Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

A/R/Tist in the Spotlight - skyblue46

• 24-06-2018 8:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭

This proved to very popular in its previous appearances on the forum so it’s time it was resurrected. We have a bonafide superstar as the first person in the spotlight. A man who kicked a 30 a day cigarette habit & love of pints and kebabs to turn into a damn fine runner and very popular contributor around these Boards, introducing to you all skyblue46. Don’t go easy lads....... he’s here for a week!!

1. Best player you seen lacing the boots up for the Dubs?
    2. Pints or wine?
    3. Favourite race distance to run?
    4. Favourite crisp flavour?
    5. Coddle, your take on it?
    6. Talking Heads, you made reference to them on the opening post on your log, your favourite band?
    7. Sportsworld better than Crusaders?
    8. The young lad is the star player for Meath, the Dubs get through to face them in the All Ireland Final via the back door, who do you cheer for?
    9. Favourite runners?(as in shoes).
    10. Dream race to run?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭runrun2

1, How long did it take you to kick the smoking habit?
    2, What is your ultimate time goal for a marathon before you give it up?
    3, Who do you think spends the most time on Boards between yourself, murph and OOnegative? :D
    4, Who is your favourite runner of all time?
    5, Have you always been an athletics fan?
    6, Who on boards has improved the most at running in the past year?
    7, Who gives out the best advice on the athletics forum?
    8, Do you do any weight training?
    9, Does your running ever get in the way of your job?
    10, Are you an over pronator?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

1. Favourite race distance.
    2. Favourite sandwich filling.
    3. Tempo run or interval session.
    4. Favourite beer.
    5. Number one long term goal in running.
    6. Best parkrun course.
    7. Favourite post race treat.
    8. Favourite ethnic cuisine.
    9. Favourite training log.
    10. Toughest race you've run.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Oh Jaysus that's some introduction and quite a bit to be getting on with. Here goes....

OOnegative wrote: »
    This proved to very popular in its previous appearances on the forum so it’s time it was resurrected. We have a bonafide superstar as the first person in the spotlight. A man who kicked a 30 a day cigarette habit & love of pints and kebabs to turn into a damn fine runner and very popular contributor around these Boards, introducing to you all skyblue46. Don’t go easy lads.......

1. Best player you seen lacing the boots up for the Dubs?
    2. Pints or wine?
    3. Favourite race distance to run?
    4. Favourite crisp flavour?
    5. Coddle, your take on it?
    6. Talking Heads, you made reference to them on the opening post on your log, your favourite band?
    7. Sportsworld better than Crusaders?
    8. The young lad is the star player for Meath, the Dubs get through to face them in the All Ireland Final via the back door, who do you cheer for?
    9. Favourite runners?(as in shoes).
    10. Dream race to run?

1. Diarmuid Connolly in terms of pure ability. Ciaran Whelan for absolute barnstorming performances.

2. Pints and craft beers....both of which I drink far too many of.

3. Too early in my running life to really know. Too late in my actual life to possibly ever find out. I'd say 10 miles/ HM

4. Tayto Cheese and Onion

5. I love it. Don't understand the brown version though!! Sacrilege!!!

6. Definitely. David Byrne....such a strange genius

7. Both from the wrong side of the river to be any good at all. I'll go for Crusaders as the least worst.

8. Family come first...I'd love for him to make it at senior level eventually

9. Big problems with this one...still haven't found them. Saucony Guides were the most comfortable but fell asunder after 300 miles. Kayanos are bombproof.

10. That wine drinking marathon..Marathon de Medoc :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

skyblue46 wrote: »
    1. Diarmuid Connolly in terms of pure ability. Ciaran Whelan for absolute barnstorming performances.

2. Pints and craft beers....both of which I drink far too many of.

3. Too early in my running life to really know. Too late in my actual life to possibly ever find out. I'd say 10 miles/ HM

4. Tayto Cheese and Onion

5. I love it. Don't understand the brown version though!! Sacrilege!!!

6. Definitely. David Byrne....such a strange genius

7. Both from the wrong side of the river to be any good at all. I'll go for Crusaders as the least worst.

8. Family come first...I'd love for him to make it at senior level eventually

9. Big problems with this one...still haven't found them. Saucony Guides were the most comfortable but fell asunder after 300 miles. Kayanos are bombproof.

