safe zones around abortion providers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Do people know that this will be a GP led service so the majority of abortions will be start there and happen at home.

There is no provision of UK style abortion clinics so protesters would have to go to GP practices and hospitals and somehow be able to spot women in early stages of pregnancy amongst all the other patients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

amcalester wrote: »
    Not all rights are absolute, 1 persons right to safe medical treatment should trump another's right to protest.

No it shouldn’t. They don’t impede each other.

People have the right to protest in Ireland and if they didn’t we still wouldn’t have abortion.

The entitlement of some people to tell others what they can and can’t protest against in f**king unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

ELM327 wrote: »
    Seriously just go p1ss off
    We voted 2:1 to allow abortion on demand for whatever reason.

Is that true? Genuine question.

Was it on any major pre-election literature or stated publicly and explicitly for those campaigning for the vote?

I had the impression that the pro-lifers were claiming this would happen and the pro-choicers were saying it wasn't about that at all

Ironically, I notice a lot of the posters here criticizing the OP were screaming the loudest about "right to protest" over in the thread about the Pope's visit.

Grand when it suits ye eh?

No we didn't.

We voted to repeal the Eight amendment.
    Nothing more, nothing less.

However, this was done with the knowledge of the government's proposed legislation to allow abortions up to 12 weeks.

Some parts may be changed when the time comes but we will not be voting on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,934 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Is that true? Genuine question.

Was it on any major pre-election literature or stated publicly and explicitly for those campaigning for the vote?

I had the impression that the pro-lifers were claiming this would happen and the pro-choicers were saying it wasn't about that at all
    The heads of the bill that the government were intending to bring in in the event of a yes vote were published beforehand
    The referendum was not strictly about abortion... but in practice it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

possibly but unless words are a direct incitement to violence then I'm not going to call them non peaceful or "violence". they can be horrible and downright awful but I'm afraid we have to allow people to be hurtful.

It's actually called Verbal abuse, which is harassment. They wouldn't be long getting arrested doing that.

The good people of Ireland will ensure that all women will be protected when going for these procedures at such a vulnerable time in their lives.

The assertion of 'if someone wants to murder a baby'' is as thick. How can it be that hard to understand that people need abortions for a variety of reasons?! So, so closed minded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭amcalester

No it shouldn’t. They don’t impede each other.

People have the right to protest in Ireland and if they didn’t we still wouldn’t have abortion.

The entitlement of some people to tell others what they can and can’t protest against in f**king unbelievable.

It's about where they protest, not what they protest.

A huge difference.

Go out on the M50 and start to protest (anything at all) and see how long it is before you're moved on by the Guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

judeboy101 wrote:
    Didn't know we had a vote to recind the right to protest? TiL.

You have a right to protest, not a right to harass.

amcalester wrote: »
    Not all rights are absolute, 1 persons right to safe medical treatment should trump another's right to protest.

Only if they are mutually exclusive. If the protest doesn't physically prevent a person from getting treatment then that argument is irrelevant

murpho999 wrote: »
    No we didn't.

We voted to repeal the Eight amendment.
    Nothing more, nothing less.

However, this was done with the knowledge of the government's proposed legislation to allow abortions up to 12 weeks.

Some parts may be changed when the time comes but we will not be voting on it.
    Are you playing?
    We repealed the 8th with full knowlege of the intended bill.

The heads of the bill that the government were intending to bring in in the event of a yes vote were published beforehand

Maybe for you it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭robarmstrong

If someone wants to murder a baby, why should it be made easy for them ?

Did we vote on murdering babies?

Or did we vote to repeal the 8th to allow legislation for the regulation of terminating pregnancies?

It's actually called Verbal abuse, which is harassment. They wouldn't be long getting arrested doing that.

The good people of Ireland will ensure that all women will be protected when going for these procedures at such a vulnerable time in their lives.

The assertion of 'if someone wants to murder a baby'' is as thick. How can it be that hard to understand that people need abortions for a variety of reasons?! So, so closed minded.

Wonder what could be fueling such an idea........

Maybe for you it was.
    Considering the heads of the bill were published and the pro birthers and pro choice campaigns both referred to said bill..... yeah that wasn't just for me.

Wonder what could be fueling such an idea........
    What is your issue with me?
    Can you terminate it please.

What is your issue with me?
    Can you terminate it please.

If I could go back in time I might just advise your mother to terminate yourself

You might want to get over yourself if you think you're that important for anyone to have an issue with you because they quote one of your posts on an internet board to reply to it ffs

Mod: Banned

If I could go back in time I might just advise your mother to terminate yourself

You might want to get over yourself if you think you're that important for anyone to have an issue with you because they quote one of your posts on an internet board to reply to it ffs

2 of them.... to support your nonsense.

PS: I note you have ignored
    Considering the heads of the bill were published and the pro birthers and pro choice campaigns both referred to said bill..... yeah that wasn't just for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

No problem with the exclusion zone myself. However, it'd be foolish to think that something similar will not be introduced for other protests.

Edit: Think they have something similar in the USA. Recall hearing about protesters being allocated locations where they could stand to protest in NY outside the CoS near Times Square. Think they were cordoned in with barriers. If they protested outside of that area, they were arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭optogirl

FFS. :rolleyes:

2 of them.... to support your nonsense.

PS: I note you have ignored

Not really. I don't really care.

I just don't think that your contention that people voted for abortion on demand was publicly emphasized by any major pro-choice side in the run up to the election.

Feel free to post links though where it was an argument being put forward. I could be wrong. Most of the focus seemed to be on the likes of cases like the Savita lady who died etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

How do you even get away with posting this crap?

optogirl wrote: »
    FFS. :rolleyes:

Sure (s)he's grand with abortion on demand.

Are you playing?
    We repealed the 8th with full knowlege of the intended bill.

Well that's exactly what I said if you read my post.

The point remains we did not actually vote on the legislation which may be subject to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭optogirl

Sure (s)he's grand with abortion on demand.

And you are grand with forced pregnancy under all and any circumstances. Hope it stays fine for you and yours

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    You have a right to protest, not a right to harass.

But this proposal removes that peaceful protest right. If I choose to stand inside a zone, and stand silently with my back turned to the women going in so I cant see them holding a placard that says "abortion is a women's issue and I fully support a women's right to bodily autonomy" I will be arrested.

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    How do you even get away with posting this crap?

Ah, 'tis yourself. Weren't you one of the big "right to protest" advocates over on the Pope's threads. Bragging about buying up tickets that would physically prevent people from attending that event.

As I said over there, and I'll say over here, people can protest if they want but preventing someone else from going somewhere that they want is not grand.

So would you be consistent here on this thread? If the OP was somehow taking up slots to prevent women attending a "clinic" in protest, you'd be grand with it? Or would ya be a hypocrite using morals and rights when it suits ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,114 ✭✭✭OU812

If someone wants to murder a baby, why should it be made easy for them ?

Seems to me like the Catholic Church has no problem with murdering babies (as well as abusing & selling them) for decades.

The no side lied and made despicable protests and mid representations and ultimately lost.

Let those who need to avail of it do so. If you don’t like the laws of the land, leave the land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

judeboy101 wrote: »
    But this proposal removes that peaceful protest right.

It does not do that. You stand inside your designated area or zone and you can protest away.

optogirl wrote: »
    And you are grand with forced pregnancy under all and any circumstances. Hope it stays fine for you and yours

Jaysus, Are ya trying to start a row with me?

Ah sure I'd be in favour of forcibly aborting the progeny of some of the thickos on here for the sake of the country and mankind as a whole

happy now?