If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

I've SWITCHed! - General discussion - WARNING IN POST 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭iamtony

Mr E wrote: »
    Ganón. :o

Just stick a faddah in it íl be grand:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,442 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

"Féach!" arsa Navi arís. Tá pian i mo liathróidí le Navi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Fadó, Fadó...

tumblr_mvwt6fZmD21scstdro2_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,390 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

All I thought reading that was
    "Bouli Bouli!"

Star Lord wrote: »
    Fadó, Fadó...

tumblr_mvwt6fZmD21scstdro2_500.gif
    Hahaha brilliant.

CastorTroy wrote: »
    All I thought reading that was
    "Bouli Bouli!"

Tá far an sneachta?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,997 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

Fear sneachta bán,
    hata ar a ceann...

there's an idea for Nintendo's next IP.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

The_B_Man wrote: »
    Fear sneachta bán,
    hata ar a ceann...

there's an idea for Nintendo's next IP.

Bouili!

Hmm, I wonder...

A dark and twisted adult adventure featuring an Irish speaking snowman who is a cop on the edge, who does't obey the rules, and of the dangerous women he loves....

Yeah, I'd probably play that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭fixXxer

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Bouili!

Hmm, I wonder...

A dark and twisted adult adventure featuring an Irish speaking snowman who is a cop on the edge, who does't obey the rules, and of the dangerous women he loves....

Yeah, I'd probably play that...

Or just re-skin Gal*Gun 2.

Poor ladies in danger of burning up in the great heatwave of 2018. The only thing that can save them is Boulí and his cooling white..... snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭rejkin

Has anyone managed to set up an account to buy from the Mexican eshop?
    Prices are way cheaper on it.
    I've set up a Mexican account and have it on my switch and can see the Mexican e shop but not sure how to put in funds.
    Would revolut work if I linked it to the account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

I think someone said they created a Mexican paypal account, linked Revolut to that and then connected the paypal account to their Mexican eShop account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Logic

Just purchased the Switch after debating so many times over the past few months or so. Got it from eBay with 20% off so forgive me in the coming days if I ask some stupid questions about the console. Hopefully mine will arrive early next week that I can get some time to play it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Irish Halo wrote: »
    I think someone said they created a Mexican paypal account, linked Revolut to that and then connected the paypal account to their Mexican eShop account.

Me! It's actually my AIB debit that's linked. I assume you could also send funds free from one paypal account (ie) to another (mx).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭rejkin

sweetie wrote: »
    Irish Halo wrote: »

Me! It's actually my AIB debit that's linked. I assume you could also send funds free from one paypal account (ie) to another (mx).

I saw a guide where they said you need to create the Mexican PayPal account and the Mexican Nintendo account on the same email address? Is that what you did? I don't see how that matters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

Just purchased the Switch after debating so many times over the past few months or so... Hopefully mine will arrive early next week that I can get some time to play it.

Welcome to the club!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭jaxxx

I'm debating getting a Switch. I don't really care for all it's unique 'mobility' selling points, it's literally gonna be the same as any other console I've ever owned, i.e. plonked in front of the telly with me to boot! I kinda miss playing Mario Kart..... Lol that's why I want it. But there are a good few other games I'm interested in as well. Anyone know of the best value going around at the moment?

Smyths have console + Mario Kart for €370, saving of €15 (it's hilarious, Smyth's price for MK new is the same as Gamestop's preowned... Good thing I never buy games from Gamestop anymore!). Console alone is €330 seemingly everywhere (Smyths, Argos, Gamestop).

Anyone have the Pro controller or the wired controller? If I'm buying it I'd want a controller but the Pro is double the price of the wired?? No way in hell is that worth it.

jaxxx wrote: »
    I'm debating getting a Switch. I don't really care for all it's unique 'mobility' selling points, it's literally gonna be the same as any other console I've ever owned, i.e. plonked in front of the telly with me to boot! I kinda miss playing Mario Kart..... Lol that's why I want it. But there are a good few other games I'm interested in as well. Anyone know of the best value going around at the moment?

Smyths have console + Mario Kart for €370, saving of €15 (it's hilarious, Smyth's price for MK new is the same as Gamestop's preowned... Good thing I never buy games from Gamestop anymore!). Console alone is €330 seemingly everywhere (Smyths, Argos, Gamestop).

Anyone have the Pro controller or the wired controller? If I'm buying it I'd want a controller but the Pro is double the price of the wired?? No way in hell is that worth it.
    I wouldn't bother with the pro controller at the very start, it is a lovely controller don't get me wrong but I really like just holding a joycon in easy hand, without the clip on bit. It's really comfy. I rarely use my Pro controller.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

iamtony wrote: »
    I wouldn't bother with the pro controller at the very start, it is a lovely controller don't get me wrong but I really like just holding a joycon in easy hand, without the clip on bit. It's really comfy. I rarely use my Pro controller.

I'm the opposite, I only ever use the pro controller. Shame it's pricey though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

there's some amazon prime deals today if you have prime membership

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Andrew76 wrote: »
    I'm the opposite, I only ever use the pro controller. Shame it's pricey though.

No way in hell could I possibly justify paying that price. Cheapest I've seen it is €70, when there are many wired ones for as little as €25. Then there's Gamestop being the most expensive as per usual (€80 I think I saw on the store earlier).

manual_man wrote: »
    there's some amazon prime deals today if you have prime membership

Literally never used Amazon so that's a nope :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,399 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

No way in hell could I possibly justify paying that price. Cheapest I've seen it is €70, when there are many wired ones for as little as €25. Then there's Gamestop being the most expensive as per usual (€80 I think I saw on the store earlier).

Literally never used Amazon so that's a nope :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

No way in hell could I possibly justify paying that price. Cheapest I've seen it is €70, when there are many wired ones for as little as €25...

I’d hold off on the controller for the moment. The standard wireless controller is my go to, haven’t had any issues with it. It’s comfortable and the battery life is good. Try out the controller that comes with the Switch and see how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Snakeweasel

I got a pro controller as a present and it is a great controller, but the joy cons are perfectly fine to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,340 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Check out the 8bitdo controllers. They are surprisingly nice to use. Wireless and look great. About 30 euro too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I thought I would enjoy my 8bitdo controller more than I do.
    But I did get this
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0795D8WPK/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

And, aside from NFC/Amiibo support it does everything else the Pro Controller does, only other caveat is you can't turn on the console with it, you've to turn the Switch on then hold down the home button on the controller for a a second, other than that it's been pretty great, and cheap.

If you really need another controller I would recommend it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

This is the police is 12 euros in the eshop is it a worthwhile buy?

And what other game would it be like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,667 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

This is the police is 12 euros in the eshop is it a worthwhile buy?

And what other game would it be like?

I thought it got quite poor reviews?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,190 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

How long are ye getting out of the switch undocked? I've been playing ys and it's down to 70 per cent already, does this sound right? It gets very warm to when I play undocked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,667 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

How long are ye getting out of the switch undocked? I've been playing ys and it's down to 70 per cent already, does this sound right? It gets very warm to when I play undocked!

How long have you been playing?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,190 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

TitianGerm wrote: »
    How long have you been playing?

Just over an hour now.