10. That wine drinking marathon..Marathon de Medoc :D

Love that No 8 answer, cheers for the answers

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭MY BAD

You're average training week schedule?
    Am or Pm?
    Favourite workout?
    Favourite running shoe?
    What supplementary training besides running do you do if any?
    Favourite place for a easy run?

runrun2 wrote: »
    1, How long did it take you to kick the smoking habit?
    2, What is your ultimate time goal for a marathon before you give it up?
    3, Who do you think spends the most time on Boards between yourself, murph and OOnegative? :D
    4, Who is your favourite runner of all time?
    5, Have you always been an athletics fan?
    6, Who on boards has improved the most at running in the past year?
    7, Who gives out the best advice on the athletics forum?
    8, Do you do any weight training?
    9, Does your running ever get in the way of your job?
    10, Are you an over pronator?

1. About 3 years. Tried different things. Now I vape.
    2. Quickly losing interest in the marathon so I'll say 3:30 this year and then walk away.
    3. Ariana
    4. Steve Ovett..the Coe/Ovett/Cram races were brilliant and I liked him because of his attitude and that he wasn't the golden boy
    5. I'm a sports addict...every sport bar horse racing that is.
    6. Me :D
    7. I pick up nuggets from many but Testostercone gives advice on a regular basis which I can relate to
    8. No. Best intentions and all that but my 2018 gym membership has been used once.
    9. Never, but work gets in the way of running.
    10. A totally unreliable test in Elverys says I am

1. Favourite race distance.
    2. Favourite sandwich filling.
    3. Tempo run or interval session.
    4. Favourite beer.
    5. Number one long term goal in running.
    6. Best parkrun course.
    7. Favourite post race treat.
    8. Favourite ethnic cuisine.
    9. Favourite training log.
    10. Toughest race you've run.

1. 10 mile/ HM
    2. Mixed salad and mayo
    3. Interval...great buzz after nailing one
    4. Guinness
    5. Tough one...to be running long term would be a start
    6. I loved Castletown of the ones I have done
    7. Let me think....probably sandwiches and pints :D
    8. Thai
    9. Yours of course
    10. Last night...only because I'm learning to make each race tougher

Haha good answer for 9 and great to see the attitude for 10.

You're average training week schedule?
    Am or Pm?
    Favourite workout?
    Favourite running shoe?
    What supplementary training besides running do you do if any?
    Favourite place for a easy run?

About 50 miles...2 sessions, 1 long run and the rest at recovery pace

Courtesy of Smashrun....52% am, 48% pm

Short vo2 Max intervals

Hmmm...Kayanos

None so far to my shame

Phoenix Park any chance I get

I'm gonna go again if that's ok;

1. Would you consider cross country.
    2. Do you support a football team (soccer).
    3. Best moment of your life to date.
    4. Best holiday you've had.
    5. Favourite TV show (non sports related).
    6. Best pint of Guinness in your neck of the woods.
    7. Your first car.
    8. Do you have any pets.

I'm gonna go again if that's ok;

1. Would you consider cross country.
    2. Do you support a football team (soccer).
    3. Best moment of your life to date.
    4. Best holiday you've had.
    5. Favourite TV show (non sports related).
    6. Best pint of Guinness in your neck of the woods.
    7. Your first car.
    8. Do you have any pets.

Ah sure why not, I've no skeletons in the cupboard to hide! :pac:

1. I will definitely do BHAA XC in the winter. Craig only mentioned that again in Dunshaughlin and my erstwhile mentor WW is a big fan. It has the makings of a few ding dong battles! ;)
    2. Man Utd...going back to the days of Steve Coppell, Gordon Hill, Jimmy Greenhoff, so it was nearly 20 years of winning very little, 20 years of plenty and now back to very little :o Bohemians are my LOI team.
    3. Three of them...all births, all weighed 7lb 13oz and all make me immensely proud.
    4. A trip to the states back in 1986 to see the world cycling championships in Colorado. Kelly and Roche were in their pomp back then.
    5. Oh the shame.....Eastenders! :eek: Really I watch very little TV that's not sport.
    6. Kavanaghs, better known as the Gravediggers, in Glasnevin. A step back in time and the creamiest, sweetest, most wonderful pints imaginable to man!
    7. A yellow Mazda 323 with rust holes in the floor!
    8. No pets and never have had. Not a believer in keeping dogs indoors or in small suburban gardens. Also I'd never be able for this scooping and bagging mullarkey!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

What are your pbs

have you ever raced on track

can you touch your toes, no cheating

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

What brought you to Boards in the first place?
    How would you sum up this forum?
    What is the best/most appropriate for your personality anagram you can make from "Artist in the spotlight"?

