Feeling bad for not being born in America

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭LilRedDorcha

Would it be easier to get set up in Canada? It's still North America like. A few big cities, great scenery etc.

The working holiday visa for Canada is actually really straightforward to get and is cheap compared to others, so this is a good suggestion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Funny disparity between us OP! I fantasise about having being Swiss or Belgian born, proper drinking hours, euro women, effortlessly switching between 4 languages and having Berlin, Rome, Paris and Brussels a train ride away. Chacun a son gout et ainsi de suite.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭sabat

masterson1 wrote: »
    Say what you want about United States, but they really do have their freedom.

You've completely drank the kool-aid; the place is a borderline fascist state that peaked 50 years ago and is now on its inevitable decline. I stopped visiting 15 years ago after the way my friend was treated by federal agents at the airport-basically a kid the same age you are now held and questioned threateningly for several hours for no reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Thought Boards had a minimum age limit. Or at least kept the US government from registering here :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

Go to Mexico and pay a smuggler to strap you under a car and try to get through the border. Is not that difficult and you will probably get a taco or two thrown in for free

I've had a brother there living the American dream for around eight years. Nice big house, big truck, big car, big patio, big BBQ, big stress,
    and insane working hours for both him and his wife.

The hours and lack of holidays means unless you're rich and lucky OP, you won't be seeing all those beautiful places around the US. Flights are cheaper in Europe and people actually take all their plentiful holidays. See how you get on here before worrying about America. He moved there on his 30s.

And I'm not sure how you ticked off "different cultures and languages" as a negative about Europe. I am jealous of everyone in Europe because of that easily reached diversity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,502 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I thought the maximum time you could stay there was 3 months? I would like to try for myself, finish university and go there for a year.

No. That is definitely not the case. If you want it badly enough you will do it.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Freedom to work 60 hour weeks
    Freedom to have 10 days off a year
    Freedom to spend your life in debt for college
    Freedom to be one of the 2% incarcerated
    Freedom to go bankrupt if you get sick
    Freedom. My. Arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

OP, if you weren't such an ugly fecker you could use that old lovable "brogue" to bag yourself a yank spouse. Instant visa

Worked for Melania so it did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Is that you as a re-reg, MrHoppy?

If not, maybe the two of you should team up and share your love of Uncle Sam, and ye won't be alone in your misery any more! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

And to think somebody thanked that post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Why don't you adopt a fake american accent instead like all the Irish teenagers are doing now? It's the most embarrassing thing in the world right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I've always wanted to be a disenfranchised black person in Detroit. I imagine there could be no better life out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭Feisar

anthonyos wrote: »
    have you been to the US much

No but I've been in some states!

First they came for the socialists...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭pleas advice

Feelsbadman.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

OP are you one of those Irish people who talk in an American accent despite never having been there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Is it because you is an Irish, OP?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Ireland has problems as well, especially in terms of healthcare. I believe in terms of jobs, you have many more opportunities in USA. If I want to be an astronaut, I have that opportunity in USA, rocket scientist, military aircraft pilot etc.

Go to London if jobs are your concern. Also they won't leave you to die in the street if you get sick and can't pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Okay, sorry, i'll go and live my pathetic worthless life working for someone else in the office and will continue to hate myself everyday instead of actually doing something that I like and have always dreamed about.

That's the spirit OP, make the best of things. Us Irish's (I'm also an Irish) sure do have it tough compared to say lucky ol Cleetus from butt**** Louisiana, but what can we do. Dems the breaks.

Get on with our pathetic worthless lives I say. I feels ya masterson.
    You-esss-ayy:D
    Omackeral wrote: »
    One thing I'll say is fair play to the OP for knowing there are 50 states and not 52. Amount of fcukbags that think that is surreal. 50 is a memorable rounded off number. 50 stars for 50 states. God I hate people.

:D:D
    There are a lot of fúckbags about alright. That 52 states thing bugs the shít out of me too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

It isn't, I acknowledge that problem but I've said that Ireland also has problems with healthcare.

Yeah but nowhere near the same issue in that you end up being crippled with debt for basic treatments in the states.

You seem to have this TV/Movie based idealistic naive view of america, you arent gonna walk in and get an awesome pad in LA or NY with whatever dream job you are looking for and fall immediately into a stereotype group of 5 other friends to hang out with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

I see it as a type of European Union with no English language barrier. There are 27 other countries in Europe I could go to but they have different culture and language barriers.

yeah I know what you mean, if only it was possible to like....learn languages or something.

