Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,930 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

prawnsambo wrote: »
    It could be a mini Champs-Elysee if it was done right.

Parnell St. is a lot busier than it was 20 years ago (even if efforts could be made to make it slightly more salubrious). Henry St is ridiculously busy. There is definitely an opportunity for OCS to up its game but it will take serious effort by DCC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Too many smoked salmon socialists.

Smoked salmon not hipster enough for you? You prefer the Parma Ham and Avacado variety of socialist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

stephen_n wrote: »
    Smoked salmon not hipster enough for you? You prefer the Parma Ham and Avacado variety of socialist?

The Pear and Bacon Sandwich Socialists only. The rest can feck off.

AK would be proud of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Dublin isn't a dump.

Granted we've a homeless problem, and a serious amount of junkies, but I've been to plenty major cities that are worse. Seattle and SF notably.

I work just off Henry Street, the main issue is that the majority of shops are just absolutely sh1te. There's a lot more coffee shops and restaurants opening around here in the last year or so, but still an awful lot of dodgy phone shops and dealz shops etc.

Absolutely no idea how they can afford the rent on a unit like that because they're ridiculous and tend to be why decent shops stay away from the area because it's almost unsustainable.

They need to stick the clinics out in the sticks, and keep junkies out of the city centre. That's essentially what draws most of them into town. Stick them out somewhere nobody cares about, like Swords. Nobody likes Swords.

Dublin isn't a dump.

Granted we've a homeless problem, and a serious amount of junkies, but I've been to plenty major cities that are worse. Seattle and SF notably.

I work just off Henry Street, the main issue is that the majority of shops are just absolutely sh1te. There's a lot more coffee shops and restaurants opening around here in the last year or so, but still an awful lot of dodgy phone shops and dealz shops etc.

Absolutely no idea how they can afford the rent on a unit like that because they're ridiculous and tend to be why decent shops stay away from the area because it's almost unsustainable.

They need to stick the clinics out in the sticks, and keep junkies out of the city centre. That's essentially what draws most of them into town. Stick them out somewhere nobody cares about, like Swords. Nobody likes Swords.

Let them eat cake hey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

It's filthy!! It was filthy when I left and it's still filthy 35 yrs later. I was down Capel st and Henry st in June and the litter bins where overflowing with **** all over the place.
    I was in Galway 2 days after and it was spotless. A week later in Belfast and it also was spotless.
    The Corpo has not improved. They change the name to city council, but it's the same crap.
    I used to work in O Connell Bridge house many moons ago. There was a pub called the Harp. I didn't go inside but it used to have 6 bars and restaurant etc. The great sports reporter. Con Houlihan used to socialize there. Very decent and knowledgeable sports man. He certainly knew his rugby amongst other things. D'olier st was also filthy. I was very surprised.
    Dublin has attracted lots of major tech companies and the docks have changed drastically over the years. The north docks are under construction still and the south quays appear to be developed. But with all this industry coming into the city and the taxes earned etc, why is the city dirty? It's like times square 30 yrs ago! Very surprising and disappointing.

It's not filthy, people are. Look at the littering along the Grand Canal / Barge as an example. While some places are black spots I don't think it's as bad as you make out.

One relatively recent change that really pissed me off was the re-paving of Grafton St. I understand there was a public liability issue with the red brick, but the new paving is horrendous and makes the place look cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,422 ✭✭✭chupacabra

I used to have a severe dislike of Dublin until I started travelling and realized how disgusting many large cities on continental europe are. Especially in Germany. These days when I go back to Dublin it seems to get nicer and nicer. Homeless/Junkies aside.

I wouldn't say it's filthy at all. I'm only back from Berlin and Amsterdam, both absolutely manky streets. There's street cleaners out every morning and during the day on Talbot Street and O'Connell/Henry Street.

Also New York is possibly the most disgusting city I've ever witnessed. No public bins, bin bags just sitting out on the streets at all times of the day. More junkies than Dublin by tenfold, and they're all extremely aggressive too.

Google fined 4billion by the EU. Apparently about android technology.
    I have a Samsung Galaxy 8 and it's awful. I've always used android phones, but this one is trash. Google will appeal the fine but my phone goes months without updates and is generally a disappointment. I may switch to Apple for the 1st time.
    I haven't been to Germany in years, so I couldn't comment on the cleanliness of the cities.
    But, I am disappointed with Dublin. Maybe compared to a small city like Galway is unfair, but Belfast is a fairly large city and the city center was clean.

3 different violations: bundling Chrome with the OS, offering payments for manufacturers to bundle the Google Search app with handsets, and blocking manufacturers from using their own forked versions of android, like touchwiz.

Samsung phones don't run bonestock Android, they run Samsung's own booter, it generally tends to be worse than Android.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

It's not filthy, people are. Look at the littering along the Grand Canal / Barge as an example. While some places are black spots I don't think it's as bad as you make out.

The barge is dead now. Either in response to safety or litter the crack down has been harsh. Having a pint outside the other day, the manager asked me to move back to the bar becuase the pub was being fined off its feet.

You'll never keep them out of the city centre - it's where they want to be.

Mind you, here the facility is right beside the train station and it works fine - it means people can come in to use it and then leave. Some of the locations in Dublin are not ideal at all.
    One relatively recent change that really pissed me off was the re-paving of Grafton St. I understand there was a public liability issue with the red brick, but the new paving is horrendous and makes the place look cheap.