IvoryTower wrote: »
    What are your pbs

have you ever raced on track

can you touch your toes, no cheating

1. Better than they were a year ago! 5k 19:12, 5 miles 32:15, 10k 40:07, HM 1:34:12, Marathon 3:47:15....oh and 10 miles 1:22:13 :o

2. No I haven't since the community games in Santry Stadium in 1979! 800m nearly last and bawled my eyes out.

3. Only if I bend my knees to about 45 degrees!!

What brought you to Boards in the first place?
    How would you sum up this forum?
    What is the best/most appropriate for your personality anagram you can make from "Artist in the spotlight"?

1. A Google search for a beginner marathon plan last year

2. An old boys talking shop! :D

3. A top thirsting thistle....a beer lover with a sometimes prickly personality!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Come on folks, don’t be shy with the questions!!

OOnegative wrote: »
    Come on folks, don’t be shy with the questions!!

Hahaha...thanks!! :eek: Ah well I'm working a 7-7 shift tonight so plenty of time to answer while everyone else sleeps!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

1. What was the turning point in terms of training where things started to click and bring on the many, many PBs?
    2. What/when was the moment or race that made you think, I'm a runner? 
    3. Is there anything you DON'T like about running?
    4. Grass or road running?
    5. Summer or winter running?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

Favourite Craft Beer?
    If you started running again tomorrow what would be the one bit of advice you give yourself?
    Guilty pleasure (Food)?
    Guilty pleasure (Music)?
    Bohs in CL or Dub Hurlers to win All Ireland?
    Most Stubborn boardsie?
    Dream retirement PB's (across all distances)?
    4 Sporting Idols you would invite to dinner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

skyblue46 wrote: »
    Hahaha...thanks!! :eek: Ah well I'm working a 7-7 shift tonight so plenty of time to answer while some sleep!

FYP :D

ReeReeG wrote: »
    1. What was the turning point in terms of training where things started to click and bring on the many, many PBs?
    2. What/when was the moment or race that made you think, I'm a runner? 
    3. Is there anything you DON'T like about running?
    4. Grass or road running?
    5. Summer or winter running?

1. There wasn't really one point. I hadn't run much before and I gradually upped the training in a sensible way. I know the big gains are finished with for now...except for the 10 miler.

2. I still don't really feel I am to be honest.

3. That I have to run so much on concrete.

4. See 3 :-)

5. Both. Very enjoyable in summer and I feel I'm stealing a march on others in winter. I get pleasure out of toughing out a run in bad weather.

Favourite Craft Beer?
    If you started running again tomorrow what would be the one bit of advice you give yourself?
    Guilty pleasure (Food)?
    Guilty pleasure (Music)?
    Bohs in CL or Dub Hurlers to win All Ireland?
    Most Stubborn boardsie?
    Dream retirement PB's (across all distances)?
    4 Sporting Idols you would invite to dinner?

1. McGargles Double Bangin IPA
    2. Start younger! Train and let the improvement come, don't go hunting better times every run.
    3. A spice bag
    4. New Romantic music :-/
    5. Dub Hurlers without a doubt.
    6. El C/ Sahiri...it's a good kind of stubborn...like some of my dinner invitees !
    7. 18 mins, 29:59, 38, 65, 1:25, 3:15
    8. John McEnroe, Roy Keane, Peter Sagan, Padraig Harrington

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭scotindublin

May as well throw out a few questions to keep you occupied while at work.

1. So I know you are a sports billy.......if you had to pick one what would you go for. Score the winning point for the Dubs in the last minute of the All Ireland against Kerry? Score the winning goal in the FA Cup Final for United against Liverpool. Win the Tour De France....or Olympic Gold over 10k?

2. Long run; breakfast or run on empty?

3. Is coffee a necessity to get things "moving"before your long run?

4. Big events or more club orientated smaller events?

5. If you had to run the infamous beer mile would you be brave enough to have Guinness as you chosen beverage?

6. Mostly running or a mix of running; stretching and S&C?

7. Major differences in fitness between cycling and running? Does being fit for running transfer to cycling and vice versa?