There should really be a place you could go to do that. Like some sort of educational facility

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Ireland has problems as well, especially in terms of healthcare. .

USA has far far bigger problems with health care, I'd rather be sick in Ireland then in the USA at least I won't have to get loans to pay for minor stuff.

Hell, I'd rather be sick in Cuba!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Say what you want about United States, but they really do have their freedom. Government doesn't control your lives, the taxes are low compared to Ireland, a small house in the United States is considered a mansion in Ireland. Firearms are legal, free speech is completely legal. Petrol prices are cheap, the nature is absolutely amazing and so is the weather in many states. I feel like if I was American, I would have 50 different countries(states) to choose from, all of which are unique.

I think that it is an absolutely amazing country and I am genuinely depressed that I cannot live there. While many people prefer to give power to their government in terms of control like excessive health and safety, banning of all weapons, knives etc. I feel that personal freedom is essential for happiness. I feel quite restricted in Ireland, health and safety everywhere, horrible pictures on cigarettes (I don't smoke), ****e weather for most of the year, excessive restrictions on personal freedoms. All of Ireland has less than half of the population of New York. I would like to experience life to the fullest and I think doing that in Ireland is not possible.

I would totally agree with you, but I think your picture of the US might be a bit skew-ways.

The US is far more authoritarian than Ireland. Where the police here have a 'cop yourself on' attitude in general, the same doesn't apply in the US. The law on jaywaking is enforced in many locations in the US. Just let that sink in - being arrested for crossing the road. It doesn't help that the police in the US sometimes verge on bat-sht insane. And Americans are okay with this!

America has got such issues with nudity, 'cursing', drinking, and recreational drug use that Ireland would be considered licentious compared to most places in the US! US tourists are often shocked about the way that Irish people speak. It is a deeply conservative country.

The US is a big and beautiful country, full of opportunities, but it is full of unpleasant insecurities and paranoia as well. The US government routinely spies upon her citizens. I honestly feel that we are blessed in Europe compared to all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

The US is far more authoritarian than Ireland. Where the police here have a 'cop yourself on' attitude in general, the same doesn't apply in the US. The law on jaywaking is enforced in many locations in the US. Just let that sink in - being arrested for crossing the road. It doesn't help that the police in the US sometimes verge on bat-sht insane. And Americans are okay with this!

And while you're being arrested for crossing the road, you damn well better be all yes sir, no sir and keep your hands visible. Get a bit cranky, or scratch your arse without forewarning and you're quite likely to get shot for your trouble!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Having dreams and ambitions means that your head is in the clouds? Okay, sorry, i'll go and live my pathetic worthless life working for someone else in the office and will continue to hate myself everyday instead of actually doing something that I like and have always dreamed about. Sorry, I'm an idiot.
    It's not, I am studying information technology in university and that is what I would like to work as. I am thinking if getting a job in Ireland would get me in other countries if I work in one of the IT companies in here.

You do know that IT generally happens in an office and you'll be working for somebody yeah? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,202 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

"continue to hate myself"

OP - just boarding a plane is not going to magically change that

you'll need to deal with that first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Have you seen Father Shortall lately ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

You have a couple of options as a college student / finishing college - J1, Erasmus, or the One Year Grad Visa, so you can get a taste of what it's like over there. Who knows, you may impress an employer or lady friend enough to get to stay longer.

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,560 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

There are a lot of fúckbags about alright. That 52 states thing bugs the shít out of me too!

I believe it's because people confuse the U.S. with a deck of playing cards!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Omackeral wrote: »
    One thing I'll say is fair play to the OP for knowing there are 50 states and not 52. Amount of fcukbags that think that is surreal. 50 is a memorable rounded off number. 50 stars for 50 states. God I hate people.

I think people assume there is 50 on the main landmass and then add Hawaii and Alaska - but yeah, annoying.

OP you are in college - get a J1 Visa , it's the perfect way to get a taste of American life!

But I do agree with you about the diversity and nature of America, there are no greater outdoor places than the US National Parks ... just stunning, I turn into a little kid every time I go (which isn't as much as I'd like :( )

But work life there is hell, very corporate, **** all paid holidays and healthcare!!!! - so great for short term, not so for long term.