I don't know if it makes the place look cheap, but it has certainly lost a lot of its character which is a shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭b.gud

Dubinusa wrote: »
    Google fined 4billion by the EU. Apparently about android technology.
    I have a Samsung Galaxy 8 and it's awful. I've always used android phones, but this one is trash. Google will appeal the fine but my phone goes months without updates and is generally a disappointment. I may switch to Apple for the 1st time.
    I haven't been to Germany in years, so I couldn't comment on the cleanliness of the cities.
    But, I am disappointed with Dublin. Maybe compared to a small city like Galway is unfair, but Belfast is a fairly large city and the city center was clean.

This isn't really Googles fault it's Samsungs. Samsung, and pretty much all other manufacturers, have their own OS which is based on Android so when Google releases a new version of Android the manufacturer needs to integrate that with all their own changes which takes a long time and most of them are pretty slow at it. This is the major problem with Android IMO, and one that Google has quite often tried to, and failed to, fix.

If you want an Android phone that gets regular updates you need to buy one directly from Google

• Subscribers Posts: 43,410 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

b.gud wrote: »
    This isn't really Googles fault it's Samsungs. Samsung, and pretty much all other manufacturers, have their own OS which is based on Android so when Google releases a new version of Android the manufacturer needs to integrate that with all their own changes which takes a long time and most of them are pretty slow at it. This is the major problem with Android IMO, and one that Google has quite often tried to, and failed to, fix.

If you want an Android phone that gets regular updates you need to buy one directly from Google

true, the updates of the android OS are generally written for the likes of the nexus and pixels... so they get them first

for example the nexus and pixel have Android 8.1 since last december whereas
    other manufacturers are only rolling it out now.... due to them having to beta test and fix bugs

ive had an android one phone since last october and i wouldnt go back to bloatware filled version of android that you get on the likes of samsung.

I went from an S7/S7 Edge to the OnePlus 6 a couple weeks ago. Absolute world of difference. Oxygen OS is basically just stock Android with a light skin on top of it and regular updates pushed out to it.

But do apple users have similar complaints? I usually go for the ease to use the apps. The easier the navigation the more likely I'll buy the phone.
    I also thought that Samsung and Google were partnered to develop the brand?
    My last one (galaxy 6) was better but expired from old age.

sydthebeat wrote: »
    true, the updates of the android OS are generally written for the likes of the nexus and pixels... so they get them first

for example the nexus and pixel have Android 8.1 since last december whereas
    other manufacturers are only rolling it out now.... due to them having to beta test and fix bugs

ive had an android one phone since last october and i wouldnt go back to bloatware filled version of android that you get on the likes of samsung.

I usually flash my phone with Lineage OS to avoid all the bloatware and give me a greater choice of phones. But that requires a certain level of technological confidence that most phone users don't have, even though if you follow the instructions it's pretty easy.

Dubinusa wrote: »
    But do apple users have similar complaints? I usually go for the ease to use the apps. The easier the navigation the more likely I'll buy the phone.
    I also thought that Samsung and Google were partnered to develop the brand?
    My last one (galaxy 6) was better but expired from old age.

No, they have very different complaints. Apple control both the hardware and the software so you don't have the same issues but their control-freakery has its own downsides.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

b.gud wrote: »
    I usually flash my phone with Lineage OS to avoid all the bloatware and give me a greater choice of phones. But that requires a certain level of technological confidence that most phone users don't have, even though if you follow the instructions it's pretty easy.

Craic with updating this if it's rooted? I've just rooted OxegenOS, but it's a fresh install to get any updates. Pain in the sack.

errlloyd wrote: »
    The barge is dead now. Either in response to safety or litter the crack down has been harsh. Having a pint outside the other day, the manager asked me to move back to the bar becuase the pub was being fined off its feet.

The littering was a disgrace, I can't really blame the crackdown.

dregin wrote: »
    Craic with updating this if it's rooted? I've just rooted OxegenOS, but it's a fresh install to get any updates. Pain in the sack.

If it's rooted you've to do fresh installs of the ROM as well I think, generally tends to be the case for any ROMs other than stock.

dregin wrote: »

All lineage OS updates are OTA. I think every Tuesday they release an update and you just click a button to download and install. I think the only time you'd need to re-root is if you are going up a version of Android i.e. from Nougat to Oreo

Can't understand any of the tech talk. I'm tech illiterate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Talking of phones I'm trying to decide between the S9 and the Huawei P20. I've been a Samsung man since the S3. Maybe time for a change. Anyone have either phone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

bilston wrote: »
    Talking of phones I'm trying to decide between the S9 and the Huawei P20. I've been a Samsung man since the S3. Maybe time for a change. Anyone have either phone?

I'm holding out for the new Google one, which should be out in Sept or Oct. Currently using a OnePlus 5 and it has given me nothing but grief. Terrible phone.

bilston wrote: »

I have the S9 plus and I am a bit of a consumer tech nerd. I love it. The battery could be better, but everything else is amazing. I don't think the battery is necessarily worse than anything else.

Camera is stunning. Iphone users (who have great cameras) are consistently impressed by the quality.

errlloyd wrote: »
    I have the S9 plus and I am a bit of a consumer tech nerd. I love it. The battery could be better, but everything else is amazing. I don't think the battery is necessarily worse than anything else.

Camera is stunning. Iphone users (who have great cameras) are consistently impressed by the quality.

I have the S8 and I despise it. S6 was the last good Samsung. F**king bixby can eat my balls.

Thinking of going android/google with next phone, zero interest in iPhone.

I have the S8 and I despise it. S6 was the last good Samsung. F**king bixby can eat my balls.

Thinking of going android/google with next phone, zero interest in iPhone.

Interesting, I came from the S7 Edge. Whats your big problem with the S8? A lot of my friends have it and really like it.