Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018 pt3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

jayo26 wrote: »
    Glad to see you took your phone back from the wife adamocovic :):) you Cant have her using your account to post in love island threads :)
    pjohnson wrote: »
    Oh so that wasn't a hallucination I had last night :(

oh adam...
    and Ninja edits...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

astradave wrote: »
    What’s your excuse for the way he left Porto and Inter?

His historic trend, having one instance where he left Inter Milan in a positive, is hardly something I'd point to with a "but but, look at this one time".

He didn't leave Porto in positive terms, long since clarified at this stage in the game.

Like I said, all good in the hood this year happy days. All goes to ****, nobody should be surprised. The surprise will be if this coming season completes in a wholly positive note. That would be the exception to his own rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,921 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

brinty wrote: »
    oh adam...
    and Ninja edits...

I'm still not sure about Jayo. I mean how did he know "J" was part of Love Island?

Adamocovic wrote: »
    Following on from Pogba I find it hilarious so many are saying they don't care how he performs for France and that it's about how he performs for us.

I understand their frustration from our part but let's not pretend that if he was brutal and they crashed out people wouldn't be using his poor performances with France as justifications for their opinion of him.

One of the hopes I had for this tournament was Pogba to have a good one, so he could carry it back to United but that it might also alleviate some of the hyper critiscm he receives.

He has been excellent this tournament. Absolutely excellent. And mostly because he has been keeping it somewhat simple. Maybe he feels with France he has the quality around him and doesn't feel the need to be the hero or something, but he forces the issue so much less with them, that with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

TheDoc wrote: »
    One of the hopes I had for this tournament was Pogba to have a good one, so he could carry it back to United but that it might also alleviate some of the hyper critiscm he receives.

He has been excellent this tournament. Absolutely excellent. And mostly because he has been keeping it somewhat simple. Maybe he feels with France he has the quality around him and doesn't feel the need to be the hero or something, but he forces the issue so much less with them, that with us.

Exactly it's something they have been praising a lot this tournament. It's an approach that apparently the French coaching staff had discussed with him.

Maybe they got inspiration from a few of the games this side of the calendar where he had kept it simple for us. My only worry is with Pogba people expect outrageous football and youtube highlights. If he takes a similar approach of keeping it simple some will grow frustrated that he isn't "turning it on".

I imagine though the overwhelming opinion of him would be delight if he carried this on for us.

If i was Jose, I'd be a little pee'd off at how well Pogba played this evening. Disciplined performance. There was no taking on three fellas and losing the ball, no flicks over his head just inside his own half. He marked well at corners. Jose moved heaven and earth last year to accommodate him and he could do it all along.

Maybe the two different managers have two different ways in communicating with him? And one is getting through better than the other?

There is a raft of reasons. I don't think "Pogba not caring" is ever a scenario, it's just a consistency issue at United where to be fair there is loads of mitigating circumstances for him, and plenty of circumstances he is responsible for.

What he is done this tournament is basically exactly what he needs to be doing for us. He talks loads about how people arn't giving him the proper valuation, they expect him to score 20+ goals and all this.

Nobody expects that, if they do it's someone not worth entertaining. But the way Pogba has played himself at United, for all the talk of him dismissing that, he does try to hard to do things by himself.

Bottle this Pogba (Tackling, hard work, tracking runners, great passing, driving forward) and uncork it next season and we could be laughing. If he starts to operate at capacity at United it will be worth more than any new signing we can make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

This world cup has been PEAK big Rom,
    4 goals in two games v the mighty Panama and Tunisia then barley a shot on target in the games that matter,
    It sounds like an insult but he is the best flat track bully in the world he destroys poor teams ,
    Pogba has had a great World cup to be fair .

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

TheDoc wrote: »
    His historic trend, having one instance where he left Inter Milan in a positive, is hardly something I'd point to with a "but but, look at this one time".

He didn't leave Porto in positive terms, long since clarified at this stage in the game.

Like I said, all good in the hood this year happy days. All goes to ****, nobody should be surprised. The surprise will be if this coming season completes in a wholly positive note. That would be the exception to his own rule.

He had agreed to become Chelsea manager and had met with Mendes and Abromovich without the Porto president knowing, so they didn’t talk towards the end of his tenure there, he still had all the team and players playing for him, hence why the won the CL. It’s hardly what you are making it out to be that he has meltdowns and leaves the club in ruins. He won the CL and moved to a bigger club.

But hey, you keep believing whatever you want to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Glad to see you took your phone back from the wife adamocovic :):) you Cant have her using your account to post in love island threads :)

I'll proudly stand up and admit I am a Love Island fanatic (Aussie version too)! The thread on here is brilliant for it, I've noticed a few other football posters in there but we've enjoyed a neutral zone free of Pool/United debates, with an unspoken rule to not shed light on our television habits within the Football Forums.

No longer do I live in fear. I can safely stand up and proclaim my love for trash TV. A voice for the Football/Love Island Fans.

There are dozens of us...DOZENS! And we need not live in fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

United being linked with a move for 17 year old Erling Braut Haaland - would put that on the 'unlikely' list. If United are genuinely interested then I would guess so are a lot of other clubs and the son of Alf-Inge is probably gonna pick someone else over Manchester United!

You zerked it Mitch.:)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

I'll proudly stand up and admit I am a Love Island fanatic (Aussie version too)! The thread on here is brilliant for it, I've noticed a few other football posters in there but we've enjoyed a neutral zone free of Pool/United debates, with an unspoken rule to not shed light on our television habits within the Football Forums.