8. Long term plans?

Cheers

C

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Lazare

Delighted to see this thread Sean, great answers so far.

1. You seem to give absolutely 100% to running, your approach to it is genuinely inspirational. Do you have other hobbies past or present that you have approached and succeeded at in a similar way?

2. I remember a few times running with you and observing that you had an incredibly sharp understanding of the numbers, in terms of pace and expected time. Was this honed during your cycling days or are you generally good with numbers?

3. What's the largest animal you could throw over a crossbar?

4. How are you so bleedin good at figuring out who's who on Strava?

May as well throw out a few questions to keep you occupied while at work.

1. So I know you are a sports billy.......if you had to pick one what would you go for. Score the winning point for the Dubs in the last minute of the All Ireland against Kerry? Score the winning goal in the FA Cup Final for United against Liverpool. Win the Tour De France....or Olympic Gold over 10k?

2. Long run; breakfast or run on empty?

3. Is coffee a necessity to get things "moving"before your long run?

4. Big events or more club orientated smaller events?

5. If you had to run the infamous beer mile would you be brave enough to have Guinness as you chosen beverage?

6. Mostly running or a mix of running; stretching and S&C?

7. Major differences in fitness between cycling and running? Does being fit for running transfer to cycling and vice versa?

8. Long term plans?

Cheers

C

1. All very appealing alright. Beating Liverpool would be sweet but an All Ireland trumps everything!

2. Always on empty.

3. Hahaha no.

4. Smaller events. I have developed an allergy to the race series, GIR and RnR.

5. The idea seems bonkers no matter what the beer. The question is can Guinness be got in 12oz tins?

6. Only running so far

7. Fitness translates but lots of different muscle groups used. Top cyclists generally don't make good runners.

8. Promote world peace, save the whales and hope that there is a long term for me!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,418 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Some fascinating stuff here. Can’t believe you vape!

- Best performance so far?
    - Favourite book, album, film?
    - What do you get from boards.ie that you can’t get elsewhere?
    - What will you do different next year?
    - Who’ll win the World Cup?

Cheers.

Lazare wrote: »
    Delighted to see this thread Sean, great answers so far.

1. You seem to give absolutely 100% to running, your approach to it is genuinely inspirational. Do you have other hobbies past or present that you have approached and succeeded at in a similar way?

2. I remember a few times running with you and observing that you had an incredibly sharp understanding of the numbers, in terms of pace and expected time. Was this honed during your cycling days or are you generally good with numbers?

3. What's the largest animal you could throw over a crossbar?

4. How are you so bleedin good at figuring out who's who on Strava?

1. I don't think I've done much beyond the minimum requirement to make progress. Today's world is all about quick fixes and instant gratification. What's the easiest way to do x,y and z. Sometimes the easy way won't bring the satisfaction of really working for something. It's not inspirational what I have done. Look at para Olympics for true inspiration. All I did was get off my arse. I played badminton and then golf. Badminton took dedication, golf was the lazy cop out.

2. Just good with numbers. Being involved in sales, stock control, accounts etc in my younger days pre computers all the maths was in the head.

3. Hmm...this would need some research. The size of the animal would depend on the length of it's tail. Think how far an athlete can throw the hammer and the shot...the weight is the same but huge difference in the throw. I'd say I could fire a long tailed lemur some height!!!

4. That dates back to my stalking days! Sorry but I can't divulge my secrets. It could lead to arrest and incarceration ;-o

Murph_D wrote: »
    Some fascinating stuff here. Can’t believe you vape!

- Best performance so far?
    - Favourite book, album, film?
    - What do you get from boards.ie that you can’t get elsewhere?
    - What will you do different next year?
    - Who’ll win the World Cup?

Cheers.

1. In running? Not much to choose from but it would have to be the 10k the other night

2. Rough Ride by Paul Kimmage, equal between Goodfellas and One Flew over the Cuckoo's Nest, live album and movie of Stop Making Sense concert.

3. Opinions many and varied, advice good and bad, some good friends and I got to meet the best tan in Irish Athletics haha

4. I won't run DCM but would love to try a foreign marathon.

5. Belgium hopefully. They'll need to keep their first 11 fit and free of suspension.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

What's your favourite flavour of crisps?