Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018 pt3

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I think we will sign three players still.

RW, CB and LB

Where's the keys to the damn tractor?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,452 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Lord TSC wrote: »

RW, CB and LB

tenor.gif?itemid=7862638

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,900 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Lord TSC wrote: »

RW, CB and LB

I don't think United will sign any defenders :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭Cotts72

DM_7 wrote: »
    I don't think United will sign any defenders :(

I think its inevitable, cb for sure lb is debatable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Tippex

astradave wrote: »
    Was a joke ffs Brinty :pac: i have MUTV, I’ve a top quality iptv so why would I spend on BT when I can have every Sky and BT channel plus Italian, German, US, Bein and other sports channels :D

oh astra you do tease us sometimes ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

One world-class centre-forward please.

Not needed IMO. A winger should be priority.
    Or Bale ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Was a joke ffs Brinty :pac: i have MUTV, I’ve a top quality iptv so why would I spend on BT when I can have every Sky and BT channel plus Italian, German, US, Bein and other sports channels :D

You mean you don't have Australian and New zealand and Brazilian and Thai? Jaysus Dave your behind :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,452 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

jayo26 wrote: »
    You mean you don't have Australian and New zealand and Brazilian and Thai? Jaysus Dave your behind :)

I only use the sports on it anyways, cause there is no subtitles on it. football on in this house all the time nearly. OH is a big football fan too so it’s great.

Yeah I'm same my wife loves football and she even watch's golf when there is a big one in so I'm blessed too.

The catchup tv is pretty awesome for her and the soaps too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Shakiri confirmed to Liverpool for 13.5 million. Absolute no brainer at that price. If Klopp can get an increase in work rate from him he'll prove to be a very good signing

He is a good signing for that money but he is back up for them. We need a top class right winger not another one at his level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,307 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

He is a good signing for that money but he is back up for them. We need a top class right winger not another one at his level.

This, a million times this.

A no brainer squad addition. Great pick up for Liverpool. But simply not a player that United should have been in for. We need significantly better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,625 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Shakiri would have been no addition to United,a top class RW is needed not another squad option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Beggars can't be choosers comes to mind.

The state our right side is in, we should definitely have been in for Shaqiri. Even if he turned out to be a disaster, it would've been only a £13 million disaster.

There was probably people last summer thinking "Nah, we can do better than Salah at right mid." too. I might've been one of them, can't remember. Obsession with top class/marquee signings isn't the way to go about things, we should realise that by now. Shaqiri would've been a solid stab at solving the right side issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,083 ✭✭✭✭adox

Shaqiri along with Maguire just aren’t the standard of player Utd need.

It’s really time to stop fûcking around with signings and get some first team quality in.

What’s the point in signing a bargain when really we need to be building a team to challenge for titles?

Also “marquee signings”. Well yes please from me if that means top tier players coming in.

I’m fed up with mediocrity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,557 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

What IPTV do you use? The lad I used last year is finished so need a new service for this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,854 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

J. Marston wrote: »

The state our right side is in, we should definitely have been in for Shaqiri. Even if he turned out to be a disaster, it would've been only a £13 million disaster.

There was probably people last summer thinking "Nah, we can do better than Salah at right mid." too. I might've been one of them, can't remember. Obsession with top class/marquee signings isn't the way to go about things, we should realise that by now. Shaqiri would've been a solid stab at solving the right side issue.

Lingard/Rashford would be just as solid a stab at solving the right side for even less than Shaqiri. If we want progress we need more than a stab.

Its not even top class/marquee signings thats needed. Its just someone who comes in and is an automatic starter. A la Matic last year, I wouldn't have classed Matic as a marquee signing but he was a instant upgrade and guaranteed starter for us. We didn't need to splunk out on Fabinho/Kroos etc. to solve the DM position. We need the same Matic-type solution for RW (and CB if we are going for one).

TitianGerm wrote: »
    What IPTV do you use? The lad I used last year is finished so need a new service for this season.

Sent you pm mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,854 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I dunno what the fcuk an IPTV is

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,900 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

pjohnson wrote: »
    I dunno what the fcuk an IPTV is

Some indian cricket league maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,307 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

We have Juan Mata, in the same position. I don't think spending 14million on Shaqiri is good enough business to bother doing.

If we brought in Bale, and Mata left - leaving us an arguable need for a back up option on the right side or central - then he would have been a no brainer decision - but that isn't the reality.

Shaqiri has been bought, imo, for a bench role. We need more than that.

part of the reason United are where they are is buying decent players like Shaqiri rather that top class players. We are already a squad of squad players and are trying to get away from that. We don't need more squad signigns this summer, we need first 11 signings, and Shaqiri isn't good enough for that. He won't be that at Liverpool. Get some context, some perspective.

It isn't a case of beggars can't be chosers, it is a case of people just wanting us to sign anyone.

"He's better than what we have" is both arguable and a pointless fecking argrument - we need WAY better than what we've got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,625 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

He is no better than Mata or Lingard. It's not squad players thats needed its someone to improve the first 11.
    It makes no sense to add another player just because hes cheap.

Spend money on a genuine upgrade, doesn't have to a marquee signing.

Looking forward to seen the kids in next week's training and games hope get to see a bit of chongs hair.

Sent you pm mate.

I <3 Jayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

No better man for a PM is our jayo26.

I think Shaqiri is a far better out and out winger than either Lingard or Mata who drift inside a lot more and don't have the pace or trickery to beat a man. Shaqiri can use both feet and is more unpredictable than Lingard or Mata who can only use quick change of direction when at pace really if they are going to try take someone on. Shaqiri can check his run and still have a burst of pace to beat a man which is very useful on the wing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Mahrez was the player to sign for our right this summer but hes gone to city now. I dont even think we showed any interest.

Salah was the player to sign last summer for the right, a bargain and again i dont think we were interested.

Maybe jose doesnt see the right hand side as much of an issue as we all do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Just saw a video on Facebook of City having a parade type presentation/,unveiling for Mahrez. There are about 27 people at it not including the lads dressed up in mutant Smurf costumes. I thought our unveiling of Sanchez was odd but
    Christ on a bike this is a whole new level of bizarre, it's like something from eurotrash.

Just saw a video on Facebook of City having a parade type presentation/,unveiling for Mahrez. There are about 27 people at it not including the lads dressed up in mutant Smurf costumes. I thought our unveiling of Sanchez was odd but
    Christ on a bike this is a whole new level of bizarre, it's like something from eurotrash.

Unfortunalty it's a social media game now with presentations trying to get them to go viral.

I'm probably in the minority not I loved our unveiling of Sanchez It was really classy but each to their own.

I thought out unveiling of pogba was way too in your face social media crap.