No longer do I live in fear. I can safely stand up and proclaim my love for trash TV. A voice for the Football/Love Island Fans.

u03F53s.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,921 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

And in response to that

tenor.gif?itemid=5682068

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

https://twitter.com/red_cafe/status/1016955661144461312

" SportsBild: United are interested in 24yr old Ante Rebic of Frankfurt and Croatia. The Croatian has a contract till 2021 and would cost around €50m."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

This world cup has been PEAK big Rom,
    4 goals in two games v the mighty Panama and Tunisia then barley a shot on target in the games that matter,
    It sounds like an insult but he is the best flat track bully in the world he destroys poor teams ,
    Pogba has had a great World cup to be fair .

Hey lads, one of your players did sh*te so I have to come in and mention it. Also I better say something nice at the end so it’s easier for me to come back again and say something not nice with something nice at the end again... and again... and again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭xtal191

Full kit, looks even worse

manchester-united-18-19-home-kit-9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

xtal191 wrote: »

That’s because they have it on Peter Crouch.

https://twitter.com/red_cafe/status/1016955661144461312

" SportsBild: United are interested in 24yr old Ante Rebic of Frankfurt and Croatia. The Croatian has a contract till 2021 and would cost around €50m."

Yeeea...No

He’s a left winger, not a hope.. this be the bull**** from the media linking us to every player that does decent at WC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

pjohnson wrote: »
    I'm still not sure about Jayo. I mean how did he know "J" was part of Love Island?

To be honest I actually just put two and two together from his response and the original message posted.

We won't hold it against him but won't forget it either hahaha :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,327 ✭✭✭paulbok

To be honest I actually just put two and two together from his response and the original message posted.

We won't hold it against him but won't forget it either hahaha :)

Are you J?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

My kingdom for Mbappe. The kid is brilliant, if Madrid had any sense they'd sign him and not Neymar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

astradave wrote: »
    u03F53s.gif

classic..
    i love it Dave

so which of the girls does Adam fancy a bit of...
    is he a kendall man.. or Megan.. or zara or darylle....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭Cotts72

xtal191 wrote: »

I actually like it, its the oddly girly legged slender man that fails to sell it well

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

I think we could all get guilty of over-analysing it.

Pogba is considered a key figure and one of the leaders of that French team. He's getting a lot of praise and no doubt on cloud 9 helping bring his country to a World Cup final.

But there is so much differences that trying to nail down one seems pointless. Different teams, tactics, players, atmosphere, media, coaches, timeframe, opposition, motivation, the list goes on and on.

Pogba has shown his ability for us but the main criticism is people want to see it consistently for the entire year. All we can do is enjoy his performances for his country now and hope they carry over to when he returns to us.

Sure all we talk about is pointless!

Yet forca discussion thread, with Pogba, it is worth asking about all those differences. We have no reason to expect he will now play like this for United. It is worth asking what is so different, what should United do to get this from him etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

ElChe32 wrote: »
    My kingdom for Mbappe. The kid is brilliant, if Madrid had any sense they'd sign him and not Neymar.

Unbelievable player.

I still think we are very lucky to have rashford and martial. Rashford has played very well for.england whenever used at the world cup. Looks like nothing phases him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

bangkok wrote: »
    Pogba seems to be the main man in the dressing room and the real captain on the field. A bit like lukaku with Belgium

Yes Lukaku was the real captain last night, led by example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,583 ✭✭✭VW 1

The black adidas stripes look weird. If the black stripes on the arm and torso were white i could get on board with it.

Have we had a red and black home kit since the one with the chevron?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Liverpool in for shaqiri

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Exactly it's something they have been praising a lot this tournament. It's an approach that apparently the French coaching staff had discussed with him.

Maybe they got inspiration from a few of the games this side of the calendar where he had kept it simple for us. My only worry is with Pogba people expect outrageous football and youtube highlights. If he takes a similar approach of keeping it simple some will grow frustrated that he isn't "turning it on".

I imagine though the overwhelming opinion of him would be delight if he carried this on for us.

Pogba has gotten better as the tournament has progressed. As a United fan and not a fan of france, I don't take any Joy in seeing him perform well , I take joy in thinking he might bring that form back to united. Why should I care if he can keep this performance up for france if he doesn't bring it back to Manchester?

One common theme with Pro Pogba debate seems to be completely ignoring what exactly United have gotten for their money over the two years. Its the managers fault, its the formation, its the players around him. . They are happy to excuse an extremely under whelming output from Pogba with reasons that we cant honestly clarify one way or another.

One of those was that Pogba was being played in a position he didn't enjoy. He seems to be doing ok in a similar role for France. So its teammates ? Matic is not exactly a terrible player. Putting in a strong defencive display, effort and a disciplined performance does not require better players to be around you. That's just a question of application and professionalism.

The alternative is to accept that Pogba, unlike most top class midfielders, can only play when certain conditions are met. He can only work hard when these conditions are met and he will only perform in a more defensive role when these conditions are met.

I cant get over how apologetic people are towards underperforming players. I don't hate Pogba and I do want to see him succeed at United. But I cant subscribe to the delusion that his performance issues are all down to external factors beyond his control.

SlUPWTz.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,317 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

bangkok wrote: »
    Liverpool in for shaqiri

Leave them at it.

He would come in in place of Mata, i would guess, and I am not arsed trying to replace Mata with Shaqiri.

He'd be a goodish squad addition, imo, and in Mata's position - whats the point?