Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

PARlance wrote: »
    He wasn't having a great game up until that miss either. He did manage one or two breaks though and an incredible catch in the first half.

Was very impressed with certain aspects of that team. The tackling and pressure in the middle third was immense. If I was Kildare I would be looking to get the ball in quick to the FF line, Derry got lots of joy today from it and were finding scores much easier. For all the dominance we had, they shouldn't have been in with a shot.

Thought Brian O Malley did a decent job on Brown all things considered.Never likely to be an easy assignment.

Johnny Maughan added greatly going forward but found himself on the back foot on occasion when one on one.

It was perplexing in the first half why we didn't make better use of the wind in the first half and seemed fixated on walking the ball in.

Derry in the second half shot from distance and utilised the long ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

If you want to be positive, it was an improvement on their last visit...

If Rochford does go, I really do hope that people remember that it's McStay & McHale that are sending a team out like that.

I don't think it would be the end of the world if Rochford stayed on.
    I haven't heard much talk of him stepping aside/mutual agreement outside of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

seligehgit wrote: »
    Thought Brian O Malley did a decent job on Brown all things considered.Never likely to be an easy assignment.

Johnny Maughan added greatly going forward but found himself on the back foot on occasion when one on one.

It was perplexing in the first half why we didn't make better use of the wind in the first half and seemed fixated on walking the ball in.

Derry in the second half shot from distance and utilised the long ball.

He did, I was surprised they left Brown in for so long. Thought we would see him out in midfield for a bit more but he only really ventured at the end.

Moreso than individual performances at the back, I just think they left too much space back there that could be exposed. But that has to be expected if they're crowding out the middle third I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

http://twitter.com/edmcgreal/status/1018414324224839680

That’s a lovely interview. Kildare football could be buzzing altogether if they get out of super 8s . Be no harm tbh for Leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

padd b1975 wrote: »
    I haven't heard much talk of him stepping aside/mutual agreement outside of this thread.

Apparently he was at the U20 match. Obviously he may have just been there as a spectator, but wouldn't be surprised if he's there to see who can be brought through.

The young McLoughlin lad from Westport could be worth a look. I remember him having a great game when Westport won their club medals. Probably needs bulking up but he's quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

Galway beat Kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,840 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

crusier wrote: »
    Galway beat Kerry

And fierce proud of the Galway footballers we are too.hup the tribes and a bonus they killed the duck in Dublin.fair play to the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

And fierce proud of the Galway footballers we are too.hup the tribes and a bonus they killed the duck in Dublin.fair play to the lads.

Indeed, proud day for Connacht lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭ureds

PressRun wrote: »

Apparently he was at the U20 match. Obviously he may have just been there as a spectator, but wouldn't be surprised if he's there to see who can be brought through.

The young McLoughlin lad from Westport could be worth a look. I remember him having a great game when Westport won their club medals. Probably needs bulking up but he's quick.
    I was sat very close to him and he was making plenty of notes during the game.
    Thankfully no one was annoying him either especially as he had a young child with him,I presume his son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

We'll wait until they win a knockout match to kill that old duck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,840 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

We'll wait until they win a knockout match to kill that old duck.

Us Galway lads are done with waiting

ureds wrote: »
    Thankfully no one was annoying him either especially as he had a young child with him,I presume his son.

Not the actions of a man that is stepping down any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭ureds

ureds wrote: »

Exactly what I thought.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

I am guessing that if he was going we would have had an inkling by now .

blinding wrote: »
    I am guessing that if he was going we would have had an inkling by now .

I agree
    Maybe the break will do him good too
    Hopefully get a nice draw on Connacht next year. Basically every championship game under his helm has been a pressurized straight knockout game due to the unkind draw . Stuttering through league every year.
    I’m happy enough for him to stay and have a right crack at it next year if that’s his wish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Beagslife

Tom Parsons was on Today FM this morning.

PressRun wrote: »

He was again excellent yesterday,won MOTM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

km79 wrote: »
    http://twitter.com/edmcgreal/status/1018414324224839680

That’s a lovely interview. Kildare football could be buzzing altogether if they get out of super 8s . Be no harm tbh for Leinster

That is a magnificent interview. The enthusiasm.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Super win for the U20s.
    Some players there who have to get a shoot now in the squad next year. Would be disappointed not to see 4-5 of those make appearances in the league next year. Physically well fit for it.
    One of the best matches I've been at. Two great positive teams who went all out to win.
    The Down ref was bananas though!!

Aug 5th now in Croker, looking forward to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

Galway beat Kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭statto25

crusier wrote: »
    Galway beat Kerry
    Right...... Have you anything further to add?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,553 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

statto25 wrote: »
    Right...... Have you anything further to add?

The phone to inis boffin was probably down all day !!!

Back up and running now lets hope the line don't get clogged up again tonight 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

km79 wrote: »
    I agree
    Maybe the break will do him good too
    Hopefully get a nice draw on Connacht next year. Basically every championship game under his helm has been a pressurized straight knockout game due to the unkind draw . Stuttering through league every year.
    I’m happy enough for him to stay and have a right crack at it next year if that’s his wish

Would it not be better to start afresh new manager new ideas some of the older players to retire and go again in 2/3 yrs times with a fresh new team instead of running the bollox out the old team.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

naughto wrote: »
    Would it not be better to start afresh new manager new ideas some of the older players to retire and go again in 2/3 yrs times with a fresh new team instead of running the bollox out the old team.
    Some of them still have quite good bollox , better bollox that the other options .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

naughto wrote: »

The vast majority of the current panel still have plenty to offer.

And on the evidence of super 8s are still up there with the best

Yep, I definitely think the vast majority can still compete at the highest level. The break was needed to deal with injuries and mental fatigue. I would hope most of the squad will stay on. There's still plenty more they can offer.

Who is the current captain of the U20s btw?

I'd also hope that, along with the current crop of U20s, there might still be one or two from the previous crop? Isn't Akram in the development squad?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Game is scheduled for before the Dub V Rossie game on the 5th, but the tickets are for sale and no sign of our U20 match on it. Odd?

yop wrote: »
    Game is scheduled for before the Dub V Rossie game on the 5th, but the tickets are for sale and no sign of our U20 match on it. Odd?

Jeez I better hold off buying so. Nearly had a pair bought but they were row D so I left them!