers in Canterbury NZ were grazing oats in the springtime with replacements or ewes and lambs. Unfortunatly none of us ever got into the nitty gritty with the farmers about the detail of growing and feeding, but we assumed it was obviously winter barley. Might be of some use to ye, we had a bad winter with floods etc and a cold spring last year in nz (i thought it was great weather) but we cant compare everytging with new zealand ye all know what yere willing to try on yere own farms

They're bigger into that sort of thing in that part of the world. Obviously more used to droughts and have the barley and oats selected to fill the grazing gaps of ryegrass.

http://pasturegenetics.com/seed/moby-forage-barley/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

alps wrote: »
    And in general dairy farmers are not supported by payments for something they did 20 years ago....(hide)

New age dairy farmers may be...(definitely hide)

I've been looking for a job description for a while now and I reckon you've nailed it Alps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,092 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Grazing/cutting cereals very common all over the world for well over 1000 years, just one of those things that's been forgotten about here
    /

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Those of ye drying autumn calvers may be no harm to do for fluke. The reactor that went to the factory first had active fluke according to factory docket

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Grazing/cutting cereals very common all over the world for well over 1000 years, just one of those things that's been forgotten about here
    /
    Check out "12aprils" on yiutube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Are any of ye using Eprizero on dairy cows. Got my herd health results and cows are high in stomach worms...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

straight wrote: »
    Are any of ye using Eprizero on dairy cows. Got my herd health results and cows are high in stomach worms...

What does herd health test consists of,?

Snowfire wrote: »
    What does herd health test consists of,?

Munster AI test 4 bulk milk samples per year for me and report back with disease levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

1st cut aftergrass, 55days later! Do I graze or not now?

Timmaay wrote: »

Clean it off and fertilize for the rain

Grazing mine anyway, cover only grazing height anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Grazing mine anyway, cover only grazing height anyway

Grazing height, lucky you! Photo didn't attach, cover of about 500 max on it.

Big squares tomorrow afternoon...€40/bale collected.

Grazing height, lucky you! Photo didn't attach, cover of about 500 max on it.

Cover of about 1200 on mine, with higher dm% than normal I hope. cut June 3rd. a bit stemmy but better than anything on grazing block. There by day and a bit silage and whatever grass they can eat by night. If this rain comes wed and and it makes any difference will prob have to go in with silage harder for the week or 2 till grass improves as they prob won't be happy when it's wet

Stick a sail into them and send em up by sea to west cork, make a change from the bales of cocaine

Lol.
    Probably more profitable too.

Not westershyte and not redstart.

However there’s sorghum in the mix. I think I mixed up sorghum and phacelia...

Planted 3weeks on Thursday next.

The dawg is not a dachshund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Burning Tires

A lot of people over on twitter got very animated about this article, but it had some good points that some found was too close to the bone.
    Agri lands response to question was very childish tho, and insulting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Burning Tires

Lol.
    Probably more profitable too.

Jesus, I'd take a chance on the bale of cocaine to be honest. I'm sure I'd find a buyer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

A lot of people over on twitter got very animated about this article, but it had some good points that some found was too close to the bone.
    Agri lands response to question was very childish tho, and insulting.
    Finally someone calling the dairy hype as it is.not everyone is suited to milking cows.it would be a bit like me converting to tillage when I haven't a bulls notion about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

boggerman1 wrote: »
    Finally someone calling the dairy hype as it is.not everyone is suited to milking cows.it would be a bit like me converting to tillage when I haven't a bulls notion about it.

I actually thought it was a good article ,bit close to the bone and few truths in it for some alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

boggerman1 wrote: »

Agriland write this nonsense all the time to generate traffic on their site. People should just ignore it they are delighted to get a reaction.
    The idea that everyone is getting into dairy is nonsense. Dairy farm numbers are predicted to slightly decline over coming years. But sure don't let the truth get in the way of a story.
    A lot of new entrants got in to milk after thinking long and hard about it, they didn't read an article and decide milking was easy.
    The commercial reality is that only dairying offers the chance to farm full time on a typical irish farm. That's not changing anytime soon.
    Also the idea you need to be brought up milking cows to be good at it is ridiculous. Some of the worst farmers I know are milking cows all their lives, a new entrant with an open mind would buy and sell them in a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

What price is straw over with you ? Bed 100 cows on straw here and looking like it's going to be very hard found